DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on February 13, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines, numbers, and letters are not durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined in Figures 1-13. Figures 1-13 all include gray elements which cause the lines, numbers, and letters to not be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. Additionally, drawings must be black and white (monochrome) except when another form (grayscale or color) is the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For Figures 1-13, black and white drawings are sufficient to illustrate the claimed invention.
Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended”. If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. If a response to the present Office Action fails to include proper drawing corrections, corrected drawings or arguments therefor, the response can be held NON-RESPONSIVE and/or the application could be ABANDONED since the objections/corrections to the drawings are no longer held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The phrasing “wherein receiving, from the base station, a paging message in the paging occasion” is unclear and should be removed or revised into an understandable limitation. It is assumed for examination purposes that the intended limitation is “wherein the communication apparatus receives, from the base station, a paging message in the paging occasion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2020/0396687 A1) in view of Samsung (“UE Identity for Paging Subgrouping”).
Consider claim 1, Hwang et al disclose a communication apparatus comprising: a receiver configured to receive on a physical downlink control channel, from a base station, downlink control information including information for indicating a subgroup identifier of a paging occasion (see Figure 11, the “wireless communication system includes a base station 1110 and multiple UEs 1120 located within coverage of the base station 1110. The base station 1110 and the UE may be referred to as a transmitter and a receiver, respectively” (see paragraph 0118). “Each UE sub-group configured in the proposed methods of the present disclosure may be configured independently with a WUS distinguished by a time-domain resource, frequency-domain resource, and/or code-domain resource…a WUS refers to a signal used to indicate whether a UE should monitor a PDCCH (MPDCCH or NPDCCH) to receive paging (in a specific cell). The WUS is associated with one or more POs (paging occasions) according to whether extended discontinuous reception (DRX) is configured” (see paragraphs 0297 and 0301). In this context, the WUS is interpretable as downlink control information. “The channel (e.g., corresponding channel) related to the WUS may be a UL resource for a preconfigured UL transmission (e.g., SPS), a DL resource for a preconfigured DL transmission (e.g., SPS), DCI masked by a G-RNTI (or SC-RNTI) in SC-PTM, an SC-MTCH (or SC-MCCH), and/or a channel of a
multi-TB transmission structure” (see paragraph 0406)); and
a controller configured to calculate a user equipment identity (UE_ID), wherein the controller is configured to calculate the UE_ID by using a first formula on a basis of a fact that the communication apparatus has received first information for indicating a number of subgroups per the paging occasion and second information for a configuration of a UE_ID based subgrouping (“In Method 1-1, it is proposed that UE sub-grouping is performed for a WUS based on the UE_IDs of UEs… For example, when a P-RNTI is monitored on a PDCCH, UE_ID may be given as (IMSI mod 1024)” (see paragraph 0316). The first information is defined as NSG, which “represents the number of deployed sub-groups” (see paragraph 0328). With respect to the second information, “when UE sub-grouping is applied according to specific criteria (e.g., UE_ID, a coverage level, dedicated signaling, a corresponding channel, and so on), a UE may perform a UE sub-grouping-related operation only for a cell for which the UE has been configured with UE sub-grouping information” (see paragraph 0359). Accordingly, the execution of Method 1-1 is dependent on whether the UE has been configured with UE_ID based subgrouping), and
monitor the paging occasion on a basis of the subgroup identifier based on the UE_ID calculated by using the first formula and the subgroup identifier indicated by the information included in the downlink control information (see Figure 26, “In step S2604, the UE may monitor a WUS based on the WUS resource. For example, the UE may monitor the WUS based on the index information (e.g., the UE sub-group index information cg)” (see paragraph 0404). Eq-1-1-a-MTC defines cg based on the UE_ID (see paragraph 0328) as well as the “number of paging narrowbands (for P-RNTI monitored on MPDCCH) or paging carriers (for P-RNTI monitored on NPDCCH) provided in system information” (see
paragraph 0328)).
However, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the communication apparatus is configured to calculate the UE_ID by using a second formula on a basis of a fact that the communication apparatus has not received the second information, and monitor the paging occasion on a basis of the UE_ID calculated by using the second formula.
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein a communication apparatus is configured to: calculate the UE_ID by using a second formula on a basis of a fact that the communication apparatus has not received the second information (should the network choose to “not provide specific subgrouping information, there will be configuration option where subgrouping can be supported by randomization (by UE-ID)” (see Section 1). In this case, “5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2)), and
monitor the paging occasion on a basis of the UE_ID calculated by using the second formula (the calculated UE_ID is used to determine the paging frame and paging occasion to be monitored (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. to use a second formula in case that as disclosed by Samsung to reduce the information requirement for transmitting the UE_ID.
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Hwang et al., as modified by Samsung. further disclose wherein the receiver is configured to receive, from the base station, a paging message in the paging occasion (“the UE may receive a paging signal in a PO related to the detected WUS in step S2606” (see Figure 26, paragraph 0406)).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Hwang et al. further disclose wherein the subgroup identifier based on the UE_ID calculated by using the first formula is based on the number of the subgroups per the paging occasion, the number of the paging occasions for a paging frame, and a number of the total paging frames in a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (refer to Eq-1-1-a-MTC. The subgroup identifier cg is based on the UE_ID calculated by the first formula. The number of subgroups per paging occasion is represented by NSG/Ns * N where NSG represents the number of subgroups and Ns * N represents the number of paging occasions. The number of paging occasions for a paging frame is represented by Ns, and the number of total paging frames in a DRX cycle is represented by N (see paragraphs 0322-0328)).
However, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the first formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI (Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identifier).
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein a communication apparatus uses a formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI to calculate the UE_ID (“5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. to use TSMI instead of IMSI in calculating the UE_ID as disclosed by Samsung in order to more efficiently calculate the UE_ID and improve network security.
Consider claim 6, Hwang et al. disclose a base station comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit on a physical downlink control channel, to a communication apparatus, downlink control information including information for indicating a subgroup identifier of a paging occasion (see Figure 11, the “wireless communication system includes a base station 1110 and multiple UEs 1120 located within coverage of the base station 1110. The base station 1110 and the UE may be referred to as a transmitter and a receiver, respectively” (see paragraph 0118). “Each UE sub-group configured in the proposed methods of the present disclosure may be configured independently with a WUS distinguished by a time-domain resource, frequency-domain resource, and/or code-domain resource…a WUS refers to a signal used to indicate whether a UE should monitor a PDCCH (MPDCCH or NPDCCH) to receive paging (in a specific cell). The WUS is associated with one or more POs (paging occasions) according to whether extended discontinuous reception (DRX) is configured” (see paragraphs 0297 and 0301). In this context, the WUS is interpretable as downlink control information. “The channel (e.g., corresponding channel) related to the WUS may be a UL resource for a preconfigured UL transmission (e.g., SPS), a DL resource for a preconfigured DL transmission (e.g., SPS), DCI masked by a G-RNTI (or SC-RNTI) in SC-PTM, an SC-MTCH (or SC-MCCH), and/or a channel of a multi-TB transmission structure” (see paragraph 0406)); and
a controller configured to calculate a user equipment identity (UE_ID), wherein the controller is configured to control the communication apparatus to monitor the paging occasion according to the subgroup identifier based on the UE_ID calculated by using a first formula and the subgroup identifier indicated by the information included in the downlink control information (see Figure 26, “In step S2604, the UE may monitor a WUS based on the WUS resource. For example, the UE may monitor the WUS based on the index information (e.g., the UE sub-group index information cg)” (see paragraph 0404). Eq-1-1-a-MTC defines cg based on the UE_ID (see paragraph 0328) as well as the “number of paging narrowbands (for P-RNTI monitored on MPDCCH) or paging carriers (for P-RNTI monitored on NPDCCH) provided in system information” (see paragraph 0328)),
on a basis of a fact that the base station has transmitted, to the communication apparatus, first information for indicating a number of subgroups per the paging occasion and second information for a configuration of a UE_ID based subgrouping (“In Method 1-1, it is proposed that UE sub-grouping is performed for a WUS based on the UE_IDs of UEs… For example, when a P-RNTI is monitored on a PDCCH, UE_ID may be given as (IMSI mod 1024)” (see paragraph 0316). The first information is defined as N.sub.SG, which “represents the number of deployed sub-groups” (see paragraph 0328). With respect to the second information, “when UE sub-grouping is applied according to specific criteria (e.g., UE_ID, a coverage level, dedicated signaling, a corresponding channel, and so on), a UE may perform a UE sub-grouping-related operation only for a cell for which the UE has been configured with UE sub-grouping information” (see paragraph 0359). Accordingly, the execution of Method 1-1 is dependent on whether the UE has been configured with UE_ID based subgrouping).
However, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the base station is configured to control the communication apparatus to monitor the paging occasion according to a UE_ID calculated by using a second formula, on a basis of a fact that the base station has not transmitted, to the communication apparatus, the second information.
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein the base station is configured to control the communication apparatus to monitor the paging occasion according to a UE_ID calculated by using a second formula, on a basis of a fact that the base station has not transmitted, to the communication apparatus, the second information (should the network choose to “not provide specific subgrouping information, there will be configuration option where subgrouping can be supported by randomization (by UE-ID)” (see Section 1). In this case, “5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2). The calculated UE_ID is used to determine the paging frame and paging occasion to be monitored (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station disclosed by Hwang et al. to control the communication apparatus to use a second formula in case that as disclosed by Samsung to reduce the information requirement for transmitting the UE_ID.
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Hwang et al., as modified by Samsung, further disclose wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit, to a communication apparatus, a paging message in the paging occasion (“the UE may receive a paging signal in a PO related to the detected WUS in step S2606” (see Figure 26, paragraph 0406)).
Consider claim 8, and as applied to claim 6 above, Hwang et al. further disclose wherein the subgroup identifier based on the UE_ID calculated by using the first formula is based on the number of the subgroups per the paging occasion, the number of the paging occasions for a paging frame, and a number of the total paging frames in a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (refer to Eq-1-1-a-MTC. The subgroup identifier cg is based on the UE_ID calculated by the first formula. The number of subgroups per paging occasion is represented by NSG/Ns * N where NSG represents the number of subgroups and Ns * N represents the number of paging occasions. The number of paging occasions for a paging frame is represented by Ns and the number of total paging frames in a DRX cycle is represented by N (see paragraphs 0322-0328)).
However, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the first formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI (Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identifier).
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein a base station uses a formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI to calculate the UE_ID (“5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. to use TSMI instead of IMSI in calculating the UE_ID as disclosed by Samsung in order to more efficiently calculate the UE_ID and improve network security.
Consider claim 11, Hwang et al disclose a communication method executed by a communication apparatus comprising the steps of: receiving, from a base station on a physical downlink control channel, downlink control information including information for indicating a subgroup identifier of a paging occasion (see Figure 11, the “wireless communication system includes a base station 1110 and multiple UEs 1120 located within coverage of the base station 1110. The base station 1110 and the UE may be referred to as a transmitter and a receiver, respectively” (see paragraph 0118). “Each UE sub-group configured in the proposed methods of the present disclosure may be configured independently with a WUS distinguished by a time-domain resource, frequency-domain resource, and/or code-domain resource…a WUS refers to a signal used to indicate whether a UE should monitor a PDCCH (MPDCCH or NPDCCH) to receive paging (in a specific cell). The WUS is associated with one or more POs (paging occasions) according to whether extended discontinuous reception (DRX) is configured” (see paragraphs 0297 and 0301). In this context, the WUS is interpretable as downlink control information. “The channel (e.g., corresponding channel) related to the WUS may be a UL resource for a preconfigured UL transmission (e.g., SPS), a DL resource for a preconfigured DL transmission (e.g., SPS), DCI masked by a G-RNTI (or SC-RNTI) in SC-PTM, an SC-MTCH (or SC-MCCH), and/or a channel of a multi-TB transmission structure” (see paragraph 0406)); and
calculating a user equipment identity (UE_ID) by using a first formula on a basis of a fact that the communication apparatus has received first information for indicating a number of subgroups per the paging occasion and second information for a configuration of a UE_ID based subgrouping (“In Method 1-1, it is proposed that UE sub-grouping is performed for a WUS based on the UE_IDs of UEs… For example, when a P-RNTI is monitored on a PDCCH, UE_ID may be given as (IMSI mod 1024)” (see paragraph 0316). The first information is defined as N.sub.SG, which “represents the number of deployed sub-groups” (see paragraph 0328). With respect to the second information, “when UE sub-grouping is applied according to specific criteria (e.g., UE_ID, a coverage level, dedicated signaling, a corresponding channel, and so on), a UE may perform a UE sub-grouping-related operation only for a cell for which the UE has been configured with UE sub-grouping information” (see paragraph 0359). Accordingly, the execution of Method 1-1 is dependent on whether the UE has been configured with UE_ID based subgrouping), and
monitoring the paging occasion on a basis of the subgroup identifier based on the UE_ID calculated by using the first formula and the subgroup identifier indicated by the information included in the downlink control information (see Figure 26, “In step S2604, the UE may monitor a WUS based on the WUS resource. For example, the UE may monitor the WUS based on the index information (e.g., the UE sub-group index information c.g)” (see paragraph 0404). Eq-1-1-a-MTC defines cg based on the UE_ID (see paragraph 0328) as well as the “number of paging narrowbands (for P-RNTI monitored on MPDCCH) or paging carriers (for P-RNTI monitored on NPDCCH) provided in system information” (see paragraph 0328)).
However, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the method comprises calculating the UE_ID by using a second formula on a basis of a fact that the communication apparatus has not received the second information, and monitoring the paging occasion on a basis of the UE_ID calculated by using the second formula.
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein a communication method comprises:
calculating the UE_ID by using a second formula on a basis of a fact that the communication apparatus has not received the second information (should the network choose to “not provide specific subgrouping information, there will be configuration option where subgrouping can be supported by randomization (by UE-ID)” (see Section 1). In this case, “5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2)), and
monitoring the paging occasion on a basis of the UE_ID calculated by using the second formula (the calculated UE_ID is used to determine the paging frame and paging occasion to be monitored (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication method disclosed by Hwang et al. to use a second formula in case that as disclosed by Samsung to reduce the information requirement for transmitting the UE_ID.
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 11 above, Hwang et al., as modified by
Samsung, further disclose wherein the communication apparatus receives, from the base station, a paging message in the paging occasion. (“the UE may receive a paging signal in a PO related to the detected WUS in step S2606” (see Figure 26, paragraph 0406)).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 11 above, Hwang et al. further disclose wherein the subgroup identifier based on the UE_ID calculated by using the first formula is based on the number of the subgroups per the paging occasion, the number of the paging occasions for a paging frame, and a number of the total paging frames in a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (refer to Eq-1-1-a-MTC. The subgroup identifier cg is based on the UE_ID calculated by the first formula. The number of subgroups per paging occasion is represented by NSG/Ns * N where NSG represents the number of subgroups and Ns * N represents the number of paging occasions. The number of paging occasions for a paging frame is represented by Ns, and the number of total paging frames in a DRX cycle is represented by N (see paragraphs 0322-0328)).
However, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the first formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI (Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identifier).
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein a communication apparatus uses a formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI to calculate the UE_ID (“5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. to use TSMI instead of IMSI in calculating the UE_ID as disclosed by Samsung in order to more efficiently calculate the UE_ID and improve network security.
Claims 4-5, 9-10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2020/0396687 A1) in view of Samsung (“UE Identity for Paging Subgrouping”) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2015/0103768 A1).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 3 above, Hwang et al. as modified by Samsung fail to disclose wherein in the first formula, 8192 is used as a fixed value.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen et al. disclose a communication apparatus wherein in the first formula, 8192 is used as a fixed value (see Formula IV, the paging indicator PI = (IMSI div 8192)mod NP (see paragraph 0014), where the UE_ID is represented by the IMSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. as modified by Samsung to use 8192 as a fixed value in the first formula in order to accommodate a larger index space.
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the second formula is based on the 5G-S-TMSI.
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein a communication apparatus uses a formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI to calculate the UE_ID (“5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. to use TSMI instead of IMSI in calculating the UE_ID as disclosed by Samsung, as modified by Chen et al., in order to minimize processing demand and improve network
security.
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, Hwang et al. as modified by Samsung fail to disclose wherein in the first formula, 8192 is used as a fixed value.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen et al. disclose a communication apparatus wherein in the first formula, 8192 is used as a fixed value (see Formula IV, the paging indicator PI = (IMSI div 8192)mod NP (see paragraph 0014), where the UE_ID is represented by the IMSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. as modified by Samsung to use 8192 as a fixed value in the first formula in order to accommodate a larger index space.
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 9 above, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the second formula is based on the 5G-S-TMSI.
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein a communication apparatus uses a formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI to calculate the UE_ID (“5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. to use TSMI instead of IMSI in calculating the UE_ID as disclosed by Samsung, as modified by Chen et al., in order to minimize processing demand and improve network security.
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 13 above, Hwang et al. as modified by Samsung fail to disclose wherein in the first formula, 8192 is used as a fixed value.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen et al. disclose a communication apparatus wherein in the first formula, 8192 is used as a fixed value (see Formula IV, the paging indicator PI = (IMSI div 8192)mod NP (see paragraph 0014), where the UE_ID is represented by the IMSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. as modified by Samsung to use 8192 as a fixed value in the first formula in order to accommodate a larger index space.
Consider claim 15, and as applied to claim 14 above, Hwang et al. fail to disclose wherein the second formula is based on the 5G-S-TMSI.
In the same field of endeavor, Samsung discloses wherein a communication apparatus uses a formula is based on a 5G-S-TMSI to calculate the UE_ID (“5G-S-TMSI mod 1024*P should be used as UE identity in determining the subgroups based on UE identity” (see Section 2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication apparatus disclosed by Hwang et al. to use TSMI instead of IMSI in calculating the UE_ID as disclosed by Samsung, as modified by Chen et al., in order to minimize processing demand and improve network security.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, RAFAEL PEREZ-GUTIERREZ can be reached at (571)272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER WU/
Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642