DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error.
Claim 1, line 2 , the comma after “electronic” should be deleted and place after device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, 15 and claims 2-7, and 9-14 ( due to the indefiniteness of claim 1 , 8 ) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The subject matter of claim 1, “human data including pre-departure behavioral and environmental indicators of a person” is broad and ambiguous . The term person can have a variety of possible meanings. It is not clear what “person” the claim is referring to. Is the person the user of the vehicle or a person/bystander proximate the vehicle. As such, one of ordinary skill would not have been able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is in view.
The subject matter of claim 4, database scanning technique for each individual and date through a knee point, renders the claim indefinite . The term “individual” can have a variety of possible meanings. It is not clear whether the “individual” is referring to the user. As such, one of ordinary skill would not have been able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is in view.
The subject matter of claim 8, human data including pre-departure behavioral and environmental indicators of a person, renders the claim indefinite. The term person can have a variety of possible meanings. It is not clear what “person” the claim is referring to. Is the person the user of the vehicle or a person/bystander proximate the vehicle. As such, one of ordinary skill would not have been able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is in view.
The subject matter of claim 11, determine parameters necessary for the database scanning technique for each individual and date through a knee point, renders the claim indefinite. The term “individual” can have a variety of possible meanings. It is not clear whether the “individual” is referring to the user. As such, one of ordinary skill would not have been able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is in view.
The subject matter of claim 15, human data including pre-departure behavioral and environmental indicators of a person, renders the claim indefinite. The term person can have a variety of possible meanings. It is not clear what “person” the claim is referring to. Is the person the user of the vehicle or a person/bystander proximate the vehicle. As such, one of ordinary skill would not have been able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation is in view.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Telpaz US Publication No. 2022/0305941 cited by Applicant.
Re Claim 1, Telpaz discloses an electric vehicle charging method comprising: obtaining from an external electronic, device (P32, P33 user interface is presented to the user via an infotainment system 112)
human data including pre-departure behavioral and environmental indicators of a person (P42, P40) ; extracting information on a departure time from the human data (P47); and predicting a charging end time of a battery of the electric vehicle based on the human data (P56) .
Re Claim 2, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 1, further comprising: labeling a latitude and longitude based on position information collected from the external electronic device; and predicting the departure time by generating an algorithm for obtaining the departure time from a house of the person based on the labeled latitude and longitude (P47).
Re Claim 6, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 1, further comprising learning the human data for each date by using a gradient boosting decision trees (GBDT) model (P47).
Re Claim 7, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 6, further comprising summarizing learning results for each GBDT model for all days, weekdays, and weekends (P47, P48).
Re Claim 8, Telpaz discloses an electric vehicle comprising: a drive module; a battery; and a processor, wherein the processor is configured to obtain, from an external electronic device, human data including pre-departure behavioral and environmental indicators of a person, extract information on a departure time from the human data, and predict a charging end time of the battery of the electric vehicle based on the human data (P32, P33 , P42, P40, P47, P56).
Re Claim 9, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to label a latitude and longitude based on position information collected from the external electronic device and predict the departure time by generating an algorithm for obtaining the departure time from a house of the person based on the labeled latitude and longitude(P47).
Re Claim 13, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to learn the human data for each date by using a gradient boosting decision trees (GBDT) model(P47, P48).
Re Claim 14, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to summarize learning results for each GBDT model for all days, weekdays, and weekends(P47, P48).
Re Claim 15, Telpaz discloses a recording medium comprising: instructions executable by a computer, wherein the instructions include: obtaining, from an external electronic device, human data including pre-departure behavioral and environmental indicators of a person, extracting information on a departure time from the human data, and predicting a charging end time of a battery of an electric vehicle based on the human data (P32, P33 , P42, P40, P47, P56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telpaz US Publication No. 2022/0305941 cited by Applicant in view of LINGYU ZHANG, et al., "Users" Departure Time Prediction Based on Light Gradient Boosting DecisionTree", WASA 2022, LNCS, Vol. 13472, 2022, XP047639932 ,cited by Applicant.
Re Claim 3, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the obtaining of the human data includes obtaining the human data while removing errors based on time sequence, redundancy, and outlier criteria.
ZHANG LINGYU cited by applicant teaches wherein the obtaining of the human data includes obtaining the human data while removing errors based on time sequence, redundancy, and outlier criteria (Page 601, point 5, “The Experimental Results and Analysis”: :Due to ..uncertainty…, we delete orders whose starting point appeared less than five times in a month…we set a threshold to filter the prediction results. The result will be output if its probability surpasses the threshold’.).
Given the teachings of ZHANG LINGYU it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Telpaz with wherein the obtaining of the human data includes obtaining the human data while removing errors based on time sequence, redundancy, and outlier criteria since it is considered a normal routine design option , a customary practice.
Re Claim 4, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 1 but fails to disclose detecting an abnormal value in a departure time prediction probability distribution in real time by using a database scanning technique; and determining parameters necessary for the database scanning technique for each individual and date through a knee point.
ZHANG LINGYU cited by applicant teaches detecting an abnormal value in a departure time prediction probability distribution in real time by using a database scanning technique; and determining parameters necessary for the database scanning technique for each individual and date through a knee point (Page 601, point 5, “The Experimental Results and Analysis”: :Due to ..uncertainty…, we delete orders whose starting point appeared less than five times in a month…we set a threshold to filter the prediction results. The result will be output if its probability surpasses the threshold’.).
Given the teachings of ZHANG LINGYU it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Telpaz with detecting an abnormal value in a departure time prediction probability distribution in real time by using a database scanning technique; and determining parameters necessary for the database scanning technique for each individual and date through a knee point since it is considered a normal routine design option , a customary practice.
Re Claim 10, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle of claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the processor is further configured to obtain the human data while removing errors based on time sequence, redundancy, and outlier criteria.
ZHANG LINGYU cited by applicant teaches to obtain the human data while removing errors based on time sequence, redundancy, and outlier criteria(Page 601, point 5, “The Experimental Results and Analysis”: :Due to ..uncertainty…, we delete orders whose starting point appeared less than five times in a month…we set a threshold to filter the prediction results. The result will be output if its probability surpasses the threshold’).
Given the teachings of ZHANG LINGYU it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Telpaz with obtain the human data while removing errors based on time sequence, redundancy, and outlier criteria since it is considered a normal routine design option , a customary practice.
Re Claim 11, Telpaz discloses the electric vehicle of claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the processor is further configured to detect an abnormal value in a departure time prediction probability distribution in real time by using a database scanning technique and determine parameters necessary for the database scanning technique for each individual and date through a knee point.
ZHANG LINGYU cited by applicant teaches wherein the processor is further configured to detect an abnormal value in a departure time prediction probability distribution in real time by using a database scanning technique and determine parameters necessary for the database scanning technique for each individual and date through a knee point.
(Page 601, point 5, “The Experimental Results and Analysis”: :Due to ..uncertainty…, we delete orders whose starting point appeared less than five times in a month…we set a threshold to filter the prediction results. The result will be output if its probability surpasses the threshold’).
Given the teachings of ZHANG LINGYU it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Telpaz with wherein the processor is further configured to detect an abnormal value in a departure time prediction probability distribution in real time by using a database scanning technique and determine parameters necessary for the database scanning technique for each individual and date through a knee point since it is considered a normal routine design option , a customary practice.
Conclusion
The following reference is cited but not relied upon:
Samojeden et al. discloses generating, using the electronic processor and based on the rate profile, a charging profile, and charging, using a charging controller of a charger coupled to the electronic processor, based on the charging profile.
SONJI N. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/SONJI N JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876