DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klapman et al. (Pub # US 2023/0422169 A1), and further in view of Del Toro et al. (Pub # US 2017/0094637 A1).
Consider claim 1, Klapman et al. teaches a transmitter to alert a user of a forgotten item, the transmitter comprising: a transmitter main body (100, Fig. 1); a transmitter universal serial bus (USB) plug connected to the transmitter main body, such that the transmitter USB plug is insertable into a USB port within a vehicle (device) to provide power to the transmitter when the vehicle (device) is powered on [0065]; a transmitter central processing unit (CPU) (110, Fig. 1) electrically connected to the transmitter USB plug (106, Fig. 1) to allow the transmitter to BLUETOOTH pair with the forgotten item (140, Fig. 1); and a transmitter speaker (103, Fig. 1) electrically connected to the transmitter CPU (110, Fig. 1) to emit a sound to alert the user when the forgotten item is out of BLUETOOTH connectivity range with respect to the transmitter, such that the transmitter speaker emits the sound in response to the vehicle being powered on when the transmitter USB plug is plugged into the USB port within the vehicle and in response to the forgotten item being out of BLUETOOTH connectivity range with respect to the transmitter [0078].
Klapman et al. does not teach a car lighter adapter plug connected to the transmitter main body, such that the transmitter USB plug is insertable into a car lighter adapter port within the vehicle to provide power to the transmitter when the vehicle is powered on and when the vehicle does not have a USB port.
In the same field of endeavor, Del Toro et al. teaches a car lighter adapter plug connected to the transmitter main body, such that the transmitter USB plug is insertable into a car lighter adapter port within the vehicle to provide power to the transmitter when the vehicle is powered on and when the vehicle does not have a USB port [0020] for the benefit of utilizing the common power adapter to supply power to the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date of the claimed invention to include a car lighter adapter plug connected to the transmitter main body, such that the transmitter USB plug is insertable into a car lighter adapter port within the vehicle to provide power to the transmitter when the vehicle is powered on and when the vehicle does not have a USB port as shown in Del Toro et al., in Klapman et al. device for the benefit of utilizing the common power adapter to supply power to the device.
Consider claim 2. Klapman et al. clearly shows and disclose the transmitter, wherein the forgotten item is a mobile device [0052].
Consider claim 3, Klpaman et al. clearly shows and discloses the transmitter, wherein the transmitter main body further comprises: a transmitter BLUETOOTH pairing button electrically connected to the transmitter CPU to allow the transmitter to BLUETOOTH pair with the forgotten item in response to the transmitter BLUETOOTH pairing button being pressed when the forgotten item is within a BLUETOOTH connectivity range with respect to the transmitter [0053].
Consider claim 5, Klapman et al. clearly shows and disclose a system to alert a user of a forgotten item, the system comprising: a receiver device having BLUETOOTH connectivity capabilities, the receiver device comprising: receiver device central processing unit (CPU) (110, Fig. 1) to provide the BLUETOOTH connectivity for the receiver device [0052]; and a transmitter, comprising; a transmitter main body (100, Fig. 1), a transmitter universal serial bus (USB) plug (106, Fig. 1) connected to the transmitter main body (100, Fig. 1), such that the transmitter USB plug is insertable into a USB port within a vehicle to provide power to the transmitter when the vehicle (device) is powered on [0064], a transmitter central processing unit (CPU) electrically connected to the transmitter USB plug to allow the transmitter to BLUETOOTH pair with the receiver device [0053], and a transmitter speaker (103, Fig. 1) electrically connected to the transmitter CPU (110, Fig. 1) to emit a sound to alert the user when the receiver device is out of BLUETOOTH connectivity range with respect to the transmitter, such that the transmitter speaker emits the sound in response to the vehicle (device) being powered on when the transmitter USB plug is plugged into the USB port within the vehicle and in response to the receiver device being out of BLUETOOTH connectivity range with respect to the transmitter [0074-0075].
Klapman et al. does not teach a car lighter adapter plug connected to the transmitter main body, such that the transmitter USB plug is insertable into a car lighter adapter port within the vehicle to provide power to the transmitter when the vehicle is powered on and when the vehicle does not have a USB port.
In the same field of endeavor, Del Toro et al. teaches a car lighter adapter plug connected to the transmitter main body, such that the transmitter USB plug is insertable into a car lighter adapter port within the vehicle to provide power to the transmitter when the vehicle is powered on and when the vehicle does not have a USB port [0020] for the benefit of utilizing the common power adapter to supply power to the device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date of the claimed invention to include a car lighter adapter plug connected to the transmitter main body, such that the transmitter USB plug is insertable into a car lighter adapter port within the vehicle to provide power to the transmitter when the vehicle is powered on and when the vehicle does not have a USB port as shown in Del Toro et al., in Klapman et al. device for the benefit of utilizing the common power adapter to supply power to the device.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klapman et al. (pub # US 2023/0422169 A1) in view of Del Toro et al. (Pub # US 2017/0094637 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Coffman et al. (Pub # US 2011/0182441 A1).
Consider claim 4, Klapman et al. and Del Toro et al. combined reference teaches the transmitter, wherein the transmitter main body further comprises: a transmitter speaker.
Klapman et al. and Del Toro et al. combined reference does not specifically teach the speaker suppress button electrically connected to the transmitter CPU to cause the transmitter speaker to stop emitting the sound when the transmitter speaker suppress button is pressed.
In the same field of endeavor, Coffman et al. teaches the speaker suppress button (210, Fig, 2) electrically connected to the transmitter CPU to cause the transmitter speaker to stop emitting the sound when the transmitter speaker suppress button is pressed [0027] for the benefit of utilizing the common switch for mode change and energy conservation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the speaker suppress button electrically connected to the transmitter CPU to cause the transmitter speaker to stop emitting the sound when the transmitter speaker suppress button is pressed as shown in Coffman et al., in Klapman et al. and Del Toro et al. combined device for the benefit of utilizing the common switch for mode change and energy conservation.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klapman et al. (pub # US 2023/0422169 A1) in view of Del Toro et al. (Pub # US 2017/0094637 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Abramson (Pub # US 2017/0337802 A1).
Consider claim 6, Klapman et al. and Del Toro et al. combined reference teaches the system, wherein the receiver device CPU is programmable to identify the forgotten item.
Klapman et al. and Del Toro et al. combined reference does not teach such that the sound emitted by the transmitter speaker identifies the forgotten item by name.
In the same field of endeavor, Abramson teaches the sound emitted by the transmitter speaker identifies the forgotten item by name (pre-recorded message) [0045] for the benefit of distinguishing the item from the list of items.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the sound emitted by the transmitter speaker identifies the forgotten item by name as shown in Abramson, in Klapman et al. and Del Toro et al. combined reference device for the benefit of distinguishing the item from the list of items.
Consider claim 7, Klapman et al. and Del Toro et al. combined reference teaches similar invention.
Klapman et al. and Del Toro et al. combined reference does not teach the system, wherein the forgotten item is one of a purse, a wallet, a laptop, a grocery bag, and a briefcase, and the sound emitted by the transmitter speaker is one of spoken phrases of “purse,”“wallet”, “laptop”, “grocery bag,” and “briefcase,” respectively.
In the same field of endeavor, Abramson teaches the pre-record message in device’s speaker related to the item tracked, wherein when the event triggered the speaker plays the pre-recorded message like “beep beep beep Sarah your iphone Sarah your iphone” [0045].
Although, Abramson did not specifically speak the phrases as claimed, wherein the pre-recorded message could be custom to the user need. The claimed limitation does not enhance the function nor produce any unpredictable result. Therefore, the limitation as claimed is considered as design choice for the particular application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the newly amended claims have been considered and analyzed as shown in the rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK K WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2687