DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (WO-2022180619-A1).
As to claim 1, 6, 11, 16: Choi teaches a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a server, scheduling information for measuring a delay between the first UE and a second UE ([0108, 109] the RAN node 207 sends to the qualified UE AS 503 aDL RRC message for setting up QoE measurements); measuring the delay between the first UE and the second UE based on the scheduling information ([0067, 113] UE starts QoE measurement collection including delay); generating communication delay information based on the measured delay ([0067, 205] QoE measurement report); -and transmitting, to the server, the communication delay information ([0067, 68, 205] UE transmits one or more QoE measurement reports to the base unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO-2022180619-A1) in view of 3GPP TR 26.806 V1.0.0 (2022-12) Technical Report 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on Tethering AR Glasses – Architectures, QoS and Media Aspects (Release 18).
As to claim 2, 7, 12, 17: Choi teaches the method of claim 1
Choi may not explicitly teach wherein a first communication technology used to connect the first UE and the second UE differs from a second communication technology used to connect the first UE and the server. 3GPP teaches wherein a first communication technology used to connect the first UE and the second UE differs from a second communication technology used to connect the first UE and the server (fig. 6.3-2 WiFi and 5G).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement different protocols, taught by 3GPP, into the communication system, taught by Choi, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and implement inter-operability of wireless protocols. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Choi and 3GPP in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 3, 8, 13, 18: Choi teaches the method of claim 1.
Choi may not explicitly teach wherein the communication delay information includes at least one of information about internal processing delay of the first UE, an identifier (ID) for the second UE, or a media component ID included in the media. However, 3GPP teaches wherein the communication delay information includes at least one of information about internal processing delay of the first UE, an identifier (ID) for the second UE, or a media component ID included in the media (section 6.1.2.1 To meet the end-to-end latency requirement for the AR/MR session, some entities must determine the delay on the tethering link; section 6.2.2 ping request).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement end-to-end latency, taught by 3GPP, into the communication system, taught by Choi, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and … . In addition, it would have been obvious to combine … and … in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO-2022180619-A1) in view of Stockhammer (US-20230137968).
As to claim 4, 9, 14, 19: Choi teaches the method of claim 1.
Choi may not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, from the server, a delay-related requirement based on the communication delay information, wherein the delay-related requirement includes at least one of a maximum allowed delay time or an over-delay policy for the media transmission. However, Stockhammer teaches further comprising: receiving, from the server, a delay-related requirement based on the communication delay information ([0005, 103] QoS information includes delay information), wherein the delay-related requirement includes at least one of a maximum allowed delay time or an over-delay policy for the media transmission ([0103] amount of delay that is allowed to be increased without violating QoE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement max allowed delay, taught by Stockhammer, into the communication system, taught by Choi, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and implement delay policy to avoid excessive delay. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Stockhammer and Choi in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, 20 21is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO-2022180619-A1) in view of Suh (WO-2011068355-A2).
As to claim 5, 10, 15, 20: Choi teaches the method of claim 4
Choi may not explicitly teach wherein the delay-related requirement further includes information about transmission priority between a plurality of media components included in a media. However, Suh teaches wherein the delay-related requirement further includes information about transmission priority between a plurality of media components included in a media (The QoS method of each flow is a method of reserving resources for each stream. That is, a method of reserving a resource (eg, bit rate, buffer state) or QoS (delay, loss rate, etc.) for each flow. The flow refers to a stream required for one service. For example, a video stream, an audio stream, and a text stream required to provide on-demand video services become separate flows; For reference, the audio stream may be more important than the video stream. As described in FIG. 4 to be described later, the label value at this time may be inserted into the TOS field of the IPv4 header or the TC field of the IPv6 header. For example, if the size of the label value is set to 2 bits, the importance of each packet is differentiated in the order of 11, 10, 01, 00. That is, a label value of 11 can be inserted into an audio packet, 10 into a base layer video packet, 01 into an enhancement 1 layer video packet, and 00 into an enhancement 2 layer video packet. For reference, in SVC, an image may be divided into a base layer image, an enhancement 1 layer image, and an enhancement 2 layer image.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement transmission priority between media, taught by Suh, into the communication system, taught by Choi, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and give priority to more important media streams. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Choi and Suh in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466