DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/9/2026 was filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by (EP 3772492 A1) to Goediker (hereinafter Goediker).
Goediker is directed toward dental compositions. Goediker discloses “a blank consisting of a porous lithium silicate glass ceramic and a filler, the filler wholly or partially covering the pores of the porous lithium silicate glass ceramic fills”, which is in the form of platelets bonded together into a dental blank with an organic material. Goediker discloses that the ceramic material was crystallized. In a preferred embodiment of the method according to the invention, the sintered product has a porosity of 5 to 85% by volume, which would read on 75-95% by weight of glass. The porous blocks were soaked in a 5% strength solution of methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane and dried and then infiltrated overnight with a mixture of one part urethane dimethacrylate and one part triethylene glycol dimethyl acrylate and then polymerized, which fills the voids in the composite with a polymethacrylate polymer. Goediker discloses that the blank has optical properties. Goediker discloses that the use of the blank according to the invention for dental purposes, in particular for the production of inlays, onlays, crowns, bridges, veneers, abutments and implants. Goediker discloses each and every element of claims 1-7 and 11-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (EP 3772492 A1) to Goediker (hereinafter Goediker).
Goediker is directed toward dental compositions. Goediker discloses “a blank consisting of a porous lithium silicate glass ceramic and a filler, the filler wholly or partially covering the pores of the porous lithium silicate glass ceramic fills”, which is in the form of platelets bonded together into a dental blank with an organic material. Goediker discloses that the ceramic material was crystallized. In a preferred embodiment of the method according to the invention, the sintered product has a porosity of 5 to 85% by volume, which would read on 75-95% by weight of glass. The porous blocks were soaked in a 5% strength solution of methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane and dried and then infiltrated overnight with a mixture of one part urethane dimethacrylate and one part triethylene glycol dimethyl acrylate and then polymerized, which fills the voids in the composite with a polymethacrylate polymer. Goediker discloses that the blank has optical properties. Goediker discloses that the use of the blank according to the invention for dental purposes, in particular for the production of inlays, onlays, crowns, bridges, veneers, abutments and implants.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Goediker to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-7 and 11-14.
8. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (EP 3772492 A1) to Goediker (hereinafter Goediker) in view of the teachings of the (US 2011/0257000 A1) to Ritzenberger (hereinafter Ritzenberger) in further view of (US 6,403,212 B1) to Shoher et al. (hereinafter Shoher).
Goediker is directed toward dental compositions. Goediker discloses “a blank consisting of a porous lithium silicate glass ceramic and a filler, the filler wholly or partially covering the pores of the porous lithium silicate glass ceramic fills”, which is in the form of platelets bonded together into a dental blank with an organic material. Goediker discloses that the ceramic material was crystallized. In a preferred embodiment of the method according to the invention, the sintered product has a porosity of 5 to 85% by volume, which would read on 75-95% by weight of glass. The porous blocks were soaked in a 5% strength solution of methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane and dried and then infiltrated overnight with a mixture of one part urethane dimethacrylate and one part triethylene glycol dimethyl acrylate and then polymerized, which fills the voids in the composite with a polymethacrylate polymer. Goediker discloses that the blank has optical properties. Goediker discloses that the use of the blank according to the invention for dental purposes, in particular for the production of inlays, onlays, crowns, bridges, veneers, abutments and implants.
Ritzenberger is directed toward dental compositions. Goediker and Ritzenberger are both directed toward dental compositions and therefore are analogous art. Ritzenberger teaches at paragraph [0009] that the composition is a lithium silicate glass. Ritzenberger teaches at paragraph [0032] that the material is translucent and can be used for coating of dental restorations. Ritzenberger teaches at paragraph [0046] that it can be used for crowns, etc.
Shoher is directed toward dental compositions. Goediker and Shoher are both directed toward dental compositions and therefore are analogous art. Shoher teaches that at (C5, L49) that the particles are in the form of platelets. Shoher teaches that at (C5, L65) that the platelets have a thickness less than 1.5 microns, that reads on Applicants range of 0.5 to 3 microns.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Goediker in view of the teachings of Ritzenberger and Shoher to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-14.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766