DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over An (CN 213248604 U) in view of Jin et al. (CN 112168016 A) and Chan et al. (EP 1 723 882 A1).
In re claim1 : An discloses an electric grinding device (fig.1) comprising:
a main body assembly having an outer barrel (1, fig.2), an inner shell (3,7) disposed in the outer barrel, two guiding channels (4, see An figure illustrated below) formed between the outer barrel and the inner shell, and a hopper (2) located below the two guiding channels and communicating with the two guiding channels (see fig.2 and §[0005] (refer to the translation attached));
a motor (3) disposed in the inner shell;
a grinding sleeve (6) located below hopper (2) and a grinding head (5) connected to the transmission shaft (“S”, see An figure illustrated below) and accommodated in the grinding sleeve in a way that a grinding gap (“GG”, see An figure illustrated below) communicating with the hopper (2) is formed between the grinding head (5) and the grinding sleeve (6).
An is silent regarding a battery disposed in the inner shell and a transmission assembly.
However, Jin et al. teaches a battery (203) disposed in an inner shell (209); a motor (20) disposed in the inner shell (209) and electrically connected with the battery (see §[0044] and §[0045] (refer to the translation));
Both An and Jin et al. are silent about a transmission assembly.
Chan et al. teaches a transmission assembly (44, fig.2) driven by a motor (42), the transmission assembly having a transmission shaft (28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric grinding device of An and include a battery in the inner shell with the motor, as taught by Jin et al., for the purpose of powering the motor, recharging the battery and directing the material downward (Paragraph 104). It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of An in view of Chan et al. and include the transmission assembly having a transmission shaft, as taught by Chan et al., for the purpose of transferring power from the motor for torque multiplication or reduction.
Representation of top view is shown in below picture.
In re claim2, which depends on claim1: An in view of Jin et al. and Chan et al. discloses the device of claim 1. An further discloses the hopper (2) comprises two funneled feeding portions (see above picture, An (”Y”), there are three funneled feeding portions formed by connecting rods); the two funnel feeding portions communicate with the two guiding channels (see fig.2, 4, three channels are formed in between the connecting rods (7)) respectively and communicate with the grinding gap (“GG”, see An figure illustrated above); top parts of the two guiding channels (see fig.2) communicate with each other ( see above picture, An (“Z”), three feeding portions communicate with each other); bottom parts of the two guiding channels are separated from each other (see fig.2, 7, connecting rod separating three channels); top parts of the two funneled feeding portions (see above picture, An (”Y”), there are three funneled feeding portions formed) are separated from each other (separated by connecting rods (7)); bottom parts of the two funneled feeding portions (see above picture, An (”Y”), there are three funneled feeding portions formed) communicate with each other (space below the connecting rods).
In re claim3, which depends on claim2: An in view of Jin et al. and Chan et al. discloses the device of claim 2. An further discloses the outer barrel having an accommodating space (see inside (1)); the inner shell (3,7) is disposed in the accommodating space to partition off the accommodating space into the two guiding channels (4, three channels).
An is silent about cone-shaped accommodating space.
However, Jin et al. teaches the outer barrel has an accommodating space which is cone-shaped with a wide top and a narrow bottom ( see fig.1-2, 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer barrel into a cone shape, as taught by Jin, in order to feed material under gravity without manual feeding and seal sealing the outer barrel to avoid foreign objects from entering the outer barrel (Paragraphs 101 and 102).
In re claim4, which depends on claim3: An in view of Jin et al. and Chan et al. discloses the device of claim 3. An discloses the inner shell (3) has two guiding surfaces facing the guiding channels (see fig.2, 4) respectively; each of the guiding surfaces is recessed with a guiding groove ( see above picture, An (“GG”)) extending vertically. Note that guiding grooves (“GG”) are formed between the connecting rods, outer barrel, and inner shell.
In re claim6, which depends on claim2: An in view of Jin et al. and Chan et al. discloses the device of claim 2. An further discloses outer barrel (1) is provided at a top rim thereof with an upward opening (“O”, see picture above); and the top portion (“C”, see above picture) of the inner shell is located lower than the upward opening (“O”) to cause the top parts of the two guiding channels (4) communicating with each other (see above picture, An (“Z”), three feeding portions communicate with each other); the inner shell (3, 7) is provided on two opposite sides (An discloses three sides) thereof with two abutting portions (An discloses three abutting portions, (“X”), see above picture); each of the abutting portions (“X”) is connected to an inner wall surface (see above picture, An (“X”)) of the outer barrel (1) to cause the bottom parts of the two guiding channels (4) separated from each other (7, separated by connecting rods).
Jin et al. further teaches a top portion (see above picture, Jin et al. (“T”)) which is arc-shaped.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Jin et al. and Chan et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pai (US 20080185465 A1), hereafter ‘Pai’.
In re claim7, which depends on claim1: An in view of Jin et al. and Chan et al. discloses the electric grinding device as disclosed in claim 1.
An is silent about a gravity switch, a scattering assembly, a bottom cover assembly, and a press switch.
However, Chan et al. teaches a gravity switch (see fig.1-2, 52, 54, 48, and §[0015]-§[0018]), and a press switch (see fig. 1-2, 50, §[0019], referred as push button); Chan et al. also teaches that the gravity switch (52) is electrically connected (see fig.5-6) with the battery (60); the gravity switch (52) is power-on when being postured upright (see fig.1-2, 52,54,48,§[0015]-§[0018] ), and the gravity switch is power-off when being postured upside down (see fig.1-2, 52,54,48,§[0015]-§[0018]); Chan et al. further teaches that the motor (42), the battery (60), the gravity switch (52) and the press switch (50) are arranged in a way (see fig.5-6) that only when the gravity switch and the press switch are both power-on, the battery supplies power to the motor to make the motor operate (see fig.5-6, §[0015]-§[0018]).
Also, Pai teaches about a scattering assembly (see below picture, “SA”) connected to the main body assembly to be located below the grinding sleeve (32) and the grinding head (3) (also see fig.2, 5a-5b, §[0028]); the press switch (141-142, electrical contacts need pressing for connection) is disposed on the scattering assembly (“SA”) and electrically connected with the battery (12, referred as battery chamber); the bottom cover assembly (6) has a pressing portion (62, electrical contacts need pressing for connection), and the bottom cover assembly (6) is rotatably disposed on the scattering assembly (“SA”) to enable the pressing portion to contact the press switch (141-142) to make the press switch power-on (see fig.5a-5b, §[0029]) and enable the pressing portion (62) to leave the press switch (141-142) to make the press switch power-off (see fig.5a-5b, §[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of An in view of Jin and Chan and include a gravity switch and a press switch, as taught by Chan for the purpose of having a power unit that is capable of starting the grinder based on first and second electrical circuits controlled by the gravity (position of the grinder) and the pressing of bottom cover when it is closed. This design would provide the benefit of avoiding sparks when high current flows at the start of the grinder (paragraph 0002). Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of An in view of Jin and Chan and include the scattering assembly and press switch disposed on the scattering assembly, as taught by Pai for the purpose of housing the press switch and turning on when the bottom cover assembly is rotatably connected to the scattering assembly (paragraph 28). The bottom cover having a metal contact plate which moves as the bottom cover would be rotated and contact with the positive and negative metal contacts of the driving unit to close a power circuit of the driving unit.
In re claim8, which depends on claim7: An in view of Jin et al., Chan et al., and Pai discloses the device of claim 7. Pai further teaches the scattering assembly (see below picture, “SA”) has at least one scattering opening (fig.1, 183, §[0029](line 15-20)) and two rotation stopping protrusions (fig.5a-5b, 145, 146, §[0029](line 20-25)); the at least one scattering opening (183) communicates with the grinding gap (see fig.4a, gap between 31-32); the bottom cover assembly (6) has a bottom cover frame (see below picture, “BCF”) and a bottom covering plate (“BCP”) disposed in the bottom cover frame ; Pai also teaches the bottom cover frame (“BCF”) has the pressing portion (62, metal connection plate) and two rotation stopping recesses (fig.5a-5b, 631, 632, §[0029]), and the bottom covering plate (“BCP”) has at least one cover opening (fig.5a-5b, 61, §[0029]); when the bottom cover assembly (6) is rotated relative to the scattering assembly (“SA”), one of the two rotation stopping recesses (fig.5a-5b, 631/632, §[0029]) is enabled to be engaged with one of the two rotation stopping protrusions (fig.5a-5b, 145/146, §[0029]) to make the pressing portion (62) contact the press switch (see fig.5a-5b, 141- 142, §[0030]) and the at least one cover opening (61) correspondingly communicate with the at least one scattering opening (fig.5a-5b, 183, §[0029]); when the bottom cover assembly (6) is reversely rotated relative to the scattering assembly (“SA”), the other rotation stopping recess (fig.5a-5b, 631/632, §[0029]) is enabled to be engaged with the other rotation stopping protrusion (fig.5a-5b, 145/146, §[0029]) to make the pressing portion (62) leave the press switch (141-142) and the bottom covering plate (”BCP”) cover the at least one scattering opening (see fig.5a-5b, 183, §[0030]).
Claim9 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Jin et al. and Chan et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (US-20240099514-A1), hereafter ‘Zhang’.
In re claim9, which depends on claim1: An in view of Jin et al., and Chan et al. discloses the electric grinding device as disclosed in claim 1.
An is silent about an adjusting ring.
However, Zhang teaches an adjusting ring (see fig.1, 21, §[0007], §[0008]); the adjusting ring is rotatably connected to the main body assembly (1) and has an internal threaded portion (see fig.2, 23b); the main body assembly has an axial concave portion (26c); the grinding sleeve has an axial convex portion (24c) and an external threaded portion (24b); the axial convex portion and the axial concave portion are slidably coupled (see fig.2, 26c-24c (interface)); the external threaded portion (24b) is threaded into the internal threaded portion (23b); when the adjusting ring (21, fig.1) is rotated, the external threaded portion (24b) of the grinding sleeve (102) is driven by the internal threaded portion (23b) of the adjusting ring so that the grinding sleeve (102) is axially displaced relative to the grinding head (101) to adjust the grinding gap between the grinding sleeve and the grinding head (see ($[0051]), §[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of An in view of Jin and Chan and include an adjusting ring, as taught by Zhang, so that adjustment is simple to operate, convenient, and capable of fine adjustment to control the fineness of powder (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim5, neither An (CN 213248604 U) nor Jin et al. (CN 112168016 A) nor Chan (EP 1 723 882 A1) disclose every single limitation as set forth, nor does the combination of An, Jin and Chan teach every single limitation of the claim. Specially, the prior art fails to disclose “recession width which is relatively smaller at a top of the guiding groove and relatively larger at a bottom of the guiding groove, and a recession depth which is relatively smaller at the top of the guiding groove and relatively larger at the bottom of the guiding groove” in combination with the other limitations of the claim. Examiner considered applying the teaching of Jin to the disclosure of An to arrive at the invention claimed in claim5. But Examiner concluded undue hindsight would be necessary to restructure An according to the teaching of Jin to arrive at the invention claimed in claim5.
Conclusion
/M.A.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725