Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “wherein 360° measuring about three axes while underwater” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it is assumed that that claim 17 depends on claim 16 in order to provide sufficient antecedent basis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 15, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 49 of copending Application No. 17720015 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the claimed invention of instant application ‘408 and the reference application ‘015 are directed to a pool cleaner with a TOF sensor system that performs measurements for angles greater than 0-degrees and controlling navigation based on the detection of an obstacle/occupant, and the claimed invention of the reference application ‘015 is narrower in scope in comparison to the claimed invention of the instant application ‘408.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-13, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biber EP2960741.
Regarding independent claim 1, Biber discloses, in Figures 1-2,
An automatic pool cleaner (APC) system (Biber; Fig. 1-2; page 2/17 “autonomous swimming pool cleaning machine”) for a swimming pool or spa, the APC system comprising at least one of an APC (Biber; autonomous service robot 10) or a docking station (Biber; base station 28) for the APC, and the APC system further comprising a time of flight (ToF) sensor (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12) system on at least one of the APC or the docking station and configured to perform continuous measuring about an angle greater than 0° relative to at least one axis underwater (Biber; page 3/17 “wide-angle optical element” and “to detect a diagonal angle of view, which is in particular at least 60°”).
Regarding claim 7, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to measure at least one of an intensity of a light or laser beam (Biber; page 6/17 sensor unit 36 comprises a photodiode), an amplitude of the light or laser beam, and/or control information coded by the light or laser beam.
Regarding claim 8, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein, based on information from the ToF sensor system, the APC is configured to determine at least one of a distance from all surfaces of a pool or spa, a two-dimensional shape of the pool or spa, a three-dimensional shape of the pool or spa, and/or one or more operating characteristics of the APC (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “By means of the optical detection device 12, an environment of the autonomous service robot 10 is detected and then mapped, so that the autonomous service robot 10 can be guided in an operating state within the working area 32.”).
Regarding claim 9, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 8, wherein the one or more operating characteristics comprises a position of the APC, a speed of the APC, an acceleration of the APC, forces applied by the APC, or a direction of movement of the APC (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “By means of the optical detection device 12, an environment of the autonomous service robot 10 is detected and then mapped, so that the autonomous service robot 10 can be guided in an operating state within the working area 32.”; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”; the turning maneuvers is the direction of movement of the APC).
Regarding claim 10, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the APC is configured to generate an output based on information from the ToF sensor system (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “By means of the optical detection device 12, an environment of the autonomous service robot 10 is detected and then mapped, so that the autonomous service robot 10 can be guided in an operating state within the working area 32.”; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”; the TOF data output is used as an input for navigation determination).
Regarding claim 11, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 10, wherein the APC is configured to control the APC as the output by adjusting a cleaning pattern, causing the APC to move to a location, and/or causing the APC to avoid obstacles (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “By means of the optical detection device 12, an environment of the autonomous service robot 10 is detected and then mapped, so that the autonomous service robot 10 can be guided in an operating state within the working area 32.”; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”).
Regarding claim 12, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the APC is configured to determine a type of material of a surface of the pool or spa or detect debris based on the information from the ToF sensor system (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”).
Regarding claim 13, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the APC is configured to detect a presence of an occupant in the pool or spa based on the information from the ToF sensor system (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”).
Regarding independent claim 15, Biber discloses, in Figures 1-2,
An automatic pool cleaner (APC) system (Biber; Fig. 1-2; page 2/17 “autonomous swimming pool cleaning machine”) for a swimming pool or spa, the APC system comprising at least one of an APC (Biber; autonomous service robot 10) or a docking station (Biber; base station 28) for the APC, and the APC system further comprising a time of flight (ToF) sensor (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12) system on at least one of the APC or the docking station and configured to perform continuous measuring about an angle greater than 0° relative to at least one axis underwater (Biber; page 3/17 “wide-angle optical element” and “to detect a diagonal angle of view, which is in particular at least 60°”).
A method (Biber; Fig. 1-2) of mapping a pool or spa comprising moving an automatic pool cleaner (APC) within the pool or spa, the APC comprising a ToF sensor system configured to perform continuous measuring about an angle greater than 0° about three axes while underwater.
Regarding claim 18, Biber discloses The method of claim 15, further comprising determining a characteristic of the APC or a pool or spa based on a plurality of measurements (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12 determines the shape/boundaries/extent of the pool walls).
Regarding claim 19, Biber discloses The method of claim 15, further comprising determining a cleaner path for the APC using continuous 360° ToF measurement (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”).
Regarding independent claim 20, Biber discloses, in Figures 1-2,
A method (Biber; Fig. 1-2;) comprising at least one of:
a. detecting a type of material used in a surface of a pool or spa using a ToF sensor on an automatic pool cleaner (APC), and controlling the APC based on the detected type of material; or
b. detecting an occupant in a pool or spa using the ToF sensor on the APC (Biber; Fig. 1-2; page 2/17 “autonomous swimming pool cleaning machine”), and controlling the APC based on the detected occupant (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biber in view of Buehler US20140133152.
Regarding claim 2, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform continuous measuring about axes (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12) while underwater (APC) system (Biber; Fig. 1-2; page 2/17 “autonomous swimming pool cleaning machine”).
Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform continuous measuring about three axes while underwater.
Buehler teaches wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform continuous measuring about three axes (Buehler; Fig. 2-3; gimbal mount 14 with laser housing 20; [0016] “three axes of rotation” using DMD actuating/moveable mirror 38; [0011] “range-finding”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ToF sensor system as taught by Biber to comprise three axes measurement as taught by Buehler for the purpose of providing additional articulation means to provide a wider scan area.
Regarding claim 3, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a light sensor (Biber; sensor unit 36).
Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a static light sensor and a rotating mirror.
Buehler teaches wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a static light sensor and a rotating mirror (Buehler; Fig. 3; static laser source 36 and DMD actuating/moveable mirror 38 in which the source 36 is static relative to the rotating/actuating mirror 38; [0011] “range-finding”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ToF sensor system and the light sensor as taught by Biber to comprise a static light sensor and a rotating mirror as taught by Buehler for the purpose of providing additional articulation means to provide a wider scan area.
Regarding claim 4, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a laser (Biber; lighting elements 24).
Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a rotating laser.
Buehler teaches wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a rotating laser (Fig. 2-3; gimbal mount 14 with laser housing 20; [0011] “range-finding”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laser as taught by Biber to a rotating laser on a gimbal as taught by Buehler for the purpose of providing additional articulation means to provide a wider scan area.
Regarding claim 6, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform measuring (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12).
Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform 360° measuring.
Buehler teaches wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform 360° measuring (Buehler; Fig. 2-3; gimbal mount 14 with laser housing 20; [0016] “three axes of rotation” using DMD actuating/moveable mirror 38; [0011] “range-finding”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement range of the ToF sensor system as taught by Biber to be 360° as taught by Buehler for the purpose of providing additional articulation means to provide a wider scan area.
Regarding claim 16, Modified Biber teaches the invention substantially the same as described above with respect to claims 2 and 6:
Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform continuous measuring about three axes while underwater.
Buehler teaches wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform continuous measuring about three axes (Buehler; Fig. 2-3; gimbal mount 14 with laser housing 20; [0016] “three axes of rotation” using DMD actuating/moveable mirror 38; [0011] “range-finding”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ToF sensor system as taught by Biber to comprise three axes measurement as taught by Buehler for the purpose of providing additional articulation means to provide a wider scan area.
Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform 360° measuring.
Buehler teaches wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to perform 360° measuring (Buehler; Fig. 2-3; gimbal mount 14 with laser housing 20; [0016] “three axes of rotation” using DMD actuating/moveable mirror 38; [0011] “range-finding”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the measurement range of the ToF sensor system as taught by Biber to be 360° as taught by Buehler for the purpose of providing additional articulation means to provide a wider scan area.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biber in view of Leonessa US20140009748.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biber in view of Buehler as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Leonessa US20140009748.
Regarding claim 5, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a light sensor (Biber; sensor unit 36), each sensor positioned at a location on the APC (Biber; Fig. 1).
Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a plurality of light sensors, each sensor positioned at a location on the APC.
Leonessa teaches wherein the ToF sensor system comprises a plurality of light sensors, each sensor positioned at a location on the APC (Leonessa; Fig. 5; first laser18 and second laser 20 with corresponding horizontal scans 110 and 114).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the ToF sensor system as taught by Biber to comprise a plurality of light sensors ad different locations as taught by Leonessa for the purpose of providing a wider scan area.
Regarding claim 14, Biber discloses The APC system of claim 1, wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to transmit and receive light or light (Biber; lighting elements 24).
Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to transmit and receive blue light or green light.
Leonessa teaches wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to transmit and receive blue light or green light (Leonessa; [0038] green light is preferable to red light because water absorbs green light less in comparison to red light).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light as taught by Biber to be green light as taught by Leonessa for the purpose of minimizing light absorption by water (Leonessa; [0038] green light is preferable to red light because water absorbs green light less in comparison to red light)
Regarding claim 17, Modified Biber teaches the invention substantially the same as described above with respect to claim 14:
Modified Biber is silent regarding wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to transmit and receive blue light or green light.
Leonessa teaches wherein the ToF sensor system is configured to transmit and receive blue light or green light (Leonessa; [0038] green light is preferable to red light because water absorbs green light less in comparison to red light).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light as taught by Modified Biber to be green light as taught by Leonessa for the purpose of minimizing light absorption by water (Leonessa; [0038] green light is preferable to red light because water absorbs green light less in comparison to red light)
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biber EP2960741 in view of Jamieson US20050189503.
Regarding independent claim 20, Biber discloses, in Figures 1-2,
A method (Biber; Fig. 1-2;) comprising at least one of:
a. detecting a type of material used in a surface of a pool or spa using a ToF sensor on an automatic pool cleaner (APC) (Biber; Fig. 1-2; page 2/17 “autonomous swimming pool cleaning machine”), and controlling the APC based on the detected (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”); or
b. detecting an occupant in a pool or spa using the ToF sensor on the APC (Biber; Fig. 1-2; page 2/17 “autonomous swimming pool cleaning machine”), and controlling the APC based on the detected occupant (Biber; TOF camera 20 of optical detection device 12; page 6/17 “advantageous navigation strategies can be achieved and the detected dynamic obstacles can be avoided by specially adapted turning maneuvers.”).
Biber does is silent regarding a. detecting a type of material used in a surface of a pool or spa using a ToF sensor on an automatic pool cleaner (APC), and controlling the APC based on the detected type of material.
Jamieson teaches detecting a type of material (Jamieson; abstract “determining a material type for each return laser pulse of the illuminated scene based on the plurality of reflectance values of the corresponding return pulse; indexing each determined material type to a position in the illuminated scene; and identifying an object in the illuminated scene based on material types and indexed positions thereof in the scene”; [0011]; [0012] “identify an object in the illuminated scene based on material types”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the detecting step as taught by Biber to comprise detecting a type of material as taught by Jamieson for the purpose of “identify an object in the illuminated scene based on material types” (Jamieson; [0012] “identify an object in the illuminated scene based on material types”). Doing so would yield controlling the APC based on the detected type of material such as by determining the cleaning method appropriate for the pool surface material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chafik US20220333395 teaches an underwater TOF sensing system for swimming pools.
Duffaut US20240271446 teaches a debris monitoring pool cleaner.
Porat US6299699 teaches a pool cleaner.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 6/18/26