Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 2015/0272385).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses, an induction heating system (see abstract) comprising:
an induction heater (see Fig. 2, element 155 and paragraph [0063]);
a user interface for setting a desired temperature value of induction heater (see Fig. 2, elements 200-225; paragraphs [0087]; Fig. 7 and [0094]);
a cooking vessel formed of an induction-compatible material and including a base,
an exterior wall, and an interior surface (see Fig. 2, element 130 and paragraph [0061]);
a control system (see Fig. 8,9) configured to: receive the desired temperature value of the induction heater (see Fig. 8,9 and paragraphs [0084], [0095],[0096]); estimate an actual temperature value of the cooking vessel (The actual temperature is detected via temperature sensor 170. See Fig. 8,9 and paragraphs [0084],[0095],[0096]); compare the estimated temperature value with the desired temperature value (see Fig. 8,9 and paragraphs [0084], [0095], [0096]); and if a difference between the estimated and desired temperature values is outside of a predetermined threshold, adjust the induction heater until the difference between the estimated and desired temperature values is within the predetermined threshold (The measured temperature is compared to the desired temperature and the control unit 190 adjusts the power output in order to maintain the desired temperature. See Fig. 8,9 and paragraphs [0084], [0095], [0096]).
Regarding claim 2, the control system contains preset temperatures corresponding to various types of food. (See Paragraph [0087]) Regarding claim 3, the control unit 190 has a processor and memory for storing target heating profiles. (See Paragraph [0092]).
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon et al (US 2015/0028022).
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses, an induction heating system (see abstract) comprising:
an induction heater (see Fig. 1A, paragraph [0008]) sensor
a user interface for setting a desired temperature value of induction heater (See Fig 1A, 6, Paragraph [0304])
a cooking vessel formed of an induction-compatible material and including a base,
an exterior wall, and an interior surface (pot, see paragraph [0349])
a control system configured to: receive the desired temperature value of the induction heater (See Paragraphs [0031], [0052], [0054]) estimate an actual temperature value of the cooking vessel (The actual temperature is detected via temperature sensor, See Paragraph [0113]) compare the estimated temperature value with the desired temperature value (see paragraphs [0376], [0375]); and if a difference between the estimated and desired temperature values is outside of a predetermined threshold, adjust the induction heater until the difference between the estimated and desired temperature values is within the predetermined threshold (According to an exemplary embodiment, the PIC may access the NTC temperature reading value and may compare the NTC reading with the setting temperature. If the NTC value is lower than the setting temperature, the IGBT may be used and heat is generated to increase temperature. The measured temperature is compared to the desired temperature and the control unit 190 adjusts the power output in order to maintain the desired temperature. see paragraphs [0376], [0375]); Regarding claim 2, Paragraphs [0157], [0158] discloses preset temperatures which could correspond to chocolate, hot pot or bourguignonne. (Also see Paragraph [0049])
Regarding claim 3, the controller contains a processor and memory containing instructions for controlling the induction device and heating. (See Paragraph [0031], [0052], [0302]) Regarding claim 4, a temperature curve is used for adjusting the temperature. (See Paragraphs [0097], [0375]) Regarding claim 5, Paragraph [0158] discloses preset temperatures which could correspond to chocolate, hot pot or bourguignonne. (Also see Paragraph [0049])
Regarding claim 10, Moon discloses, an induction heating system (see abstract) comprising:
an induction heater (see Fig. 1A, paragraph [0008]) sensor
a user interface for setting a desired temperature value of induction heater (See Fig 1A, 6, Paragraph [0304])
a cooking vessel formed of an induction-compatible material and including a base,
an exterior wall, and an interior surface (pot which would be induction compatible, see paragraph [0349])
a control system configured to: receive the desired temperature value of the induction heater (See Paragraphs [0031], [0052], [0054]) estimate an actual temperature value of the cooking vessel (The actual temperature is detected via temperature sensor, See Paragraph [0113]) compare the estimated temperature value with the desired temperature value (see paragraphs [0376], [0375]); and if a difference between the estimated and desired temperature values is outside of a predetermined threshold, adjust the induction heater until the difference between the estimated and desired temperature values is within the predetermined threshold (According to an exemplary embodiment, the PIC may access the NTC temperature reading value and may compare the NTC reading with the setting temperature. If the NTC value is lower than the setting temperature, the IGBT may be used and heat is generated to increase temperature. The measured temperature is compared to the desired temperature and the control unit 190 adjusts the power output in order to maintain the desired temperature. see paragraphs [0376], [0375]); Paragraphs [0157], [0158] discloses preset temperatures which could correspond to chocolate, hot pot or bourguignonne. (Also see Paragraph [0049]) Regarding claim 11, the induction heater has a maximum temperature and the user may set a maximum temperature. (See Paragraph [0127]) Regarding claim 12, Paragraphs [0157], [0158] discloses preset temperature, of 100 degrees, which is about 45 degrees C, 40-45 degrees and is adjustable in increments of about 5 degrees C. (See Paragraphs [0014], [0166], the temperature is adjustable in 5 or 10 degree F increments which would be about 5 degrees C) Regarding claim 13, the temperature may be preset between 180-270 degrees F. (See Paragraph [0228], the temperature is adjustable in 5 or 10 degree F increments which would be about 5 degrees C.) Regarding claim 15, as the induction device heats up the temperature curve would pass through a melting and maintenance segment. (See Paragraph [0327]) The melting segment and maintenance segments are not defined. The claim does not define which one occurs first.
Regarding claim 17, Moon discloses, an induction heating system (see abstract) comprising:
an induction heater (see Fig. 1A, paragraph [0008]) sensor
a user interface for setting a desired temperature value of induction heater (See Fig 1A, 6, Paragraph [0304])
a cooking vessel formed of an induction-compatible material and including a base,
an exterior wall, and an interior surface (pot which would be induction compatible, see paragraph [0349])
a control system configured to: receive the desired temperature value of the induction heater (See Paragraphs [0031], [0052], [0054]) estimate an actual temperature value of the cooking vessel (The actual temperature is detected via temperature sensor, See Paragraph [0113]) compare the estimated temperature value with the desired temperature value (see paragraphs [0376], [0375]); and if a difference between the estimated and desired temperature values is outside of a predetermined threshold, adjust the induction heater until the difference between the estimated and desired temperature values is within the predetermined threshold (According to an exemplary embodiment, the PIC may access the NTC temperature reading value and may compare the NTC reading with the setting temperature. If the NTC value is lower than the setting temperature, the IGBT may be used and heat is generated to increase temperature. The measured temperature is compared to the desired temperature and the control unit 190 adjusts the power output in order to maintain the desired temperature. see paragraphs [0376], [0375]); Paragraphs [0157], [0158] discloses preset temperatures which could correspond to chocolate, hot pot or bourguignonne. (Also see Paragraph [0049]) Regarding claim 18, as the induction device heats up the temperature curve would pass through a melting and maintenance segment. (See Paragraph [0327]) The melting segment and maintenance segments are not defined. The claim does not define which one occurs first.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Moon et al (US 2015/0028022) in view of Labesse (FR 2499381).
The teachings of Moon have been discussed above. Moon fails to disclose, a table that includes a pocket, wherein the induction heater is located in the pocket; The induction heating system of claim 6, wherein the pocket is sized to accommodate the base of the cooking vessel; The induction heating system of claim 6, wherein a perimeter of the table is round; The induction heating system of claim 1, wherein the interior surface of the cooking vessel includes a non-stick coating.
Labeese discloses a table for receiving an induction heating pot in recess 4. (See Fig 1) It would have been obvious to adapt Moon in view of Labesse to provide the induction heating device in a table for allowing users to cook their food at the table, with others, then provide a surface for eating it. It would have been obvious to provide a round table as this is an obvious variant of a table shape, allowing for even access to the recess from all seating locations.
It would have been obvious to provide the non-stick coating as this is an obvious variant of a coating for any cooking vessel.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 7/15/2026