DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated December 15, 2025. Claims 1-20, which include amended claims 1 and 10, are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below.
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts “The cited combination of references does not disclose the invention for at least the reason that the base reference, Suzuki, requires an input device that is configured for lateral motion to provide lateral direction input and requires a joystick capable of inputting a lateral motion demand” and “Suzuki teaches away from removing the ability of the joystick to prevent lateral motion and the joystick system in Suzuki would not be operable for its intended purpose of "side-to-side" propulsion control of the outboard motors and thrusters without lateral motion capability”. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees with this assertion. Applicant argues Suzuki requires lateral joystick movement. However, teaching a capability does not teach away from restricting that capability. Suzuki describes a joystick capable of forward/backward movement; side to side movement; rotational movement etc. Nevertheless, Suzuki does not criticize, discredit or discourage restricting joystick movement to fewer directions. A reference does not teach away simply because it describes a different, additional or broader capability. Suzuki merely discloses a joystick capable of multiple motions. It does not state that lateral motion must always be present, nor does it discourage restricting such motion. Accordingly, Suzuki does not teach away from modifying the joystick to restrict lateral movement, as broadly as recited by Applicant’s claim.
Applicant also asserts that “Skeaun also does not disclose a joystick that is not movable to
input a lateral motion demand or configured to prevent lateral movement of the joystick handle and thus a person of ordinary skill in the art would not arrive at the invention in view of Suzuki and Skeaun, alone or in combination with the other cited references.” This assertion is incorrect because Skauen explicitly teaches the restriction of joystick movement in one dimension (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “the boat manoeuvring joystick (2) comprises a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction”). Skauen teaches that the joystick cannot move side-to-side, i.e., cannot move in the lateral direction; and can move only forward/backward. Therefore, the joystick cannot input a lateral motion demand, as broadly recited. In this connection, Figures 4 and 5a illustrate the side lock 23 and side lock elements 23a/23b located on both sides of the joystick that work to accomplish the lateral restriction. These elements act as lateral barriers that prevent movement in the lateral direction. Skauen discloses a joystick including a side lock (23) configured to restrict movement of the maneuvering stick to one-dimensional movement in forward and backward directions (see para. [0052]. Because the joystick is restricted to forward and backward movement only, the joystick cannot be moved in the lateral direction and therefore cannot input a lateral motion demand. This structure clearly prevents lateral motion of the joystick, thereby allowing movement only forward and backward. The side lock elements 23a and 23b function as barriers preventing movement in the lateral direction. Therefore, Skauen does explicitly teach the claimed lateral restriction and prevention. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are considered not persuasive and the rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained as outlined below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, amendments made to the claims fail to overcome the prior art. As discussed above and in detail below, Skauen explicitly teaches restricting movement to forward and backward directions only which prevents the joystick from being movable to input a lateral motion demand, as amended in claim 1. Regarding the amendment to claim 10, Skauen discloses a side lock 23 located within the base 21 and positioned around the maneuvering stick 3, the side lock including elements (23a,23b) arranged on both sides of the stick to restrict its movement to a one dimensional forward and backward direction. Because the side lock elements surround the joystick and prevent movement in the lateral direction, the structure corresponds to the claimed plate positioned around the shaft configured to prevent lateral movement of the shaft and joystick handle. Therefore, the amendment of claim 1 and claim 10 does not distinguish over the cited combination. The rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2016/0096611 A1) in view of Skauen (US 2015/0246716 A1) and further in view of Ito (US 11,312,461 B1).
Regarding claim 1, as amended, Suzuki discloses A marine propulsion system (see at least
para. [0051] of Suzuki which discloses “The boat 1 is provided with a boat body 2, an outboard motor 3 mounted on a rear portion of the boat body 2, configured to propel the boat body 2, a steering wheel 4 configured to steer the boat body 2”, *Examiner interprets these elements taken together teach the propulsion system) for a marine vessel (Fig. 1, 1 and see at least para. [0051] which discloses “The boat 1”, *Examiner interprets the boat 1 to be a marine vessel), the marine propulsion system comprising: a single rear marine drive (Fig. 1, 3 and see at least para. [0051] of Suzuki which discloses “The outboard motor 3 is an example of the “first power source”, *Examiner interprets the motor 3 to be the marine drive) configured to be positioned near a stern (see at least para. [0051] of Suzuki which discloses “rear portions … a stern) of the boat body 2”) and see at least para. [0052] of Suzuki which discloses “The single outboard motor 3 is mounted on the rear portion of the boat body 2. The outboard motor 3 includes an engine 30. The outboard motor 3 is arranged to extend to below the engine 30 and includes a drive shaft that conveys the drive force of the engine 30, one propeller shaft that extends in a direction orthogonal to (intersecting with) the drive shaft, and one propeller mounted on a rear end portion of the propeller shaft, rotated together with the propeller shaft”) of the marine vessel; a joystick (Fig. 1, 6 and see at least para. [0051] of Suzuki which discloses “a joystick 6”) comprising a joystick handle (see at least para. [0076] of Suzuki which discloses “the basis of user's operation of the joystick 6”, *Examiner interprets this to mean the joystick includes a handle which can be grasped in the operation of the joystick 6) configured to be movable by a user to provide steering demand input (see at least para. [0051] which discloses “a joystick 6 configured to steer the boat body”, *Examiner interprets the joystick 6 includes a handle which is worked by a user to provide steering); wherein the joystick is configured such that the joystick handle is movable (see at least para. [0075] of Suzuki which discloses “the joystick 6 accepts an operation of tilting a stick fore-and-aft and side-to-side and an operation of rotating the stick. In other words, the joystick 6 accepts an operation of translating the boat body 2 in a tilt direction by the operation of tilting the stick”) in a forward direction (Fig. 1, FWD and see at least para. [0050] of Suzuki which discloses “arrow FWD represents the forward movement direction of a boat”) to demand a forward motion of the marine vessel (Fig. 1, 1 and see at least para. [0051] which discloses “The boat 1”, *Examiner interprets the boat 1 to be a marine vessel), in a backward direction (Fig. 1, BWD and see at least para. [0050] of which discloses “arrow BWD represents the reverse movement direction of the boat”) to demand backward motion of the marine vessel (Fig. 1, 1 and see at least para. [0051] which discloses “The boat 1”, *Examiner interprets the boat 1 to be a marine vessel), and twistable to demand rotational motion (see at least para. [0075] of Suzuki which discloses “the joystick 6 accepts an operation of tilting a stick fore-and-aft and side-to-side and an operation of rotating the stick. In other words, the joystick 6 accepts an operation of translating the boat body 2 in a tilt direction by the operation of tilting the stick. The joystick 6 accepts an operation of turning the boat body 2 in a rotation direction by the operation of rotating the stick”) of the marine vessel.
Suzuki may not explicitly disclose wherein the joystick is configured to restrict movement
of the joystick handle in a lateral direction such that the joystick is not movable to input a lateral motion demand; and a control system configured to control steering and/or thrust of the single rear marine drive based on the steering demand input to generate the demanded forward motion, the backward motion, and the rotational motion of the marine vessel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Skauen discloses wherein the joystick is configured
to restrict movement of the joystick handle in a lateral direction (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “joystick (2) comprises a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”) such that the joystick is not movable to input a lateral motion demand (also, see at least para. [0052] and Figures 4-5 of Skauen; This portion of Skauen teaches that the joystick cannot move side-to-side, i.e., cannot move in the lateral direction; and can move only forward/backward. Therefore, the joystick cannot input a lateral motion demand, as broadly recited. In this connection, Figures 4 and 5a illustrate the side lock 23 and side lock elements 23a/23b located on both sides of the joystick that work to accomplish the lateral restriction. These elements act as lateral barriers that prevent movement in the lateral direction. Skauen discloses a joystick including a side lock (23) configured to restrict movement of the maneuvering stick to one-dimensional movement in forward and backward directions (see para. [0052]. Because the joystick is restricted to forward and backward movement only, the joystick cannot be moved in the lateral direction and therefore cannot input a lateral motion demand .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the marine propulsion system of Suzuki to include wherein the joystick is configured to restrict movement of the joystick handle in a lateral direction, as taught in Skauen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to more effectively and efficiently control the propulsion of the marine vessel. See para. [0052] and [0084] of Skauen for motivation.
Suzuki, as modified by Skauen, may not explicitly disclose a control system configured to
control steering and/or thrust of the single rear marine drive based on the steering demand input to generate the demanded forward motion, the backward motion, and the rotational motion of the marine vessel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ito discloses a control system (Fig. 2, 100 and see at
least col. 9 ln. 66-67 of Ito which discloses the “control system 100” and see at least col. 9 ln. 30-31 of Ito which discloses “Fig. 2 is a block diagram showing the structure of the boat maneuvering control system”) configured to control steering and/or thrust (see at least col. 10 ln. 11-18 of Ito which discloses “The boat maneuvering control system 100 includes outboard motors 3 a, 3 b, and 3 c, a remote control 4, and a steering wheel 4 a. The outboard motor 3 a is an example of a “propulsion device” or a “left propulsion device”. The outboard motor 3 b is an example of a “propulsion device” or a “right propulsion device”. The outboard motor 3 c is an example of a “propulsion device” or a “central propulsion device”, *Examiner interprets that since these limitations are cited in the alternative only 1 limitation is required, i.e., control steering) of the single rear marine drive based on the steering demand input to generate the demanded forward motion, the backward motion, and the rotational motion of the marine vessel (see at least col. 10 ln. 39-45 of Ito which discloses “The engine 32a generates a propulsive force by rotating a propeller via a drive shaft and a propeller shaft (not shown). The shift drive 33 a switches a connection between the drive shaft and the propeller shaft to switch between a state in which a propulsive force is directed forward (forward movement state F), a state in which a propulsive force is directed rearward (reverse movement state R)” and col. 11 ln. 8-28 which discloses “As shown in FIG. 3, the lever 42 a is rotatable about a position attached to the remote control housing 41 as a fulcrum C1. The sensor 43 a detects the rotational position of the lever 42 a. The sensor 43 a outputs the detected rotational position of the lever 42 a as the operation signal S1 a to the remote control ECU 5 a. For example, assuming that a position at which the lever 42 a is upright corresponds to the neutral state N, a position at which the lever 42 a is tilted forward corresponds to the forward movement state F, and a position at which the lever 42 a is tilted rearward corresponds to the reverse movement state R, the sensor 43 a outputs the operation signal S1 a to the remote control ECU 5 a via the cable 6 a. The operation signal S1 a is output to generate a larger forward propulsive force as the lever 42 a is tilted forward from a position F0 to a position F1. The operation signal S1 a is output to generate a larger rearward propulsive force as the lever 42 a is tilted rearward from a position R0 to a position R1. The lever 42 b has the same or similar structure as the lever 42 a. The sensor 43 b outputs the operation signal S1 b to the remote control ECU 5 b via the cable 6 b”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the marine propulsion system of Suzuki, as modified by Skauen, to include a control system configured to control steering and/or thrust of the single rear marine drive based on the steering demand input to generate the demanded forward motion, the backward motion, and the rotational motion of the marine vessel, as taught in Ito with a reasonable expectation of success in order to more effectively and efficiently control the propulsion of the marine vessel. See col. 10 ln. 10-40 of Ito for motivation.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki, as modified by Skauen and Ito discloses wherein the joystick is
configured to prevent lateral movement of the joystick handle in right and left lateral directions such that the joystick handle is configured to be movable only in the forward direction, the backward direction (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “joystick (2) comprises a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”), and to twist about a shaft axis of a shaft (Fig. 5 illustrates the elongated portion of joystick 6 of Suzuki extending down from the handle/knob which Examiner interprets to be a shaft. Also, see at least Fig. 1, 3 of Skauen and see at least para. [0050] of Skauen which discloses “a manoeuvring stick (3) comprising an outer shaft element (3 a) and an inner shaft element (3 b) telescopically arranged relative each other, wherein the manoeuvring stick (3) is arranged to expand telescopically from a collapsed position (c) to an extended position (e) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lifted relative the base (21)”) connected to the joystick handle (see at least para. [0008] of Skauen which discloses “the joystick in addition to the two-dimensional fore, aft, port and starboard operations, also can be twisted left or right from a zero-position. The twist operation is then used for calculating individual direction and propulsion of the rotatable propulsion devices to make the boat pivot around its main vertical axis” and see at least para. [0058] of Suzuki which discloses “the pivoting of the boat about its main axis has been achieved by controlling direction and power of rotatable propulsion devices when twisting the joystick”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Suzuki, in view of Skauen and Ito, discloses wherein
the joystick see at least para. [0043] of Skauen which discloses “joystick (2) has a base (21)”) further comprises: a base (Fig. 1, 21 and see at least para. [0043] of Skauen which discloses “joystick (2) has a base (21)”) below the joystick handle (Fig. 1 illustrates a base 21 below the joystick handle 33 and see at least para. [0045] of Skauen which discloses “a second bidirectional control knob (33)”, *Examiner interprets knob 33 to be a joystick handle); a shaft (Fig. 5 illustrates the elongated portion of joystick 6 of Suzuki extending down from the handle/knob which Examiner interprets to be a shaft. Also, see at least Fig. 1, 3 of Skauen and see at least para. [0050] of Skauen which discloses “a manoeuvring stick (3) comprising an outer shaft element (3 a) and an inner shaft element (3 b) telescopically arranged relative each other, wherein the manoeuvring stick (3) is arranged to expand telescopically from a collapsed position (c) to an extended position (e) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lifted relative the base (21)”) connected to the joystick handle and extending into the base (Fig. 1, 21 and see at least para. [0043] of Skauen which discloses “joystick (2) has a base (21)”), wherein the shaft is configured to move (see at least para. [0043] of Skauen which discloses “When operated, the manoeuvring stick (3) can then move in a two dimensional or a spherical plane with constraints indicated by the stapled circle”) when the user manipulates the joystick handle (see at least para. [0034] of Skauen which discloses “when the operator operates the first bidirectional control knob (31) and the second bidirectional control knob (33). It should be noted that the forces indicated in this figure are additional to the forces resulting from the main operation of the manoeuvring stick (3)”).
Skauen further discloses a plate (Fig. 5a, 23 with 23a-b and see at least para. [0052] of
Skauen which discloses “a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets lock 23 which includes elements 23 a and 23 b to be a plate and Fig. 5a illustrates elements 23 and 23b are located inside the base 21 of Skauen) inside the base (Fig. 1, 21 and see at least para. [0043] of Skauen which discloses “the base (21) may comprise a pivotal joint that the manoeuvring stick (3) can pivot about. The pivotal point is preferably inside the base unit (21)” and positioned around the shaft (Fig. 4, 3 with 3a-3b and see at least para. [0050] of Skauen which discloses “a manoeuvring stick (3) comprising an outer shaft element (3 a) and an inner shaft element (3 b) telescopically arranged relative each other, wherein the manoeuvring stick (3) is arranged to expand telescopically from a collapsed position (c) to an extended position (e) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lifted relative the base (21), and to collapse telescopically from the extended position (e) to the collapsed position (c) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lowered relative the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets stick 3 of Skauen to be the shaft), wherein the plate is configured to restrict lateral movement of the shaft and the joystick handle (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “joystick (2) comprises a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”) and to permit forward and backward movement of the shaft and the joystick handle (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions”) and permit twist movement of the shaft and the joystick handle about a shaft axis of the shaft (Fig. 1 illustrates a twist movement of the shaft 3 around an axis and see at least para. [0042] of Skauen which discloses “The manoeuvring joystick (2) can operate in a spherical plane about the pivot point, however, for the purposes of this invention, the operation in a two-dimensional (xy) plane”, *Examiner interprets the xy plane to be the shaft axis about which shaft 3 and joystick handle 2 twist).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the joystick of Samples to include a plate inside the base and positioned around the shaft, wherein the plate is configured to restrict lateral movement of the shaft and the joystick handle and to permit forward and backward movement of the shaft and the joystick handle and permit twist movement of the shaft and the joystick handle about a shaft axis of the shaft, as taught in Skauen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the effectiveness of a user input device, such as a joystick, that provides movement directions for a single rear marine drive while also restricting movement directions that may not possible on certain vessels and vessels that don’t necessarily have other means of propulsion control. See para. [0052] of Skauen for motivation.
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki, as modified by Skauen and Ito discloses wherein the plate
prevents lateral movement of the shaft and the joystick handle (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets that since plate 23a is prevented from moving in the lateral direction, then so is the shaft and the joystick handle because they are controlled by the plate 23) so as to only permit the forward, backward (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions”), and twist movements of the shaft and the joystick handle (Fig. 1 illustrates a twist movement of the shaft 3 around an axis and see at least para. [0042] of Skauen which discloses “The manoeuvring joystick (2) can operate in a spherical plane about the pivot point, however, for the purposes of this invention, the operation in a two-dimensional (xy) plane”, *Examiner interprets the xy plane to be the shaft axis about which shaft 3 and joystick handle 2 twist and see Fig. 1 illustrates a base 21 below the joystick handle 33 and see at least para. [0045] of Skauen which discloses “a second bidirectional control knob (33)”, *Examiner interprets knob 33 to be a joystick handle)).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki, as modified by Skauen and Ito discloses wherein the plate (Fig.
5a, 23 with 23a-b and see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets lock 23 which includes elements 23 a and 23 b to be a plate) comprises an elongated hole (Fig. 5a, 27 and see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) encompasses the manoeuvring stick (3) and has an opening (27)”, *Examiner interprets the opening 27 to be an elongated hole) configured to restrict the lateral movement of the shaft (see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the opening (27) has a size sufficiently large for allowing operation of the manoeuvring stick (3) in the lateral and forward and backward directions (x, y) when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the collapsed position. In an embodiment the first side lock element (23 a) is arranged to pivot in a forward and backward direction (y) about a pivot point (p1)”, *Examiner interprets this as restricting the lateral movement of the shaft 3).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki, as modified by Skauen and Ito discloses wherein the elongated
hole (Fig. 5a, 27 and see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) encompasses the manoeuvring stick (3) and has an opening (27)”, *Examiner interprets the opening 27 to be an elongated hole) has a width that is slightly larger than a diameter of the shaft and a length that is substantially larger than the diameter of the shaft (Fig. 5a illustrates the width of hole 27 is larger than the diameter of the shaft 3).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki, as modified by Skauen and Ito discloses wherein the elongated
hole (Fig. 5a, 27 and see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) encompasses the manoeuvring stick (3) and has an opening (27)”, *Examiner interprets the opening 27 to be an elongated hole) is centered around the shaft when the shaft (Fig. 5 illustrates the elongated portion of joystick 6 of Suzuki extending down from the handle/knob which Examiner interprets to be a shaft. Also, see at least Fig. 1, 3 of Skauen and see at least para. [0050] of Skauen which discloses “a manoeuvring stick (3) comprising an outer shaft element (3 a) and an inner shaft element (3 b) telescopically arranged relative each other, wherein the manoeuvring stick (3) is arranged to expand telescopically from a collapsed position (c) to an extended position (e) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lifted relative the base (21)”) is in a neutral position (see at least para. [0050] of Skauen which discloses “the boat manoeuvring joystick (2) according to any of the embodiments described above further comprises a manoeuvring stick (3) comprising an outer shaft element (3 a) and an inner shaft element (3 b) telescopically arranged relative each other, wherein the manoeuvring stick (3) is arranged to expand telescopically from a collapsed position (c) to an extended position (e) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lifted relative the base (21), and to collapse telescopically from the extended position (e) to the collapsed position (c) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lowered relative the base (21”).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki, as modified by Skauen and Ito discloses wherein the single rear
marine drive (Fig. 1, 3 and see at least para. [0051] of Suzuki which discloses “The outboard motor 3 is an example of the “first power source”, *Examiner interprets the motor 3 to be the marine drive) is steerable about a steering axis (see at least para. [0100] of Suzuki which discloses “The thruster 8 a (8 b) is mounted on a bow (stern) of the boat to be rotatable along a rotation axis”) to a range of steering angles (see at least para. [0051] of Suzuki which discloses “a steering wheel 4 configured to steer the boat body 2 (turn the outboard motor 3), … a joystick 6 configured to steer the boat body 2”, *Examiner interprets the turn of the motor 3 to be evidence of the drive 3 being steerable about a steering axis in a range of steering angles that will occur as the motor 3 turns).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2016/0096611 A1) in view of Skauen (US 2015/0246716 A1) and further in view of Ito (US 11,312,461 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki, as modified by Skauen and Ito disclose the claimed invention
including steering angles (see at least para. [0051] of Suzuki which discloses “a steering wheel 4 configured to steer the boat body 2 (turn the outboard motor 3), … a joystick 6 configured to steer the boat body 2”, *Examiner interprets the turn of the motor 3 to be evidence of the drive 3 being steerable about a steering axis in a range of steering angles that will occur as the motor 3 turns).
Suzuki, as modified by Skauen and Ito, may not explicitly disclose wherein the range of
steering angles is no greater than between +45 degrees and -45 degrees of a centered steering position.
However, Section 2144.04 of the MPEP sets forth the case where the only difference
between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to maneuver the single rear marine drive to be steerable about the steering axis to a range of steering angles that is no greater than between +45 degrees and -45 degrees of a centered steering position with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the motivation for this maneuver within this range of angels would be to improve a wider range of steering of the marine drive for better control and vessel propulsion.
Claims 10-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samples (US 8,807,059 B1) in view of Skauen (US 2015/0246716 A1).
Regarding claim 10, as amended, Samples discloses A joystick (Fig. 3, 22 and see at least col.
7 ln. 53 of Samples which discloses “the joystick 22”) for controlling propulsion (see at least col. 7 ln. 51-66 of Samples which discloses “Movement of the joystick 22 out of its vertical position effectively engages a “joystick mode” wherein the control circuit 14 controls operation and positioning of the marine propulsion devices 16a, 16b, 16c based upon movement of the joystick 22”) of a marine vessel (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least col. 3 ln. 53 of Samples which discloses “a marine vessel 12”), the joystick comprising: a joystick handle (Fig. 3, 42 and see at least col. 6 ln. 41 of Samples which discloses “the joystick 22 in which the handle 42”) configured to be manipulated (see at least col. 6 ln. 42-46 of Samples which discloses “The handle 42 can be manually manipulated in a forward F, reverse R, port P or starboard S direction or a combination of these to provide actual movement commands into F. R. P. S directions or any other direction therebetween”) by a user to steer a marine vessel (Fig. 2, 12 and see at least col. 6 ln. 10-13 of Samples which discloses “The marine vessel 12 also includes a helm 19 (see FIG. 6) where a user can input commands for maneuvering the marine vessel 12 via one or more input devices”); a base (Fig. 3, 38 and see at least col. 6 ln. 30 of Samples which discloses “a base 38”) below the joystick handle (see Fig. 3 which illustrates the base 38 is below the joystick handle 42); a shaft connected to the joystick handle (Fig. 3, 40 and see at least col. 6 ln. 30 of Samples which discloses “a shaft 40 extending vertically upwardly”) and extending into the base (Fig. 3 illustrates joystick handle 40 extending into the base 38), wherein the shaft is configured to move (see at least col. 6 ln. 32-40 of Samples which discloses “The shaft 40 is movable, as represented by dashed-line arrow 44 in numerous directions relative to the base 38. FIG. 4 illustrates the shaft 40 and handle 42 in three different positions which vary by the magnitude of angular movement. Arrows 46 and 48 show different magnitudes of movement. The degree and direction of movement away from the generally vertical position shown in FIG. 3 represents an analogous magnitude and direction of an actual movement command selected by a user“) when the user manipulates the joystick handle (see at least col. 6 ln. 37-53 of Samples which discloses “The degree and direction of movement away from the generally vertical position shown in FIG. 3 represents an analogous magnitude and direction of an actual movement command selected by a user. FIG. 5 is a top view of the joystick 22 in which the handle 42 is in a central, vertical, or neutral position. The handle 42 can be manually manipulated in a forward F, reverse R, port P or starboard S direction or a combination of these to provide actual movement commands into F. R. P. S directions or any other direction therebetween. In addition, the handle 42 can be rotated about the centerline 50 of the shaft 40 as represented by arrow 52 to request rotational movement or yaw of the vessel 12 about the center of turn 29“).
Samples may not explicitly disclose a plate inside the base and positioned around the shaft,
wherein the plate is configured to prevent lateral movement of the shaft and the joystick handle and to permit forward and backward movement of the shaft and the joystick handle and permit twist movement of the shaft and the joystick handle about a shaft axis of the shaft.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Skauen discloses a plate (Fig. 5a, 23 with 23a-b and
see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets lock 23 which includes elements 23 a and 23 b to be a plate and Fig. 5a illustrates elements 23 and 23b are located inside the base 21 of Skauen) inside the base (Fig. 1, 21 and see at least para. [0043] of Skauen which discloses “the base (21) may comprise a pivotal joint that the manoeuvring stick (3) can pivot about. The pivotal point is preferably inside the base unit (21)” and positioned around the shaft (Fig. 4, 3 with 3a-3b and see at least para. [0050] of Skauen which discloses “a manoeuvring stick (3) comprising an outer shaft element (3 a) and an inner shaft element (3 b) telescopically arranged relative each other, wherein the manoeuvring stick (3) is arranged to expand telescopically from a collapsed position (c) to an extended position (e) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lifted relative the base (21), and to collapse telescopically from the extended position (e) to the collapsed position (c) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lowered relative the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets stick 3 of Skauen to be the shaft), wherein the plate is configured to prevent (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21”, *Skauen discloses a side lock 23 located within the base 21 and positioned around the maneuvering stick 3, the side lock including elements (23a,23b) arranged on both sides of the stick to restrict its movement to a one dimensional forward and backward direction. Because the side lock elements surround the joystick and prevent movement in the lateral direction, the structure corresponds to the claimed plate positioned around the shaft configured to prevent lateral movement of the shaft and joystick handle) lateral movement of the shaft and the joystick handle (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “joystick (2) comprises a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”) and to permit forward and backward movement of the shaft and the joystick handle (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions”) and permit twist movement of the shaft and the joystick handle about a shaft axis of the shaft (Fig. 1 illustrates a twist movement of the shaft 3 around an axis and see at least para. [0042] of Skauen which discloses “The manoeuvring joystick (2) can operate in a spherical plane about the pivot point, however, for the purposes of this invention, the operation in a two-dimensional (xy) plane”, *Examiner interprets the xy plane to be the shaft axis about which shaft 3 and joystick handle 2 twist).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the joystick of Samples to include a plate inside the base and positioned around the shaft, wherein the plate is configured to prevent lateral movement of the shaft and the joystick handle and to permit forward and backward movement of the shaft and the joystick handle and permit twist movement of the shaft and the joystick handle about a shaft axis of the shaft, as taught in Skauen with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the effectiveness of a user input device, such as a joystick, that provides movement directions for a single rear marine drive while also restricting movement directions that may not possible on certain vessels and vessels that don’t necessarily have other means of propulsion control. See para. [0052] of Skauen for motivation.
Regarding claim 11, Samples, as modified by Skauen, discloses wherein the joystick (Fig. 3,
22 and see at least col. 7 ln. 53 of Samples which discloses “the joystick 22”) is configured to be installed on a marine vessel (Fig. 1, 12 and see at least col. 3 ln. 53 of Samples which discloses “a marine vessel 12”) to control steering (see at least col. 4 ln. 2-3 of Samples which discloses “steering control sections 21a, 21b, 21c associated with steering actuators 23a, 23b, 23c for steering each marine propulsion device 16a, 16b, 16c” and/or thrust (see at least col. 5 ln. 11-15 of Samples which discloses “thrust in both forward and reverse directions”) of a single rear marine drive on the marine vessel (see at least col. 4 ln. 46-50 of Samples which discloses “an inboard drive, outboard drive, inboard/ outboard drive, stern drive, and/or the like. The propulsion devices can include any different type of propulsor Such as propellers, impellers, pod drives and/or the like”).
Regarding claim 12, Samples, as modified by Skauen, discloses wherein the plate is
mounted within the base such that it is centered around the shaft when the shaft is in a neutral position and configured to symmetrically restrict the lateral movement of the shaft in right and left lateral directions (Fig. 5a, 23 with 23a-b and see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets lock 23 which includes elements 23 a and 23 b to be a plate and Fig. 5a illustrates elements 23 and 23b are located inside the base 21 of Skauen).
Regarding claim 13, Samples, as modified by Skauen, discloses wherein the plate prevents
lateral movement of the shaft and the joystick handle (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets that since plate 23a is prevented from moving in the lateral direction, then so is the shaft and the joystick handle because they are controlled by the plate 23) so as to only permit the forward, backward (see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions”), and twist movements of the shaft and the joystick handle (Fig. 1 illustrates a twist movement of the shaft 3 around an axis and see at least para. [0042] of Skauen which discloses “The manoeuvring joystick (2) can operate in a spherical plane about the pivot point, however, for the purposes of this invention, the operation in a two-dimensional (xy) plane”, *Examiner interprets the xy plane to be the shaft axis about which shaft 3 and joystick handle 2 twist and see Fig. 1 illustrates a base 21 below the joystick handle 33 and see at least para. [0045] of Skauen which discloses “a second bidirectional control knob (33)”, *Examiner interprets knob 33 to be a joystick handle).
Regarding claim 14, Samples, as modified by Skauen, discloses wherein the plate (Fig. 5a, 23
with 23a-b and see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets lock 23 which includes elements 23 a and 23 b to be a plate) comprises an elongated hole (Fig. 5a, 27 and see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) encompasses the manoeuvring stick (3) and has an opening (27)”, *Examiner interprets the opening 27 to be an elongated hole) configured to restrict the lateral movement of the shaft (see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the opening (27) has a size sufficiently large for allowing operation of the manoeuvring stick (3) in the lateral and forward and backward directions (x, y) when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the collapsed position. In an embodiment the first side lock element (23 a) is arranged to pivot in a forward and backward direction (y) about a pivot point (p1)”, *Examiner interprets this as restricting the lateral movement of the shaft 3).
Regarding claim 15, Samples, as modified by Skauen, discloses wherein the elongated hole
(Fig. 5a, 27 and see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) encompasses the manoeuvring stick (3) and has an opening (27)”, *Examiner interprets the opening 27 to be an elongated hole) has a width that is slightly larger than a diameter of the shaft and a length that is substantially larger than the diameter of the shaft (Fig. 5a illustrates the width of hole 27 is larger than the diameter of the shaft 3).
Regarding claim 19, Samples, as modified by Skauen, discloses wherein the elongated hole
(Fig. 5a, 27 and see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) encompasses the manoeuvring stick (3) and has an opening (27)”, *Examiner interprets the opening 27 to be an elongated hole) is centered around the shaft (see at least Fig. 1, 3 of Skauen and see at least para. [0050] of Skauen which discloses “a manoeuvring stick (3) comprising an outer shaft element (3 a) and an inner shaft element (3 b) telescopically arranged relative each other, wherein the manoeuvring stick (3) is arranged to expand telescopically from a collapsed position (c) to an extended position (e) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lifted relative the base (21)”) when the shaft is in a neutral position (see at least para. [0050] of Skauen which discloses “the boat manoeuvring joystick (2) according to any of the embodiments described above further comprises a manoeuvring stick (3) comprising an outer shaft element (3 a) and an inner shaft element (3 b) telescopically arranged relative each other, wherein the manoeuvring stick (3) is arranged to expand telescopically from a collapsed position (c) to an extended position (e) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lifted relative the base (21), and to collapse telescopically from the extended position (e) to the collapsed position (c) when the outer shaft element (3 a) is lowered relative the base (21”).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samples (US 8,807,059 B1) and further in view of Skauen (US 2015/0246716 A1).
Regarding claims 16-17, Samples, as modified by Skauen disclose the claimed invention
including the elongated hole (Fig. 5a, 27 and see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) encompasses the manoeuvring stick (3) and has an opening (27)”, *Examiner interprets the opening 27 to be an elongated hole).
Samples, as modified by Skauen, may not explicitly disclose wherein the width of the elongated
hole is between 1.01 and 1.2 times the diameter of the shaft of claim 16 or wherein the length of the elongated hole is between 1.5 and 2.5 times the diameter of the shaft of claim 17.
However, Section 2144.04 of the MPEP sets forth the case where the only difference
between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the width of the elongated hole and the length of the elongated hole to be between 1.01 and 1.2 times the diameter of the shaft and between 1.5 and 2.5 times the diameter of the shaft, respectively with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the motivation for this modification would be to effectively facilitate the restriction of the lateral movement of the shaft based on the plate of the marine vessel.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samples (US 8,807,059 B1) and in view of Skauen (US 2015/0246716 A1) and further in view of King (US 2012/0197303A1).
Regarding claim 18, Samples as modified by Skauen discloses the elongated hole (Fig. 5a, 27
and see at least para. [0097] of Skauen which discloses “the first side lock element (23 a) encompasses the manoeuvring stick (3) and has an opening (27)”, *Examiner interprets the opening 27 to be an elongated hole).
Samples as modified by Skauen may not explicitly disclose wherein the elongated hole is
arc-shaped at each end, wherein a radius of the arc is slightly larger than a radius of the shaft.
However, King discloses a plate (Fig. 3, 10 and see at least para. [0037] of King which
discloses a “plate assembly 10”) with an elongated hole (Fig. 3, 36 and see at least para. [0039] of King which discloses “an elongated hole 36” that is arc-shaped at each end (see at least para. [0039] of King which discloses “an elongated hole 36 that resembles a slot with round corners or an oval racetrack. One embodiment of the elongate hole has substantially semi-circular edges and a portion between the circular edges that has straight or parallel walls”, *Examiner interprets the edges to be arc-shaped at each end), wherein a radius of the arc is slightly larger than a radius of the shaft (Fig. 3 of King illustrates an arc radius that is larger than the radius of the shaft 40 of Samples that rests on the platform that is capable of being partially covered by the plate of King).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plate of Samples
to include an elongated hole that is arc-shaped at each end, wherein a radius of the arc is slightly larger than a radius of the shaft, as taught in King with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate effective movement of the shaft and joystick handle in desired directions.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samples (US 8,807,059 B1) and in view of Skauen (US 2015/0246716 A1) and further in view of Okabe (US 5,804,781A).
Regarding claim 20, Samples as modified by Skauen discloses the plate ((Fig. 5a, 23 with
23a-b and see at least para. [0052] of Skauen which discloses “a side lock (23) arranged for restricting the movement of the manoeuvring stick (3) to a one dimensional movement in forward and backward directions when the manoeuvring stick (3) is in the elongated position (e), wherein the side lock (23) comprises a first side lock element (23 a) arranged on both sides of the of the manoeuvring stick (3) at a lateral distance (x2) in a lateral direction (x) from a middle lateral position (x0), wherein the first side lock element (23 a) is restricted from moving in the lateral direction (x) by the base (21)”, *Examiner interprets lock 23 which includes elements 23 a and 23 b to be a plate and Fig. 5a illustrates elements 23 and 23b are located inside the base 21 of Skauen).
Samples, as modified by Skauen may not explicitly disclose wherein the plate is comprised
of metal.
However, Okabe discloses a control plate for a joystick wherein the plate is comprised of
metal (see at least col. 4 ln. 36-40 of Okabe which discloses “a control plate of the invention 36 with octagon shaped aperture 35. This control plate can be easily fabricated, molded, or stamped from metal, plastic, or any suitable manufacturing process and material”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plate of Samples,
as modified by Skauen to be comprised of metal as taught in Okabe with a reasonable expectation of results in order to produce a plate that is considered to be more durable and stronger to withstand heaver loads and resist breaking or deforming and to facilitate easy movement of the joystick. See col. 1 ln. 65 – col. 2 ln. 10 of Okabe for motivation.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arvidsson (US 2022/0234708 A1) discloses a marine drive unit arranged to be mounted to a transom on a marine vessel. The drive unit comprises a drive housing that is configured to be rigidly mounted at or on the transom, and is preferably, but not necessarily, submerged during operation. That the drive housing is rigidly mounted to the transom means that it is stationary in relation to the transom during operation, i.e. in contrast to a conventional stern drive where the housing is arranged to pivot (together with a propelling unit) about a vertical axis at the transom for at least steering. White (US 7,614,926 B2) discloses a waterborne vessel comprising a hull structure, the propulsion system comprising, a pod housing having front and rear ends, a propeller and a propeller shaft, the propeller being disposed externally of the pod and being rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the propeller shaft, the propeller shaft being drivingly connected to drive means, the drive means comprising a transmission unit and a power unit, the power unit being disposed within the hull structure and the transmission unit being disposed at least partially outside the hull structure, the hull being formed with a port through which an interface unit between the transmission unit and the power unit may extend.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/March 16, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662