DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 03/21/2024 has been considered and placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath or Declaration is being considered by examiner and complies with PTO requirements.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, “a signal impairment” should be changed to – the signal impairment – in lines 2-3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a feedback selection unit configured to select in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrey et al. US 2020/0099347 in view of Chekhovstov et al. US 2011/0274210.
Consider claim 1, Andrey discloses An apparatus for managing radio frequency signal coupling (see FIG. 4), comprising:
a pre-distortion processing apparatus (see FIG. 4 and ¶ [0071]) comprising a plurality of transceiver chains (see FIG. 3-4 and ¶ [0068], combination of M transmit channels and receive channel as transceiver chains), wherein the plurality of transceiver chains comprises a plurality of transmit chains (see FIG. 3-4 and ¶ [0068], M transmit channels), and wherein each of the plurality of transmit chains comprises:
a power amplifier (see FIG. 4, power amplifier (PA)) communicatively coupled to the baseband signal (see FIG. 4, wherein the PA communicatively coupled to the baseband signal via mixer, DAC, second pre-distortion part, and first pre-distortion part), wherein the power amplifier is configured to:
receive a modified input signal from the baseband signal (see FIG. 4 and ¶ [0073], wherein the baseband signal is modified by the first pre-distortion part and the second pre-distortion part, before input into the power amplifier); and
amplify the modified input signal to generate an output signal having an output power (see FIG. 4 and ¶ [0073], wherein the power amplifier amplify the modified input signal to generate an output signal to antenna), wherein the modified input signal is generated based on a predetermined set of coupling coefficients (see FIG. 4 and ¶ [0073], wherein the modified input signal is generated based on the N sets of pre-distortion parameters from the solving part);
wherein the pre-distortion processing apparatus is configured to:
based on the baseband signal and at least one feedback signal, compute the predetermined set of coupling coefficients for each of the plurality of transmit chains (see FIG. 4 and ¶ [0073], wherein the solving part compute the N set of pre-distortion parameters based on the baseband signal and the feedback signal); and
based on the determined set of coupling coefficients, pre-process an input signal to generate the modified input signal to be transmitted via each of the plurality of transmit chains such that the modified input signal nullifies a signal impairment due to radio frequency signal coupling between any two transmit chains in the plurality of transmit chains (see FIG. 4 and ¶ [0005-0006] and [0073], wherein the first pre-distortion part configured to receive xth DPD processor input signal and the N sets of pre-distortion parameters, to generate the xth second baseband signal i.e. modified signal to be transmitted via each transmit channel such that the signal amplification on transmit channels in a multi-antenna sending apparatus is linear).
However Andrey does not explicitly disclose a baseband processor and a reference signal. Chekhovstov teaches a baseband processor (see FIG. 1 and ¶ [0008], wherein the Digital Signal Processor (DSP) 117 receives baseband TX signal) and a reference signal (see ¶ [0042], wherein the baseband transmission signal i.e. the reference signal). Chekhovstov further discloses improving the accuracy of time aligning signals that are used for computation the digital pre-distorter parameters needed to linearize the power amplifier (see ¶ [0019]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Andrey, and to include a baseband processor and a reference signal, as taught by Chekhovstov for the purpose of improving the accuracy of time aligning signals that are used for computation the digital pre-distorter parameters needed to linearize the power amplifier.
Consider claim 3, Andrey discloses a coupler configured to generate the at least one feedback signal based on the reference signal (see FIG. 4, coupling part configured to generate feedback signal).
Consider claim 7, Andrey discloses wherein the modified input signal is based on the computed predetermined set of coupling coefficients for each of the plurality of transmit chains (see FIG. 4 and ¶ [0073], wherein the output of the second pre-distortion part i.e. modified input signal, is based on the computed predetermined set of coupling coefficients i.e. the N set of pre-distortion parameters, for each of the plurality of transmit channels).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrey et al. US 2020/0099347 in view of Chekhovstov et al. US 2011/0274210 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cai et al. US 2025/0211411.
Consider claim 9, Andrey in view of Chekhovstov discloses every claimed limitation in claim 1.
However Andrey in view of Chekhovstov does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of transceiver chains comprises a plurality of receive chains, and wherein the baseband processor is configured to nullify a signal impairment due to radio frequency signal coupling between any two receive chains in the plurality of receive chains. Cai teaches wherein the plurality of transceiver chains comprises a plurality of receive chains, and wherein the baseband processor is configured to nullify a signal impairment due to radio frequency signal coupling between any two receive chains in the plurality of receive chains (see FIG. 4, and ¶ [0005], wherein the plurality of transceiver chains comprises a plurality of receive chains to reduce interference between uplink and downlink signals based on a combination of separation of transmit and receive antenna arrays and linear cancellation processing). Cai further discloses reducing interference between uplink and downlink signals based on a combination of separation of transmit and receive antenna arrays and linear cancellation processing (see ¶ [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Andrey in view of Chekhovstov, and to include wherein the plurality of transceiver chains comprises a plurality of receive chains, and wherein the baseband processor is configured to nullify a signal impairment due to radio frequency signal coupling between any two receive chains in the plurality of receive chains, as taught by Cai for the purpose of reduce interference between uplink and downlink signals based on a combination of separation of transmit and receive antenna arrays and linear cancellation processing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is drawn to A method for managing radio frequency signal coupling, comprising: transmitting, by a baseband processor, in each of a plurality of transmit chains, a modified input signal to a power amplifier, wherein the modified input signal is generated based on a predetermined set of coupling coefficients, wherein the predetermined set of coupling coefficients are computed, for each of the plurality of transmit chains, by: selecting, by the baseband processor, a first feedback signal in a given transmit chain of the plurality of transmit chains and a second feedback signal in another transmit chain of the plurality of transmit chains, when a reference signal is transmitted via the given transmit chain; determining, by the baseband processor, a feedback power associated with each of the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal; and determining, by the baseband processor, a coupling coefficient at the another transmit chain while the given transmit chain transmits the reference signal, wherein the coupling coefficient at the another transmit chain is based on the feedback power associated with each of the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal, respectively. Closest prior art, Andrey et al. US 2020/0099347 in view of Chekhovstov et al. US 2011/0274210, discloses A method for managing radio frequency signal coupling, comprising: transmitting, by a baseband processor, in each of a plurality of transmit chains, a modified input signal to a power amplifier, wherein the modified input signal is generated based on a predetermined set of coupling coefficients. However, prior art of record fails to disclose either alone or in combination the details of wherein the predetermined set of coupling coefficients are computed, for each of the plurality of transmit chains, by: selecting, by the baseband processor, a first feedback signal in a given transmit chain of the plurality of transmit chains and a second feedback signal in another transmit chain of the plurality of transmit chains, when a reference signal is transmitted via the given transmit chain; determining, by the baseband processor, a feedback power associated with each of the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal; and determining, by the baseband processor, a coupling coefficient at the another transmit chain while the given transmit chain transmits the reference signal, wherein the coupling coefficient at the another transmit chain is based on the feedback power associated with each of the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal, respectively, as claimed in claim 10, in combination with each and every other limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 11-16:
Claims 11-16 are allowed as being dependent on claim 10.
The prior art of record, also does not teach or suggest select a first feedback signal in a given transmit chain of the plurality of transmit chains and a second feedback signal in another transmit chain of the plurality of transmit chains based on a reference signal; determine a feedback power associated with each of the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal; determine a coupling coefficient at the another transmit chain while the first transmit chain transmits the reference signal, wherein the coupling coefficient at the another transmit chain is based on the feedback power associated with each of the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal; identify a set of coupling coefficients for transmission of an input signal via each of the plurality of transmit chains; and generate a modified input signal to be transmitted via each of the plurality of transmit chains based on the identified set of coupling coefficients to nullify a coupling signal in each of the plurality of transmit chains, wherein the coupling signal represents a signal impairment due to radio frequency signal coupling between any two transmit chains in the plurality of transmit chains as recited in claim 17 for the same reason stated in claim 10 above.
Regarding claims 18-20:
Claims 18-20 are allowed as being dependent on claim 17.
Conclusion
/JANICE N TIEU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633