DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (U.S. Patent No. 9,751,691) in view of Kantz (U.S. Patent No. 5,018,877).
Regarding claim 1: Hunter discloses a container, in particular package, for transporting a powder/granular product, comprising:
a flexible inlet/outlet (Fig. 4; via “cylinder 124 may be flexible”) which, as intended, is clamped with a distal end portion (Figs. 2, 4, 10, and 15; via cylinder 124 extended from opening portion 122; “cylinder 124 that extends from the opening 122”) to a connecting device in order to fill the product into the container or to empty the container;
an accommodating body (Fig. 6; via 108) in which the product is accommodated during transportation (intended use limitations of the body, not given much patentable weight), wherein the proximal end portion is connected to the accommodating body (Fig. 5; via top portion of the inlet/outlet 124 or 128 connected to the body 108).
Hunter may not disclose the amended claims filed on 12/19/2025 referring to the flexible inlet/outlet comprising a distal end portion and a proximal end portion, while having the distal end portion with a different more flexible construction than the proximal end portion. However, Kantz discloses similar container with flexible inlet/outlet comprising a distal end portion (Fig. 3; via end portion of sheet 12) and a proximal end portion (Fig. 3; via opening 10), while having the distal end portion with a different more flexible construction than the proximal end portion (via “sheet 12 is adapted to be crumpled or furled due to its flexibility”; inherently the proximal portion 10 is not as flexible as sheet 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Hunter’s container by having the distal end portion with a different more flexible construction than the proximal end portion, as suggested by Kantz, in order to come up with easier and safer discharge of the material in the bag without contamination (column 2, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 3: Hunter discloses that the proximal end portion has a coating, (via “liner 108 is manufactured from coated or uncoated fabric, polyethylene, vinyl, etc.”, which proximal portion 122 is portion of the liner 108).
Regarding claim 4: Hunter discloses that the distal end portion of the flexible inlet/outlet is formed of polyethylene film (via “the cylinder 124 is integral with and manufactured from the same material as the liner”, which is made out of polyethylene).
Regarding claim 5: Hunter discloses that the distal end portion of the inlet/outlet is mounted to the proximal end portion of the inlet/outlet in a fusion integrated, in particular welded, manner (Fig. 4; via sealing mechanism 126).
Regarding claim 7: Hunter discloses that the distal end portion of the inlet/outlet is mounted on the proximal end portion such that the proximal end portion extends partially within or outside the distal end portion, see for example (Fig. 2; via 122 extends outside of 124).
Regarding claim 8: Hunter discloses that the container is a big bag (via sleeve 101).
Regarding claim 9: Hunter discloses that a use of a container for transporting a powder/granular product (via “The present invention…for transporting and storing content…any type of content”), wherein both the proximal end portion and the distal end portion are each closed (via “user can manipulate (open and close) the cylinder 124 easily”).
Hunter does not disclose in particular closing by tied, with a closure. However, Kantz discloses the packaging container with the ability to tie the closure, see for example (Fig. 2, closure petals 32).
Regarding claim 10: Hunter does not suggest the use of a specific material for coating to be a metal coating. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Hunter’s coating to be a metal coating, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely sole on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731