DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 04/12/2024 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,7-12 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2014/0205285) in view of Niiho et al; (US 9048952).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses an optical communication;(filter bypass module 2 coupled with the optical switch 22, optical fibers 221,222,223 and 224 and first and second connectors 26,27 for the optical network equipment, see figures 4 and 5) comprising: a first end; (first connector and second connector 24,25 for optical transceiver, see figure 5) a second end opposite the first end ;(second end with first and second connectors 26,27, see figure 5) wherein the second end comprises: a first connector configured to be optically coupled with a first module;( first connector 26 for optical network equipment, see figure 5) a second connector configured to be optically coupled with a second module ;( second connector 27 for optical network equipment, see figure 5) and a signal direction component optically coupled with the first end and the second end, wherein the signal direction component is configured to switch ;(the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5) between: a first connection state in which optical connectivity is established between the first end and first connector;(optical switch 22 executes the normal mode, the optical switch 22 may connect the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment and the corresponding optical fibers 221, 224 for optical transceiver, see paragraph 48 and figure 11) and a second connection state in which optical connectivity is established between the first end and the second connector (the optical switch 22 executes the bypass mode, the optical switch 22 may disconnect optical signal between the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment and the corresponding optical fibers 221, 224 for optical transceiver, and connect optical signal between the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment, see paragraph 48 and figures 5 and 11).
However, Jiang does not explicitly disclose cable formed of one or more optical fibers, the optical communication cable.
In a related field of endeavor, Niiho discloses cable formed of one or more optical fibers, the optical communication cable;( an HDMI optical active cable apparatus 300 I with optical fiber 31 is connected between a source device 100 and a sink device 200, see figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the active optical cable of Niiho with Jiang to provide a connection state detection signal that represents the connection state of an HDMI optical active cable, and the motivation is to provide the connection state detection signal to a switch.
Regarding claim 2, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein the signal direction component comprises one or more optical selectors ;(the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein, in the first connection state, the signal direction component is configured to direct optical signals from the first end to the first connector and the first module ;(optical switch 22 executes the normal mode, the optical switch 22 may connect the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment and the corresponding optical fibers 221, 224 for optical transceiver, see paragraph 48 and figure 11).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein, in the first connection state, the signal direction component is configured to direct optical signals from the first module to the first end.
In a related field of endeavor, Niiho discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein, in the first connection state, the signal direction component is configured to direct optical signals from the first module to the first end; (a control circuit configured to turn on the switch in response to the second connection detection signal in such a normal connection state that the communication cable apparatus is connected between the transmitter apparatus and the receiver apparatus so that the data signal can be transmitted in the predetermined one direction from the transmitter apparatus to the receiver apparatus, and turn off the switch in such a reverse connection state that the communication cable apparatus is connected between the transmitter apparatus and the receiver apparatus in a direction reverse to the one direction, see column 3, lines 11-20).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the reverse active optical cable of Niiho with Jiang to provide a connection state detection signal that represents the connection state of an HDMI optical active cable, and the motivation is to provide the connection state detection signal to a switch in both the directions.
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein, in the second connection state, the signal direction component is configured to direct optical signals from the first end to the second connector and the second optical module;(the optical switch 22 executes the bypass mode, the optical switch 22 may disconnect optical signal between the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment and the corresponding optical fibers 221, 224 for optical transceiver, and connect optical signal between the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment, see paragraph 48 and figures 5 and 11).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang does not explicitly disclose the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein, in the second connection state, the signal direction component is configured to direct optical signals from the second optical module to the first end.
In a related field of endeavor, Niiho discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein, in the second connection state, the signal direction component is configured to direct optical signals from the second optical module to the first end ; (a control circuit configured to turn on the switch in response to the second connection detection signal in such a normal connection state that the communication cable apparatus is connected between the transmitter apparatus and the receiver apparatus so that the data signal can be transmitted in the predetermined one direction from the transmitter apparatus to the receiver apparatus, and turn off the switch in such a reverse connection state that the communication cable apparatus is connected between the transmitter apparatus and the receiver apparatus in a direction reverse to the one direction, see column 3, lines 11-20). Motivation same as claim 8.
Regarding claim 11, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein the first end further comprises a third connector configured to be optically coupled with a third module; (third connector for 10G optical network equipment and optically coupled with the switch, see figure 11).
Regarding claim 12, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 11, wherein the signal direction component further comprises: a first optical selector; and a second optical selector;(plurality of optical switches coupled with the first, second, third and fourth connector, see figure 11).
Claims 3,4, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2014/0205285) in view of Niiho et al; (US 9048952) and further in view of Lee et al; (KR 102078484B1).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 1, wherein the signal direction component further comprises an electrical connector configured to be electrically connected;(the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
However, the combination of Jiang and Niiho does not explicitly disclose with a network interface card (NIC) or a server.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee discloses with a network interface card (NIC) or a server; (Active Optical Cable (AOC) is a connection for optical communication by integrally connecting an optical connector module AOC Connector (20) and is used to transfer large amounts of signals at high speed between a server and a rack of switches, see background art and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the server of Lee with Jiang and Niiho to provide an optical connector and/or cable for transferring high speed signal data and the motivation is to provide high speed and high-capacity data transfer.
Regarding claim 4, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 3, wherein the signal direction component is configured to switch to the first connection state in the presence of an electrical supply voltage between the signal direction component and via the electrical connector ;(the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
However, the combination of Jiang and Niiho does not explicitly disclose the NIC.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee discloses the NIC ; (Active Optical Cable (AOC) is a connection for optical communication by integrally connecting an optical connector module AOC Connector (20) and is used to transfer large amounts of signals at high speed between a server and a rack of switches, see background art and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 3, wherein the signal direction component is configured to switch to the second connection state in the absence of an electrical supply voltage between the signal direction component and via the electrical connector ;(the signal control connector 231 may be a connector in the form of USB, RJ45 or HDMI to be connected to external in-line equipment for receiving an electrical control signal sent to the optical switch 22 from the in-line equipment and the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
However, the combination of Jiang and Niiho does not explicitly disclose the NIC.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee discloses the NIC; (Active Optical Cable (AOC) is a connection for optical communication by integrally connecting an optical connector module AOC Connector (20) and is used to transfer large amounts of signals at high speed between a server and a rack of switches, see background art and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Jiang discloses the optical communication cable according to claim 3, wherein the signal direction component is configured to switch between the first connection state and the second connection state in response to an instruction from ;(the signal control connector 231 may be a connector in the form of USB, RJ45 or HDMI to be connected to external in-line equipment for receiving an electrical control signal sent to the optical switch 22 from the in-line equipment and the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
However, the combination of Jiang and Niiho does not explicitly disclose the NIC or the server.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee discloses the NIC, or the server (Active Optical Cable (AOC) is a connection for optical communication by integrally connecting an optical connector module AOC Connector (20) and is used to transfer large amounts of signals at high speed between a server and a rack of switches, see background art and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 3.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2014/0205285) in view of Niiho et al; (US 9048952).
Regarding claim 15, Jiang discloses a method for selective optical communication ;(filter bypass module 2 coupled with the optical switch 22, optical fibers 221,222,223 and 224 and first and second connectors 26,27 for the optical network equipment, see figures 4 and 5) the method comprising: directing, by a signal direction component optically coupled with the first end and a second end of the optical communication cable, ;(the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5) the optical signal to the second end, ;(second end with first and second connectors 26,27, see figure 5) wherein the signal direction component is configured to switch between: a first connection state in which optical connectivity is established between the first end and a first connector defined by the second end that is configured to be optically coupled with a first module ;(optical switch 22 executes the normal mode, the optical switch 22 may connect the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment and the corresponding optical fibers 221, 224 for optical transceiver, see paragraph 48 and figure 11) and a second connection state in which optical connectivity is established between the first end and a second connector that is configured to be optically coupled with a second module (the optical switch 22 executes the bypass mode, the optical switch 22 may disconnect optical signal between the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment and the corresponding optical fibers 221, 224 for optical transceiver, and connect optical signal between the optical fibers 222, 223 for network equipment, see paragraph 48 and figures 5 and 11).
However, Jiang does not explicitly disclose receiving, by a first end of, an optical communication cable formed of one or more optical fibers, an optical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, discloses receiving, by a first end of, an optical communication cable formed of one or more optical fibers, an optical signal;( an HDMI optical active cable apparatus 300 I with optical fiber 31 is connected between a source device 100 and a sink device 200, see figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the active optical cable of Niiho with Jiang to provide a connection state detection signal that represents the connection state of an HDMI optical active cable, and the motivation is to provide the connection state detection signal to a switch.
Regarding claim 16, Jiang discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the signal direction component comprises one or more optical selectors ;(the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
Claims 17,18,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2014/0205285) in view of Niiho et al; (US 9048952) and further in view of Lee et al; (KR 102078484B1).
Regarding claim 17, Jiang discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the signal direction component further comprises an electrical connector configured to be electrically connected ;(the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
However, the combination of Jiang and Niiho does not explicitly disclose with a network interface card (NIC) or a server.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee discloses with a network interface card (NIC) or a server; (Active Optical Cable (AOC) is a connection for optical communication by integrally connecting an optical connector module AOC Connector (20) and is used to transfer large amounts of signals at high speed between a server and a rack of switches, see background art and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the server of Lee with Jiang and Niiho to provide an optical connector and/or cable for transferring high speed signal data and the motivation is to provide high speed and high-capacity data transfer.
Regarding claim 18, Jiang discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the signal direction component is configured to switch to the first connection state in the presence of an electrical supply voltage between the signal direction component and via the electrical connector;(the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
However, the combination of Jiang and Niiho does not explicitly disclose the NIC.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee disclose the NIC; (Active Optical Cable (AOC) is a connection for optical communication by integrally connecting an optical connector module AOC Connector (20) and is used to transfer large amounts of signals at high speed between a server and a rack of switches, see background art and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, Jiang discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the signal direction component is configured to switch to the second connection state in the absence of an electrical supply voltage between the signal direction component and via the electrical connector ;(the signal control connector 231 may be a connector in the form of USB, RJ45 or HDMI to be connected to external in-line equipment for receiving an electrical control signal sent to the optical switch 22 from the in-line equipment and the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
However, the combination of Jiang and Niiho does not explicitly disclose the NIC.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee disclose the NIC; (Active Optical Cable (AOC) is a connection for optical communication by integrally connecting an optical connector module AOC Connector (20) and is used to transfer large amounts of signals at high speed between a server and a rack of switches, see background art and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 17.
Regarding claim 20, Jiang discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the signal direction component is configured to switch between the first connection state and the second connection state in response to an instruction; ;(the signal control connector 231 may be a connector in the form of USB, RJ45 or HDMI to be connected to external in-line equipment for receiving an electrical control signal sent to the optical switch 22 from the in-line equipment and the signal control connector 231 has electrical connection relationship with the optical switch 22 to transmit the electrical control signal received from the in-line equipment to the optical switch 22 to execute the switching mode of the optical switch 22. Specifically, the execution mode of the optical switch 22 may be changed to normal mode or bypass mode, see paragraph 38 and figures 4 and 5).
However, the combination of Jiang and Niiho does not explicitly disclose from the NIC or the server.
In a related field of endeavor, Lee disclose from the NIC or the server; (Active Optical Cable (AOC) is a connection for optical communication by integrally connecting an optical connector module AOC Connector (20) and is used to transfer large amounts of signals at high speed between a server and a rack of switches, see background art and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 3.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below
a. McDonald et al;(US 12028662) discloses a system for hot swapping a network switch without disconnecting the network switch connectors is provided and disaggregates the switch faceplate network cable connectors from the internal components of the network switch so that the internal switch components may be removed from the switch without disconnecting the switch network cables, see figure 8.
b. Syrivellis et al; (US 2023/0006981) discloses a network interface controller includes processing circuitry configured to pair with a local root of trust of a host device connected to the network interface controller and provide a key to an encryption device of the host device that enables the encryption device to encrypt data of one or more host device applications using the key, see figure 1.
c. Li et al; (WO 2015/006568A4) discloses network node has connectors in first set being located in ordered series at position that are offset by at least one position in correspondence with ordered series of at least two connectors in second set. A transmitter or receiver is connected to connector in first set or connector in second set at position from which at least one of the at least two connectors is offset by one position, see figure 6.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634