DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 5, 9, 10, 14, 15, 19, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 26.806 V1.0.0 (2022-12) Technical Report 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on Tethering AR Glasses – Architectures, QoS and Media Aspects (Release 18) in view of Lee (US-20210297895).
As to claim 1, 6, 11, 16: 3GPP teaches a method performed by a first user equipment (UE) managing communication delay in a communication system, the method comprising: … ; measuring a communication delay with the first UE and the second UE based on the scheduling information (section 6.1.2.1 To meet the end-to-end latency requirement for the AR/MR session, some entities must determine the delay on the tethering link; section 6.2.2 ping request); generating the communication delay information based on the measured communication delay (section 6.2.2. estimate delays); and transmitting, to the server, the communication delay information (section 6.3.2. forward the measurement).
3GPP may not explicitly teach receiving, from a server, scheduling information for generating communication delay information upon transmitting media to a second UE. However, Lee teaches receiving, from a server, scheduling information for generating communication delay information upon transmitting media to a second UE ([0145] The network (e.g. BS) configures, to a UE through RRC signaling, the following parameters to control the buffer status reporting (BSR): periodicBSR-Timer).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement configuration via signaling, taught by Lee, into the communication system, taught by 3GPP, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and configure the UE to function in the communications system. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP and Lee in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 26.806 V1.0.0 (2022-12) Technical Report 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on Tethering AR Glasses – Architectures, QoS and Media Aspects (Release 18) in view of Lee (US-20210297895).
As to claim 2, 7, 12, 17: 3GPP teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a first communication technology used to connect the first UE and the second UE differs from a second communication technology used to connect the first UE and the server (fig. 6.3-2 WiFi and 5G).
As to claim 3, 8, 13, 18: 3GPP teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the communication delay information includes at least one of information about internal processing delay of the first UE, an identifier (ID) for the second UE, or a media component ID included in the media (section 6.1.2.1 To meet the end-to-end latency requirement for the AR/MR session, some entities must determine the delay on the tethering link; section 6.2.2 ping request).
Conclusion
-Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW CHUNG SUK OH whose telephone number is (571)270-5273. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 12p-8p.
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466