DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the knob part" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 11-12 depend on claim 10 thus inheriting the rejected feature.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 13-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 14-15 of copending Application No. 19/047823 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application
Reference Application
1. A console assembly comprising:
a box member defining an opening;
a lid member covering the opening of the box member;
a bracket disposed between the box member and the lid member;
a first joint part pivotably coupling the bracket and the box member about a first rotational axis extending along a first direction to switch the lid member between a closed position and a first open position in which the bracket is attached to the lid member; and
a second joint part pivotably coupling the lid member and the bracket about a second rotational axis extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction to switch the lid member between the closed position and a second open position in which the bracket is attached to the box member.
2. The console assembly according to claim 1, further comprising
a third joint part pivotably coupling the lid member and the bracket about a third rotational axis parallel to the second rotational axis to switch the lid member between the closed position and a third open position in which the bracket is attached to the box member.
3. The console assembly according to claim 2, wherein each of the second joint part and the third joint part includes a rod unit and a
displacement mechanism, the displacement mechanism being configured to change an
axial length of the rod unit between a first length and a second length shorter than the first length, the rod unit with the first length being rotationally coupled to the bracket while the rod unit with the second length being
released from the bracket.
4. The console assembly according to claim 3, wherein the displacement mechanism of the third joint part is configured to change the axial length of the rod unit from the first length to the second length to switch the lid member from the closed position to the second open position while the displacement mechanism of the second joint part maintains the axial length of the rod unit in the first length, and the displacement mechanism of the second joint part is configured to change the axial length of the rod unit from the first length to the second length to switch the lid
member from the closed position to the third open position while the displacement mechanism of the first joint part maintains the axial length of the rod unit in the first length.
5. The console assembly according to claim 4, wherein the displacement mechanism of each of the second joint part and the third joint part further includes a biasing member applying a biasing force to maintain the rod unit in the first length.
6. The console assembly according to claim 4, wherein in each of the second joint part and the third joint part, the rod unit includes a pair of guide rods, and the displacement mechanism is configured to change the axial
length of the rod unit by changing a distance between the guide rods.
7. The console assembly according to claim 6, wherein an axial end portion of each of the guide rods has a tapered shape.
8. The console assembly according to claim 6, wherein the displacement mechanism includes a knob part rotatably coupled to the lid member, and a cylinder cam unit operatively coupled to the knob part to convert a rotational movement of the knob part into an axial linear movement.
9. The console assembly according to claim 6, wherein axial lengths of the guide rods are different from each other.
13. The console assembly according to claim 3, wherein the displacement mechanisms of the second joint part and the third joint part are configured to maintain the axial length of the rod units in the first length when the lid
member is in the first open position.
14. The console assembly according to claim 1, wherein the box member includes a support part defining a through hole extending along the first rotational axis, the bracket includes a first support part defining a first through hole extending along the first rotational axis, and the first joint part includes a rotational shaft extending along the first rotational axis through the through hole of the support part of the box member and the first through hole of the first support part of the bracket.
15. The console assembly according to claim 14, wherein the first joint part further includes a biasing member coupled to the rotational shaft to generate a biasing force toward the first open position.
16. The console assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a latch mechanism configured to engage with the bracket to hold the bracket in the closed position.
17. The console assembly according to claim 1, wherein the bracket includes a frame part defining an opening that overlaps the opening of the box member when the bracket is attached to the box member.
18. The console assembly according to claim 14, wherein the bracket includes a second support part defining a recess extending along the second rotational axis, and
the second joint part includes a rod unit and a displacement mechanism, the displacement mechanism being configured to change an axial length of the rod unit between a first length and a second length shorter than the first length, the rod unit with the first length being inserted into the recess of the second support part of the bracket while the rod unit with the second length being spaced apart from the recess of the second support part of the bracket.
19. The console assembly according to claim 18, wherein the lid member defines a recess; and the second joint part is housed within the recess of the lid member.
20. A vehicle comprising: the console assembly according to claim 1, wherein
the first direction is a lateral direction of the vehicle, and the second direction is a longitudinal direction of the vehicle.
21. The vehicle according to claim 20, wherein the first joint part is disposed adjacent to a front side of the box member.
1. A console assembly comprising:
a box member defining an opening;
a lid member covering the opening of the box member;
a bracket disposed between the box member and the lid member;
a first joint part pivotably coupling the bracket and the box member about a first
rotational axis extending along a first direction to switch the lid member between a closed position and a first open position in which the bracket is attached to the lid member; and
a second joint part pivotably coupling the lid member and the bracket about a second rotational axis extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction to switch the lid member between the closed position and a second open position in which the bracket is attached to the box member.
2. The console assembly according to claim 1, further comprising
a third joint part pivotably coupling the lid member and the bracket about a third
rotational axis parallel to the second rotational axis to switch the lid member between the closed position and a third open position in which the bracket is attached to the box member.
3. The console assembly according to claim 1, wherein the box member includes a support part defining a through hole extending along the first rotational axis,
the bracket includes a first support part defining a first through hole extending along the first rotational axis, and the first joint part includes a rotational shaft extending along the first rotational axis through the through hole of the support part of the box member and the first through hole of the first support part of the bracket.
7. The console assembly according to claim 3, wherein the bracket includes a second support part defining a recess extending along the second rotational axis, and
the second joint part includes a rod unit and a displacement mechanism, the displacement mechanism being configured to change an axial length of the rod unit between a first length and a second length shorter than the first length, the rod unit with the first length being inserted into the recess of the second support part of the bracket while the rod unit with the second length being spaced apart from the recess of the second support part of the bracket.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the same to a third joint part opposite to the second joint part so that a user on the other side can open the console assembly the same way thus enhancing the convenience of the console assembly.
11. The console assembly according to claim 2, wherein each of the second joint part and the third joint part includes a rod unit including at least one hook portion, and a displacement mechanism configured to move the rod unit to change a position of the hook portion with respect to the bracket between a first position and a second position, the lid member includes at least a pair of engagement portions respectively arranged at a position corresponding to a position of the at least one hook portion of a corresponding one of the second joint part and the third joint part, and the at least one hook portion is engaged with a corresponding one of the engagement portions of the lid member in the first position, and released from the corresponding one of the engagement portions in the second position.
14. The console assembly according to claim 11, wherein the displacement mechanism of each of the second joint part and the third joint part further includes a biasing member applying a biasing force to maintain a position of the rod unit so that the hook portion stays in the first position.
See claim 11 of reference application above.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate a tapered shape at axial end portion of each of the guide rods to facilitate engaging/disengaging to other parts.
15. The console assembly according to claim 2, wherein the displacement mechanism includes a button part movably coupled to the
bracket, and an actuator unit operatively coupled to the button part to convert a linear
movement of the button part along the first direction into a linear movement of the rod
unit along the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate different axial lengths of the guide rods to adapt the dimension of the console assembly to different space of the vehicle.
See claim 7 of reference application above.
4. The console assembly according to claim 3, wherein the first joint part further includes a biasing member coupled to the rotational shaft to generate a biasing force toward the first open position.
5. The console assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a latch mechanism configured to engage with the bracket to hold the bracket in the closed position.
6. The console assembly according to claim 1, wherein the bracket includes a frame part defining an opening that overlaps the opening of the box member when the bracket is attached to the box member.
See claim 7 of reference application above.
8. The console assembly according to claim 7, wherein the lid member defines a recess; and the second joint part is housed within the recess of the lid member.
9. A vehicle comprising: the console assembly according to claim 1, wherein
the first direction is a lateral direction of the vehicle, and the second direction is a longitudinal direction of the vehicle.
10. The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the first joint part is disposed adjacent to a front side of the box member.
Claims 10-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-11 and 14-15 of reference patent as applied to claims 1-9 and 13-21 above, and further in view of Meng et al. (CN 111252002 A – hereinafter Meng).
Regarding claim 10, see discussion of claim 6 above. However, claim 11 of reference patent does not recite “the knob part is disposed above the guide rods with respect to a vertical direction of the lid member.”
Meng discloses a knob part is disposed above guide rods with respect to a vertical direction of a lid member (Fig. 1 – a respective knob part comprising an end of a push rod are disposed above guide rods 50 and 60, which are disposed lower at the bottom of the lid to engage with a respective extension slot in the box, respectively with respect to a vertical direction of the lid member).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Meng into the console assembly recited in claim 11 of reference application to facilitate engaging/disengaging the cover with the box.
Regarding claim 11, see the discussion of claim 10 above, in which Meng also discloses a displacement mechanism includes a gear unit disposed between the knob part and the rod unit (Figs. 6-7 – a gear unit around the respective know part thus disposed between the knob part and the rod unit).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Meng has been discussed in claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 12, see the discussion of claim 10 above, in which Meng also discloses a displacement mechanism includes a linkage unit including a pivotal lever disposed between the knob part and the rod unit (Figs. 10-11; [0090]-[0093] – a pivotal lever, under the elastic force of a spring, makes a hinge rotate and open of the lid member on the respective side).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Meng has been discussed in claim 10 above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meng.
Regarding claim 1, Meng discloses a console assembly (Figs. 10-11 – console assembly 100) comprising: a box member defining an opening (Figs. 10-11 – box member 10 defining an opening 11); a lid member covering the opening of the box member (Figs. 10-11 – lid member 20); a bracket disposed between the box member and the lid member (Figs. 4, 10-11 – bracket 24 disposed between box member 10 and lid member 20); a first joint part pivotably coupling the bracket and the box member about a first rotational axis extending along a first direction to switch the lid member between a closed position and a first open position in which the bracket is attached to the lid member (Figs. 2-3; [0052] – a first joint part pivotably coupling the bracket and the box member about axis along rotating shaft 320, the bracket 24 is attached to the lid member 20 so that passengers at the rear seats can open the console assembly); and a second joint part pivotably coupling the lid member and the bracket about a second rotational axis extending along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction to switch the lid member between the closed position and a second open position in which the bracket is attached to the box member (Figs. 10-11; [0106] – a second joint part pivotably coupling the lid member and the bracket about an axis on the right side so that the bracket 24 is attached to the box member 10 when it is in open state so that the driver can open the console assembly).
Regarding claim 2, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a third joint part pivotably coupling the lid member and the bracket about a third rotational axis parallel to the second rotational axis to switch the lid member between the closed position and a third open position in which the bracket is attached to the box member (Figs. 10-11; [0106] – a third joint part pivotably coupling the lid member and the bracket about an axis on the left side so that the bracket 24 is attached to the box member 10 when it is in open state so that the front passenger can open the console assembly).
Regarding claim 3, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 2, wherein each of the second joint part and the third joint part includes a rod unit (Figs. 6-7; [0072]-[0073] – comprising left rod 50 and right rod 60) and a displacement mechanism (Figs. 6-7; [0076] – left gear 53, right gear 63, push rods 71, 72), the displacement mechanism being configured to change an axial length of the rod unit between a first length and a second length shorter than the first length (Figs. 6-7; [0076]-[0078] – the push rods and gears change length of rods 50 and 60 respectively, i.e. the left gear rotates clockwise making the length of the rod 50 shorter and vice versa, the right gear rotates counter-clockwise making the length of rod 60 shorter), the rod unit with the first length being rotationally coupled to the bracket while the rod unit with the second length being released from the bracket (Figs. 6-7; [0076]-[0078] – the push rods and gears change length of rods 50 and 60 respectively, i.e. the left gear rotates clockwise making the length of the rod 50shorter and vice versa, the right gear rotates counter-clockwise making the length of rod 60 shorter).
Regarding claim 4, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 3, wherein the displacement mechanism of the third joint part is configured to change the axial length of the rod unit from the first length to the second length to switch the lid member from the closed position to the second open position while the displacement mechanism of the second joint part maintains the axial length of the rod unit in the first length (Figs. 5-7; [0072]-[0077] – push rod 72 and gear 63 change the length of rod 60 to allow cover 20 to be opened from the right side while maintaining the length of rod 50 and vice versa, push rod 71 and gear 53 change the length of rod 50 to allow cover 20 to be opened from the left side while maintaining the length of rod 60), and the displacement mechanism of the second joint part is configured to change the axial length of the rod unit from the first length to the second length to switch the lid member from the closed position to the third open position while the displacement mechanism of the first joint part maintains the axial length of the rod unit in the first length (Figs. 5-7; [0072]-[0077] – push rod 72 and gear 63 change the length of rod 60 to allow cover 20 to be opened from the right side while maintaining the length of rod 50 and vice versa, push rod 71 and gear 53 change the length of rod 50 to allow cover 20 to be opened from the left side while maintaining the length of rod 60).
Regarding claim 5, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 4, wherein the displacement mechanism of each of the second joint part and the third joint part further includes a biasing member applying a biasing force to maintain the rod unit in the first length ([0076]-[0077] – each of the gears includes teeth or racks so that, when the push rod on the other side is pushed, the teeth of the gear on the opposite applies a biasing force to maintain the rod unit on the opposite site in the first length).
Regarding claim 6, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 4, wherein in each of the second joint part and the third joint part, the rod unit includes a pair of guide rods, and the displacement mechanism is configured to change the axial length of the rod unit by changing a distance between the guide rods (Figs. 5-7; [0076]-[0077] – rod unit 50 includes a pair of guide rods 51, 52 and rod unit 60 includes a pair of guide rods 61, 62, the respective gear changes a distance between the guide rods to change the length of the respective rods).
Regarding claim 7, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 6, wherein an axial end portion of each of the guide rods has a tapered shape (Fig. 6 – an axial end portion of each of guide rods around the respective gear has a tapered shape).
Regarding claim 8, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 6, wherein the displacement mechanism includes a knob part rotatably coupled to the lid member, and a cylinder cam unit operatively coupled to the knob part to convert a rotational movement of the knob part into an axial linear movement (Figs. 6-7 – knob parts at center of gears 53, 63, a cylinder cam unit is one of the guide rods 51, 52, 61, and 62).
Regarding claim 9, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 6, wherein axial lengths of the guide rods are different from each other (Figs. 6-7 – the length of guide rod 51 is different from length of guide rod 52 and length of guide rod 61 is different from the length of guide rod 62).
Regarding claim 10, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 6, wherein a knob part is disposed above the guide rods with respect to a vertical direction of the lid member (Fig. 1 – a respective knob part comprising an end of a push rod are disposed above guide rods 50 and 60, which are disposed lower at the bottom of the lid to engage with the a respective extension slot in the box, respectively with respect to a vertical direction of the lid member).
Regarding claim 11, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 10, wherein the displacement mechanism includes a gear unit disposed between the knob part and the rod unit (Figs. 6-7 – a gear unit around the respective know part thus disposed between the knob part and the rod unit).
Regarding claim 12, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 10, wherein the displacement mechanism includes a linkage unit including a pivotal lever disposed between the knob part and the rod unit (Figs. 10-11; [0090]-[0093] – a pivotal lever, under the elastic force of a spring, makes a hinge rotate and open of the lid member on the respective side).
Regarding claim 13, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 3, wherein the displacement mechanisms of the second joint part and the third joint part are configured to maintain the axial length of the rod units in the first length when the lid member is in the first open position ([0076]-[0077] – each of the gears, when the push rod on the other side is pushed, maintains the rod unit on the opposite site in the first length).
Regarding claim 14, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 1, wherein the box member includes a support part defining a through hole extending along the first rotational axis (Figs. 1-2; [0052] – fixing frame 310 with through holes for shaft 320), the bracket includes a first support part defining a first through hole extending along the first rotational axis (Figs. 1-3 – support frame 101 extending from bottom of base plate 24), and the first joint part includes a rotational shaft extending along the first rotational axis through the through hole of the support part of the box member and the first through hole of the first support part of the bracket (Figs. 1-3; [0052] – shaft 320).
Regarding claim 15, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 14, wherein the first joint part further includes a biasing member coupled to the rotational shaft to generate a biasing force toward the first open position (Figs. 6-7, 9 – spring 80).
Regarding claim 16, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a latch mechanism configured to engage with the bracket to hold the bracket in the closed position (Fig. 2; [0101] – latch 420 of the box to engage with the bracket via hook 410 to hold the bracket in closed position).
Regarding claim 17, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 1, wherein the bracket includes a frame part defining an opening that overlaps the opening of the box member when the bracket is attached to the box member (Fig. 2 – when the bracket 24 is attached to the box member 10, the frame of the bracket defining an opening that overlaps the opening 11 of the box member).
Regarding claim 18, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 14, wherein the bracket includes a second support part defining a recess extending along the second rotational axis (Figs. 3, 10-11 – the bracket includes a support part defining a recess along the right side), and the second joint part includes a rod unit (Figs. 6-7; [0072]-[0073] – comprising left rod 50) and a displacement mechanism (Figs. 6-7; [0076] – left gear 53 and push rod 72), the displacement mechanism being configured to change an axial length of the rod unit between a first length and a second length shorter than the first length (Figs. 6-7; [0076]-[0078] – the push rod and gear change length of rod 50, i.e. the left gear rotates clockwise making the length of the rod 50 shorter), the rod unit with the first length being inserted into the recess of the second support part of the bracket (Figs. 3-4, 6-7; [0076]-[0077] – rod 50 engages, by being inserted into, the left extension slot 23 of hinge 30 in closed position) while the rod unit with the second length being spaced apart from the recess of the second support part of the bracket (Figs. 3-4, 6-7, 10; [0076]-[0077] – rod 50 disengages, or being pulled out of, extension slot 23 of hinge 30 in open position of Fig. 10 in order to allow cover 20 to open).
Regarding claim 19, Meng also discloses the console assembly according to claim 18, wherein the lid member defines a recess (Figs. 10-11 – the lid member defines a recess that houses the second joint part as shown in Figs. 6-7); and the second joint part is housed within the recess of the lid member (Fig. 11 – the second joint part is housed in the recess at bottom of the lid member).
Regarding claim 20, Meng also discloses a vehicle ([0006] – a vehicle having the armrest box) comprising: the console assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first direction is a lateral direction of the vehicle (Figs. 2-3; [0052] – a first joint part pivotably coupling the bracket and the box member about axis along a lateral direction of the vehicle so that rear passengers can open the armrest box from the rear side), and the second direction is a longitudinal direction of the vehicle (Figs. 10-11; [0076]-[0077] – the second direction is a lateral direction to allow the driver or a front passenger open the armrest box either from the left side or from a right side respectively).
Regarding claim 21, Meng also discloses the vehicle according to claim 20, wherein the first joint part is disposed adjacent to a front side of the box member (Figs. 2-3; [0052] – a first joint part is disposed adjacent to a front side of the box member so that rear passengers can open the armrest box from the rear side).
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484