The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
The following NON-FINAL Office action is in response to application 18440438 filed 02/13/2024
Status of Claims
- Claims 1-29 are currently pending of which:
= Claims 8,23 are withdrawn from consideration as directed to a non-elected invention.
= Claims 1-7, 9-22, 24-29 are currently under examination and rejected as follows.
IDS
The information disclosure statement filed on 02/13/2024 and 08/07/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 and is considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the telephonic call made on February 9th, 2026. Specifically,
Claims 7-8, 22-23 are dependent and were indicated as subject to restriction requirement.
Restriction to one of the following inventions was required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
* Species Group I: dependent Claims 7,22 directed to modify[ing] the set of tasks using domain specific logical rules based on at least one of an environment, the objective, the one or more accessible assets, and an operator input, corresponding to embodiment of Specification ¶ [0026]
* Species Group II: dependent Claims 8,23 directed to consolidat[ing] two or more tasks sharing one or more characteristics into a supertask through utilization of a clustering technique,
corresponding to the embodiment in the Original Specification ¶ [0027].
The species are independent or distinct because they recite different algorithms, namely:
- modify[ing] the set of tasks using domain specific logical rules based on at least one of an environment, the objective, the one or more accessible assets, and an operator input, corresponding to the embodiment in the Original Specification ¶ [0026] (Species Group I), versus
- consolidat[ing] two or more tasks sharing one or more characteristics into a supertask through utilization of a clustering technique, corresponding to the embodiment in the Original Specification ¶ [0027] (Species Group II).
In addition, Examiner further submitted that each of the two identified species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record showing different forms of data processing namely data modify[ing] versus data consolidat[ion]. Thus, the Applicant was required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Claims 1,16 are currently generic in the Specie Grouping(s) for their corresponding dependent claims identified above. As stated by Examiner the restriction rationales are justified by search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least following reason(s) apply:
(B) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter:
- “modify[ing] the set of tasks using domain specific logical rules based on at least one of an environment, the objective, the one or more accessible assets, and an operator input,” (Species Group I) versus,
- “consolidat[ing] two or more tasks sharing one or more characteristics into a supertask through utilization of a clustering technique” (Species Group II)
(C) the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). Here, employing separate keywords and queries of both patentable and non-patentable literature with respect to each of:
- “modify[ing] the set of tasks using domain specific logical rules based on at least one of an environment, the objective, the one or more accessible assets, and an operator input,” (Species Group I) versus
- “consolidat[ing] two or more tasks sharing one or more characteristics into a supertask through utilization of a clustering technique” (Species Group II)
Applicant was advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election. As stated above, the election was made without traverse to prosecute Specie I of Claims 7,22 by the Attorney on record on 02/09/2026. To preserve a right to petition, the election must have been made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species. Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species. Upon allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites “The method of Claim 16, further comprising the assigning the one or more tasks from the set of tasks to the user” rendering Claim 17 vague and indefinite because while there is prior recitation for “a set of tasks” at parent independent Claim 16, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the one or more tasks” as subsequently recited at Claim 17.
Claim 17 is recommended to be amended to recite, as example only: The method of Claim 16, further comprising the assigning from the set of tasks to the user
Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7,9-22 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea, here abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) set forth or describe the abstract grouping of computer-aided mental processes of MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III C #1-#3, including observation, evaluation and judgment of MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III ¶2.
- Here, such computer-aided collection is set forth by recitations that “receive an objective associated with a mission, wherein the objective implies a set of tasks” (independent Claims 1,16),
“allow the user to input…states or outputs associated with the mission” (dependent Claims 14,28).
- Here, such computer-aided evaluation or analysis is set forth by recitations that “identify one or more accessible assets associated with the mission”; “determine a plan for assigning the one or more accessible assets to the set of tasks”; (independent Claims 1,16), “determine two or more assets of the one or more accessible assets assigned to a same task” (dependent Claims 5,20), “track a task status and task dependency by processing task state outputs received from the task execution software associated with one of the one or more accessible assets” (dependent Claims 6,21), “track a secondary plan, wherein the secondary plan comprises a secondary objective” (dependent Claims 9,24); “operational data is used for subsequent analysis” (dependent Claim 10 and similarly at dependent Claim 25).
- Here such computer-aided judgment and associated display about certain results of the collection and analysis1 is set forth by: “provide” “insights to a user”, “associated with a rationale behind the determination of the plan; and provide an outcome assessment to the user, wherein the outcome assessment includes one or more likely outcomes associated with the plan” (independent Claims 1,16), “interpret an assigned task” (dependent Claims 4,19), “the one or more likely outcomes associated with the plan include a probability estimation corresponding to each of the one or more likely outcomes” (dependent Claims 11,26), “display at least one of the one or more insights or the outcome assessment to the user” (dependent Claims 13,27), “display at least one of the objective, the set of tasks, and the plan to the user” (dependent Claims 15, 29).
Such computer-aided mental processes are also2 used in performing operations that fall within the broad Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities grouping such as “tasks” assign[ment] “to the user” (dependent Claims 2, 17),
Thus, there is a preponderance of legal evidence that the claims’ character as a whole is abstract.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because per Step 2A prong two, the individual or combination of the claimed computer elements appear to represent mere physical aids to implement the aforementioned abstract exception, as tested at the prior step. Such computerization, even when construed, as additional computer-based elements, still merely applies the aforementioned abstract exception. For example, the “server comprising a memory and one or more processors” as recited at preamble of independent Claim 1 and similarly at dependent Claims 2,6,7,9,10, apply the already identified abstract processes above. Additional examples of applying the abstract idea are: use of a computer or other machinery to receive, store, or transmit data, as listed by MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) ¶1, monitoring audit log data executed on a computer, as listed by MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)(iii), as well as requiring use of software to tailor information and provide it to user on a generic computer, as listed by MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)(v).
Here, the use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity to receive, store, or transmit data, as listed by MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) ¶1, is reflected in the recitation of: “a server comprising a memory and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive an objective associated with a mission” (independent Claim 1) “wherein the memory is configured to store operational data associated with an execution of one or more tasks by the one or more processors” (dependent Claim 10 and similarly at dependent Claim 25), “task execution software” (dependent Claims 3,4,18,19), “task interpreter” (dependent Claims 4,5,19,20
Also here, the monitoring of audit log data executed on computer, as listed by MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)(iii), is reflected by “processors are further configured to track a secondary plan, wherein the secondary plan comprises a secondary objective” (dependent Claims 9,24).
Finally here, the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer, as listed by MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)(v) is reflected by the “task interpreter communicatively coupled to the task execution software of the one or more accessible assets, wherein the task interpreter is configured to interpret an assigned task” (dependent Claims 4,19), “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to modify the set of tasks using domain specific logical rules based on at least one of an environment, the objective, the one or more accessible assets, and an operator input” (dependent Claims 7,22), “at least one user interface communicatively coupled to the one or more processors” (dependent Claim 12), “wherein the at least one user interface is configured to display at least one of the one or more insights or the outcome assessment to the user” (dependent Claims 13, 27), “wherein the at least one user interface is configured to allow the user to input and modify states or outputs associated with the mission” (dependent Claims 14, 28), “wherein the at least one user interface is configured to display at least one of the objective, the set of tasks, and the plan to the user” (dependent Claims 15, 29).
Similarly, MPEP 2106.05(h)3 states that narrowing a combination of collecting information, analyzing, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to a particular field of use or technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. It then follows that here, narrowing the collecting, analyzing, and displaying of certain results of the collection and analysis, as mapped at the prior step above, to a field of use or a particular technological environment characterized by the level of computerization identified above, would similarly not integrate the abstract exception into a practical application.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as shown above, the additional computer-based elements merely apply the already recited abstract idea [MPEP 2106.05(f)] and/or narrow it to a field of use or technological environment [MPEP 2106.05(h)]. Examiner follows MPEP 2106.05 (d) II and carries over the findings at MPEP 2106.05 (f) and (h) as a sufficient option for evidence that the additional computer-based elements also do not provide significantly more, without relying on conventionality test of MPEP 2106.05(d). Even assuming arguendo, that further evidence would still be required to demonstrate conventionality of the additional elements, the Examiner would further rely on MPEP 2106.05(d) I.2.(a), and point as evidence for the conventionality of the additional elements, as interpreted when read in light of:
* Original Specification ¶ [0022] The term “execution,” refers to the implementation of a plan. For example, the planning sub-system of the ORF does not assume responsibility for the intricate details of execution. Rather, it may facilitate operator engagement through in/on/outside the loop functions, leveraging domain-specific user interfaces (e.g., HMI elements), ensuring that the ORF plays a supportive role in the execution phase without dictating specific execution details.
* Original Specification ¶ [0023] 2nd-3rd sentences reciting at high level of generality: The system 100 may include a server having one or more processors and a memory (e.g., or other appropriate data storage). For example, the system 100 may include one or more modules configured for execution on a single processor or multi-core processing environment.
* Original Specification ¶ [0063] One skilled in the art will recognize that the herein described components (e.g., operations), devices, objects, and the discussion accompanying them are used as examples for the sake of conceptual clarity and that various configuration modifications are contemplated. Consequently, as used herein, the specific exemplars set forth and the accompanying discussion are intended to be representative of their more general classes. In general, use of any specific exemplar is intended to be representative of its class, and the non-inclusion of specific components (eg operations),devices, and objects should not be taken limiting.
In conclusion, Claims 1-7,9-22 and 24-29 although directed to statutory categories (“system” or machine at Claims 1-7,9-15 and “method” or process at Claims 16-22,24-29), they still recite, describe or set forth the abstract exception (Step 2A prong one), with no additional, computer-based elements, capable to integrate, either alone or in combination the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A prong two) or providing significantly more than what was found as the abstract idea itself (Step 2B). Therefore, Claims 1-7,9-22 and 24-29 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-22 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention as disclosed by:
Kim et al, US 20190027047 A1 hereinafter Kim. As per,
Claims 1, 16 Kim teaches “A system comprising: a server comprising a memory and one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors” (Kim ¶ [0009] Fig.1 depicts mission command system MCS 100 include mission commander application (MCA) unit 110 in direct communication with data store 130 and display unit 120. MCA unit 110 communicate with the data store across electronic communication network 160. Embodying mission command systems receive flight member data records 132 from flight member aircraft 102A,B...N across electronic communication channel 160. The flight member data records include data on the AMC's aircraft. ¶ [0014] An embodying mission commander application can be enabled by an Integrated Modular Avionics (IMA) real-time computer network airborne systems, an Open Display System Architecture (ODSA), and supporting tools. This ecosystem provides the ability to add and modify the capabilities of the mission system by the system integrator. ¶ [0032] In accordance with some embodiments, a computer program application stored in non-volatile memory or computer-readable medium (e.g., register memory, processor cache, RAM, ROM, hard drive, flash memory, CD ROM, magnetic media, etc.) include code or executable instructions that when executed may instruct and/or cause a controller or processor to perform the functions and process of MCA unit 110 and MCD 122, as disclosed above) “are configured to”: / “A method comprising”:
- “receive an objective associated with a mission, wherein the objective implies a set of tasks”
(Kim ¶ [0005] 2nd-3rd sentences: much of information important to the AMC is pre-briefed rather than real-time. The AMC conducts photograph reconnaissance of the primary and alternate landing zones prior to departure, but these areas change by the time the flight actually reaches its destination. ¶ [0004] 2nd sentence: For example, the AMC could get updated intelligence information that there are hostile forces located in the primary ingress route, requiring him/her to decide whether they have fuel required to avoid the hostile by taking an alternate route. To this end, at ¶ [0013] 2nd, 6th sentence: the mission commander system provides the AMC with information for strategic management of the flight, mission assets, and mission goal. The systems and methods support mission commander (e.g. AMC) in the goal of achieving a mission objective for a team of vehicle assets acting in concert as mission members. For example, per ¶ [0020] 4th sentence: TCDU [text communication display unit present text-based communication and intelligence information. ¶ [0011] 2nd sentence: it provides multiple options of alternate mission scenarios that can be provided according to the revised mission parameters. ¶ [0021] 5th sentence
Deviation of the actual position from the zone can provide to the AMC an immediate indication as to whether the AMC must speed up or slow down the flight to reach the objective area on time.
¶ [0027] 1st sentence: time-on-target tab display also depict for the AMC the planned time of arrival for each waypoint, as well as the estimated time of arrival and deviation for the flight's objective)
- “identify one or more accessible assets associated with the mission”;
(Kim teaches many examples: ¶ [0008] 2nd sentence: the systems support AMC by 1) providing… team asset status…; and 2) providing key performance indicators (KPIs) of each team member aircraft (fuel remaining against mission completion fuel [or asset] requirements, weapons [or asset] status, flight range, time on target, expected arrival at target, time to interim waypoints, and other KPIs. [0004] 2nd-3rd sentences: For example, AMC gets updated intelligence there are hostile forces located in primary ingress route, requiring him/her to decide whether they have fuel [as asset] required to avoid the hostile by taking alternate route. Similarly, the ground commander of the unit [asset] being picked up in air assault mission request change in landing zone.
Kim ¶ [0013] 1st -2nd, 4th-6th sentences: mission commander system 100 is framework that support tasks associated with commanding air squadron while executing a mission. The mission commander system provides the AMC with information for strategic management of the flight, mission assets, and mission goal. For purposes of discussion, US Army Blackhawk and Apache helicopter [or asset] missions are presented. Yet, the systems and methods are not can be implemented in other vehicles (e.g. military or non-military, fixed wing, ground-based, navel). Embodying systems and methods support a mission commander (e.g. AMC) in the goal of achieving a mission objective for a team of vehicle assets acting in concert as mission members
Kim ¶ [0025] 2nd-3rd sentences: Selecting fuel/stores tab on MCD 122 depict a list of each vehicle in the flight. For each vehicle, the AMC has info about current and reserve fuel [or asset], burn rate, range, and the number of rounds of any weapon [or asset] system or countermeasure [or asset] the flight member vehicle has on board. ¶ [0030] 4th sentence: When this analysis is complete, the location of any identified entities can be presented on MCD, and a new icon generated indicating entities’ position on the map. ¶ [0029] 1st sentence noting the entities [oe assets] can be team vehicles, or landing zones).
- “determine a plan for assigning the one or more accessible assets to the set of tasks”;
(Kim ¶ [0014] an mission commander application can be enabled by Integrated Modular Avionics (IMA) real-time computer network airborne systems, Open Display System Architecture (ODSA), and supporting tools. This ecosystem provides ability to add and modify capabilities of the mission system by the system integrator. Kim teaches several: ¶ [0004] On occasion the AMC might need to make changes to the flight plan, which forces real-time recalculations of fuel burn projections for the vehicles in the flight. For example, the AMC could get updated intelligence info there are hostile forces located in the primary ingress route, requiring him/her to decide whether they have the fuel required to avoid the hostile by taking an alternate route. Similarly, the ground commander of the unit being picked up in an air assault mission could request a change in landing zone. These types of rapidly changing situations require the AMC to make additional decisions about mission-capability under significant time pressure, with potentially serious consequences-again still while piloting the aircraft. ¶ [0012] Dynamic changes to flight plan are cognitively taxing on AMC because the changes necessitate recalculation of fuel burn estimates, and also require AMC to determine their impact on the flight time to destination. Changing waypoints or landing zones can demand either a change in airspeed(s) for the remaining leg(s) of the flight, or a change in the time-on-target. Embodying systems can display this information in an ergonomic form to provide the AMC these factors when making decisions that will change the flight plan. ¶ [0019] 3rd sentence: Route management service 143 include algorithms to provide route management, fuel consumption/monitoring, ETA predictions, trajectory generation, track fusion, guidance, etc.
Kim ¶ [0026] A time-on-target tab can be selected by AMC to access critical navigation information, along with information about whether the flight is ahead of or behind schedule. For example, the AMC can view the distance to the next waypoint, and be provided with information regarding speed, direction, altitude, and other flight parameters to arrive at the waypoint on time. In some implementations, the display can also provide information regarding upcoming changes to these parameters to reach the next, and other, subsequent waypoints. This ability to depict flight parameters provides the AMC with continual situation awareness of the flight parameters that the pilot flying should be aiming for. ¶ [0027] The time-on-target tab display can also depict for the AMC the planned time of arrival for each waypoint, as well as the estimated time of arrival and deviation for the flight's objective. The display can include a projected deviation (plus or minus) so that the AMC can attempt [or plan] to reduce the deviation by instructing adjustments to the flight's [or asset] airspeed. ¶ [0028] 3rd sentence: The VSD also can display a predictive component, which projects the altitude over which vehicles [or asset] must fly to avoid upcoming terrain. ¶ [0030] Camera manager application unit 116 can capture aerial photographs that are taken from either an onboard or unmanned autonomous vehicle-mounted camera. The AMC can use MCD 122 to control the camera manager for pan and zoom, along with select previously-captured photographs represented as thumbnails. Once photographs are captured, they can be sent to image analysis application unit 118 for analysis. When this analysis is complete, the location of any identified entities can be presented on the MCD, and a new icon generated indicating the entities' position on the map)
- “provide one or more insights to a user, wherein the one or more insights are associated with a rationale behind the determination of the plan”;
(Kim ¶ [0004], ¶ [0011] Presenting updated mission parameters to the AMC allows that information to be used by the AMC in determining whether the remaining mission team can still be collectively viable to complete the mission. In accordance with embodiments, it provides multiple options of alternate mission scenarios that can be provided according to the revised mission parameters. ¶ [0012] Dynamic changes to the flight plan are cognitively taxing on the AMC because the changes necessitate recalculation of fuel burn estimates, and also require the AMC to determine their impact on the flight time to destination. Changing waypoints or landing zones can demand either a change in airspeed(s) for the remaining leg(s) of the flight, or a change in the time-on-target. Embodying systems can display this information in an ergonomic form to provide the AMC these factors when making decisions that will change the flight plan. ¶ [0024] 2nd-4th sentences: High-level status information as to whether the AMC is capable of completing the current mission as planned can be presented at the top of this pane. If the mission cannot be completed (either due to insufficient fuel or stores, or because the objective cannot be reached on time) a display status of the current mission can go from capable to incapable. This allows the AMC to monitor the overall status of a mission at a glance) “and”
- “provide an outcome assessment to the user, wherein the outcome assessment includes one or more likely outcomes associated with the plan”
(Kim ¶ [0011] 1st sentence: Presenting updated mission parameters to AMC allows that info to be used by AMC in determining whether the remaining mission team can still be collectively viable to complete the mission. ¶ [0019] 3rd sentence: route management service 143 include algorithms to provide… ETA [estimated time of arrival] predictions. For example, at ¶ [0021] 4th-5th sentences: The display of flight path include projection of a zone (outlined area) representing the flight’s projected optimal position that needs to be maintained to reach the mission landing zone on time. Deviation of the actual position from the zone can provide to the AMC an immediate indication whether the AMC must speed up or slow down the flight to reach the objective area on time. Similarly, ¶ [0027] The time-on-target tab display depict for the AMC the planned time of arrival for each waypoint, and the estimated time of arrival and deviation for the flight's objective. The display include a projected deviation (plus or minus) so that the AMC attempt to reduce the deviation by instructing adjustments to the flight's airspeed. ¶ [0028] 3rd- 4th sentences: VSD also display predictive component, which projects altitude over which vehicles must fly to avoid upcoming terrain. This functionality reduce the number of controlled flights into terrain that are leading cause of military helicopter crashes. ¶ [0024] 2nd-4th sentences: High-level status info as to whether the AMC is capable of completing the current mission as planned can be presented at the top of this pane. If the mission cannot be completed (either due to insufficient fuel or stores, or because the objective cannot be reached on time) a display status of current mission can go from capable to incapable. This allows AMC to monitor the overall status of a mission at a glance)
Claims 2,17 Kim teaches all the limitations in claims 1,16 above.
- “assign one or more tasks from the set of tasks to the user”.
(Kim ¶¶ [0004], [0012], [0013] 1st sentence: mission commander system 100 is a framework that support tasks associated with commanding an air squadron while executing a mission. Specifically, per ¶ [0011] 2nd sentence: it provides multiple options of alternate mission scenarios according to the revised mission parameters. ¶ [0010] If an unexpected situation develops limiting the mission capability for the flight members, alternate scenario evaluation unit 112 can analyze flight member data received from the incapacitated members to recalculate mission parameters records 133 (e.g, fuel, stores, cargo capacity, etc.). Flight member data can be applied by MCA unit 110 to obtain mission team member status updates. These status updates can be rendered on mission control dashboard (MCD) 122 in about real-time by dynamic video interface unit 114. These recalculated mission parameters can be available to the AMC on MCD 122. ¶ [0019] 3rd sentence: Route management service 143 include algorithms to provide route management, fuel consumption/monitoring, ETA predictions, trajectory generation, track fusion, guidance, etc. To this end at ¶ [0021] 3rd-5th sentences: the position of waypoints, flight paths etc. can be updated continuously, periodically. The display of flight path include projection of a zone (e.g. outlined area) representing the flight’s projected optimal position that needs to be maintained to reach the mission landing zone on time. Deviation of the actual position from the zone can provide to AMC immediate indication as to whether the AMC must speed up or slow down the flight to reach the objective area on time. ¶ [0026] 3rd-4th sentences: the display also provide information regarding upcoming changes to these parameters to reach the next, and other, subsequent waypoints. This ability to depict flight parameters provides the AMC with continual situation awareness of the flight parameters that the pilot flying should be aiming for. ¶ [0027] 2nd sentence: The display include a projected deviation (plus or minus) so that the AMC can attempt to reduce the deviation by instructing adjustments to the flight's airspeed. ¶ [0028] 3rd- 4th sentences: The VSD also display the altitude over which vehicles must fly to avoid upcoming terrain. This functionality can reduce the number of controlled flights into terrain that are a leading cause of military helicopter crashes).
Claims 3,18 Kim teaches all the limitations in claims 1,16 above. Further,
Kim teaches “the one or more accessible assets include a task execution software”
(Kim Fig.1 and Abstract: the control processor accesses executable instructions that cause the control processor to direct operations of components of the MCA unit. Specifically, per ¶ [0013] 1st sentence the mission commander system is a framework supporting tasks associated with commanding an air squadron while executing a mission, with ¶ [0009] 4th-5th sentences stating that: the system receive, across electronic communication channel 160, flight member data records 132 from flight member aircraft [or assets] 102A, B,…N, that include AMC’s aircraft data, which at its turn, reconfigure [or execute] the position and/or content of each of the display panes, as per ¶ [0015] 4th sentence, and customize [or execute] the display of information and specify a HMI using both the templates 135 and autonomy algorithm toolbox 136, as per ¶ [0016] 4th sentence, and also reduce the deviation by instructing [or executing] adjustments to the flight's airspeed, as per ¶ [0027] 2nd sentence, and finally controls [or executes], the camera manager for pan and zoom, along with select previously-captured photographs represented as thumbnails
as per ¶ [0030] 2nd sentence. For additional details see, ¶ [0020] 2nd sentence noting: detailed information about any of vehicles in the flight [is] obtained from the flight members and/or stored in flight member data record(s) 132. ¶ [0025] 3rd sentence: For each vehicle, the AMC has info about current and reserve fuel, burn rate, range, and the number of rounds of any weapon system or countermeasure the flight member vehicle has on board. ¶ [0010] 2nd sentence: Flight member data can be applied by MCA unit 110 to obtain mission team member status updates).
Claim 4,19 Kim teaches all limitations in claims 3,18 above. Further,
“a task interpreter communicatively coupled to the task execution software of the one or more accessible assets” (Kim Fig.1, ¶ [0009] 4th-5th sentences stating that: the system receive, across electronic communication channel 160, flight member data records 132 from flight member aircraft [or assets] 102A, B,…N, that include the AMC’s aircraft data, which at its turn include at ¶ [0011], alternate mission scenarios. Then at ¶ [0010] If an unexpected situation develops limiting the mission capability for the flight members, alternate scenario evaluation unit 112 analyze flight member data received from the incapacitated member(s) to recalculate mission parameters records 133 (e.g. fuel, stores, cargo capacity, etc.). Flight member data can be applied by MCA unit 110 to obtain mission team member status updates. These status updates can be rendered on mission control dashboard (MCD) 122 in about real-time by dynamic video interface unit 114. These recalculated mission parameters can be available to the AMC on MCD 122. Additional details at ¶ [0013]-¶ [0014], ¶ [0020]: display a map and information related to vehicle and mission management), “wherein the task interpreter is configured to interpret an assigned task” (Kim ¶ [0005] 4th-5th sentences: The AMC is pre-briefed with latest intelligence prior to mission departure, but this info can quickly become outdated on a dynamic battlefield. Even if the AMC is given real-time intelligence information (e.g., base command calls on the radio to warn about a potential hostile unit), it can be difficult for AMC to assimilate this info into their mental understanding of the situation, as it requires them to mark the location on paper map and mentally integrate the flight's own position into this situation picture. ¶ [0010] 1st,4th sentences: If an unexpected situation develops limiting the mission capability for the flight members, alternate scenario evaluation unit 112 analyze flight member data received from incapacitated members to recalculate mission parameters records 133 (e.g. fuel, stores, cargo capacity etc. These recalculated mission parameters can be available to AMC on MCD 122. ¶ [0030] 3rd-4th sentences: Once photographs are captured, they can be sent to image analysis application unit 118 for analysis. When this analysis is complete, the location of any identified entities can be presented on the MCD, and a new icon generated indicating the entities' position on the map. ¶ [0031] 1st sentence: The TCDU can present to the AMC text-based intelligence information and communications).
Claims 5,20 Kim teaches all the limitations in claims 4,19 above. Further,
Kim further teaches “wherein the task interpreter is further configured to determine two or more assets of the one or more accessible assets assigned to a same task, and wherein the two or more assets are configured to work together in a distributed way”.
(Kim ¶ [0013] 3rd-5th sentences: mission commander system provides the [air mission commander] AMC with information for strategic management of the flight, mission assets, and mission goal. In accordance with embodiments, mission command system 100 can decrease the human data processing demands placed on the AMC by providing analysis, data, and scenarios in MCD [mission control dashboard] 122 to support increased automation and autonomy. For purposes of discussion, U.S. Army Blackhawk and Apache helicopter missions are presented. However, embodying systems and methods are not so limited and can be implemented in other vehicles (e.g., military or non-military, fixed wing, ground-based, navel, etc.). Embodying systems and methods support a mission commander (e.g., AMC) in the goal of achieving a mission [or task] objective for a team of vehicle assets acting in concert [or together] as mission members).
Claims 6,21 Kim teaches all the limitations in claims 3,18 above. Further, Kim teaches
- “track a task status and task dependency by processing task state outputs received from the task execution software associated with one of the one or more accessible assets”.
(Kim ¶ [0012] Dynamic changes to the flight plan are cognitively taxing on the AMC because the changes necessitate recalculation of fuel burn estimates, and also require the AMC to determine their impact on the flight time to destination. Changing waypoints or landing zones can demand either a change in airspeed(s) for the remaining leg(s) of the flight, or a change in the time-on-target. Embodying systems can display this information in an ergonomic form to provide the AMC these factors when making decisions that will change the flight plan.
Kim ¶ [0019] 3rd sentence: Route management service 143 include algorithms to provide route management, fuel consumption/monitoring, ETA predictions, trajectory generation, track fusion, guidance, etc. ¶ [0021] 3rd-5th sentences: The position of waypoints, flight paths, enemy and friendly units, restricted operating zones, and named areas of interest can be available and updated [or tracked] (continuously, periodically, or at predetermined intervals). The display of the flight path include a projection of a zone (e.g., an outlined area) representing the flight's projected optimal position that needs to be maintained to reach the mission landing zone on time. Deviation of the actual position from the zone can provide to the AMC an immediate indication as to whether the AMC must speed up or slow down the flight to reach the objective area on time.
Kim ¶ [0026] 2nd-3rd sentences: the AMC view distance to the next [or dependent] waypoint, and be provided with information regarding speed, direction, altitude, and other flight parameters to arrive at the waypoint on time. In some implementations, the display can also provide information regarding upcoming changes to these parameters to reach the next [or dependent], and other, subsequent [or dependent] waypoints. This ability to depict flight parameters provides the AMC with continual situation awareness of the flight parameters that the pilot flying should be aiming for. ¶ [0027] The time-on-target tab display can also depict for the AMC the planned time of arrival for each waypoint, as well as the estimated time of arrival and deviation for the flight's objective. The display can include a projected deviation (plus or minus) so that the AMC can attempt to reduce the deviation by instructing adjustments to the flight's airspeed. ¶ [0028] A vertical situation display (VSD) is positioned underneath the compass rose of the map to provide the AMC with additional situation awareness about the position of vehicles in the surrounding airspace. From the VSD, the AMC can discern the altitudes of other vehicles, and be provided with information about upcoming terrain that may pose a threat to the flight. The VSD also can display a predictive component, which projects the altitude over which vehicles must fly to avoid upcoming terrain. This functionality can reduce the number of controlled flights into terrain that are a leading cause of military helicopter crashes. Also, the VSD information can reduce the requirement for the AMC and other crewmembers to devote substantial visual attention to the surrounding airspace to monitor the positions of other vehicles).
Claims 7,22 Kim teaches all the limitations in claims 1,16 above. Kim further teaches
- “modify the set of tasks using domain specific logical rules based on at least one of an environment, the objective, the one or more accessible assets, and an operator input”.
(Kim ¶ [0004] AMC might need to make changes to the flight plan, which forces real-time recalculations of fuel burn projections for vehicles in the flight. For example, AMC get updated intelligence there are hostile forces located in primary ingress route, requiring him/her to decide whether they have fuel required to avoid the hostile by taking alternate route. Similarly, the ground commander of the unit being picked up in air assault mission could request change in landing zone. These types of rapidly changing situations require AMC to make additional decisions about mission-capability under significant time pressure, with potentially serious consequences while piloting the aircraft. ¶ [0005] 3rd sentence: AMC conducts photograph reconnaissance of the primary and alternate landing zones prior to departure, but these areas change by the time the flight actually reaches its destination. ¶ [0012] Dynamic changes to the flight plan are cognitively taxing on AMC because the changes necessitate recalculation of fuel burn estimates, and also require AMC to determine their impact on the flight time to destination. Changing waypoints or landing zones demand either a change in airspeed(s) for the remaining leg(s) of the flight, or a change in time-on-target. Embodying systems display this info in an ergonomic form to provide AMC these factors when making decisions that will change the flight plan.
Kim ¶ [0014] embodying mission commander application enabled by Integrated Modular Avionics (IMA) real-time computer network airborne systems, an Open Display System Architecture (ODSA), and supporting tools. This ecosystem provides the ability to add and modify the capabilities of the mission system by the system integrator. ¶ [0016] 4th sentence: The MCA [mission commander application] unit provide the AMC [air mission commander] with ability to customize [or modify] the display of information and specify a human machine interface (HMI) (read as example of domain specific user interface in light of the current Specification ¶ [0017] 1st sentence) using both templates 135 and autonomy algorithm [or rules] toolbox 136. Specifically, per ¶ [0019] autonomy algorithm toolbox 136 can include a collection of software services that implement commonly needed functions in a mission management IMA environment. The toolbox include geospatial data service 142 that can obtain information via the IMA by preparing terrain queries (e.g., line-of-sight, height above terrain, sensor visibility, target recognition, etc.). Route [or environment] management service 143 include algorithms to provide route management, fuel consumption/monitoring, ETA predictions, trajectory generation, track fusion, guidance, etc. these software services can be customized by defining them through open system configuration tools and capabilities to be added to the IMA and displayed on MCD 122 via MCA unit 110. Information can be obtained from mission [or objective] subsystems 150. The information can include radar, forward looking infrared 152, ordnance and fire control status 154, and platform operation monitor status 156 (e.g., fuel consumption, altitude, location, engine operation, pressure, etc.
Kim ¶ [0026] A time-on-target tab can be selected by the AMC to access critical navigation information, along with information about whether the flight is ahead of or behind schedule. For example, the AMC can view the distance to the next waypoint, and be provided with information regarding speed, direction, altitude, and other flight parameters to arrive at the waypoint on time. In some implementations, the display can also provide information regarding upcoming changes to these parameters to reach the next, and other, subsequent waypoints. This ability to depict flight parameters provides the AMC with continual situation awareness of the flight parameters that the pilot flying should be aiming for.).
Claims 9,24 Kim teaches all the limitations in claims 1,16 above. Kim further teaches
- “track a secondary plan, wherein the secondary plan comprises a secondary objective”
(Kim ¶ [0013] 6th sentence: embodying systems and methods support the AMC in the goal of achieving a mission objective for a team of vehicle assets acting in concert as mission members. Specifically, ¶ [0019] 3rd sentence: Route management service 143 include algorithms to provide route management, fuel consumption/monitoring, ETA predictions, trajectory generation, track fusion, guidance, etc. For example, at ¶ [0011] presenting updated mission parameters to AMC allows that information to be used by the AMC in determining whether the remaining mission team can still be collectively viable to complete the mission. In accordance with embodiments, it provides multiple options of alternate [or second] mission scenarios that can be provided according to the revised mission parameters. For example, at ¶ [0004] 2nd sentence: the AMC could get updated intelligence information that there are hostile forces located in the primary [interpreted as first] ingress route, requiring him/her to decide whether they have fuel required to avoid the hostile [as second objective] by taking an alternate [or second] route [or plan]. Additional details at ¶ [0012], ¶ [0021] 3rd-5th sentences, ¶ [0026] 2nd-3rd sentences, ¶ [0027], ¶ [0028])
Claims 10,25 Kim teaches all the limitations in claims 1,16 above. Kim further teaches
- “store operational data associated with an execution of one or more tasks by the one or more processors” (Kim Fig.1 and Abstract: the MCA unit in communication with a data store, the control processor accessing executable instructions that cause the control processor to direct operations of components of the MCA unit, an alternate scenario evaluation unit accessing mission parameter records and flight member data records in the data store to recalculate mission parameters, a dynamic video interface unit to render the recalculated mission parameters on a mission control dashboard (MCD). ¶ [0020] 2nd sentence: detailed information about any of the vehicles in the flight [is] obtained from the flight member data record(s) 132. ¶ [0009] 3rd-4th sentences: the mission command systems receive flight member data records 132 from flight member aircraft 102A,B…N across electronic communication channel 160. The flight member data records include data on AMC’s aircraft), “wherein the stored operational data is used for subsequent analysis” (Kim ¶ [0010] If an unexpected situation develops limiting the mission capability for the flight members, alternate scenario evaluation unit 112 analyze flight member data received from the incapacitated members to recalculate mission parameters records 133 (e.g. fuel, stores, cargo capacity, etc.). Flight member data can be applied by MCA unit 110 to obtain mission team member status updates. These status updates can be rendered on mission control dashboard (MCD) 122 in about real-time by dynamic video interface unit 114. These recalculated mission parameters can be available to the AMC on MCD 122. ¶ [0012] 2nd sentence:
Changing waypoints or landing zones can demand either a change in airspeed(s) for the remaining leg(s) of the flight, or a change in the time-on-target. ¶ [0026] 2nd-3rd sentences: For example, the AMC can view the distance to the next waypoint, and be provided with information regarding speed, direction, altitude, and other flight parameters to arrive at the waypoint on time. In some implementations, the display can also provide information regarding upcoming changes to these parameters to reach the next, and other, subsequent waypoints).
Claims 11,26 Kim teaches all the limitations in claims 1,16 above. Kim further teaches
- “wherein the one or more likely outcomes associated with the plan include a probability estimation corresponding to each of the one or more likely outcomes”.
(Kim ¶ [0019] 3rd sentence: route management service 143 include algorithms to provide… ETA [estimated time of arrival] predictions [or probabilities]. For example, at ¶ [0021] 4th-5th sentences: The display of the flight path include projection or estimation] of a zone (e.g. outlined area) representing the flight's projected optimal position that needs to be maintained to reach the mission landing zone on time. Deviation of the actual position from the zone provide to the AMC an immediate indication as to whether the AMC must speed up or slow down the flight to reach the objective area on time. Similarly, ¶ [0027] The time-on-target tab display depict for the AMC the planned time of arrival for each waypoint, as well as the estimated time of arrival and deviation for the flight's objective. The display include a projected [or estimated] deviation (plus or minus) so that the AMC can attempt to reduce the deviation by instructing adjustments to the flight's airspeed. ¶ [0028] 3rd- 4th sentences: The VSD also can display a predictive component, which projects [or estimates] the altitude over which vehicles must fly to avoid upcoming terrain. This functionality can reduce the number of controlled flights into terrain that are a leading cause of military helicopter crashes. ¶ [0024] 2nd-4th sentences: High-level status information as to whether the AMC is capable of completing the current mission as planned can be presented at the top of this pane. If the mission cannot be completed (either due to insufficient fuel or stores, or because the objective cannot be reached on time) a display status of the current mission can go from capable to incapable. This allows the AMC to monitor the overall status of a mission at a glance)
Claim 12 Kim teaches all the limitations in claim 1 above.
Kim further teaches “at least one user interface communicatively coupled to the one or more processors” (Kim ¶ [0032] processor perform the functions and process of MCA unit 110 and MCD 122, disclosed above. ¶ [0009] 1st sentence: Fig.1 depicts mission command system MCS 100 include mission commander application (MCA) unit 110 which is direct communication with data store 130 and display unit 120. Indeed per ¶ [0008] 1st sentence: Embodying systems and methods provide a mission command graphical interface system that is simplified, adaptable, and extensible human-machine interface (HMI) and application framework to increase the operational effectiveness of the AMC in an ever-changing environment. ¶ [0010] 3rd sentence: These status updates can be rendered on mission control dashboard (MCD) 122 in about real-time by dynamic video interface unit 114. Also, ¶ [0016] 4th sentence: MCA unit provide the AMC with the ability to customize the display of information and specify a human machine interface (HMI) using both the templates 135 and autonomy algorithm toolbox 136. ¶ [0017] 3rd sentence: The MCD can layer imagery, terrain, and features using algorithm toolbox 136 to render custom interactive layers on the base map as part of the HMI through an interface provided by MCA unit 110. ¶ [0018] 1st sentence: HMI library 141 include a set of HMI components that MCA unit 110 can use to present dynamic data and accept user inputs. ¶ [0019] 4th sentence: these software services can be customized by defining them through open system configuration tools and capabilities to be added to the IMA and displayed on MCD 122 via the MCA unit 110)
Claims 13,27 Kim teaches all the limitations in claim 12,16 above. Further,
Kim teaches “wherein the at least one user interface is configured to display at least one of the one or more insights” (Kim ¶ [0004], ¶[0010] If an unexpected situation develops limiting the mission capability for the flight members, alternate scenario evaluation unit 112 can analyze flight member data received from the incapacitated member(s) to recalculate mission parameters records 133 (e.g., fuel, stores, cargo capacity, etc.). Flight member data can be applied by MCA unit 110 to obtain mission team member status updates. These status updates can be rendered on mission control dashboard (MCD) 122 in about real-time by dynamic video interface unit 114. These recalculated mission parameters can be available to the AMC on MCD 122. ¶ [0011] Presenting updated mission parameters to the AMC allows that information to be used by AMC in determining whether the remaining mission team can still be collectively viable to complete the mission… it provides multiple options of alternate mission scenarios provided according to the revised mission parameters. ¶ [0012] Dynamic changes to the flight plan are cognitively taxing on AMC because the changes necessitate recalculation of fuel burn estimates, and also require the AMC to determine their impact on the flight time to destination. Changing waypoints or landing zones can demand either a change in airspeed(s) for the remaining leg(s) of the flight, or a change in the time-on-target. Embodying systems can display this information in an ergonomic form to provide the AMC these factors when making decisions that will change the flight plan. ¶ [0024] 2nd-4th sentences: High-level status information as to whether the AMC is capable of completing the current mission as planned can be presented at the top of this pane. If the mission cannot be completed (either due to insufficient fuel or stores, or because the objective cannot be reached on time) a display status of the current mission can go from capable to incapable. This allows the AMC to monitor the overall status of a mission at a glance) “or the outcome assessment to the user” (Kim ¶ [0011] 1st sentence: Presenting updated mission parameters to the AMC allows that information to be used by the AMC in determining whether the remaining mission team can still be collectively viable to complete the mission. ¶ [0019] 3rd sentence: route management service 143 include algorithms to provide… ETA [estimated time of arrival] predictions. For example, at
¶ [0021] 4th-5th sentences: The display of the flight path include projection of a zone (e.g. outlined area) representing the flight's projected optimal position that needs to be maintained to reach the mission landing zone on time. Deviation of the actual position from the zone can provide to the AMC an immediate indication as to whether the AMC must speed up or slow down the flight to reach the objective area on time. Similarly, ¶ [0027] The time-on-target tab display depict for the AMC the planned time of arrival for each waypoint, as well as the estimated time of arrival and deviation for the flight's objective. The display include a projected deviation (plus or minus) so that the AMC can attempt to reduce the deviation by instructing adjustments to the flight's airspeed.
¶ [0028] 3rd- 4th sentences: The VSD also can display a predictive component, which projects the altitude over which vehicles must fly to avoid upcoming terrain. This functionality can reduce the number of controlled flights into terrain that are a leading cause of military helicopter crashes.
¶ [0024] 2nd-4th sentences: High-level status information as to whether the AMC is capable of completing the current mission as planned can be presented at the top of this pane. If the mission cannot be completed (either due to insufficient fuel or stores, or because the objective cannot be reached on time) a display status of the current mission can go from capable to incapable. This allows the AMC to monitor the overall status of a mission at a glance)
Claims 14,28 Kim teaches all the limitations in claim 12,16 above. Further,
Kim teaches “the at least one user interface is configured to allow the user to input and modify states or outputs associated with the mission”
(Kim ¶ [0018] HMI library 141 include HMI components that MCA unit 110 use to present dynamic data and accept user inputs. HMI library offer base capabilities (text, symbol-rendering etc.), along with widgets to manage user interaction, the display of common constructs (e.g. tabular lists, menus, tabular organization, etc.), and tools to configure HMIs and also to create IMA compatible display applications. ¶ [0004] On occasion AMC might need to make changes to the flight plan, which forces real-time recalculations of fuel burn projections for the vehicles in the flight. For example, the AMC could get updated intelligence information there are hostile forces located in the primary ingress route, requiring him/her to decide whether they have fuel required to avoid the hostile by taking an alternate route. Also ground commander of the unit being picked up in an air assault mission could request a change in landing zone. These types of rapidly changing situations require the AMC to make additional decisions about mission-capability under significant time pressure, with potentially serious consequences while piloting the aircraft.
Kim ¶ [0005] 3rd sentence: The AMC conducts photograph reconnaissance of the primary and alternate landing zones prior to departure, but these areas change by the time the flight actually reaches its destination. ¶ [0012] Dynamic changes to the flight plan are cognitively taxing on the AMC because the changes necessitate recalculation of fuel burn estimates, and also require AMC to determine their impact on the flight time to destination. Changing waypoints or landing zones can demand either a change in airspeed(s) for the remaining leg(s) of the flight, or a change in the time-on-target. Embodying systems display this information in an ergonomic form to provide the AMC these factors when making decisions that will change the flight plan.
Kim ¶ [0014] An embodying mission commander application can be enabled by Integrated Modular Avionics (IMA) real-time computer network airborne systems, an Open Display System Architecture (ODSA), and supporting tools. This ecosystem provides the ability to add and modify the capabilities of the mission system by the system integrator. ¶ [0016] 4th sentence: The MCA [mission commander application] unit provide the AMC [air mission commander] with ability to customize [or modify] the display of information and specify a human machine interface (HMI) using both templates 135 and autonomy algorithm [or rules] toolbox 136)
Kim ¶ [0031] 2nd-4th sentences: The AMC can be notified of a new message or intelligence report via a notification section in the LAD. When the AMC selects a message in the TCDU, there can be an option to acknowledge (which sends a notification to the message sender), or send a response. Acknowledging or responding to a message removes the notification for that message; thus, the AMC always has quick status information as to the number of messages that have not been addressed).
Claims 15,29 Kim teaches all the limitations in claim 12,16 above. Further, Kim teaches:
- “wherein the at least one user interface is configured to display at least one of the objective” (Kim ¶ [0013] 2nd, 5th sentences: The mission commander system provides the AMC with information in an efficient manner for strategic management of the flight, mission assets, and mission goal. Embodying systems and methods support a mission commander (e.g., AMC) in the goal of achieving a mission objective for a team of vehicle assets acting in concert as mission members), “the set of tasks” (Kim ¶ [0013] 1st sentence: mission commander system 100 is a framework that can support tasks associated with commanding an air squadron while executing a mission. To this end at ¶ [0020] 3rd sentence: The middle display configured by AMC to show images from camera manager application 116 or detailed information about any of the vehicles in the flight obtained from the flight members and/or stored in flight member data record(s) 132. ¶ [0028] 2nd-5th sentences: The VSD also can display a predictive component, which projects the altitude over which vehicles must fly to avoid upcoming terrain. This functionality can reduce the number of controlled flights into terrain that are a leading cause of military helicopter crashes. Also, the VSD information can reduce the requirement for the AMC and other crewmembers to devote substantial visual attention to the surrounding airspace to monitor the positions of other vehicles) “and the plan to the user” (Kim ¶ [0021] 5th sentence: Deviation of the actual position from the zone can provide to the AMC an immediate indication as to whether the AMC must speed up or slow down the flight to reach the objective area on time. ¶ [0027] 1st sentence: The time-on-target tab display can also depict for the AMC the planned time of arrival for each waypoint, as well as the estimated time of arrival and deviation for the flight's objective).
Conclusion
Following art is made of record and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Heinze et al, Plan recognition in military simulation: Incorporating machine learning with intelligent agents, InProceedings of IJCAI-99 Workshop on Team Behaviour and Plan Recognition, pp. 53-64, Mar 1999
EP 3432106 A1 teaching Dynamic human machine interface system for supporting air mission commander of flight of rotary wing aircraft, has mission control dashboard that includes display pane area configurable by user interaction to change content of display pane
US 20230409993 A1 Identification of simulation-driven optimized indication and warning cutoffs for situation-specific courses of action
US 20200167607 A1 Determining One or More Actions to Carry Out in an Environment
US 20080177688 A1 managing a chaotic event by providing optimal and adaptive sequencing of decision sets with supporting data
US 20210343177 A1 multi-user simulator implemented via a scenario exercise platform
emphasis on ¶ [0061] 2nd sentence: In some embodiments, the scenarios may be stored in a library on a database. ¶ [0060] 6th sentence: The military scenarios that are created, using the enhanced UI, may be uploaded to an application store to enable other authorized users (military personnel) to download the military scenarios. ¶ [0070] 5th-6th sentences: Completed military scenarios including actions taken and responses to the actions for each turn in the completed military scenarios may be saved for subsequent playback. For example, a trainer may show the saved completed military scenario to users to explain what the right and wrong actions were during the completed military scenario. ¶ [0070] 3rd sentence: databases 129 and/or 130 may store data pertaining to military scenarios, users, roles, results of the military scenarios, and the like. The results may be stored for each user and may be tracked over time to determine whether a user is improving or worsening at their role. ¶ [0071] 4th-5th sentences: The expert system may be configured to advise, provide demonstrations and instructions, derive solutions, diagnose, interpret inputs and provide relevant outputs, predict results, justify and conclude, and/or suggest alternative solutions to a problem. The expert system may use a knowledge base stored in the database 129.
US 20220207220 A1 Apparatuses and methods for battleflow analysis and decision support
US 20080065576 A1 System and method for optimally customizable and adaptive personalized information display for information associated with managing a chaotic event
US 7330844 B2 intelligent agent decision making for tactical aerial warfare
US 11842313 B1 conducting on-demand human performance assessments using unstructured data from multiple sources
US 10249197 B2 mission planning via formal verification and supervisory controller synthesis
US 20230214007 A1 Virtual reality de-escalation tool for delivering electronic impulses to targets with emphasis on ¶ [0036] last two sentences: Further, the first modification results in a first new simulation scenario and the second modification results in a second new simulation scenario. The first new simulation scenario is more favorable as compared to the second new simulation scenario. Additionally, the method may also include delivering electronic impulses to the user based on the user’s actions.
US 20170309198 A1 Determining mission readiness
US 7451023 B2 Collaborative system for a team of unmanned vehicles
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIAN ROTARU whose telephone number is (571)270-7950. The examiner can normally be reached on 571.270.7950 from 9AM to 6PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, PATRICIA H MUNSON, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-5396. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for published applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Patent Center for authorized users only. Should you have questions about access to Patent Center, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated- interview-request-air-form.
/OCTAVIAN ROTARU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624
February 13th, 2026
1 MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III citing Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)
2 Per MPEP 2106.04(a): “…examiners should identify at least one abstract idea grouping, but preferably identify all groupings to the extent possible…”.
3 Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016)