DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to for the following informalities:
A period is missing after each claim number.
The preambles of the dependent claims should read “The chain operation system according to claim…” since the claims are further limiting and not introducing additional chain operation systems.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Derk, Jr. (US 2023/0228147, filed Jan 10, 2023 with priority to Jan 12, 2022 which are both before the effective filing of the instant application), hereinafter referred to as Derk.
Regarding claim 1, Derk discloses a chain operation system for a chain driven blind assembly, the system comprising;
a guide member (upper part of 10, Fig 3) configured to guide a beaded chain loop of the chain driven blind assembly, the guide member extending along a longitudinal axis of the guide member and comprising a first channel for guiding a first side of the chain loop, and a second channel for guiding a second side of the chain loop (Figs 3, 30, 31, 34B); and
a handle (32) slidably mounted to the guide member, the handle being configured to slide along the longitudinal axis of the guide member in a first direction to engage and drive the chain loop, and in a second direction to release the chain loop,
the handle comprising;
a chain driver (30, 34, 36, 38 collectively) selectively rotatable between a first position, whereby the chain driver drivingly engages (via 36) one or more beads on the second side of the chain loop, and a second position, whereby the chain driver drivingly engages (via 38) one or more beads on the first side of the chain loop (Figs 17 and 20 show the two positions of the chain driver); and
a switching member (34) operable by a user and configured to rotate the chain driver between the first and second positions (Fig 21; 34 pivots to rotate 36 and 38).
Regarding claim 2, Derk discloses wherein the chain driver is configured such that when the chain driver is in the first position, the chain driver is free of driving engagement with the first side of the chain loop to allow the chain driver to pass the first side of the chain loop (Fig 17), and when the chain driver is in the second position, the chain driver is free of driving engagement with the second side of the chain loop to allow the chain driver to pass the second side of the chain loop (Fig 20).
Regarding claim 17, Derk discloses wherein the chain driver comprises an aperture formed therethrough and a shaft, the aperture being configured to receive the shaft to mount the chain driver to the handle (Fig 21; elements of the chain driver, 36 and 38, are received on shafts).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15, 18, 20, 21, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record fails to further teach it obvious to provide or modify the prior art such that wherein the chain driver comprises a body portion and a driver portion extending from the body portion, the body portion extending along a longitudinal axis of the chain driver and comprising a first release side surface offset from the longitudinal axis of the chain driver and forming an acute angle with the longitudinal axis of the chain driver, a second release side surface offset from the longitudinal axis of the chain driver and forming an acute angle with the longitudinal axis of the chain driver, and a nose portion disposed between, and connecting, the first and second release side surfaces. Derk teaches two separate elements therefore a nose is not capable of being disposed between and connecting first and second release side surfaces. Further, the closest prior art of record fails to further teach it obvious to provide or modify the prior art such that the switching member comprises a wheel that is disposed adjacent the chain driver, the wheel comprising one or more magnets configured to selectively rotate the chain driver between the first and second positions upon rotation of the wheel, and wherein the wheel comprises an aperture formed therethrough configured to receive the shaft to mount the wheel to the chain driver and the handle. The configuration of the switching member of Derk does not allow for a wheel with magnets since the rotation of Derk relies on a rotational pivot.
Conclusion
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634