DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-7 and 11-17 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement dated 07/01/2026 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
3. In light of the amendments to the claims, the claim objections of claims 1-10 are withdrawn.
4. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/01/226, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7, 10-17 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments to the claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al, WO2018/232090 Al in view of Bhamri et al, US 2023/0396307.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-7, 10-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al, WO2018/232090 Al hereafter Xi in view of Bhamri et al, US 2023/0396307 hereafter Bhamri.
As for claim 1, Xi discloses:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the process is configured to:
receive configuration information from a network indicating first reporting behavior and second reporting behavior to be applied when reporting measurements associated with a beam, (Fig. 16, 1602, [00119], [00154]-[00155], [00205], [00212]-[00213], Receiving configuration information from configured by a TRP or gNB indicating one or more specific measurement settings for the UE to perform reporting beam measurement information or beam related information may be periodic or aperiodic. The Examiner interprets first reporting behavior and second reporting behavior to correspond to settings such as periodic or aperiodic and other parameters disclosed in [00212] and Table 2 on pages 26-27)
wherein the configuration information indicates a condition associated with a speed of the WTRU ([00201], a WTRU may be configured for multi-level beam reporting for different WTRU conditions such as a configured UL channel, WTRU speed, WTRU service type, or the like. Also pages 25-27, Table 2, The triggered event is WTRU speed) and a location of the WTRU ([0050], provide location information (e.g., longitude and latitude) regarding the current location of the WTRU 102.)
determine whether the condition associated with the speed of the WTRU (FIG. 16, 1606, [00201], a WTRU may be configured for multi-level beam reporting for different WTRU conditions such as a configured UL channel, WTRU speed, WTRU service type, or the like. pages 25-27, Table 2, The triggered event is WTRU speed) or the location of the WTRU has been satisfied ([0050], provide location information (e.g., longitude and latitude) regarding the current location of the WTRU 102. [00112], When the WTRU is in the location A, that may be near the middle of narrow beam 11, the serving beam quality, such as L1-RSRP above certain threshold, may be sufficient and the WTRU may be configured to skip measurement of neighbor beams)
and
send a report indicating the beam measurements of the candidate set of cells using the first reporting behavior or the second reporting behavior ([00119], [00154]-[00155], [00213], The UE to perform reporting/sending beam measurement information or beam related information may be periodic or aperiodic. The Examiner interprets first reporting behavior and second reporting behavior to correspond to settings such as periodic or aperiodic) based on whether the condition associated with one or more of the speed of the WTRU ([00201], a WTRU may be configured for multi-level beam reporting for different WTRU conditions such as a configured UL channel, WTRU speed, WTRU service type, or the like. pages 25-27, Table 2, The triggered event is WTRU speed) and a location of the WTRU ([0050], provide location information (e.g., longitude and latitude) regarding the current location of the WTRU 102. [00112], When the WTRU is in the location A, that may be near the middle of narrow beam 11, the serving beam quality, such as L1-RSRP above certain threshold, may be sufficient and the WTRU may be configured to skip measurement of neighbor beams)
Xi does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information indicates a condition associated with a location of the WTRU relative to a waypoint, wherein the waypoint represents a three-dimensional physical location;… determine whether the condition associated with the location of the WTRU relative to the waypoint has been satisfied…the location WTRU relative to the waypoint.
However, Bhamri discloses wherein the configuration information indicates a condition associated with a speed of the WTRU (Bhamri, [0058], configuration depends speed and on the UE's current position relative to either one or more TRPs and/or relative to other nodes in the system) and a location of the WTRU relative to a waypoint, (Bhamri, [0080], A UE may report the predetermined route (otherwise estimated or calculated trajectory containing future location coordinates) in the form of waypoints with a fixed distance between each waypoint. [0081] The waypoint configuration can be reported semi-statically by the UE or LMF to the gNB and can include the length of waypoints, the 2D/3D location of each waypoint, the expected time at each waypoint, the expected orientation at each waypoint, the UE heading, and other waypoint information. [0085] The beam configuration can contain the following: common beam ID for a location coordinate or range of coordinates or relative position with respect to one or multiple TRPs) wherein the waypoint represents a three-dimensional physical location (Bhamri, [0081], The waypoint configuration includes the 2D/3D location of each waypoint);…determine whether the condition associated with the speed of the WTRU or the location of the WTRU relative to the waypoint has been satisfied (Bhamri, [0084] a particular waypoint may have a candidate set of available Tx beams from the same/different gNB. The UE may select the best beam from this candidate set based on pre-defined criteria such UE's orientation and/or speed at that waypoint, L1-RSRP/RSRQ/RSSI measurements of configured RS-signals, or other criteria.)…the location WTRU relative to the waypoint (Bhamri, [0080], A UE may report the predetermined route (otherwise estimated or calculated trajectory containing future location coordinates) in the form of waypoints with a fixed distance between each waypoint. [0081] The waypoint configuration can be reported semi-statically by the UE or LMF to the gNB and can include the length of waypoints, the 2D/3D location of each waypoint, the expected time at each waypoint, the expected orientation at each waypoint, the UE heading, and other waypoint information. [0085] The beam configuration can contain the following: common beam ID for a location coordinate or range of coordinates or relative position with respect to one or multiple TRPs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xi with the configuration information indicates a condition associated with a location of the WTRU relative to a waypoint, wherein the waypoint represents a three-dimensional physical location;… determine whether the condition associated with the location of the WTRU relative to the waypoint has been satisfied…the location WTRU relative to the waypoint as taught by Bhamri enable low latency, accurate and efficient beam-based transmissions for mobile UEs. (Bhamri, [0017])
As for claim 2, Xi discloses wherein the beam measurements of the candidate set of cells are reported using the first reporting behavior ([00119], [00154]-[00155], [00213], The UE to perform reporting/sending beam measurement information or beam related information may be periodic or aperiodic.) when the condition associated with one or more of the height of the WTRU, the speed of the WTRU, or has not been satisfied ([00201], a WTRU may be configured for multi-level beam reporting for different WTRU conditions such as a configured UL channel, WTRU speed, WTRU service type, or the like. pages 25-27, Table 2, The triggered event is WTRU speed)
As for claim 3, Xi discloses wherein the beam measurements of the candidate set of cells are reported using the second reporting behavior ([00119], [00154]-[00155], [00213], The UE to perform reporting/sending beam measurement information or beam related information may be periodic or aperiodic.) when the condition associated with one or more of the height of the WTRU, the speed of the WTRU has been satisfied. ([00201], a WTRU may be configured for multi-level beam reporting for different WTRU conditions such as a configured UL channel, WTRU speed, WTRU service type, or the like. pages 25-27, Table 2, The triggered event is WTRU speed)
As for claim 4, Xi discloses wherein the first reporting behavior comprises a first reporting periodicity. ([00154]-[00155], Beam measurement information or beam related information may be periodic or aperiodic as configured by a TRP or gNB.)
As for claim 5, Xi discloses wherein the second reporting behavior comprises a second reporting periodicity. ([00154]-[00155], Beam measurement information or beam related information may be periodic or aperiodic as configured by a TRP or gNB.)
As for claim 6, Xi discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine a reporting interval to send the measurements based on the condition. ([00213], Event triggers may be configured and defined by utilizing a RS-specific timer and threshold values.)
As for claim 7, Xi discloses wherein the reporting interval is associated with event-based reporting or periodic reporting. ([00155], The unified BM measurement and reporting may be periodic, aperiodic, semi-persistent, or based on an event trigger. An event trigger may be based on a RS-specific timer or threshold values.)
As for claim 10, Xi discloses the speed of the WTRU comprises a relative speed of the WTRU. ([00201], a WTRU may be configured for multi-level beam reporting for different WTRU conditions such as a configured UL channel, WTRU speed, WTRU service type, or the like. pages 25-27, Table 2, The triggered event is WTRU speed)
As for claims 11-17, these claims are analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-7 because the corresponding apparatus claims 1-7 can be used to practice the apparatus of claims 11-17.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2021/0159965 discloses [0047]… UAV 105 may travel to a first beam location based on the provided starting waypoint. The antenna array 103-1 may be configured to activate the first beam based on previous calculations of when the UAV 105 is to reach the starting waypoint, the antenna array having already activated the first beam before the UAV 105 has reached the starting waypoint, real-time tracking of the UAV 105.
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469