DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Objections and Rejections
The objection to claim 26 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant's amendment.
The rejection of claim(s) 23 and 37 are obviated by Applicant’s cancellation.
All rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 39-40 are improper dependent claims because they depend on claim 37 that has been canceled. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For a compact prosecution, claims 39-40 are examined as dependent on claim 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19, 24-26, 32-36, and 38-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oja (US 2019/0004005) in view of Boutelle (US 2018/0136247).
Regarding claims 18, 24, 32, and 35, Oja teaches a sensor (Fig. 13; ¶103: an analyte sensor 500) for detecting pyruvate in vivo (¶103: a sensor tail 530 positionable below the surface of the skin and in contact with the wearer’s biofluid, such as interstitial fluid; thus the sensor is in vivo; claim 6: the analyte is pyruvate) comprising:
a first portion configured to be positioned above a user’s skin (¶103); and
an implantable portion (Fig. 13; ¶103: sensor tail 530) configured to be positioned below the user’s skin such that the implantable portion is in contact with the user’s interstitial fluid to monitor the level of pyruvate in vivo (¶103), the implantable portion comprising:
a working electrode (Fig. 13; ¶104: working electrode 501);
a pyruvate sensing layer disposed on the working electrode (Fig. 13; ¶104: sensing area 509 that is on the working electrode 501), the pyruvate sensing layer comprising a pyruvate-responsive enzyme (for claim 18), wherein the pyruvate-responsive enzyme comprises pyruvate oxidase (for claim 32) (Fig. 14D; ¶132: the analyte-specific enzyme 323; ¶128: the analyte-specific enzyme is pyruvate oxidase for oxidizing pyruvate), flavin adenine dinucleotide (FAD) (¶15: a flavin adenine dinucleotide (FAD)-dependent oxidase), and a redox mediator (Fig. 14D; ¶132: redox mediator 324), wherein the redox mediator comprises a polymer and an electron transfer agent (¶11: the redox mediator is an immobilized redox polymer; ¶12: the immobilized redox polymer includes a redox species and a polymer; the polymer is PVP; ¶119: the redox species is an electron transfer agent); and
a membrane permeable to pyruvate (¶21: the outer membrane is an analyte-permeable membrane) and overcoating the pyruvate sensing layer (Fig. 14B; ¶105: an outer membrane 520 overcoating the various layers, including the sensing area 509), wherein the membrane (¶93: the outer membrane is made of a highly permeable materials, such as poly(vinyl pyridine) (PVP)) has reduced permeability to TPP relative to pyruvate (since the membrane comprises PVP, the same material as disclosed in the specification, PGpub ¶16, thus it would have the same property, i.e., having reduced permeability to TPP relative to pyruvate) (for claim 18) and wherein the membrane comprises poly(4-vinylpyridine) (¶93: the outer membrane is made of a highly permeable materials, such as poly(vinyl pyridine) (PVP)) (for claim 24).
Oja does not explicitly disclose the pyruvate sensing layer also comprising thiamine pyrophosphate (TPP), and a stabilizing agent (for claim 18) or wherein the stabilizing agent is an albumin (for claim 35).
However, Boutelle discloses a pyruvate sensing layer (¶179: the sensor comprises a hydrogel layer), comprising pyruvate oxidase (¶192) for detecting pyruvate. When the enzyme is pyruvate oxidase, the hydrogel comprises MgCl2, thiamine pyrophosphate (TPP) (¶193), and a stabilizing agent (¶179: the hydrogel contains albumin; here, the albumin is the same agent as an enzyme-stabilizing agent disclosed in the specification, PGpub ¶10, and thus it must have the same property of being an enzyme stabilizing agent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oja by incorporating TPP and albumin as a stabilizing agent as taught by Boutelle because they are cofactors useful that stabilize the enzyme when the hydrogel is formed so that the space enclosing the enzyme is suitable for a properly constituted functional enzyme (¶193). Here, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the elements to arrive the claimed subjection matter, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 19, Oja teaches wherein the pyruvate sensing layer is continuous (Fig. 13; ¶104: sensing area 509, which is deemed to be continuous).
Regarding claim 25, Oja in view of Boutelle teaches a system (Fig. 13; ¶103) for sensing pyruvate (Fig. 13; ¶104), comprising
a sensor of claim 18 (as described in claim 18); and
a circuit configured for electrochemical detection of pyruvate at the electrode (Fig. 17; ¶159: sensor control device 102 for analyte level measurements; further, this limitation is functional limitation in apparatus claims. MPEP 2114 (II). It does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus because the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)).
Regarding claim 26, Oja in view of Boutelle teaches a system (Fig. 13; ¶103) for sensing pyruvate (Fig. 13; ¶104) comprising
a sensor of claim 18 (as described in claim 18); and
a circuit (Fig. 17; ¶159: sensor control device 102 for analyte level measurements) configured to connect and disconnect with the working electrode (¶87: after steady-state oxidation, the working electrode was electrically disconnected for a set period of time (the accumulation time) to allow for charge accumulation, and then the working electrode was reconnected to measure the accumulated charge; further, this limitation is functional limitation in apparatus claims. MPEP 2114 (II). It does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus because the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)),
wherein
the pyruvate sensing layer is configured to accumulate charge derived from pyruvate reacting with the pyruvate-responsive enzyme for a set period of time (¶87: after steady-state oxidation, the working electrode was electrically disconnected for a set period of time (the accumulation time) to allow for charge accumulation, and then the working electrode was reconnected to measure the accumulated charge; further, this limitation is functional limitation in apparatus claims. MPEP 2114 (II). It does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus because the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)).
Regarding claims 33-34, Oja and Boutelle discloses all limitations of claim 32. Oja fails to teach wherein the pyruvate oxidase and TPP are present in the pyruvate sensing layer in a weight ratio of about 500:1 to about 1:1 (claim 33) or wherein the pyruvate oxidase and TPP are present in the pyruvate sensing layer in a weight ratio of about 50:1 to about 1:1 (claim 34).
However, Boutelle teaches the sensing reagent comprises: 0.06 mg/ml to 18 mg/ml pyruvate oxidase (POX) and 0.5 to 20 mM TPP (¶254: ¶253-254, 256). Here, based on the MW of TPP, 460.77 g/mol, the calculated weight of POX and TPP in 1 ml are, e.g., 10 mg POX, and 1 mM TPP = 0.46mg, leading a weight ratio of about 22:1, which overlaps the claimed ranges in claims 33-34.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oja and Boutelle by adjusting the weight ratio of pyruvate oxidase and TPP within the claimed range because it is known in the prior art as suitable composition of the pyruvate sensing reagent. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 36, Oja teaches the sensor further comprising a pH buffer (¶174: buffer solution).
Regarding claim 38, Oja teaches wherein the polymer comprises poly(4-vinylpyridine (¶119).
Regarding claim 39, Oja teaches wherein the polymer comprises a polymer repeat unit comprising at least one pendant pyridyl group (p. 10; ¶119: Formula I).
Regarding claim 40, Oja teaches wherein the electron transfer agent comprises a transition metal complex (¶121).
Regarding claim 41, Oja teaches wherein the transition metal complex comprises osmium (¶119: Formula I).
Regarding claim 42, Oja teaches wherein the transition metal complex is an osmium transition metal complex (¶119: Formula I) comprising one or more ligands, wherein at least one ligand comprises a nitrogen-containing heterocycle (¶125).
Regarding claim 43, Oja teaches wherein the redox mediator comprises an osmium complex bonded to a poly(4-vinylpyridine)-based polymer (¶119: Formula I).
Regarding claim 44, Oja teaches wherein the sensor further comprising a cross linking agent (¶118: the electron transfer agent and analyte-specific enzyme are co-immobilized with a chemical crosslinker).
Regarding claim 45, Oja teaches wherein the cross linking agent is a polyepoxide (¶118: the chemical crosslinker is poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether PEGDGE).
Regarding claim 46, Oja teaches wherein the cross linking agent is poly(ethylene glycol) diglycidyl ether (PEGDGE) (¶118).
Regarding claim 47, Oja teaches wherein the pyruvate oxidase is attached to the redox mediator (Fig. 14D: electrons enzyme 323; redox polymer (mediator) 324; ¶116: immobilization of the electron transfer agent and the analyte-specific enzyme on the sensing layer).
Regarding claim 48, Oja teaches wherein the pyruvate sensing layer is configured to accumulate charge derived from pyruvate reacting with the pyruvate-responsive enzyme for a set period of time (¶87: after steady-state oxidation, the working electrode was electrically disconnected for a set period of time (the accumulation time) to allow for charge accumulation, and then the working electrode was reconnected to measure the accumulated charge; further, this limitation is functional limitation in apparatus claims. MPEP 2114 (II). It does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus because the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oja in view of Boutelle, and further in view of Blauw (EP 2372355).
Regarding claim 20, Oja and Boutelle disclose all limitations of claim 18, but fails to teach wherein the pyruvate sensing layer is discontinuous.
However, Blauw teaches thin films that can be used as a sensing layer for sensing of chemical and biochemical analytes in a gas or liquid phase (¶1). The film can be a thin continuous or discontinuous layer without grain boundaries for sensing a predetermined analyte, having a surface in used exposed to the analyte (¶11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Oja and Boutelle by substituting the continuous pyruvate sensing layer with a discontinuous one as taught by Blauw because it would be able to sensing analyte by being exposed to the analyte (¶11). Here, the substitution of one known element for another would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2141(III)(B). Since “continuous” and “discontinuous” sensing layer is only two alternatives, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2141(III)(E).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments has/have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Boutelle’s pyruvate-sensing arrangement would not have provided a reason to modify Oja’s in vivo sensor because Boutelle discloses a microdialysis-based sensing system in which pyruvate oxidase and its required cofactors are externally supplied through a sensing reagent (Response, p. 7, ¶3; bridging para. of pp. 7-8). This argument is unpersuasive. The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. MPEP 2123. Boutelle discloses a sensor comprising a hydrogel layer (¶179), which may comprise pyruvate oxidase (¶192). Where the enzyme is pyruvate oxidase, the hydrogel may also comprise MgCl2 and TPP as cofactors. Although these cofactors are small and likely to diffuse out of the hydrogel; however, it is considered useful if cofactors that stabilize the enzyme are present in the hydrogel (¶193). Thus, Applicant’s arguments that Boutelle discloses an ex vivo microdialysis arrangement better than the in vivo sensing (Response, pp. 10-11) does not mean Boutelle teaches away in vivo sensing or render the in vivo sensing inoperable. Since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, they would motivate one skilled in the art to combine the elements to arrive the claimed subjection matter, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/C. SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795