DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Transmittal of New Application filed 02/13/2024.
B. Claims 1-9 remains pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Sachs, Michael (Journal of Statistical Software August 2017, Volume 79, Code Snippet 2. doi: 10.18637/jss.v079.c02), herein referred to as “Sachs”.
As for claim 1, Sachs teaches. A method for displaying a user interface that presents a classifier statistic, mathematical equation output, or ROC curve on a computing device or mobile phone or tablet, comprising (pg. 1 section 1.1 discusses what receiver operating characteristic (ROC) curve is used for such as to access accuracy of a continuous measurement for predicting a binary outcome):
receiving a user’s input on said screen using a cursor or pointing element whereby user input comprises selection of a point along a plotted curve, ROC curve, or mathematical function so that input results in displaying one or more figures corresponding to the select statistics or threshold term defined by the user input (pg. 10 Figure 4: Screen shot of an interactive plot created with plotROC being displayed in the RStudio viewer. Hovering the mouse cursor over the plot causes the cutoff label nearest to the cursor to be displayed. Clicking will display a confidence region, if available, and make the label stick until the next click) .
As for claim 2, Sachs teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein said user input comprises a text entry including a predefined statistic (pg. 13 section 2.5 plotROC uses the ggplot2 package to create the objects to be plotted. Therefore, users can add themes and annotations in the usual ggplot2 way; the annotations are inputted by the user as text).
As for claim 3, Sachs teaches. The method of claim 2, wherein selecting an input by any means leads to creation of or changes to a confusion matrix, model statistics, and/or threshold selections (pg. 2 par. 2 The confusion matrix cross-classifies the predicted outcome M ≥ c versus the true outcome D. The four cells of the matrix correspond to the possible classification outcomes: a true positive, a false positive, a true negative, and a false negative. ROC analysis assesses the trade-offs between the test’s fraction of true positives versus the false positives as c varies over the range of M).
As for claim 5, Sachs teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein changing a selected input leads to a video demonstrating (graphical user interface depicting user interaction with cursor) the change in a plot that graphically illustrates the impact of or magnitude of the changes by showing original and destination plots or outputs (pg. 10 Figure 4. Hovering over the display shows the cutoff value at the point nearest to the cursor. Clicking makes the cutoff label stick until the next click, and if confidence regions are available, clicks will also display those as grey rectangles. By default, plot_interactive_roc removes any existing rocci geom and adds a high-density layer of confidence regions. This can be suppressed by using the add.cis = FALSE option. The points and labels layer of the roc geom can be hidden by using the hide.points = TRUE option. Then, points and labels will be displayed only when the mouse is hovering over the plotting region. Also by default, the style_roc function is applied, the settings can be modified by passing a call to that function).
As for claim 6, Sachs teaches. The method of claim 5, whereby changing a selected input leads to a video demonstrating the change in a graphical plot to illustrate the magnitude of the change by other means such as changing color, line width or other dynamic modification that visually depicts the magnitude and or direction of a change (fig. 4 dynamically shows user interaction with the ROC plot within plotROC; Hovering the mouse cursor over the plot causes the cutoff label nearest to the cursor to be displayed. Clicking will display a confidence region, if available, and make the label stick until the next click.).
As for claim 7, Sachs teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the dynamic outputs depict bias in a mathematical model (fig. 5 Showing multiple curves is also useful when there is a factor that affects the classification accuracy of the test; here the type of data in patient data is displayed in the ROC plots to show bias).
As for claim 8, Sachs teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the dynamic outputs depict bias in an AI model or system (fig. 5 Showing multiple curves is also useful when there is a factor that affects the classification accuracy of the test; here the type of data in patient data is displayed in the ROC plots to show bias).
As for claim 9, Sachs teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the dynamic outputs depict sex or age bias in an AI model or system, or in a mathematical model (fig. 5 Showing multiple curves is also useful when there is a factor that affects the classification accuracy of the test; here the sex in patient data is displayed in the ROC plots).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachs in view of Turner, Helen et al. (US Pub. 2022/0130493 A1), herein referred to as “Turner”.
As for claim 4, Sachs teaches. The method of claim 1. Sachs does not specifically teach wherein selecting an input leads to changes in a graphical plot such as a Forrest plot or violin plot; however in the same field of endeavor Turner teaches this in paragraph 419 and 457 PhAROS_USER client has a graphical user interface (GUI). The interface such as a graphical user interface (GUI) may be the visual component of the application for a user to enter inputs, selects different data entries, and views results generated by the computing server. In some embodiments, the interface may not include visual elements but allow a user to interface with the computing server directly through code instructions, such as in the case of an API. The interface may display various visualizations of data and results. For example, the interface may display various charts and analytics that summarize the results of a data analysis. User is able to select different plots such as Forest Plot, ROC Plot and Violin Plot for displaying the selected data to rendered to the display screen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Turner in the Sachs because Turner suggests the interface may display various charts and analytics that summarize the results of a data analysis; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the tool for summarizing various results as useful feature to be included in Sachs since Sachs only renders data into ROC curve plots and Turners can select from ROC curve plot, Forest plot and Violin plots; par. 419. Table 1 states PhAROS visualize functions allow the user to visualize data and datasets within the PhAROS system and subsystems offering rapid, simplified and/or intuitive insights into the complex data, and datasets within these systems depending on the type of user and their use case. Thus the benefits of this visualization system would complement Sachs visualization system to not only display ROC curve plots but also other plots.
(Note :) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 September 17, 2025