DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-2, 5-16, and 19 in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (2001/0047986) in view of Miller et al. (6,706,995). Claim 1, Brown discloses a method of providing at least one marking or visual effect on a golf ball, the method comprising (i) providing a golf ball comprising at least a cover layer and a paint layer wherein the paint layer is outside the cover layer. And (ii) removing at least a portion of the paint layer to at least partially expose the cover layer, and to define at least one marking or visual effect on the golf ball (abstract) [0041]. Brown does not specifically disclose the paint layer is a different color than the cover layer. Miller teaches a method for applying indicia comprising the paint layer color different than the color of the layer beneath (col. 9, lines 25-38). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the colors of the indica for the desired aesthetic. Claim 2, Brown discloses step (ii) comprises laser engraving (abstract). Claim 5, Brown discloses the first layer is a cover layer, and the second coating layer is a paint layer (abstract). Claim 6, Brown discloses the cover layer is comprised of at least one of ionomer or urethane [0033-0034]. Claim 7, Brown discloses the golf ball further comprises one or more paint layers arranged radially outward relative to the cover (abstract), but does not disclose a different paint color for the exterior most paint layer. Miller teaches a substrate (metal) and two paint layers wherein the outermost paint layer is removed to reveal the first paint layer (col. 9, lines 30-36). Claim 8, Brown discloses laser engraving to remove material at two different depths [0017, 0044]. Claim 9, Brown discloses applying a clear topcoat before or after engraving [0041]. Claim 11, Brown in view of Miller discloses two different colors which would obviously produce a color gradient between the two colors after lasering. Claim 13, Miller teaches a cooling unit coupled to the laser generation region to maintain the proper temperature (col 6, lines 23-25). One of ordinary skill in the art would include a cooling technique. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the colors of the indica for the desired aesthetic.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (2001/0047986) in view of Miller et al. (6,706,995), and further in view of Wai (6,248,974). Brown in view of Miller does not disclose the golf ball rotating while using the laser. Wai teaches a laser in use while rotating a golf ball. One of ordinary skill in the art would rotate the golf ball for precision.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (2001/0047986) in view of Miller et al. (6,706,995), and further in view of Barrett (D655,358).
Brown discloses the indicia may be any size but does not disclose at least 180 degrees around the golf ball [0040]. Barrett teaches indicia spanning at least 180 degrees around a golf ball. One of ordinary skill in the art would have increased the size of the indicia for the desired aesthetic.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (2001/0047986) in view of Miller et al. (6,706,995), Wai (6,248,974), and Barrett (D655,358). Claim 14, Brown discloses a method of providing at least one marking or visual effect on a golf ball, the method comprising (i) providing a golf ball comprising at least a cover layer and a paint layer wherein the paint layer is outside the cover layer. And (ii) removing at least a portion of the paint layer to at least partially expose the cover layer, and to define at least one marking or visual effect on the golf ball (abstract) [0041]. Brown does not specifically disclose the paint layer is a different color than the cover layer. Miller teaches a method for applying indicia comprising the paint layer color different than the color of the layer beneath (col. 9, lines 25-38). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the colors of the indica for the desired aesthetic. Wai teaches a laser in use while rotating a golf ball. One of ordinary skill in the art would rotate the golf ball for precision. Barrett teaches indicia spanning at least 180 degrees around a golf ball. One of ordinary skill in the art would have increased the size of the indicia for the desired aesthetic. Claims 15-16, Miller teaches a cooling unit coupled to the laser generation region to maintain the proper temperature (col 6, lines 23-25). One of ordinary skill in the art would include a cooling technique. Claim 19, Brown in view of Miller discloses two different colors which would obviously produce a color gradient between the two colors after lasering. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the colors of the indica for the desired aesthetic. One of ordinary skill in the art would rotate the golf ball for precision. One of ordinary skill in the art would have increased the size of the indicia for the desired aesthetic.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
April 15, 2026