DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/440214 following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 02/13/24.
Oath/Declaration
2. The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Drawings
3. The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 18, 29 and 30 disclose “….fixed parameter..”. This phrase is considered vague and it is unclear what the meaning of this parameter is. Is it a single value, a constant, a predefined or preconfigured parameter, or some other meaning? This leaves one of ordinary skill in the art guessing what the meaning is.
The specification paragraph [0028] discloses….Another network entity for wireless communication is described. The network entity may include means for outputting a broadcast signal indicating at least one additional parameter associated with a configuration for an UL-WUS, the at least one additional parameter being different from one or more fixed parameters associated with the configuration for the UL-WUS, where one or more wakeup signal occasions associated with the configuration for the UL-WUS are separate from one or more random access occasions associated with a random access procedure and means for obtaining, for a UE the UL-WUS during a wakeup signal occasion of the one or more wakeup signal occasions based on the one or more fixed parameters and on the at least one additional parameter. paragraph [0043], [0286] discloses “Aspect 33: The method of any of aspects 19 through 32, wherein the one or more fixed parameters comprise a preamble associated with the UL-WUS, a quantity of synchronization signal blocks per wakeup signal occasion, a root sequence index associated with the UL-WUS, a subcarrier spacing associated with the UL-WUS, a frequency division multiplexing parameter associated with the UL-WUS, a frequency domain location associated with the UL-WUS, a target power level associated with the UL-WUS, a threshold quantity of transmission attempts of the UL-WUS, or any combination thereof.”
Claims 3, 4, 5, 230, 21, 22 states”…. initial content change boundary…”. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation. The specification does not seem to provide further explanation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-15, 18-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwak et al(US 2023/199649A1),
Regarding claim 1, Kwak teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: obtain one or more fixed parameters associated with a configuration for an uplink wakeup signal associated with the UE; (See Kwak Fig.5 and 6 paragraph [0127] …In some examples, the UE 115-c may be notified that the UE 115-c is within the geographic coverage area of the base station 105-d via an indication transmitted from a coverage cell.) receive, from a network entity, a broadcast signal indicating at least one additional parameter associated with the configuration for the uplink wakeup signal, the at least one additional parameter being different from the one or more fixed parameters, wherein one or more wakeup signal occasions associated with the configuration for the uplink wakeup signal are separate from one or more random access occasions associated with a random access procedure; (See Kwak paragraph [0123] explains…..The UE 115 may determine the resources for a RACH occasion 520 based on the information within the SIB1 525. In the fifth transmission and reception occasion 505-e, the UE 115 may transmit a RACH message (e.g., a msg1) during the RACH occasion 520….paragraph[0128] explains….the UE 115-c may identify a cell wake-up signal resource for transmission of a cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the SSB received at 605 may indicate the cell wake-up signal resource. ) and transmit the uplink wakeup signal during a wakeup signal occasion of the one or more wakeup signal occasions based at least in part on the one or more fixed parameters and on the at least one additional parameter. (See Kwak Fig. 5 and 6, paragraphs [0121], [0122] explains… In the third transmission and reception occasion 505-c, the UE 115 may transmit a cell wake-up signal 515 to the base station 105. The resources for cell wake-up signal 515 may be pre-configured. For example, the UE 115 may have received an indication of the resources for transmitting the cell wake-up signal 515 when the UE 115 was previously in a connected state with the base station 105 or with another base station 105. In some examples, …. Paragraph [0130] …At 620, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal using the identified cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal over one transmission and reception occasion.. )
Regarding claim 2, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 1, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: obtain an indication of a modification scheme associated with a content change for at least a portion of the broadcast signal; and process one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the modification scheme. (see Kwak paragraph [0066] explains… The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (e.g., the order of the modulation scheme, the coding rate of the modulation scheme, or both). Thus, the more resource elements that a UE 115 receives and the higher the order of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115….paragraphs [0127],[0128] )
Regarding claim 3, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the modification scheme indicates a modification periodicity of an initial content change boundary. (see Kwak paragraph [0066] explains… The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (e.g., the order of the modulation scheme, the coding rate of the modulation scheme, or both). Thus, the more resource elements that a UE 115 receives and the higher the order of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115….paragraphs [0127],[0128] )
Regarding claim 4, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 2, wherein, to process the one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the modification scheme, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: process the one or more subsequent broadcast signals after an initial content change boundary that occurs after transmission of the uplink wakeup signal. (Kwak paragraph [0238] explains… Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 5, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 2, wherein, to process the one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the modification scheme, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: process the one or more subsequent broadcast signals before an initial content change boundary, wherein the initial content change boundary is a temporally first initial content change boundary after transmission of the uplink wakeup signal. . (Kwak paragraph [0238] explains Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 6, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 2, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the one or more subsequent broadcast signals comprises a second broadcast signal that is a temporally first broadcast signal broadcasted after transmission of the uplink wakeup signal. . (Kwak paragraph [0238] explains Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 7, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 2, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to obtain the indication of the modification scheme, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: receive signaling indicating the modification scheme from the network entity, from a second network entity, or both. (see Kwak paragraph [0066] explains… The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (e.g., the order of the modulation scheme, the coding rate of the modulation scheme, or both). Thus, the more resource elements that a UE 115 receives and the higher the order of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115….paragraphs [0127],[0128] )
Regarding claim 8, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 2, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to obtain the indication of the modification scheme, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: receive a radio resource control message or a system information block indicating the modification scheme. (see paragraph [0050] Kwak explains…. In some wireless communications systems, base stations may reduce energy consumption by minimizing the use of always-on or periodic signals. For example, some base stations may reduce or limit transmissions of signals such as the system information block (SIB) one (SIB1). SIB1 resources may be indicated by a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) within a synchronization signal block (SSB). See paragraph [0238])
Regarding claim 9, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 2, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the modification scheme is common for communications via a set of frequencies, for cells within a group, or both. (see Kwak paragraph [0060]…The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 over one or more carriers. The term “carrier” may refer to a set of radio frequency spectrum resources having a defined physical layer structure for supporting the communication links 125….paragraph [0071] explains…. Search space sets may include common search space sets configured for sending control information to multiple UEs 115 and UE-specific search space sets for sending control information to a specific UE 115. )
Regarding claim 10, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 1, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: establish a link with the network entity based at least in part on transmitting the uplink wakeup signal; receive signaling indicating a content change in at least a portion of the broadcast signal; and process one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the signaling indicating the content change. (see Kwak paragraph [0238] explains…. Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 11, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 10, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to receive the signaling indicating the content change, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: receive information associated with one or more versions of the broadcast signal. (see Kwak paragraph [0109] explains…. The SSB 310 may include a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a PBCH. In some examples, an indication field in the PBCH may indicate that the base station 105 is not currently transmitting an SIB1 325. In some examples one type of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence within the PBCH may indicate that the that the base station 105 is not currently transmitting an SIB1 325, while a second type of DMRS sequence may indicate that the base station 105 is currently transmitting an SIB1 325.)
Regarding claim 12, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 11, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to process the one or more subsequent broadcast signals, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: configure one or more receive beam parameters based at least in part on determining whether a correlation between a subsequent broadcast signal of the one or more subsequent broadcast signals and a version of the one or more versions of the broadcast signal satisfies a correlation threshold.(see Kwak paragraph [0111] explains….For example, the SSB 310-a may indicate that that the base station 105 is currently transmitting SIB1 325 via an indication field in PBCH, a DMRS sequence type, or a PSS or SSS sequence type. The base station 105 may also transmit the SIB1 325. …paragraph [0114] explains….During a first transmission and reception occasion 405-a and a second transmission and reception occasion 405-b, a base station 105 may transmit an SSB 410 that includes a first type of PBCH. The first type of PBCH (PBCH1) indicates that the base station 105 is not currently transmitting an SIB1 425 and a second type of PBCH. Accordingly, the UE 115 may not be able to determine and configure a RACH occasion 420.)
Regarding claim 13, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 10, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to receive the signaling indicating the content change, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: receive a physical downlink control channel transmission or a physical downlink shared channel transmission indicating the content change in at least the portion of the broadcast signal based at least in part on establishing the link with the network entity. (see Kwak paragraph [0238] explains…. Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 14, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 1, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: transmit a request for information associated with a modification scheme for at least a portion of the broadcast signal, a request for information associated with a content change in at least the portion of the broadcast signal, or both. (see Kwak paragraph [0238] explains…Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 15, Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 1, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the broadcast signal comprises a bitmap that indicates the at least one additional parameter, and wherein the at least one additional parameter indicates a preamble type, a sequence length, a transmission time, or any combination thereof, associated with the uplink wakeup signal.(see Kwak paragraph [0122] explains….For example, the SSB 510 may indicate that that the base station 105 is currently transmitting SIB1 525 via an indication field in PBCH, a DMRS sequence type, or a PSS or SSS sequence type. The base station 105 may also transmit the SIB1 525. )
Regarding claim 18, Kwak teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: output a broadcast signal indicating at least one additional parameter associated with a configuration for an uplink wakeup signal, (See Kwak Fig.5 and 6 paragraph [0127] …In some examples, the UE 115-c may be notified that the UE 115-c is within the geographic coverage area of the base station 105-d via an indication transmitted from a coverage cell.) the at least one additional parameter being different from one or more fixed parameters associated with the configuration for the uplink wakeup signal, wherein one or more wakeup signal occasions associated with the configuration for the uplink wakeup signal are separate from one or more random access occasions associated with a random access procedure; (See Kwak paragraph [0123] explains…..The UE 115 may determine the resources for a RACH occasion 520 based on the information within the SIB1 525. In the fifth transmission and reception occasion 505-e, the UE 115 may transmit a RACH message (e.g., a msg1) during the RACH occasion 520….paragraph[0128] explains….the UE 115-c may identify a cell wake-up signal resource for transmission of a cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the SSB received at 605 may indicate the cell wake-up signal resource. ) and obtain, for a user equipment (UE) the uplink wakeup signal during a wakeup signal occasion of the one or more wakeup signal occasions based at least in part on the one or more fixed parameters and on the at least one additional parameter. (See Kwak Fig. 5 and 6, explains…. paragraphs [0121], [0122]… In the third transmission and reception occasion 505-c, the UE 115 may transmit a cell wake-up signal 515 to the base station 105. The resources for cell wake-up signal 515 may be pre-configured. For example, the UE 115 may have received an indication of the resources for transmitting the cell wake-up signal 515 when the UE 115 was previously in a connected state with the base station 105 or with another base station 105. In some examples, …. Paragraph [0130] …At 620, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal using the identified cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal over one transmission and reception occasion.. )
Regarding claim 19, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 18, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: output an indication of a modification scheme associated with a content change for at least a portion of the broadcast signal; and output one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the modification scheme. (see Kwak paragraph [0066] explains… The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (e.g., the order of the modulation scheme, the coding rate of the modulation scheme, or both). Thus, the more resource elements that a UE 115 receives and the higher the order of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115….paragraphs [0127],[0128] )
Regarding claim 20, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 19, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the modification scheme indicates a modification periodicity of an initial content change boundary. see Kwak paragraph [0066] explains… The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (e.g., the order of the modulation scheme, the coding rate of the modulation scheme, or both). Thus, the more resource elements that a UE 115 receives and the higher the order of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115….paragraphs [0127],[0128] )
Regarding claim 21, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 19, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to output the one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the modification scheme, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: perform a content change of at least a portion of the one or more subsequent broadcast signals after an initial content change boundary that occurs after the uplink wakeup signal is obtained. (Kwak paragraph [0238] explains… Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 22, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 19, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to output the one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the modification scheme, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: perform a content change of at least a portion of the one or more subsequent broadcast signals before an initial content change boundary, wherein the initial content change boundary is a temporally first initial content change boundary after the uplink wakeup signal is obtained. (Kwak paragraph [0238] explains Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 23, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 19, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to output the one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the modification scheme, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: perform a content change of at least a portion of a second broadcast signal that is a temporally first broadcast signal broadcasted after the uplink wakeup signal is obtained. . (Kwak paragraph [0238] explains Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 24, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 19, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to output the indication of the modification scheme, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: output a radio resource control message or a system information block indicating the modification scheme. (see paragraph [0050] Kwak explains…. In some wireless communications systems, base stations may reduce energy consumption by minimizing the use of always-on or periodic signals. For example, some base stations may reduce or limit transmissions of signals such as the system information block (SIB) one (SIB1). SIB1 resources may be indicated by a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) within a synchronization signal block (SSB). See paragraph [0238])
Regarding claim 25, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 19, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the modification scheme is common for communications via a set of frequencies, for cells within a group, or both. (see Kwak paragraph [0060]…The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 over one or more carriers. The term “carrier” may refer to a set of radio frequency spectrum resources having a defined physical layer structure for supporting the communication links 125….paragraph [0071] explains…. Search space sets may include common search space sets configured for sending control information to multiple UEs 115 and UE-specific search space sets for sending control information to a specific UE 115. )
Regarding claim 26, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 18, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: establish a link with the UE based at least in part on the uplink wakeup signal; output signaling indicating a content change in at least a portion of the broadcast signal; and output one or more subsequent broadcast signals based at least in part on the content change. (see Kwak paragraph [0238] explains…. Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 27, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 26, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to output the signaling indicating the content change, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: output information associated with one or more versions of the broadcast signal. .(see Kwak paragraph [0111] explains….For example, the SSB 310-a may indicate that that the base station 105 is currently transmitting SIB1 325 via an indication field in PBCH, a DMRS sequence type, or a PSS or SSS sequence type. The base station 105 may also transmit the SIB1 325. …paragraph [0114] explains….During a first transmission and reception occasion 405-a and a second transmission and reception occasion 405-b, a base station 105 may transmit an SSB 410 that includes a first type of PBCH. The first type of PBCH (PBCH1) indicates that the base station 105 is not currently transmitting an SIB1 425 and a second type of PBCH. Accordingly, the UE 115 may not be able to determine and configure a RACH occasion 420.)
Regarding claim 28, Kwak taught the network entity of claim 26, as described above. Kwak further teaches wherein, to output the signaling indicating the content change, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: output a physical downlink control channel transmission or a physical downlink shared channel transmission indicating the content change in at least the portion of the broadcast signal based at least in part on establishing the link with the UE. (see Kwak paragraph [0238] explains…. Aspect 10: The method of any of aspects 1 through 9, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first SSB comprising a first PBCH indicative of the cell wake-up signal resource, wherein identifying the cell wake-up signal resource is based at least in part on receiving the first PBCH; and receiving, from the base station and in response to transmission of the cell wake-up signal, a second SSB associated with the SIB and comprising a second PBCH indicative of a control resource set configuration.)
Regarding claim 29, Kwak teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: obtaining one or more fixed parameters associated with a configuration for an uplink wakeup signal associated with the UE; (See Kwak Fig.5 and 6 paragraph [0127] …In some examples, the UE 115-c may be notified that the UE 115-c is within the geographic coverage area of the base station 105-d via an indication transmitted from a coverage cell.) receiving, from a network entity, a broadcast signal indicating at least one additional parameter associated with the configuration for the uplink wakeup signal, the at least one additional parameter being different from the one or more fixed parameters, wherein one or more wakeup signal occasions associated with the configuration for the uplink wakeup signal are separate from one or more random access occasions associated with a random access procedure; (See Kwak paragraph [0123] explains…..The UE 115 may determine the resources for a RACH occasion 520 based on the information within the SIB1 525. In the fifth transmission and reception occasion 505-e, the UE 115 may transmit a RACH message (e.g., a msg1) during the RACH occasion 520….paragraph[0128] explains….the UE 115-c may identify a cell wake-up signal resource for transmission of a cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the SSB received at 605 may indicate the cell wake-up signal resource. ) and transmitting the uplink wakeup signal during a wakeup signal occasion of the one or more wakeup signal occasions based at least in part on the one or more fixed parameters and on the at least one additional parameter. (See Kwak Fig. 5 and 6, explains…. paragraphs [0121], [0122]… In the third transmission and reception occasion 505-c, the UE 115 may transmit a cell wake-up signal 515 to the base station 105. The resources for cell wake-up signal 515 may be pre-configured. For example, the UE 115 may have received an indication of the resources for transmitting the cell wake-up signal 515 when the UE 115 was previously in a connected state with the base station 105 or with another base station 105. In some examples, …. Paragraph [0130] …At 620, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal using the identified cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal over one transmission and reception occasion.. )
Regarding claim 30, Kwak teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: outputting a broadcast signal indicating at least one additional parameter associated with a configuration for an uplink wakeup signal, the at least one additional parameter being different from one or more fixed parameters associated with the configuration for the uplink wakeup signal, (See Kwak Fig.5 and 6 paragraph [0127] …In some examples, the UE 115-c may be notified that the UE 115-c is within the geographic coverage area of the base station 105-d via an indication transmitted from a coverage cell.) wherein one or more wakeup signal occasions associated with the configuration for the uplink wakeup signal are separate from one or more random access occasions associated with a random access procedure; (See Kwak paragraph [0123] explains…..The UE 115 may determine the resources for a RACH occasion 520 based on the information within the SIB1 525. In the fifth transmission and reception occasion 505-e, the UE 115 may transmit a RACH message (e.g., a msg1) during the RACH occasion 520….paragraph[0128] explains….the UE 115-c may identify a cell wake-up signal resource for transmission of a cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the SSB received at 605 may indicate the cell wake-up signal resource. ) and obtaining, for a user equipment (UE) the uplink wakeup signal during a wakeup signal occasion of the one or more wakeup signal occasions based at least in part on the one or more fixed parameters and on the at least one additional parameter. (See Kwak Fig. 5 and 6…. paragraphs [0121], [0122]… In the third transmission and reception occasion 505-c, the UE 115 may transmit a cell wake-up signal 515 to the base station 105. The resources for cell wake-up signal 515 may be pre-configured. For example, the UE 115 may have received an indication of the resources for transmitting the cell wake-up signal 515 when the UE 115 was previously in a connected state with the base station 105 or with another base station 105. In some examples, …. Paragraph [0130] …At 620, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal using the identified cell wake-up signal. In some examples, the UE 115-c may transmit, and the base station 105-d may receive, the cell wake-up signal over one transmission and reception occasion.. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al(US 2023/199649A1), in view of LI (WO2023/138510A1),
Regarding claim 16, Kwak teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Kwak alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with LI teaches wherein the one or more fixed parameters comprise a preamble associated with the uplink wakeup signal, a quantity of synchronization signal blocks per wakeup signal occasion, a root sequence index associated with the uplink wakeup signal, a subcarrier spacing associated with the uplink wakeup signal, a frequency division multiplexing parameter associated with the uplink wakeup signal, a frequency domain location associated with the uplink wakeup signal, a target power level associated with the uplink wakeup signal, a threshold quantity of transmission attempts of the uplink wakeup signal, or any combination thereof.(see Li page 10 paragraph [0005] explains…. After the terminal completes the time calibration, when the UE determines that it needs to send the WUS, it can send the WUS according to the time-frequency resources in the wake-up signal configuration. Optionally, in some embodiments, the wake-up signal sequence configuration includes at least one of the following: a random access preamble start index for the first signal; a random access preamble end index for the first signal; a random access preamble index for the first signal;)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Yongjun with Li’s configuration determination method and apparatus, terminal and network side. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to further improve large energy consumption on the network side (See background technique )
Regarding claim 17, the modified Kwak taught the apparatus of claim 16, as described above. The modified Kwak further teaches wherein, to obtain the one or more fixed parameters, the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to: receive control signaling indicating the one or more fixed parameters. (see Li page 10 paragraph [0005] explains…. After the terminal completes the time calibration, when the UE determines that it needs to send the WUS, it can send the WUS according to the time-frequency resources in the wake-up signal configuration. Optionally, in some embodiments, the wake-up signal sequence configuration includes at least one of the following: a random access preamble start index for the first signal; a random access preamble end index for the first signal; a random access preamble index for the first signal;)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478