DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10-11, and 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 20180290529 A1), in view of Hudnall (US 6325121 B1), and further in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 1, A protective cover (102) assembly comprising: a plurality of panels (202) being coupled together (through joint 302), each panel of the plurality of panels being pivotable (wherein Ching teaches a hinge-like Joint 302) with respect to an adjacent panel of the plurality of panels (202) wherein a shape of the plurality of panels (202) is configured to be complementary (as seen in Figure 1) to a shape of a vehicle (104) when the plurality of panels (202) is positioned over the vehicle (as seen in Figure 1), each panel (202) of the plurality of panels (202) comprising a resiliently compressible material (wherein Ching teaches “The cover panel insert 604 may be made of an impact resistant material such as open or closed cell foam , rubber , gel , or any other impact resistant material .”) being configured to inhibit impact damage to the vehicle (104) when the plurality of panels (202) is positioned over the vehicle (104), the plurality of panels (202) further comprising: a plurality of hood panels being configured to be positioned over a front end of the vehicle (as seen in Figure 1) wherein the front end (1 in Annotated Figure 1 below) includes at least one of a hood (2 in Annotated Figure 1 below), a grill (3 in Annotated Figure 1 below), and a pair of headlights (4 in Annotated Figure 1 below); a plurality of front windshield panels (202) being configured to be positioned over a front windshield (as seen in Figure 1) of the vehicle (104); a plurality of roof panels (202) being configured to be positioned over a midsection (as seen in Figure 1) of the vehicle (104) wherein the midsection extends between the front windshield (112) and a rear windshield (114) of the vehicle (104); a plurality of rear windshield panels (as seen in Figure 1) being configured to be positioned over the rear windshield (114) of the vehicle (104); a plurality of trunk panels (202) being configured to be positioned over a rear end (as seen in Figure 1) of the vehicle (104) wherein the rear end (6 in Annotated Figure 1) includes at least one of a trunk (6 in Annotated Figure 1) and a pair of taillights (not shown); a plurality of fasteners (110) being coupled to the plurality of panels (202), the plurality of fasteners (110) being configured to releasably affix (as seen in Figure 1) the plurality of panels to the vehicle (104). (Figs. 1-17; [0030]-[0031], [0032]-[0035], [0047])
Ching does not teach a pair of sleeves being configured to be positionable over a pair of side mirrors of the vehicle, each sleeve of the pair of sleeves comprising the resiliently compressible material.
Hudnall further teaches a protective sleeve (10) being configured to be positionable over a pair of side mirrors (12, 14) of a vehicle (11), each sleeve of the pair of sleeves (10) comprising the resiliently compressible material (wherein “the protective cover 10 is preferably made of a flexible material which is a laminate made of a layer of a felt-like non-woven fabric 64 and a layer of material 66 Selected from the group consisting of leather, Vinyl, and other polymeric materials configured to simulate leather”). (Figs. 1-9; Col. 3, Lines 47-66)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, and provide for a pair of mirror sleeves as taught by Hudnall. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for mirror sleeves for a vehicle, in order to further protect of the mirrors of the vehicle when it is protected by the vehicle cover. Additionally, wherein vehicles are readily recognized to have a pair of mirrors, a person having ordinary skill in the art would anticipate providing for a pair of sleeves by virtue of duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 3, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
Ching further teaches each hood panel (202) of the plurality of hood panels (202) further comprising: a driver's side hood panel (116) piece being configured to be positioned over a driver's side of the front end (1 in Annotated Figure 1 above) of the vehicle (104); a top side hood panel piece (116) extending outwardly from the driver's side hood panel piece (202), the top side hood panel piece (202) being configured to be positioned over a top side (as seen in Figure 1) of the front end (1 in Annotated Figure 1 above) of the vehicle (104); and a passenger's side hood panel piece (116) extending outwardly from the top side hood panel piece (202), the passenger's side hood panel piece (116) being configured to be positioned over a passenger's side (202) of the front end (1 in Annotated Figure 1 above) of the vehicle (104). (Fig. 1; [0030])
Regarding Claim 7, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
Ching further teaches each roof panel of the plurality of roof panels (202) further comprising: a driver's side roof panel piece (116) being configured to be positioned over a driver's side of the midsection (as seen in Figure 1) of the vehicle (104); a top side roof panel piece (202) extending outwardly from the driver's side roof panel piece (116), the top side roof panel piece (202) being configured to be positioned over a top side of the midsection (as seen in Figure 1) of the vehicle (104); and a passenger's side roof panel piece (116) extending outwardly from the top side roof panel piece (202), the passenger's side roof panel piece (116) being configured to be positioned over a passenger's side (not shown) of the midsection of the vehicle (104). (Fig. 1; [0030])
Regarding Claim 10, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
Ching further teaches each trunk panel of the plurality of trunk panels (202) further comprising: a driver's side trunk panel piece (116) being configured to be positioned over a driver's side of the midsection (as seen in Figure 1) of the vehicle (104); a top side trunk panel piece (202) extending outwardly from the driver's side trunk panel piece (116), the top side trunk panel piece (202) being configured to be positioned over a top side of the midsection (as seen in Figure 1) of the vehicle (104); and a passenger's side trunk panel piece (116) extending outwardly from the top side trunk panel piece (202), the passenger's side trunk panel piece (116) being configured to be positioned over a passenger's side (not shown) of the midsection of the vehicle (104). (Fig. 1; [0030])
Regarding Claim 11, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
Ching further teaches a coupler material (302) pivotably connecting each panel (202) of the plurality of panels (202) to an adjacent panel of the plurality of panels (202), the coupler material (302) being positioned between each panel (202) of the plurality of panels and the adjacent panel (202) of the plurality of panels (202). (Figs. 3A-3D; [0032]-[0035])
Regarding Claim 15, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above;
Ching further teaches the plurality of fasteners (110) further comprising: a hood fastener (110) being positioned on the plurality of hood panels (202 as seen in Figure 1); and a trunk fastener (110) being positioned on the plurality of trunk panels (202 as seen in Figure 1). (Figure 1; [0029])
Regarding Claim 16, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; each sleeve of the pair of sleeves further comprising: a base wall; and a perimeter wall being coupled to and extending outwardly from the base wall to define an interior space, the interior space of each sleeve of the pair of sleeves having a size being configured to receive an associated side mirror of the pair of side mirrors.
Hudnall further teaches each sleeve (10) of a pair of sleeves further comprising: a base wall (28); and a perimeter wall (16) being coupled to and extending outwardly from the base wall (28) to define an interior space (26), the interior space (26) of each sleeve of the pair of sleeves (10) having a size being configured to receive (as seen in Figure 1) an associated side mirror (12) of the pair of side mirrors (12). (Figs. 1-9; Col. 5, Lines 44-59)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, and provide for a pair of mirror sleeves configured to receive associated side mirrors as taught by Hudnall. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for mirror sleeves for a vehicle, in order to further protect of the mirrors of the vehicle when it is protected by the vehicle cover. Additionally, wherein Hudnall does not explicitly teach a pair of sleeves, a person having ordinary skill in the art would anticipate providing for a pair of sleeves by virtue of duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 17, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 16 above except; wherein an outer edge of the perimeter wall defines an opening into the interior space.
Hudnall further teaches wherein an outer edge (30) of the perimeter wall (16) defines an opening (18) into the interior space (26). (Figs. 1-9; Col. 3, Lines 47-67; Col. 4, Lines 1-11))
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, and provide for a pair of mirror sleeves configured to receive associated side mirrors as taught by Hudnall. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for mirror sleeves for with an outer edge defining an interior space for receiving a mirror, in order to further protect of the mirrors of the vehicle when it is protected by the vehicle cover.
Regarding Claim 18, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 16 above except; wherein the perimeter wall having a first pair of opposing lateral sides and a second pair of opposing lateral sides, the first pair of opposing lateral sides being perpendicular to the second pair of opposing lateral sides.
Hudnall further teaches wherein the perimeter wall (16) having a first pair of opposing lateral sides (4 in Annotated Figure 6 below) and a second pair of opposing lateral sides (5 in Annotated Figure 6 below), the first pair of opposing lateral sides (4 in Annotated Figure 6 below) being perpendicular (as they oppose each other) to the second pair of opposing lateral sides (5 in Annotated Figure 6 below). (Fig. 2; Col. 3, Lines 47-65)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, and provide for a pair of mirror sleeves configured to receive associated side mirrors as taught by Hudnall. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for mirror sleeves for with perpendicularly opposing walls on a perimeter wall in order to effectively collapse the mirror sleeve around the vehicles mirrors to protect them.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 19, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 18 above except; further comprising a cutout extending into the outer edge of each side of the second pair of opposing lateral sides of the perimeter wall of each sleeve of the pair of sleeves, the cutout defining a square bracket shape being configured to receive an arm coupling each side mirror of the pair of side mirrors to the vehicle.
Hudnall further teaches a cutout (18a) extending into the outer edge (30) of each side of the second pair of opposing lateral sides (5 in Annotated Figure 6 above) of the perimeter wall (16) of a sleeve (10), the cutout (18a) with opposing sides (22a and 24a) defining a square bracket shape (as seen in Figure 6) being configured to receive an arm (14) coupling side mirror (98) to a vehicle (11). (Fig. 6; Col. 3, Lines 57-65; Col. 6, Lines 29-40)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, and provide for a pair of mirror sleeves with cutouts as taught by Hudnall. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for mirror sleeves with cutouts for a vehicle, in order to provide the mirror sleeves with a profile that conveniently grasps the arm of the mirror housing. Additionally, wherein Hudnall does not explicitly teach a pair of sleeves, a person having ordinary skill in the art would anticipate providing for a pair of sleeves by virtue of duplication of parts. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claims 2, 5-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 20180290529 A1), in view of Hudnall (US 6325121 B1), further in view of design choice, and further in view of Taboada (US 4951993 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; the plurality of hood panels further comprising: a first hood panel; a second hood panel being coupled to the first hood panel; a third hood panel being coupled to the second hood panel; a fourth hood panel being coupled to the third hood panel; and a fifth hood panel being coupled to the fourth hood panel.
Taboada further teaches plurality of hood panels (formed by scores 10 in the cover body) further comprising: a first hood panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); a second hood panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the first hood panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); a third hood panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the second hood panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); a fourth hood panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 of the cover body 3) to the third hood panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body); and a fifth hood panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the fourth hood panel (Wherein Taboada teaches “At a plurality of locations, transverse folding scores 10 are introduced into the body thereby generating a plurality of hinged panels. The hinged folds or folding scores 10 are to permit a user to easily fold a cover body 3 along these scores 10 to generate a reversibly expandable accordion pleated structure.) (Figs. 1-4; Col. 3, Lines 26-51)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and provide for additional panels as taught by Taboada. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a vehicle cover comprising more panels, in order for the vehicle cover better accommodate the contours of a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 5, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; the plurality of front windshield panels further comprising: a first front windshield panel; and a second front windshield panel being coupled to the first front windshield panel.
Taboada further teaches a plurality of front windshield panels (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) further comprising: a first front windshield panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); and a second front windshield panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the first front windshield panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3). (Figs. 1-4; Col. 3, Lines 26-51)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and provide for additional panels as taught by Taboada. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a vehicle cover comprising more panels, in order for the vehicle cover better accommodate the contours of a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 6, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; the plurality of roof panels further comprising: a first roof panel; a second roof panel being coupled to the first roof panel; a third roof panel being coupled to the second roof panel; and a fourth roof panel being coupled to the third roof panel.
Taboada further teaches the plurality of roof panels (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) further comprising: a first roof panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); a second roof panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the first roof panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) ; a third roof panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the second roof panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); and a fourth roof panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the third roof panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3). (Figs. 1-4; Col. 3, Lines 26-51)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and provide for additional panels as taught by Taboada. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a vehicle cover comprising more panels, in order for the vehicle cover better accommodate the contours of a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 8, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; the plurality of rear windshield panels further comprising: a first rear windshield panel; and a second rear windshield panel being coupled to the first rear windshield panel.
Taboada further teaches a plurality of rear windshield panels (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) further comprising: a first rear windshield panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); and a second rear windshield panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the first rear windshield panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3). (Figs. 1-4; Col. 3, Lines 26-51)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and provide for additional panels as taught by Taboada. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a vehicle cover comprising more panels, in order for the vehicle cover better accommodate the contours of a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 9, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; the plurality of trunk panels further comprising: a first trunk panel; a second trunk panel being coupled to the first trunk panel; a third trunk panel being coupled to the second trunk panel; and a fourth trunk panel being coupled to the third trunk panel.
Taboada further teaches plurality of trunk panels (formed by scores 10 in the cover body) further comprising: a first trunk panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); a second trunk panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the first trunk panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); a third trunk panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 in the cover body 3) to the second trunk panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3); a fourth trunk panel (formed by scores 10 in the cover body 3) being coupled (materially connected between scores 10 of the cover body 3) to the third trunk panel (Wherein Taboada teaches “At a plurality of locations, transverse folding scores 10 are introduced into the body thereby generating a plurality of hinged panels. The hinged folds or folding scores 10 are to permit a user to easily fold a cover body 3 along these scores 10 to generate a reversibly expandable accordion pleated structure.) (Figs. 1-4; Col. 3, Lines 26-51)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and provide for additional panels as taught by Taboada. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a vehicle cover comprising more panels, in order for the vehicle cover better accommodate the contours of a vehicle.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 20180290529 A1), in view of Hudnall (US 6325121 B1), further in view of design choice, and further in view of Hall (US 20170087971 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; wherein each of the plurality of front windshield panels and the plurality of rear windshield panels has a length being smaller than a length of the plurality of hood panels.
Wherein Ching teaches wherein a plurality of front windshield panels (202) and a plurality of rear windshield panels (202) and plurality of hood panels (202). (Figs. 1-2;[0030]-[0031])
Hall further teaches a vehicle cover (10) having a front windshield portion (5 in Annotated Figure 2 below) and rear windshield portion (6 in Annotated Figure 2 below) having length being smaller than a length of the hood portion (32).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take a protective vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and provide shorter length windshield profiles as taught by Hall. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a vehicle cover comprising shorter length windshield panels, in order for the vehicle cover snugly accommodate the dimensions of the vehicle it is covering.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 20180290529 A1), in view of Hudnall (US 6325121 B1), further in view of design choice, and further in view of Molina (US 20160185200 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; each fastener of the plurality of fasteners further comprising: a first strap being coupled to and extending outwardly from a primary side of an associated panel of the plurality of panels; and a second strap being releasably couplable to the first strap, the second strap being coupled to and extending outwardly from a secondary side of the associated panel of the plurality of panels, the second strap being aligned with the first strap across the associated panel.
Wherein Ching teaches fasteners (110). (Figs. 1-2; [0029]-[0030])
Molina further teaches each fastener of a plurality of fasteners further comprising: a first strap (64) being coupled to and extending outwardly from a primary side (24) of an associated panel (24) of the plurality of panels (22, 24); and a second strap (62) being releasably couplable to the first strap (64), the second strap (62) being coupled to and extending outwardly from a secondary side (22) of the associated panel (22) of the plurality of panels (22, 24), the second strap (62) being aligned with the first strap (64) across the associated panel (22). (Figs. 1, 3, 5; [0012], [0018])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and substitute the fasteners of Ching for straps as taught by Molina. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute the fasteners as taught by Ching, for straps that secure to eachother beneath the vehicle, in order to more affirmatively secure the vehicle cover to the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 13, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 12 above except; further comprising a retainer being attached to the second strap, the first strap being engaged by the retainer to couple the second strap to the first strap.
Wherein Ching teaches fasteners (110). (Figs. 1-2; [0029]-[0030])
Molina further teaches further comprising a retainer (66) being attached to the second strap (62), the first strap (64) being engaged by the retainer (66) to couple the second strap (62) to the first strap (64). (Figs. 1, 3, 5; [0012], [0018])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and substitute the fasteners of Ching for straps as taught by Molina. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute the fasteners as taught by Ching, for straps that secure to eachother beneath the vehicle, in order to more affirmatively secure the vehicle cover to the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 14, Ching, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 13 above except; the retainer further comprising a pair of rings.
Wherein Ching teaches fasteners (110). (Figs. 1-2; [0029]-[0030])
Molina further teaches the retainer further comprising a pair of rings (as seen in Figure 1). (Figs. 1, 3, 5; [0012], [0018])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the vehicle cover as taught by Ching, modified above, and substitute the fasteners of Ching for straps with rings as taught by Molina. Wherein using simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; one would be motivated to substitute the fasteners as taught by Ching, for straps with rings that secure to eachother beneath the vehicle, in order to more affirmatively secure the vehicle cover to the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 20, Ching (US 20180290529 A1), in view of Hudnall (US 6325121 B1), further in view of design choice, further in view of Taboada (US 4951993 A), further in view of Hall (US 20170087971 A1), and further in view of Molina (US 20160185200 A1), is considered the most relevant prior art of record. Wherein the prior art of record teaches:
A protective cover assembly comprising: a plurality of panels being coupled together, each panel of the plurality of panels being pivotable upward and downward with respect to an adjacent panel of the plurality of panels wherein a shape of the plurality of panels is configured to be complementary to a shape of a vehicle when the plurality of panels is positioned over the vehicle, each panel of the plurality of panels comprising a resiliently compressible material being configured to inhibit impact damage to the vehicle when the plurality of panels is positioned over the vehicle, the resiliently compressible material comprising one of a high-density foam material and a sponge rubber material, each panel of the plurality of panels having a top surface, a bottom surface, and a peripheral edge being coupled to and extending between the top surface and the bottom surface, each panel of the plurality of panels having a thickness between 0.25 inch and 1.5 inch, the plurality of panels further comprising: a plurality of hood panels being configured to be positioned over a front end of the vehicle wherein the front end includes at least one of a hood, a grill, and a pair of headlights, the plurality of hood panels further comprising: a first hood panel; a second hood panel being pivotably coupled to the first hood panel; a third hood panel being pivotably coupled to the second hood panel; a fourth hood panel being pivotably coupled to the third hood panel; a fifth hood panel being pivotably coupled to the fourth hood panel; each hood panel of the plurality of hood panels further comprising: a driver's side hood panel piece being configured to be positioned over a driver's side of the front end of the vehicle; a top side hood panel piece being pivotably coupled to and extending outwardly from the driver's side hood panel piece, the top side hood panel piece being configured to be positioned over a top side of the front end of the vehicle; a passenger's side hood panel piece being pivotably coupled to and extending outwardly from the top side hood panel piece, the passenger's side hood panel piece being positioned distally to the driver's side hood panel piece, the passenger's side hood panel piece being configured to be positioned over a passenger's side of the front end of the vehicle; a plurality of front windshield panels being configured to be positioned over a front windshield of the vehicle, the plurality of front windshield panels being coupled to and extending outwardly from the plurality of hood panels, the plurality of front windshield panels further comprising: a first front windshield panel being pivotably coupled to the fifth hood panel; a second front windshield panel being pivotably coupled to the first front windshield panel; a plurality of roof panels being configured to be positioned over a midsection of the vehicle wherein the midsection extends between the front windshield and a rear windshield of the vehicle, the plurality of roof panels being coupled to and extending outwardly from the plurality of front windshield panels, the plurality of roof panels further comprising:a first roof panel being pivotably coupled to the second front windshield panel; a second roof panel being pivotably coupled to the first roof panel; a third roof panel being pivotably coupled to the second roof panel; a fourth roof panel being pivotably coupled to the third roof panel; each roof panel of the plurality of roof panels further comprising: a driver's side roof panel piece being configured to be positioned over the driver's side of the midsection of the vehicle; a top side roof panel piece being pivotably coupled to and extending outwardly from the driver's side roof panel piece, the top side roof panel piece being configured to be positioned over the top side of the midsection of the vehicle; a passenger's side roof panel piece being pivotably coupled to and extending outwardly from the top side roof panel piece, the passenger's side roof panel piece being positioned distally to the driver's side roof panel piece, the passenger's side roof panel piece being configured to be positioned over the passenger's side of the midsection of the vehicle; a plurality of rear windshield panels being configured to be positioned over the rear windshield of the vehicle, the plurality of rear windshield panels being coupled to and extending outwardly from the plurality of roof panels, the plurality of rear windshield panels further comprising: a first rear windshield panel being pivotably coupled to the fourth roof panel; a second rear windshield panel being pivotably coupled to the first rear windshield panel; a plurality of trunk panels being configured to be positioned over a rear end of the vehicle wherein the rear end includes at least one of a trunk and a pair of taillights, the plurality of trunk panels being coupled to and extending outwardly from the plurality of rear windshield panels, the plurality of trunk panels further comprising: a first trunk panel being pivotably coupled to the second rear windshield panel; a second trunk panel being pivotably coupled to the first trunk panel; a third trunk panel being pivotably coupled to the second trunk panel; a fourth trunk panel being pivotably coupled to the third trunk panel; each trunk panel of the plurality of trunk panels further comprising: a driver's side trunk panel piece being configured to be positioned over the driver's side of the rear end of the vehicle; a top side trunk panel piece being pivotably coupled to and extending outwardly from the driver's side trunk panel piece, the top side trunk panel piece being configured to be positioned over the top side of the rear end of the vehicle; a passenger's side trunk panel piece being pivotably coupled to and extending outwardly from the top side trunk panel piece, the passenger's side trunk panel piece being positioned distally to the driver's side trunk panel piece, the passenger's side trunk panel piece being configured to be positioned over the passenger's side of the rear end of the vehicle; wherein the driver's side roof panel piece of each roof panel of the plurality of roof panels has a length exceeding a length of the driver's side hood panel piece of each hood panel of the plurality of hood panels, and wherein the driver's side roof panel piece of each roof panel of the plurality of roof panels has a length exceeding a length of the driver's side trunk panel piece of each trunk panel of the plurality of trunk panels; wherein the passenger's side roof panel piece of each roof panel of the plurality of roof panels has a length exceeding a length of the passenger's side hood panel piece of each hood panel of the plurality of hood panels and wherein the passenger's side roof panel piece of each roof panel of the plurality of roof panels has a length exceeding a length of the passenger's side trunk panel piece of each trunk panel of the plurality of trunk panels; wherein the top side roof panel piece of each roof panel of the plurality of roof panels has a length being equal to a length of the top side hood panel piece of each hood panel of the plurality of hood panels and wherein the top side roof panel piece of each roof panel of the plurality of roof panels has a length being equal to a length of the top side trunk panel piece of each trunk panel of the plurality of trunk panels;a coupler material pivotably connecting each panel of the plurality of panels to an adjacent panel of the plurality of panels, the coupler material being positioned between each panel of the plurality of panels and the adjacent panel of the plurality of panels, the coupler material comprising a fiber material being flexible wherein the fiber material is configured to facilitate each panel of the plurality of panels in pivoting upwardly and downwardly with respect to the adjacent panel of the plurality of panels; a plurality of fasteners being coupled to the plurality of panels, the plurality of fasteners being configured to releasably affix the plurality of panels to the vehicle, the plurality of fasteners being coupled to the top surface adjacent to the peripheral edge of the plurality of panels, each fastener of the plurality of fasteners further comprising: a first strap being coupled to and extending outwardly from a primary side of an associated panel of the plurality of panels; a second strap being releasably couplable to the first strap, the second strap being coupled to and extending outwardly from a secondary side of the associated panel of the plurality of panels, the second strap being aligned with the first strap across the associated panel; a retainer being attached to the second strap, the first strap being engaged by the retainer to couple the second strap to the first strap, the retainer comprising a pair of rings, each ring of the pair of rings being a D-ring; the plurality of fasteners further comprising: a hood fastener being configured to affix the plurality of hood panels to the vehicle; a trunk fastener being configured to affix the plurality of trunk panels to the vehicle, the trunk fastener being positioned on the second trunk panel adjacent to the third trunk panel; a pair of sleeves being configured to be positionable over a pair of side mirrors of the vehicle, each sleeve of the pair of sleeves comprising the resiliently compressible material, each sleeve of the pair of sleeves further comprising: a base wall; a perimeter wall being coupled to and extending outwardly from the base wall to define an interior space, the interior space of each sleeve of the pair of sleeves having a size being configured to receive an associated side mirror of the pair of side mirrors; an outer edge of the perimeter wall defining an opening into the interior space; the perimeter wall having a first pair of opposing lateral sides and a second pair of opposing lateral sides, the first pair of opposing lateral sides being perpendicular to the second pair of opposing lateral sides; and a cutout extending into the outer edge of each side of the second pair of opposing lateral sides, the cutout defining a square bracket shape being configured to receive an arm coupling each side mirror of the pair of side mirrors to the vehicle, the square bracket shape having rounded corners.
The prior art of record does not teach;
The hood fastener being positioned on the third hood panel or a front windshield fastener being configured to affix the plurality of front windshield panels to the vehicle, the front windshield fastener being positioned on the first front windshield panel adjacent to the second front windshield panel; a first roof fastener being configured to affix the plurality of roof panels to the vehicle, the first roof fastener being positioned on the second roof panel adjacent to the first roof panel; a second roof fastener being configured to affix the plurality of roof panels to the vehicle, the second roof fastener being positioned on the third roof panel adjacent to the fourth roof panel; or a rear windshield fastener being configured to affix the plurality of rear windshield panels to the vehicle, the rear windshield fastener being positioned adjacent to a junction between the first rear windshield panel and the second rear windshield panel.
Since the prior art of record does not teach windshield fasteners, roof fasteners, or a hood fastener configured to be positioned on a third hood panel, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Trevino (US 10792987 B1), teaches a protective cover for vehicles composed of panels.
Walker et al. (US 20180345058 A1), teaches a vehicle fire protective cover.
Gill et al. (US 9770966 B1), teaches an impact resistant cover for a vehicle.
Carabajal (US 20130292963 A1), teaches a protective vehicle cover.
Dhanray (US 20070085372 A1), teaches a paneled vehicle cover.
Huang (US 5429406 A), teaches a paneled vehicle cover.
Huynh et al. (US 20120154911 A1), teaches a sideview mirror cover.
Sanchez Velez (US 20230356578 A1), teaches a detachable mirror protecting device.
Barber (US 20150328968 A1), teaches a side view mirror cover.
Hudnall (US 20140111860 A1), teaches a side view mirror cover.
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733