DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. [CH 21501094U, US 20220360121 used as the English translation document] in view of Baarman et al. [US 20090212637].
As to claim 1. Yin discloses An electronic device, comprising:
a housing, [fig. 2, 0054] housing 6, comprising a first surface facing in a first direction, a second surface facing in a second direction opposite to the first direction, and a side surface between the first surface and the second surface, [fig. 1, 2, 0054] the housing 6 has a shape and size with internal structure for thee units; which requires a top, bottom and side surfaces, which reads on the claimed first, second and third surfaces, respectively, to house the units; wherein the top and bottom surface of the housing reads on the claimed first and second surface; [0055] wherein the top surface is the transmitting surface A0;
a transmission coil unit, [fig. 2, 0054] transmitting coil 1, disposed adjacent to the first surface, [fig. 2, 0055] the coil 1 is disposed close to the transmission surface A0, and comprising a coil wound at least once in a clockwise direction or at least once in a counterclockwise direction, [fig. 2], the clockwise and the counterclockwise directions both being perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, [figs. 2, 3, 0055] the winding direction is perpendicular to the top transmitting surface A0 and bottom face of the housing 6, and the transmission coil unit configured to wirelessly transmit power, [0054] a wireless power transmitting coil 1;
a first magnet, [fig. 2, 0054] magnet unit 3, disposed in a center area inside the housing surrounded by the transmission coil unit, [fig. 2, 0048]; and
a second magnet, [fig. 2, 0054] magnet unit 2, comprising a first end portion oriented toward the first magnet, [fig. 2, 0049] magnet unit 22 oriented toward magnet unit 3, a second end portion facing the side surface, [fig. 2, 0049] magnet unit 22 oriented toward side of the housing 6.
Yin fails to disclose wherein at least a portion of the second magnet overlapping the transmission coil unit in the first direction.
Baarman teaches a magnetic positioning for inductive coupling comprising an inductive power supply 10 comprising a primary magnet 24 positioned in the center of a primary coil 14, [fig. 1, 0042]; wherein the device further comprises a supplemental magnet 60 coaxially aligned with the primary magnet 24, [fig. 6, 0055]; wherein a portion of the supplemental magnet 60 overlaps the coil 14 in the first direction, [fig. 6].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yin with that of Baarman so that the components can be arranged to maximize the available space in the housing.
As to claim 2. Yin fails to disclose The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a shielding member formed to surround at least a portion of the transmission coil unit.
Baarman teaches a magnetic positioning for inductive coupling comprising an inductive power supply 10 comprising a primary magnet 24 positioned in the center of a primary coil 14, [fig. 1, 0042]; wherein the device further comprises a supplemental magnet 60 coaxially aligned with the primary magnet 24, and a shield 62, [fig. 6, 0055]; wherein a portion of the supplemental magnet 60 overlaps the coil 14 in the first direction, [fig. 6]; wherein the shield can be implemented to surround the coil 914 on one side, [fig. 26].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yin with that of Baarman so that the shield can shield the magnetic field from the first magnet from interfering with the magnetic field from the coil.
As to claim 3. Yin fails to disclose The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the shielding member is formed in a “U” shape opened in the first direction.
Baarman teaches a magnetic positioning for inductive coupling comprising an inductive power supply 10 comprising a primary magnet 24 positioned in the center of a primary coil 14, [fig. 1, 0042]; wherein the device further comprises a supplemental magnet 60 coaxially aligned with the primary magnet 24, and a shield 62, [fig. 6, 0055]; wherein a portion of the supplemental magnet 60 overlaps the coil 14 in the first direction, [fig. 6]; wherein the shield 962 can shave a ‘U’ shape in the top transmission direction A0, [fig. 26].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yin with that of Baarman so that the shield can shield the magnetic field from the first magnet from interfering with the magnetic field from the coil.
As to claim 4. Yin discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first magnet is configured to form a magnetic field in the first direction, [fig. 1, 0049] magnet 3 has polarity arranged in a vertical direction facing surface A0, and the second magnet is configured to form a magnetic field in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction, [fig. 1, 0049] magnet 2 has polarity arranged in a horizontal direction.
As to claim 5. Yin discloses The electronic device of claim 4, wherein the first magnet and the second magnet at least partially overlap each other in the third direction, [fig. 1] the magnets 2 and 3 partially overlap in the horizontal direction.
As to claim 6. Yin discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first magnet is formed as a cylindrical magnet, [fig. 2], and the second magnet is formed as a toroidal shaped magnet to surround the first magnet, [fig. 2].
As to claim 7. Yin discloses The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the second magnet comprises at least two magnets, [fig. 1].
As to claim 8. Yin discloses The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the second magnet is disposed in a Halbach shape, [figs. 1, 2].
As to claim 11. Yin discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second end portion of the second magnet extends to a position corresponding to an outer diameter of the transmission coil unit, [fig. 2].
As to claim 12. Yin discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second magnet has a predetermined width in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, [fig. 2].
Yin fails to disclose wherein the width of the second magnet corresponds to a width of the transmission coil unit.
Baarman teaches a magnetic positioning for inductive coupling comprising an inductive power supply 10 comprising a primary magnet 24 positioned in the center of a primary coil 14, [fig. 1, 0042]; wherein the device further comprises a supplemental magnet 60 coaxially aligned with the primary magnet 24, [fig. 6, 0055]; wherein a portion of the supplemental magnet 60 overlaps the coil 14 in the first direction, [fig. 6]; wherein the width of the second magnet 60 can correspond to the width of the coil 14, [fig. 5].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yin with that of Baarman so that the components can be arranged to maximize the available space in the housing.
As to claim 13. Yin discloses The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first end portion of the second magnet is a predetermined distance spaced apart from the first magnet, [figs. 1, 2].
As to claim 14. Yin discloses An electronic device comprising:
a housing, [fig. 2, 0054] housing 6, including a first surface facing in a first direction, a second surface facing in a second direction opposite to the first direction, and a side surface between the first surface and the second surface, [fig. 1, 2, 0054] the housing 6 has a shape and size with internal structure for thee units; which requires a top, bottom and side surfaces, which reads on the claimed first, second and third surfaces, respectively, to house the units; wherein the top and bottom surface of the housing reads on the claimed first and second surface; [0055] wherein the top surface is the transmitting surface A0,
a transmission coil unit, [fig. 2, 0054] transmitting coil 1, disposed adjacent to the first surface, [fig. 2, 0055] the coil 1 is disposed close to the transmission surface A0, and including a coil wound at least once in a clockwise direction or at least once in a counterclockwise direction, [fig. 2], the clockwise and the counterclockwise directions both being perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, [figs. 2, 3, 0055] the winding direction is perpendicular to the top transmitting surface A0 and bottom face of the housing 6, and the transmission coil unit configured to wirelessly transmit power, [0054] a wireless power transmitting coil 1,
a cylindrical first magnet [figs. 1, 2, 0054] magnet unit 3, disposed in a center area inside the housing surrounded by the transmission coil unit, [fig. 2, 0048], to form a magnetic field in the first direction, [fig. 1, 0049] magnet 3 has polarity arranged in a vertical direction facing surface A0, and
a toroidal shape second magnet, [fig. 2, 0054] magnet unit 2, including a first end portion oriented toward the first magnet, [fig. 2], a second end portion facing the side surface, [fig. 2], to form a magnetic field in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction, [fig. 1, 0049] magnet 2 has polarity arranged in a horizontal direction, and
at least a portion disposed to be stacked with the transmission coil unit in the first direction, [fig. 1] the component below the magnet 3 and the coil 1, the second magnet including at least two magnets, [fig. 2].
Yin fails to disclose the electronic device further comprising a shielding member formed to surround at least a portion of the transmission coil unit and having a “U” shape open in the first direction, wherein the first magnet is surrounded by the shielding member, and at least a portion of the second magnet overlapping the transmission coil unit in the first direction.
Baarman teaches a magnetic positioning for inductive coupling comprising an inductive power supply 10 comprising a primary magnet 24 positioned in the center of a primary coil 14, [fig. 1, 0042]; wherein the device further comprises a supplemental magnet 60 coaxially aligned with the primary magnet 24, and a shield 62, [fig. 6, 0055]; wherein a portion of the supplemental magnet 60 overlaps the coil 14 in the first direction, [fig. 6]; wherein the shield 962 can shave a ‘U’ shape in the top transmission direction A0, [fig. 26].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yin with that of Baarman so that the shield can shield the magnetic field from the first magnet from interfering with the magnetic field from the coil.
As to claims 15, 16, 18-20 are rejected using arts and reasoning as to that of claims 5, 8, 11-13, respectively.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Baarman as applied to claims 1, 14 above, further in view of Hidaka et al. [US 20140091758].
As to claim 9. The combination of Yin and Baarman fails to disclose The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a substrate, wherein the second magnet is disposed in a space between a shielding member and the substrate.
Hidaka teaches communication apparatus comprising a non-contact charging module 41, [figs. 3, 4, 0082], comprising a circular first magnet 30a, a coil 2a, and a second magnet 3a, [fig. 4, 0090]; wherein the charging module comprises a substrate 103 below all the components of the charging module 42, [fig. 28, 0415].
As the shielding member 62 of Baarman is between the second magnet 60 and the first magnet 24, the second magnet 62 of the combination of Yin and Baarman will be between the substrate and the shield.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yin and Baarman with that of Hidaka so that the substrate can be used to dissipate the heat generated.
As to claim 10. The combination of Yin and Baarman fails to disclose The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the first magnet and the second magnet are disposed on the substrate.
Hidaka teaches communication apparatus comprising a non-contact charging module 41, [figs. 3, 4, 0082], comprising a circular first magnet 30a, a coil 2a, and a second magnet 3a, [fig. 4, 0090]; wherein the charging module comprises a substrate 103 below all the components of the charging module 42, including the first magnet 30a and the second magnet 3a, [fig. 28, 0415].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Yin and Baarman with that of Hidaka so that the substrate can be used to dissipate the heat generated.
As to claim 17 is rejected using arts and reasoning as to that of claim 9.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688