DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/440,644 filed on 05/21/2026 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (U.S 11184332, Nov. 23, 2021) in view of Nakamura (US 20200342448. Oct. 29, 2020).
Regarding Claim 1, Jeong discloses a communication apparatus comprising: one or more processors that execute instructions to function as: a search unit that searches for one or more connectable networks (Column 10, line 10-15, transmit test data including the identification information of the external electronic device to the server via each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device);
an exclusion unit that excludes information regarding a connectable wireless network whose network encryption scheme is a predetermined encryption scheme from information regarding the connectable networks(column 3, line 20-30, the encrypted response based on the predetermined encryption scheme(encryption scheme), the identification information of the electronic device include an IP address of the electronic device, the server router configured to transmit the encrypted response to another router, the control method further include, when authentication of the electronic device is performed, registering the identification information including the IP address of the electronic device in the encryption mode transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable(connectable wireless network) with the user terminal device);
a transmitter that transmits to an external apparatus the information regarding the connectable networks except for the information regarding the connectable wireless network excluded by the exclusion unit(Column 3, line 30-35, transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device, and identifying a risk level of each network based on a response time at which response data for the test data is obtained(the information regarding the network excluded));
and a connection unit that connects to the selected network based on the information regarding the selected network received by the receiver and information regarding the communication parameter (Column 2, line 20-35, the processor controls the user terminal device provide the list of networks on the display and execute the encryption mode when a network selected from the list of networks exceeds a predetermined risk level).
Jeong discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a receiver that receives information regarding a network selected by the external apparatus based on the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network.
Nakamura is the same field of invention teaches a receiver that receives information regarding a network selected by the external apparatus based on the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network(page 16, par(0132), line10-20, management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal, and that comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network).
Jeong and Nakamura are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network the teaching of Jeong to include the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network the teaching of Nakamura because it is providing a key to the decryption unit is a timing immediately before the decryption unit performs the decryption processing.
Regarding Claim 2, Jeong discloses wherein the exclusion unit excludes the information regarding the connectable wireless network based on information regarding an encryption scheme held in advance (Column 19, line 30-45, the encryption mode changed into various forms; the user terminal device provides a connectable WiFi list. An "advanced" setting provided on a screen with the connectable WiFi list).
Regarding Claim 3, Jeong discloses wherein the exclusion unit excludes the information regarding the connectable wireless network based on information regarding an encryption scheme transmitted from the external apparatus(Column 10, line 10-15, identifiable Wi-Fi list in the user terminal device in a current state, when three Wi-Fi lists are provided in the list of connectable networks, the processor use each of the provided three Wi-Fi to transmit the test data to the server so as to transmit the test data to the external electronic device registered in the encryption mode(predetermined encryption scheme)).
Regarding Claim 4, Jeong discloses a communication apparatus comprising one or more processors that execute instructions to function as an acquisition unit that acquires information regarding one or more connectable networks for the external apparatus(Column 10, line 10-15, transmit test data including the identification information of the external electronic device to the server via each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device);
and an exclusion unit that excludes information regarding a connectable wireless network whose network encryption scheme is a predetermined encryption scheme from information regarding the connectable networks for the external apparatus(column 3, line 20-30, the encrypted response based on the predetermined encryption scheme(encryption scheme), the identification information of the electronic device include an IP address of the electronic device, the server router configured to transmit the encrypted response to another router, the control method further include, when authentication of the electronic device is performed, registering the identification information including the IP address of the electronic device in the encryption mode transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable(connectable wireless network) with the user terminal device);
a display unit that displays a list of information regarding the connectable networks for the external apparatus, except for the information regarding the connectable wireless network excluded by the exclusion unit(Column 3, line 30-35, transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device, and identifying a risk level of each network based on a response time at which response data for the test data is obtained(the information regarding the network excluded));
and a transmitter that transmits information regarding the selected network and the communication parameter to the external apparatus (Column 2, line 20-35, the processor controls the user terminal device provide the list of networks on the display and execute the encryption mode when a network selected from the list of networks exceeds a predetermined risk level).
Jeong discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except an operation unit that prompts a user to select a network from the displayed list of information regarding networks, and to prompt the user to enter a communication parameter used to connect to the selected network.
Nakamura is the same field of invention teaches an operation unit that prompts a user to select a network from the displayed list of information regarding networks, and to prompt the user to enter a communication parameter used to connect to the selected network(page 16, par(0132), line10-20, management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal, and that comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network).
Jeong and Nakamura are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network the teaching of Jeong to include the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network the teaching of Nakamura because it is providing a key to the decryption unit is a timing immediately before the decryption unit performs the decryption processing.
Regarding Claim 5, Jeong discloses the exclusion unit excludes the information regarding the connectable wireless network based on information regarding an encryption scheme held in advance (Column 19, line 30-45, the encryption mode changed into various forms; the user terminal device provides a connectable WiFi list. An "advanced" setting provided on a screen with the connectable WiFi list).
Regarding Claim 6, Jeong discloses wherein the exclusion unit excludes the information regarding the connectable wireless network based on information regarding an encryption scheme acquired from an outside(Column 10, line 10-15, identifiable Wi-Fi list in the user terminal device in a current state, when three Wi-Fi lists are provided in the list of connectable networks, the processor use each of the provided three Wi-Fi to transmit the test data to the server so as to transmit the test data to the external electronic device registered in the encryption mode(predetermined encryption scheme)).
Regarding Claim 8, Jeong discloses a system including a first communication apparatus and a second communication apparatus that communicates with the first communication apparatus(Column 10, line 10-15, transmit test data including the identification information of the external electronic device to the server via each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device), the system comprising one or more processors that execute instructions to function as an exclusion unit that excludes information regarding a connectable wireless network whose network encryption scheme is a predetermined encryption scheme in at least one of the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus(column 3, line 20-30, the encrypted response based on the predetermined encryption scheme(encryption scheme), the identification information of the electronic device include an IP address of the electronic device, the server router configured to transmit the encrypted response to another router, the control method further include, when authentication of the electronic device is performed, registering the identification information including the IP address of the electronic device in the encryption mode transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable(connectable wireless network) with the user terminal device), from information regarding one or more connectable networks for the first communication apparatus, the second communication apparatus comprising a display unit that displays a list of information regarding the connectable networks for the first apparatus(Column 3, line 30-35, transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device, and identifying a risk level of each network based on a response time at which response data for the test data is obtained(the information regarding the network excluded)), and a transmitter that transmits to the first communication apparatus the information regarding the selected network and the communication parameter(Column 2, line 20-35, the processor controls the user terminal device provide the list of networks on the display and execute the encryption mode when a network selected from the list of networks exceeds a predetermined risk level).
Jeong discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except for the information regarding the connectable wireless network excluded by the exclusion unit; an operation unit that prompts a user to select a network from the displayed list of information regarding networks, and to prompt the user to enter a communication parameter used to connect to the selected network.
Nakamura is the same field of invention teaches the information regarding the connectable wireless network excluded by the exclusion unit; an operation unit that prompts a user to select a network from the displayed list of information regarding networks, and to prompt the user to enter a communication parameter used to connect to the selected network(page 16, par(0132), line10-20, management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal, and that comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network).
Jeong and Nakamura are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network the teaching of Jeong to include the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network the teaching of Nakamura because it is providing a key to the decryption unit is a timing immediately before the decryption unit performs the decryption processing.
Regarding Claim 9, Jeong discloses a method for controlling a system including a first communication apparatus and a second communication apparatus that communicates with the first communication apparatus(Column 10, line 10-15, transmit test data including the identification information of the external electronic device to the server via each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device), the method comprising excluding information regarding a connectable wireless network through which communication is performed using whose network encryption scheme is a predetermined encryption scheme in at least one of the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus(column 3, line 20-30, the encrypted response based on the predetermined encryption scheme(encryption scheme), the identification information of the electronic device include an IP address of the electronic device, the server router configured to transmit the encrypted response to another router, the control method further include, when authentication of the electronic device is performed, registering the identification information including the IP address of the electronic device in the encryption mode transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable(connectable wireless network) with the user terminal device), from information regarding one or more connectable networks for the first communication apparatus, displaying, on a display unit of the second communication apparatus(Column 3, line 30-35, transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device, and identifying a risk level of each network based on a response time at which response data for the test data is obtained(the information regarding the network excluded)),
a list of information regarding the connectable networks for the first apparatus, except for the information regarding the connectable wireless excluded network(Column 3, line 30-35, transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device, and identifying a risk level of each network based on a response time at which response data for the test data is obtained(the information regarding the network excluded));
and transmitting the information regarding the selected network and the communication parameter from the second communication apparatus to the first communication apparatus (Column 2, line 20-35, the processor controls the user terminal device provide the list of networks on the display and execute the encryption mode when a network selected from the list of networks exceeds a predetermined risk level).
Jeong discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except the second communication apparatus, prompting a user to select a network from the list of information regarding networks displayed on the display unit; in the second communication apparatus, prompting the user to enter a communication parameter used to connect to the selected network.
the second communication apparatus, prompting a user to select a network from the list of information regarding networks displayed on the display unit; in the second communication apparatus, prompting the user to enter a communication parameter used to connect to the selected network(page 16, par(0132), line10-20, management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal, and that comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network).
Jeong and Nakamura are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network the teaching of Jeong to include the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network the teaching of Nakamura because it is providing a key to the decryption unit is a timing immediately before the decryption unit performs the decryption processing.
Regarding Claim 10, Jeong discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the storage medium storing a program that is executable by a computer, wherein the program includes program code for causing the computer to function as a communication apparatus comprising a search unit that searches for one or more connectable networks(Column 10, line 10-15, transmit test data including the identification information of the external electronic device to the server via each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device);
an exclusion unit that excludes information regarding a connectable wireless network through which communication is performed using whose network encryption scheme is a predetermined encryption scheme from information regarding the connectable networks(column 3, line 20-30, the encrypted response based on the predetermined encryption scheme(encryption scheme), the identification information of the electronic device include an IP address of the electronic device, the server router configured to transmit the encrypted response to another router, the control method further include, when authentication of the electronic device is performed, registering the identification information including the IP address of the electronic device in the encryption mode transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable(connectable wireless network) with the user terminal device);
a transmitter that transmits to an external apparatus the information regarding the connectable networks except for the information regarding the connectable wireless network excluded by the exclusion unit(Column 3, line 30-35, transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device, and identifying a risk level of each network based on a response time at which response data for the test data is obtained(the information regarding the network excluded));
and a connection unit that connects to the selected network based on the information regarding the selected network received by the receiver and information regarding the communication parameter (Column 2, line 20-35, the processor controls the user terminal device provide the list of networks on the display and execute the encryption mode when a network selected from the list of networks exceeds a predetermined risk level).
Jeong discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a receiver that receives information regarding a network selected by the external apparatus based on the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network.
Nakamura is the same field of invention teaches a receiver that receives information regarding a network selected by the external apparatus based on the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network(page 16, par(0132), line10-20, management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal, and that comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network).
Jeong and Nakamura are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network the teaching of Jeong to include the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network the teaching of Nakamura because it is providing a key to the decryption unit is a timing immediately before the decryption unit performs the decryption processing.
Regarding Claim 11, Jeong discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the storage medium storing a program that is executable by a computer, wherein the program includes program code for causing the computer to function as a communication apparatus comprising an acquisition unit that acquires information regarding one or more connectable networks for the external apparatus(Column 10, line 10-15, transmit test data including the identification information of the external electronic device to the server via each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device);
an exclusion unit that excludes information regarding a connectable wireless network whose network encryption scheme is a predetermined encryption scheme from information regarding the connectable networks for the external apparatus(column 3, line 20-30, the encrypted response based on the predetermined encryption scheme(encryption scheme), the identification information of the electronic device include an IP address of the electronic device, the server router configured to transmit the encrypted response to another router, the control method further include, when authentication of the electronic device is performed, registering the identification information including the IP address of the electronic device in the encryption mode transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable(connectable wireless network) with the user terminal device);
a display unit that displays a list of information regarding the connectable networks for the external apparatus, except for the information regarding the connectable wireless network excluded by the exclusion unit(Column 3, line 30-35, transmitting test data including the identification information of the electronic device to the server through each network included in a list of networks connectable with the user terminal device, and identifying a risk level of each network based on a response time at which response data for the test data is obtained(the information regarding the network excluded));
and a transmitter that transmits information regarding the selected network and the communication parameter to the external apparatus (Column 2, line 20-35, the processor controls the user terminal device provide the list of networks on the display and execute the encryption mode when a network selected from the list of networks exceeds a predetermined risk level).
Jeong discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except an operation unit that prompts a user to select a network from the displayed list of information regarding networks, and to prompt the user to enter a communication parameter used to connect to the selected network.
Nakamura is the same field of invention teaches an operation unit that prompts a user to select a network from the displayed list of information regarding networks, and to prompt the user to enter a communication parameter used to connect to the selected network(page 16, par(0132), line10-20, management device that performs management of generation of the virtual currency data in the user terminal, and that comprises a management device transmission and reception means that transmits and receives data via the network, and the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network).
Jeong and Nakamura are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the transmitted information regarding networks, and a communication parameter for connecting to the selected network the teaching of Jeong to include the management device information processing that performs information processing; with the user terminal and the management device each being connectable to the network the teaching of Nakamura because it is providing a key to the decryption unit is a timing immediately before the decryption unit performs the decryption processing.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. However, the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of over Jeong et al. (U.S 11184332, Nov. 23, 2021) and Nakamura (US 20200342448. Oct. 29, 2020).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claim 7 is incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 4 would be allowable if (i) claim 7 is incorporated into the independent claim 4.
Claim 8 would be allowable if (i) claim 7 is incorporated into the independent claim 8.
Claim 9 would be allowable if (i) claim 7 is incorporated into the independent claim 9.
Claim 10 would be allowable if (i) claim 7 is incorporated into the independent claim 10.
Claim 11 would be allowable if (i) claim 7 is incorporated into the independent claim 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464