DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 11/05/2025.
Claims 1-7, 9-10 and 13-14 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Further recognition:
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The objections to the claims are withdrawn in in light of the amendments.
The objections to the abstract have been withdrawn in in light of the amendments.
The rejections pursuant to 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 14, the recitation of “… activating (201) a cooling mode of the passenger cabin by activating or deactivating a first pump unit (123) and activating the first cooling circuit (101) and activating the third cooling circuit (105) while simultaneously deactivating the second cooling circuit (103); and/or
activating (203) a heating mode of the passenger cabin by activating or deactivating a second pump unit (127) and activating the second cooling circuit (103) and activating the third cooling circuit (105) while simultaneously deactivating the first cooling circuit (101);
and/or activating (205) a dehumidification mode of the passenger cabin by activating or deactivating the first pump unit (123) and activating the first cooling circuit (101) and activating or deactivating the second pump unit (127) and activating the second cooling circuit (103),” renders the claim unclear. It appears from the specification that cooling, heating and dehumidification modes can not take place at the same time.
Please see paragraph 0093 of the specification “a first method step 201 by switching the first pump unit 123 and activating the first cooling circuit 101 while simultaneously deactivating the second cooling circuit 103,” paragraph 0094 “step 203, a heating mode of the passenger cabin can be effected by switching the second pump unit 127 and activating the second cooling circuit 103 while simultaneously deactivating the first cooling circuit 101,” and paragraph 0095 “step 205, a dehumidification mode of the passenger cabin can be activated by switching the first pump unit 123 and activating the first cooling circuit 101 and switching the second pump unit 127 and activating the second cooling circuit 103.” It appears the given system is not able to activate the cooling, heating and dehumidification modes of the passenger cabin at the same time. The accepted definition of “and” is “used as a function word to indicate that two words or expressions are to be taken together or individually” found online from Merriam-Webster at https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/and/or.
Therefore, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as - - A method (200) for tempering the passenger cabin or the drive unit (109) or the battery unit (107) of the vehicle via the cooling system (100) according to claim 1, comprising:
activating (201) a cooling mode of the passenger cabin by activating or deactivating a first pump unit (123) and activating the first cooling circuit (101) and activating the third cooling circuit (105) while simultaneously deactivating the second cooling circuit (103); or
activating (203) a heating mode of the passenger cabin by activating or deactivating a second pump unit (127) and activating the second cooling circuit (103) and activating the third cooling circuit (105) while simultaneously deactivating the first cooling circuit (101); or
activating (205) a dehumidification mode of the passenger cabin by activating or deactivating the first pump unit (123) and activating the first cooling circuit (101) and activating or deactivating the second pump unit (127) and activating the second cooling circuit (103). - - for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US2022/0097475A1) and in view of Takagi et al. (US2024/0175612A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang teaches a cooling system [66] for a vehicle [10; 0081], comprising:
a first cooling circuit [at least 74 and 118] for cooling a passenger cabin [84; 0108];
a second cooling circuit [at least 72 and 70] for heating the passenger cabin [0120];
a third cooling circuit [88 and 68; 0083] for controlling a temperature [0083] of a battery unit [12; 0083] of the vehicle [10];
a refrigeration circuit [36; 0086; at least fig. 9] with at least one condenser unit [46; 0074], an evaporator unit [50; 0074], an expansion unit [52; 0074] and a compressor unit [48; 0074], wherein the refrigeration circuit [36] is thermally connected to the first cooling circuit [0108], the second cooling circuit [0107] and the third cooling circuit [0107] via the condenser unit [46] or the evaporator unit [50].
Huang does not explicitly teach a single eight-way valve configured to interconnect the third cooling circuit (105) with the refrigeration circuit (111), wherein the single eight-way valve is the only eight-way valve in the cooling system (100).
However, Takagi teaches a single eight-way valve [280 corresponding to 40 and 38 of Huang] configured to interconnect the third cooling circuit [270 and 260 corresponding to 88 and 68 of Huang] with the refrigeration circuit [240 corresponding to 36 of Huang], wherein the single eight-way valve [280] is the only eight-way valve in the cooling system [at least fig. 7].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang to have a single eight-way valve configured to interconnect the third cooling circuit with the refrigeration circuit, wherein the single eight-way valve is the only eight-way valve in the cooling system in view of the teachings of Takagi where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a cooling system with a single eight-way valve connecting the third cooling circuit with the refrigeration circuit which allows for one valve with eight ports connecting the circuits in a cooling system [Takagi; 0076]
Regarding Claim 2, modified Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 1 and Huang teaches wherein the first cooling circuit [74 and 118] comprises;
at least a first heat exchange unit [94] and a first pump unit [96] and is thermally connected to the evaporator unit [50] of the refrigeration circuit [fig. 13].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 2 and Huang teaches wherein the second cooling circuit [72 and 70] comprises at least a second heat exchange unit [92] and a second pump unit [98] and is thermally connected to the condenser unit [46] of the refrigeration circuit [at least fig. 23].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 3 and Huang teaches wherein the first and second cooling circuits [74 and 118; 72 and 70] can be activated or deactivated by activating or deactivating the first and second pump units [96; 0087 where may can mean may or may not see also 0089; 98 ; 0087 where may can mean may or may not see also 0094], and wherein a heating mode [thermal control mode for heating the passenger cabin; at least 0124] or a cooling mode [thermal control mode for cooling the passenger cabin; at least 0117] or a dehumidification mode [thermal control mode for dehumidifying the passenger cabin; at least 0107] of the passenger cabin [84] can be activated by controlling or activating or deactivating the first and second cooling circuits [74 and 118; 72 and 70; collectively in fig.9-37;various paragraphs teach the above modes for example para. 0120 shows activation of both cooling circuits to provide heating and dehumidification, which shows at least the system’s ability to control a heating mode by activating the first and second cooling circuits; see also figs. 25-27 and fig. 30].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 1 and Huang teaches wherein the single eight-way valve [Takagi; 280] or a battery unit [12] are integrated into the third cooling circuit [88 and 68], and wherein the battery unit [12] can be thermally coupled to the refrigeration circuit [36] as heat sources by switching the single eight-way valve [0091 “remove heat from the traction battery pack”].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 5, wherein a fourth pump unit [261] is arranged in the third cooling circuit [at least 270 see fig. 8] downstream of the single eight-way valve [280] between the single eight-way valve [280] and the drive unit [263; 0085 “motor (not illustrated)”].
Regarding Claim 14, Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 1 and Huang teaches a method [table 1; pg. 7] for tempering the passenger cabin [84] of the vehicle [10] comprising:
activating a dehumidification mode [thermal control mode for dehumidifying the passenger cabin; at least 0107] of the passenger cabin [84] by activating or deactivating on the first pump unit [96; 0089; where in fig. 26 (96) is clearly switched on] and activating the first cooling circuit [74 and 118; 0121 where the circuit is clearly activated] and activating the second pump unit [98; 0087; fig. 26 where (98) is clearly activated] and activating the second cooling circuit [74 and 118; 72 and 70; collectively in fig.9-37;various paragraphs teach the above modes for example para. 0120 shows activation of both cooling circuits to provide heating and dehumidification, which shows at least the system’s ability to control a heating mode by activating the first and second cooling circuits; see also figs. 25-27 and fig. 30].
Claims 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US2022/0097475A1) and Takagi et al. (US2024/0175612A1) as applied to claim 5 above and in view of Hu et al. (US2023/0226877A1).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 5 and Huang teaches wherein a first T-joint [144; fig. 9] arranged in the third cooling circuit [88 and 68] between the single eight-way valve [Takagi; 280] and the evaporator unit [50] of the refrigeration circuit [36; fig. 9; 0099].
Modified Huang does not explicitly teach a first three-way valve is controllably arranged.
However, Hu teaches a first three-way valve [41 corresponding to 144 of Huang] is controllably arranged [0213 “the controller may connect” indicating the three way valve is controllably arranged].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Huang teaching with Hu by combining a first three-way valve is controllably arranged where the elements could have been combined by known methods with and a Simple would give the system the necessary controllable three-way valve. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are yielded,
i.e. secures a cooling system with a controllable three-way valve which improves design flexibility [Hu; 0095].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 6 and Huang teaches wherein a second T-joint [142] arranged in the third cooling circuit [88 and 68] between the single eight-way valve [Takagi; 280] and the condenser unit [46] of the refrigeration circuit [36; fig. 9; 0099].
Modified Huang does not explicitly teach a second three-way valve is controllably arranged.
However, Hu teaches a second three-way valve [42 corresponding to 142 of Huang] is controllably arranged [0213 “the controller may connect” indicating the three way valve is controllably arranged].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the modified Huang teaching with Hu by combining a second three-way valve is controllably arranged where the elements could have been combined by known methods with and a Simple would give the system the necessary controllable three-way valve. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are yielded,
i.e. secures a cooling system with a controllable three-way valve which improves design flexibility [Hu; 0095].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Huang teaches the cooling system according to claim 6 and Huang teaches wherein a third pump unit [100] is arranged in the third cooling circuit [88 and 68] upstream of the first three-way valve [144] between the single eight-way valve [Takagi; 280] and the first three-way valve [144; see fig. 26 where (100) is between (38) and (144; not shown) and further is upstream of (144)].
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US2022/0097475A1) and Takagi et al. (US2024/0175612A1) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Kim et al. (US2022/0032736A1).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Huang teaches the cooling system (100) according to claim 1, and Huang teaches wherein the refrigeration circuit [36].
modified Huang does not explicitly teach the refrigeration circuit is filled with a combustible refrigerant.
However, Kim teaches a heat pump system for a vehicle [abstract] and Kim teaches, a refrigeration circuit is filled with a combustible refrigerant [0044].
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Huang to have a combustible refrigerant in view of the teachings of Kim a Simple substitution of one known material for another would give the system the necessary combustible refrigerant. The simple substitution of one known material for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are yielded,
i.e. secures a cooling system with a combustible refrigerant which are R152-a, R744, or R290 refrigerant [Kim; 0044].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 on pgs. 2-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763