DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 11-15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le et al. (“Le”, US 2024/0030832) in view of Radic US 2019/0245453.
Re claim 1, Le teaches a power converter assembly [Fig 2], the assembly comprising: a power converter that includes an alternating current (AC) port [AC1, AC2] and a direct current (DC) port [across OUTPUT LOAD CAPACITANCE], wherein the AC port is configured to receive AC power and the DC port is configured to output DC power [paragraph 29], the power converter comprising: a plurality of MOSFET switches [200, 202, 204, 206] that include a body diode [208, 210, 212, 214] coupled between the AC port and the DC port; a first phase sensor [216] configured to sense a current through a phase of the AC power provided at the AC port [paragraph 32]; and a controller [224] connected to the first phase sensor and configured to drive gates of the plurality of MOSFET switches [via timers 220, 222, paragraph 37], wherein the controller is further configured to: determine that current through the body diode of a first switch [200] of the plurality of MOSFET switches exceeds a threshold [zero]; after determining that current through the body diode of a first switch of the plurality of MOSFET switches exceeds the threshold, command a gate of the first switch to allow conduction through a conduction region of the first switch [paragraph 32]; determine that current through the first switch has fallen below the threshold [zero]; and command the gate of the first switch to cease conduction through the conduction region of the first switch [paragraph 32], but does not teach the threshold that is greater than 10% of an output requirement.
Radic teaches a device [Fig 3] that teaches thresholds [320 (e.g., 1000mA), 322 (e.g., -50mA)] which can be a percentage of an output requirement [the requirement for Vds which is Equation1 as described in paragraph 30]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the threshold that is greater than 10% of the output requirement, in order to operate the switch with a higher switching frequency while maintaining high power processing efficiency, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 2, Le teaches wherein determining that current through the body diode of the first switch exceeds the threshold is based on current measured by the first phase sensor [measured by 216, paragraph 32].
Re claim 3, Le teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: determine that current through the body diode of the second switch [206] of the plurality of MOSFET switches is below a negative threshold [negative current]; after determining that current through the body diode of a second switch of the plurality of MOSFET switches is below the negative threshold, command a gate of the second switch to allow conduction through a conduction region of the second switch [paragraph 37]; determine that current through the second switch has risen above the negative threshold; and command the gate of the second switch to cease conduction through the conduction region of the second switch [switching is based off the crossing of the zero current, paragraph 37].
Re claim 4, Le teaches wherein the first and second switches are connected in series across the DC port [as shown in Fig 2].
Re claim 5, Le teaches wherein the threshold is I1 and the negative threshold is -I1 [as shown in Fig 4].
Re claim 7, Le teaches wherein the plurality of MOSFET switches includes third [212] and fourth [210] switches and the controller is further configured to: determine that current through the body diode of the third switch exceeds the threshold; after determining that current through the body diode of a third switch exceeds the threshold, command a gate of the third switch to allow conduction through a conduction region of the third switch [paragraph 37]; determine that current through the third switch has fallen below the threshold; and command the gate of the third switch to cease conduction through the conduction region of the third switch [switching is based off the crossing of the zero current, paragraph 37].
Re claim 8, Le teaches the controller is further configured to: determine that current through the body diode of the fourth switch is below the negative threshold; after determining current through the body diode of the fourth switch is below the negative threshold, command a gate of the fourth switch to allow conduction through a conduction region of the fourth switch; determine that current through the fourth switch has risen above the negative threshold [paragraph 37]; and command the gate of the fourth switch to cease conduction through the conduction region of the fourth switch [switching is based off the crossing of the zero current, paragraph 37].
Re claim 11, Le teaches [Fig 2] a method of converting AC power to DC power with a power converter assembly, the method comprising: receiving AC power at an AC port [AC1, AC2] of a power converter; sensing with first phase sensor [216] a sensed current of a phase of the AC power provided at the AC port [paragraph 32]; based on the sensed current, causing a plurality of MOSFET switches [200, 202, 204, 206] that include a body diode [208, 210, 212, 214] to be switched off and on to convert the AC power to DC power, wherein causing includes: determining that current through the body diode of a first switch [200] of the plurality of MOSFET switches exceeds a threshold [zero]; after determining that current through the body diode of the first switch of the plurality of MOSFET switches exceeds the threshold, commanding a gate of the first switch to allow conduction through a conduction region of the first switch [paragraph 32]; determining that current through the first switch has fallen below the threshold; and commanding the gate of the first switch to cease conduction through the conduction region of the first switch [paragraph 32], but does not teach the threshold that is greater than 10% of an output requirement.
Radic teaches a device [Fig 3] that teaches thresholds [320 (e.g., 1000mA), 322 (e.g., -50mA)] which can be a percentage of an output requirement [the requirement for Vds which is Equation1 as described in paragraph 30]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the threshold that is greater than 10% of the output requirement, in order to operate the switch with a higher switching frequency while maintaining high power processing efficiency, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 12, Le teaches wherein determining that current through the body diode of the first switch exceeds the threshold is based on current measured by the first phase sensor [measured by 216, paragraph 32].
Re claim 13, Le teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: determining that a current through the body diode of a second switch [206] of the plurality of MOSFET switches is below a negative threshold [negative current]; after determining that current through the body diode of a second switch of the plurality of MOSFET switches is below the negative threshold, commanding a gate of the second switch to allow conduction through a conduction region of the second switch [paragraph 37]; determining that current through the second switch has risen above the negative threshold; and commanding the gate of the second switch to cease conduction through the conduction region of the second switch [switching is based off the crossing of the zero current, paragraph 37].
Re claim 14, Le teaches wherein the first and second switches are connected in series across the DC port [as shown in Fig 2].
Re claim 15, Le teaches wherein the threshold is I1 and the negative threshold is -I1 [as shown in Fig 4].
Re claim 17, Le teaches wherein the plurality of MOSFET switches includes third [212] and fourth [210] switches and the controller is further configured to: determining that current through the body diode of a third switch exceeds the threshold; after determining that current through the body diode of a third switch exceeds the threshold, commanding a gate of the third switch to allow conduction through a conduction region of the third switch [paragraph 37]; determining that current through the third switch has fallen below the threshold; and commanding the gate of the third switch to cease conduction through the conduction region of the third switch [switching is based off the crossing of the zero current, paragraph 37].
Re claim 18, Le teaches the controller is further configured to: determining that current through the body diode of the fourth switch is below the negative threshold; after determining current through the body diode of the fourth switch is below the negative threshold, commanding a gate of the fourth switch to allow conduction through a conduction region of the fourth switch; determining that current through the fourth switch has risen above the negative threshold [paragraph 37]; and commanding the gate of the fourth switch to cease conduction through the conduction region of the fourth switch [switching is based off the crossing of the zero current, paragraph 37].
Claims 6, 9, 10, 16, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Radic and Yoshikawa (US 2023/0378887).
Re claim 6, Le teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the first and second MOSFETs are SiC MOSFETs.
Yoshikawa teaches a device [Fig 1] having SiC MOSFETs [paragraph 68]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Le to include the features of Yoshikawa because it is known for its high-power density with minimum static power consumption, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 9, Le teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the third and fourth switches are connected in series across the DC port and are both SiC MOSFETs.
Yoshikawa teaches a device [Fig 1] having SiC MOSFETs [paragraph 68]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Le to include the features of Yoshikawa because it is known for its high-power density with minimum static power consumption, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 10, Le teaches wherein the threshold is I1 and the negative threshold is -I1 [as shown in Fig 4].
Re claim 16, Le teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the first and second MOSFETs are SiC MOSFETs.
Yoshikawa teaches a device [Fig 1] having SiC MOSFETs [paragraph 68]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Le to include the features of Yoshikawa because it is known for its high-power density with minimum static power consumption, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 19, Le teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the third and fourth switches are connected in series across the DC port and are both SiC MOSFETs.
Yoshikawa teaches a device [Fig 1] having SiC MOSFETs [paragraph 68]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Le to include the features of Yoshikawa because it is known for its high-power density with minimum static power consumption, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 20, Le teaches wherein the threshold is I1 and the negative threshold is -I1 [as shown in Fig 4].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: “In Le the system determines that a current is greater than zero and then operates. This is not a threshold that is greater than 10% of an output requirement (see paragraph [0047]).
The stated purpose of Le is to remove delay/lag in switching. Thus, the skilled artisan would not modify Le in a manner that would introduce a lag into Le.” (see page 9 in Remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Le, the concern for the delay is based on comparator operation and not the switching times [see paragraph 36]. Therefore Le can be modified to include a desired threshold for switch operation, and rejection is proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaKaisha Jackson/
Examiner, Art Unit 2838