DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, FIGS. 1-9, 16-18 and 20-25, for examination on which claims 1-20 are readable in the reply filed on 07/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 | 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WI KR 100678696 B1 [WI].
Regarding claim 1, WI teaches A magnetic element assembly [20] comprising: a magnetic member [see the annular member between grooves 40 and 42, figs. 7-8] having a circular ring shape [see the annular member between grooves 40 and 42, figs. 7-8] or an arc shape [part of the annular member between grooves 40 and 42, figs. 7-8]; and at least one focusing member [23] made of a ferromagnetic material [cores 23 are ferrite], connected to the magnetic member [see the annular member between grooves 40 and 42, figs. 7-8] and configured to adjust distribution of a magnetic force in a peripheral space [Since the ferrite core assembly 20 configured as described above is installed in the outer ceiling 12 of the plasma reaction chamber 10, the magnetic field 15 focused on the plurality of rod-like ferrite cores 23 is adjacent to two annular ferrite cores. Radial 15 is guided into the plasma reaction chamber 10 through the 21 and 22], wherein the at least one focusing member [23] further comprises: a connection portion [the part 23] connected to the magnetic member [see the annular member between grooves 40 and 42, figs. 7-8]; and at least one focusing portion extending downward from the connection portion [see ferrite cores 21, 22, figs. 7-8].
Regarding claim 2, WI teaches The magnetic element assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one focusing member [23] comprises a plurality of focusing members [23, figs. 7-8] provided on the magnetic member [see the annular member between grooves 40 and 42, figs. 7-8].
Regarding claim 3, WI teaches The magnetic element assembly of claim 2, wherein spacing distances [see distances between elements 23] between adjacent focusing members [23] of the plurality of focusing members [23] are substantially the same [fig. 7].
Regarding claim 4, WI teaches The magnetic element assembly of claim 2, wherein the plurality of focusing members [elements 23] comprise a first number of focusing members [23] in a first region [the two 23s to the left] of the magnetic member [the annular member between grooves 40 and 42, figs. 7-8] and a second number of focusing members [23] in a second region of the magnetic member [the three or four 23s to the right, fig. 7], the second number of focusing members being different from the first number of focusing members [two different from four].
Regarding claim 16, WI teaches The magnetic element assembly of claim 1, wherein the connection portion [23] has a circular shape [elements 23 make a circular shape, fig. 7] or an arc shape corresponding to the shape of the magnetic member [four of element 23 make an arc shape, fig. 7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 | 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WI KR 100678696 B1 [WI].
Regarding claims 5 | 13-15, WI discloses the claimed invention and teaches that the focusing member has a shape but silent about at least one of the plurality of focusing members has a structure that is different from a structure of at least one remaining focusing members of the plurality of focusing members, or at least a portion of the at least one focusing portion has a bent structure, or at least a portion of the at least one focusing portion has a zigzag shape, or the at least one focusing portion is inclined with respect to a direction orthogonal to a length direction of the connection portion. The particular claimed configuration is just one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing mating surfaces. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47, 50 (CCPA 1966). See also Glue Co. v. Upton 97 US 3,24 (USSC 1878).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior arts of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of -
Claim 17: A magnetic element assembly comprising: a magnetic member having a circular ring shape or an arc; and a focusing member made of a ferromagnetic material, connected to the magnetic member, and configured to adjust distribution of a magnetic force in a peripheral space, wherein the focusing member comprises: a connection portion connected to the magnetic member; an inner focusing portion extending downward from an inner end portion of the connection portion; and an outer focusing portion extending downward from an outer end portion of the connection portion, and wherein the inner end portion of the connection portion is nearer to a center of the magnetic member than the outer end portion of the connection portion.
Claims 18-20: A magnetic element assembly comprising: a magnetic member having a circular ring shape or an arc shape; and a plurality of focusing members made of a ferromagnetic material, connected to the magnetic member, and configured to adjust distribution of a magnetic force in a peripheral space, and wherein each of the plurality of focusing members comprises: a connection portion connected to the magnetic member; an inner focusing portion extending downward from an inner end portion of the connection portion; and an outer focusing portion extending downward from an outer end portion of the connection portion, and wherein a lower end of at least one focusing portion of the plurality of focusing portions is below a lower surface of the magnetic member.
Claims 6-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior arts of record when considered as a whole, alone or in combination neither anticipates nor renders obvious the combination of –
Regarding claim 6: a lower end of the at least one focusing portion is below a lower surface of the magnetic member.
Regarding claim 7: the connection portion is on an upper surface of the magnetic member, wherein the at least one focusing portion comprises: an inner focusing portion extending downward from an inner end portion of the connection portion; and an outer focusing portion extending downward from an outer end portion of the connection portion, and wherein the inner end portion of the connection portion is nearer to a center of the magnetic member than the outer end portion of the connection portion.
Regarding claim 11: the connection portion comprises: an inner portion contacting the magnetic member and extending radially outward with respect to a center of the magnetic member; and an outer portion spaced apart from the magnetic member, and wherein the at least one focusing portion extends downward from the outer portion of the connection portion.
Regarding claim 12: the connection portion comprises: an inner portion contacting the magnetic member and extending radially inward with respect to a center of the magnetic member; and an outer portion spaced apart from the magnetic member, and wherein the at least one focusing portion extends downward from the outer portion of the connection portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See (PTO-892).
/Mohamad A Musleh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837