DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the shunt inductor is coupled between the output of the main amplifier and a voltage supply rail recited in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 15-17 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Pengelly ((Fig. 5); 8,749,306] in view of [Cabrera et al (Fig. 8); 10,270,396].
Regarding claim 1, Pengelly comprising a Doherty amplifier comprising a main amplifier (36), an auxiliary amplifier (46), a power splitting and phase shifting circuit (32), a shunt inductor (L6) coupled to an output (output terminal of 36) of the main amplifier (36), and a shunt capacitor (C4) coupled to an output (output terminal of 46) of the auxiliary amplifier (46). As described above, Pengelly discloses all the limitations in claim 1 except for that transformer comprising a first inductor coupled between the output of the main amplifier and the output of the auxiliary amplifier and a second inductor magnetically coupled with the first inductor. Cabrera et al comprising a Doherty amplifier comprising a transformer (T3) comprising a first inductor (primary winding of T3) coupled between the output (drain terminal of QMAIN) of the main amplifier (QMAIN) and the output (drain terminal of QPEAK) of the auxiliary amplifier (QPEAK) and a second inductor (secondary winding of T3) magnetically coupled with the first inductor (primary winding of T3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to have employed the transformer at the output terminal (40 in Fig. 5 of Pengelly) of Pengelly (Fig. 5), such as taught by Cabrera et al (Fig. 8) in order to provide the advantageous benefit of stabilizing the variation of the gain of the amplifier.
Regarding claims 2, 15, 17 and 21-23 the limitations recited in the claims are obvious based on the intend use of the invention.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the second inductor (secondary winding of T3) is coupled between an antenna (ROUT) and a ground (ground).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the shunt inductor (L6) is coupled between the output (output terminal of 36) of the main amplifier (36) and a voltage supply rail (ground voltage rail).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the shunt capacitor (C4) is coupled between the output (output terminal of 46) of the auxiliary amplifier (46) and a ground (ground).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the first inductor (primary winding of T3) includes a tap (upper left black tap) coupled to a voltage supply rail (rail of the VDD).
Regarding claim 7, Pengelly in view of Cabrera et al further comprising a coupling capacitor (C3) and wherein the coupling capacitor (C3) is coupled between the shunt inductor (L3) and a ground (ground), and the shunt inductor (L3) is coupled between the output (drain terminal of QMAIN) of the main amplifier (QMAIN) and the coupling capacitor (C3).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the shunt capacitor (C4) is coupled between the output (output terminal of 46) of the auxiliary amplifier (46) and the ground (ground).
Regarding claim 16, Pengelly comprising a Doherty amplifier comprising a main amplifier (36), an auxiliary amplifier (46), a power splitting and phase shifting circuit (32), a shunt inductor (L6) coupled to an output (output terminal of 36) of the main amplifier (36), and a shunt capacitor (C4) coupled to an output (output terminal of 46) of the auxiliary amplifier (46). As described above, Pengelly discloses all the limitations in claim 1 except for that transformer comprising a first inductor coupled between the output of the main amplifier and the output of the auxiliary amplifier and a second inductor magnetically coupled with the first inductor. Cabrera et al comprising a Doherty amplifier comprising a transformer (T3) comprising a first inductor (primary winding of T3) coupled between the output (drain terminal of QMAIN) of the main amplifier (QMAIN) and the output (drain terminal of QPEAK) of the auxiliary amplifier (QPEAK) and a second inductor (secondary winding of T3) magnetically coupled with the first inductor (primary winding of T3) and coupled to the antenna (ROUT). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to have employed the transformer at the output terminal (40 in Fig. 5 of Pengelly) of Pengelly (Fig. 5), such as taught by Cabrera et al (Fig. 8) in order to provide the advantageous benefit of stabilizing the variation of the gain of the amplifier.
Regarding claim 20, Pengelly comprising a Doherty amplifier comprising a main amplifier (36), an auxiliary amplifier (46), a power splitting and phase shifting circuit (32), a shunt inductor (L6) coupled to an output (output terminal of 36) of the main amplifier (36), and a shunt capacitor (C4) coupled to an output (output terminal of 46) of the auxiliary amplifier (46). As described above, Pengelly discloses all the limitations in claim 20 except for that a differential load coupled between the output of the main amplifier and the output of the auxiliary amplifier. Cabrera et al comprising a Doherty amplifier comprising a differential load (T3, 208, ROUT) coupled between the output (drain terminal of QMAIN) of the main amplifier (QMAIN) and the output (drain terminal of QPEAK) of the auxiliary amplifier (QPEAK). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have found it obvious to have employed the differential load at the output terminal (40 in Fig. 5 of Pengelly) of Pengelly (Fig. 5), such as taught by Cabrera et al (Fig. 8) in order to provide the advantageous benefit of stabilizing the variation of the gain of the amplifier.
Regarding claim 24, wherein the auxiliary amplifier (46) is configured to modulate (42) an impedance at the output (output terminal of 36) of the main amplifier (36).
Claim(s) 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [Pengelly (Fig. 5); 8,749,306] in view of [Cabrera et al (Fig. 8); 10,270,396] in further view of [Yang et al (Fig. 1); 12,088,255].
Pengelly in view of Cabrera et al discloses all the limitations in the claims except for that the main amplifier and the auxiliary amplifier and the shunt capacitor are integrated on a die. Yang et al discloses a Doherty Amplifier circuit comprising a main amplifier (132) and an auxiliary amplifier (152) and the shunt capacitor (147) which are integrated on the die (110). It is well known to integrate the semiconductor components such as the main amplifier and auxiliary amplifier and the shunt capacitor in the die in order to form of small sized Integrated Circuit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have integrated the main amplifier and auxiliary amplifier and the shunt capacitor of Pengelly (Fig. 5) in the die because such a modification would have advantageously produced a small-sized integrated circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 13, 14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 9, the closest prior art of record, Pengelly does not disclose the following limitation: the tap is located at a center of the first inductor. Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art of record, Pengelly does not disclose the following limitation: a first capacitor coupled in parallel with the first inductor. Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art of record, Pengelly does not disclose the following limitation: a phase shifter coupled ------------- by the phase shift. Regarding claim 14, the closest prior art of record, Pengelly does not disclose the following limitation: a second phase shifter ---------------------------- the second RF signal. Regarding claim 19, the closest prior art of record, Pengelly does not disclose the following limitation: the RFEE module comprises a substrate, the die --------------------, and the transformer is on the substrate.
Conclusion
/HENRY CHOE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843