DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the request for continued examination dated 12 January 2026 (hereinafter “Reply”).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are presently pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection of claim(s) 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ullyott, the applicant(s) submit the following remark(s)/argument(s):
(A) At page 10 of the submitted Reply:
The cited art fails to disclose the following features of claim 17: a predetermined threshold corresponding to at least one of (i) a low axial thrust condition, (ii) a zero axial thrust condition, or (iii) a crossover condition in which the axial thrust changes from an aft direction to a forward direction. Specifically, Ullyott only defines the threshold based on a speed range. Thus, Ullyott is silent about the conditions corresponding to the speed ranges.
In reply, the Office respectfully considers this argument persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) is/are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding the rejection of claim(s) ) 1-7, 11-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ullyott in view of Wagner, the applicant(s) submit the following remark(s)/argument(s):
(A) At page 10 of the submitted Reply:
The cited art fails to disclose the following features of claim 17: a predetermined threshold corresponding to at least one of (i) a low axial thrust condition, (ii) a zero axial thrust condition, or (iii) a crossover condition in which the axial thrust changes from an aft direction to a forward direction. Specifically, Ullyott only defines the threshold based on a speed range. Thus, Ullyott is silent about the conditions corresponding to the speed ranges.
In reply, the Office respectfully considers this argument not persuasive because Wagner teaches data indictive of a loss of load condition, i.e. zero axial thrust condition, is determined by vibration monitoring (Wagner col. 14, ll. 58-60), wherein the condition is resolved by having the electric machine mechanically coupled to the high pressure shaft of the turbomachine to extract electrical power from the high pressure turbine such that the electric machine may act as a drag on the high pressure turbine to reduce the rotational speed of the high pressure turbine (Wagner col. 15, ll. 29-34). Thus, Ullyott in view of Wagner teach the presently claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ULLYOTT in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,006,375 to Wagner et al. (hereinafter “WAGNER”).
(A) Regarding Claim 1:
ULLYOTT teaches:
A torque extraction system for a turbine engine, comprising:
an electric machine (26) coupled to a shaft of the turbine engine by way of a gearbox disposed between the electric machine and the shaft of the turbine engine, such that the electric machine draws torque from the shaft and converts the torque to electrical energy (column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus);
a sensor that senses vibrations acting on a rotor of the turbine engine (column 1, line 67 and column 5, line 4); and
a controller (30) electrically coupled to the electric machine, the controller receiving signals from the sensor corresponding to the sensed vibrations and operating the gearbox disposed between the electric machine and the shaft of the turbine engine to increase the torque that the electric machine draws from the shaft and to increase axial thrust on the rotor in an aft direction when the vibrations sensed by the sensor meet or exceed a predetermined threshold (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-41 and 53-60: the electric machine exerts axial thrust on the shaft depending on the mode of operation, i.e. motor or generator, to avoid critical speed; column 4, lines 12-25 and column 5, lines 1-5: vibration sensed information).
However, the difference between ULLYOTT and the claimed invention is that ULLYOTT does not explicitly teach a power bus electrically coupled to the electric machine, the power bus providing power to the electric machine, and the predetermined threshold corresponding to at least one of (i) a low axial thrust condition, (ii) a zero axial thrust condition, or (iii) a crossover condition in which the axial thrust changes from an aft direction to a forward direction.
WAGNER teaches:
A power bus (260, Fig. 3) electrically coupled to the electric machine, the power bus providing power to the electric machine (column 10, lines 47-51), and when vibrations exceed a predetermined threshold corresponding to a zero axial thrust condition (WAGNER col. 14, ll. 58-60), the condition is resolved by having the electric machine mechanically coupled to the high pressure shaft of the turbomachine to extract electrical power from the high pressure turbine such that the electric machine may act as a drag on the high pressure turbine to reduce the rotational speed of the high pressure turbine (WAGNER col. 15, ll. 29-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a power bus electrically coupled to the electric machine of ULLYOTT so as to transmit power to the electric machine, as taught by WAGNER, in order to provide switches or other power electronics and thereby achieve the predictable result of allowing the controller to provide electrical power to, or draw electrical power from, the various components in various operating mods, e.g. power addition mode (WAGNER column 10, lines 60-66).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller of ULLYOTT include a speed range corresponding to a zero axial thrust condition, determined by vibrations, as taught by WAGNER, in order to reduce the speed of the shaft and thereby achieve the predictable result of preventing, or reducing, a low pressure turbine over-speeding event (WAGNER col. 15, ll. 19-28).
(B) Regarding Claim 2:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
The gearbox is operable to adjust a rotational speed of the shaft (ULLYOTT column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus, and ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-48: generator mode).
(C) Regarding Claim 3:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
The controller operates the gearbox to increase the torque that the electric machine draws from the shaft by directing the gearbox to adjust the rotational speed of the shaft (ULLYOTT column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus, and ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-48: generator mode).
(D) Regarding Claim 4:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
The shaft is a high-pressure shaft and the rotor is a high-pressure rotor (ULLYOTT 18).
(E) Regarding Claim 5:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
The controller is a full authority digital engine control controller (ULLYOTT column 1, lines 64-65).
(F) Regarding Claim 6:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
An electric energy storage unit electrically coupled to the electric machine, wherein the electric machine utilizes the power bus to convert excess torque drawn by the electric machine from the shaft to electric energy that is stored in the electric energy storage unit (ULLYOTT column 3, lines 10-17: energy storage system and WAGNER column 10, lines 47-51, 60-66).
(G) Regarding Claim 7:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
The electrical energy stored by the electric energy storage unit is stored in on-board batteries on an aircraft (ULLYOTT column 3, lines 10-17: energy storage system such as a battery and 41-44: aircraft).
(H) Regarding Claim 11:
ULLYOTT teaches:
A turbine engine, comprising:
a turbomachine, the turbomachine comprising:
a rotor comprising a turbine (ULLYOTT 20), a compressor (ULLYOTT 16), and a shaft (ULLYOTT 18) that drivingly connects the turbine and the compressor; and
a torque extraction system comprising:
an electric machine (ULLYOTT 26) coupled to the shaft of the turbomachine by way of a gearbox disposed between the electric machine and the shaft, such that the electric machine draws torque from the shaft as electrical power (ULLYOTT column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus);
a sensor that senses vibrations acting on the rotor of the turbomachine (ULLYOTT column 1, line 67 and ULLYOTT column 5, line 4); and
a controller electrically coupled to the electric machine, the controller receiving signals from the sensor corresponding to the sensed vibrations and operating the gearbox disposed between the electric machine and the shaft of the turbine engine to increase the torque that the electric machine draws from the shaft and to increase axial thrust on the rotor in an aft direction when the vibrations sensed by the sensor meet or exceed a predetermined threshold (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-41 and 53-60: the electric machine exerts axial thrust on the shaft depending on the mode of operation, i.e. motor or generator, to avoid critical speed; column 4, lines 12-25 and column 5, lines 1-5: vibration sensed information).
However, the difference between ULLYOTT and the claimed invention is that ULLYOTT does not explicitly teach a power bus electrically coupled to the electric machine, the power bus providing power to the electric machine, and the predetermined threshold corresponding to at least one of (i) a low axial thrust condition, (ii) a zero axial thrust condition, or (iii) a crossover condition in which the axial thrust changes from an aft direction to a forward direction.
WAGNER teaches:
A power bus (260, Fig. 3) electrically coupled to the electric machine, the power bus providing power to the electric machine (column 10, lines 47-51), and when vibrations exceed a predetermined threshold corresponding to a zero axial thrust condition (WAGNER col. 14, ll. 58-60), the condition is resolved by having the electric machine mechanically coupled to the high pressure shaft of the turbomachine to extract electrical power from the high pressure turbine such that the electric machine may act as a drag on the high pressure turbine to reduce the rotational speed of the high pressure turbine (WAGNER col. 15, ll. 29-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a power bus electrically coupled to the electric machine of ULLYOTT so as to transmit power to the electric machine, as taught by WAGNER, in order to provide switches or other power electronics and thereby achieve the predictable result of allowing the controller to provide electrical power to, or draw electrical power from, the various components in various operating mods, e.g. power addition mode (WAGNER column 10, lines 60-66).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller of ULLYOTT include a speed range corresponding to a zero axial thrust condition, determined by vibrations, as taught by WAGNER, in order to reduce the speed of the shaft and thereby achieve the predictable result of preventing, or reducing, a low pressure turbine over-speeding event (WAGNER col. 15, ll. 19-28).
(I) Regarding Claim 12:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
The gearbox is operable to adjust a rotational speed of the shaft (ULLYOTT column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus, and ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-48: generator mode).
(J) Regarding Claim 13:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
The controller operates the gearbox to increase the torque that the electric machine draws from the shaft by directing the gearbox to adjust the rotational speed of the shaft (ULLYOTT column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus, and ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-48: generator mode).
(K) Regarding Claim 14:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
The controller is a full authority digital engine control controller (ULLYOTT column 1, lines 64-65).
(L) Regarding Claim 15:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
An electric energy storage unit electrically coupled to the electric machine, wherein the electric machine utilizes the power bus to convert excess torque drawn by the electric machine from the shaft to electric energy that is stored in the electric energy storage unit (ULLYOTT column 3, lines 10-17: energy storage system and WAGNER column 10, lines 47-51, 60-66).
(M) Regarding Claim 17:
ULLYOTT teaches:
A method for extracting torque from a turbine engine, the method comprising:
initiating, using a controller (ULLYOTT 30), a torque extraction system of the turbine engine, the torque extraction system including an electric machine (ULLYOTT 26) that draws torque from a shaft (ULLYOTT 18) of the turbine engine (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 41-66);
initiating, using the controller, the electric machine, such that the electric machine draws a nominal torque from the shaft of the turbine engine (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 20-33);
tracking, using the controller, vibrations acting on a rotor of the turbine engine using a plurality of sensors positioned in the torque extraction system (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 53-58 and ULLYOTT column 5, line 4);
monitoring, using the controller, the vibrations acting on the rotor to ensure the vibrations acting on the rotor remain below a predetermined threshold (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 53-58 and ULLYOTT column 5, line 4);
increasing, using the controller, the torque drawn by the electric machine from the shaft of the turbine engine to increase axial thrust on the rotor in an aft direction when the vibrations acting on the rotor meet or exceed the predetermined threshold (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-41 and 53-60: the electric machine exerts axial thrust on the shaft depending on the mode of operation, i.e. motor or generator, to avoid critical speed; column 4, lines 12-25 and column 5, lines 1-5: vibration sensed information); and
returning, using the controller, the torque drawn by the electric machine from the shaft of the turbine engine to the nominal torque when the vibrations acting on the rotor fall below the predetermined threshold (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 20-33 and 49-53).
However, the difference between ULLYOTT and the claimed invention is that ULLYOTT does not explicitly teach the predetermined threshold corresponding to at least one of (i) a low axial thrust condition, (ii) a zero axial thrust condition, or (iii) a crossover condition in which the axial thrust changes from an aft direction to a forward direction.
WAGNER teaches:
When vibrations exceed a predetermined threshold corresponding to a zero axial thrust condition (WAGNER col. 14, ll. 58-60), the condition is resolved by having the electric machine mechanically coupled to the high pressure shaft of the turbomachine to extract electrical power from the high pressure turbine such that the electric machine may act as a drag on the high pressure turbine to reduce the rotational speed of the high pressure turbine (WAGNER col. 15, ll. 29-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller of ULLYOTT include a speed range corresponding to a zero axial thrust condition, determined by vibrations, as taught by WAGNER, in order to reduce the speed of the shaft and thereby achieve the predictable result of preventing, or reducing, a low pressure turbine over-speeding event (WAGNER col. 15, ll. 19-28).
(N) Regarding Claim 18:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
Storing excess torque drawn by the electric machine (ULLYOTT 26) from the shaft (ULLYOTT 18) in an electric energy storage unit as electrical energy (ULLYOTT column 3, lines 10-17: energy storage system).
(O) Regarding Claim 19:
ULLYOTT as modified by WAGNER further teaches:
Providing the electrical energy stored in the electric energy storage unit to the turbine engine (ULLYOTT column 3, lines 10-17: energy storage system such as a battery and 41-44: consumed elsewhere on the engine/aircraft or stored for later re-use).
Claim(s) 8-10, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified ULLYOTT, as applied to claims 1, 11, 17, respectively above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0047970 to Collopy et al. (hereinafter “COLLOPY”).
(A) Regarding Claim 8:
Modified ULLYOTT teaches:
The electric machine (ULLYOTT 26) is coupled to a gearbox (ULLYOTT column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus).
However, the difference(s) between modified ULLYOTT and the claimed invention is that modified ULLYOTT does not explicitly teach a clutch coupling the electric machine to the gearbox, the clutch being transitionable between an engaged position and disengaged position.
COLLOPY teaches:
A clutch configuration (paragraph 0055) to couple an electric machine (e.g. 213A) to a gearbox (e.g. 150A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling of the electric machine to the gearbox with a clutch, as taught by COLLOPY, in order to engage and disengage the electric machine and thereby achieve the predictable result of selectively withdraw power from the shaft (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-39 and COLLOPY paragraph 0055: to extract rotational energy from spool).
(B) Regarding Claim 9:
Modified ULLYOTT, being further modified by COLLOPY, teaches:
The clutch allows the torque to be transmitted across the clutch from the HP shaft to the electric machine in the engaged position, and prevents the torque from being transmitted across the clutch in the disengaged position (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-39 and COLLOPY paragraph 0055: to extract rotational energy from spool).
(C) Regarding Claim 10:
Modified ULLYOTT, being further modified by COLLOPY, teaches:
The controller is further configured to transition the clutch coupling the electric machine to the gearbox from the disengaged position to the engaged position when the vibrations acting on the rotor increase meet or exceed the predetermined threshold (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-39, ULLYOTT column 3, lines 44-44, and COLLOPY paragraph 0055: to extract rotational energy from spool).
(D) Regarding Claim 16:
Modified ULLYOTT, being further modified by COLLOPY, teaches:
The electric machine (ULLYOTT 26) further includes a clutch coupling the electric machine to the gearbox (ULLYOTT column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus and COLLOPY paragraph 0055: clutch configuration), the clutch being transitionable between an engaged position and a disengaged position (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-39: selectively withdraw power and COLLOPY paragraph 0055: arranged to extract rotational energy from the spool).
(E) Regarding Claim 20:
Modified ULLYOTT, being further modified by COLLOPY, teaches:
The electric machine (ULLYOTT 26) further includes a clutch coupling the electric machine to the gearbox (ULLYOTT column 4, lines 59-67: gear train or other transmission apparatus and COLLOPY paragraph 0055: clutch configuration), the clutch being transitionable between an engaged position and a disengaged position (ULLYOTT column 2, lines 34-39: selectively withdraw power and COLLOPY paragraph 0055: arranged to extract rotational energy from the spool).
Conclusion
KAYLA M. MCCAFFREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/Kayla McCaffrey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745