DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wong (US 20220162762 A1).
Claim 1: Wong discloses a product (see e.g. abstract), comprising: a gasket (see e.g. #402 on Fig 4) comprising a resiliently deformable (PTFE, which the instant specification states is a suitable material, see e.g. [0091]) electrically insulative portion (see e.g. #408 on Fig 4), and an electrically conductive layer formed directly on the electrically insulative portion (see e.g. #409 on Fig 4).
Claim 2: Wong discloses that the electrically conductive layer has physical characteristics of formation on the electrically insulative portion by physical vapor deposition (see e.g. [0155]).
Claim 3: Wong discloses that the electrically insulative portion comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (see e.g. [0091]).
Claim 4: Wong discloses that the electrically conductive layer comprises a material selected from the group consisting of copper, gold, or silver (see e.g. [0091]).
Claim 5: Wong discloses that part of the electrically insulative portion can be hydrophilic (see e.g. [0082]; [0083]).
Claim 6: Wong discloses that the electrically insulative portion is hydrophobic (see e.g. [0091]).
Claim 7: Wong discloses that the electrically conductive layer comprises a metal (see e.g. [0091]).
Claim 8: Wong discloses that the metal is selected from the group consisting of copper, gold, or silver (see e.g. [0091]).
Claim 9: Wong discloses that the gasket has an aperture therethrough (see e.g. #356 on Fig 3B).
Claim 10: Wong discloses a flow field (see e.g. #380 on Fig 3B) facing the electrically conductive layer of the gasket (see e.g. #358 on Fig 3B), a gas diffusion layer between the gasket and the flow field and adjacent the aperture (see e.g. #360 on Fig 3B), and a catalyst layer between the gas diffusion layer and the gasket (see e.g. #404 on Fig 4), wherein the catalyst layer overlies a portion of the electrically conductive layer along the aperture (see e.g. #404 and #409 on Fig 4; [0096]).
Claim 11: Wong discloses that an annular perimeter of the catalyst layer overlies the portion of the electrically conductive layer along the aperture (see e.g. [0096]).
Claim 12: Wong discloses that the product is an electrolyzer (see e.g. [0017]).
Claim 13: Wong discloses that the electrolyzer is a CO2 electrolyzer (see e.g. [0135]), wherein the electrically insulative portion comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (see e.g. [0091]), and wherein the electrically conductive layer comprises a metal selected from the group consisting of copper, silver, and gold (see e.g. [0091]).
Claim 14: Wong discloses that the catalyst layer and the electrically conductive layer comprise a same metal (see e.g. [0096]).
Claim 15: Wong discloses that the electrically conductive layer is carbonaceous (see e.g. [0038]).
Claim 16: Wong discloses a method for creating a product, the method comprising: forming an electrically conductive layer on a resiliently deformable (PTFE, which the instant specification states is a suitable material, see e.g. [0091]) electrically insulative portion (see e.g. #408 on Fig 4) via physical vapor deposition (see e.g. [0155]).
Claim 17: Wong discloses that the electrically insulative portion is formed of polytetrafluoroethylene (see e.g. [0091]).
Claim 18: Wong discloses that the electrically conductive layer comprises a material selected from the group consisting of copper, gold, or silver (see e.g. [0091]).
Claim 19: Wong discloses assembling an electrolyzer that includes the gasket, wherein the electrolyzer includes a flow field (see e.g. #380 on Fig 3B) facing the electrically conductive layer of the gasket (see e.g. #358 on Fig 3B), a gas diffusion layer between the gasket and the flow field and adjacent the aperture (see e.g. #360 on Fig 3B), and a catalyst layer between the gas diffusion layer and the gasket (see e.g. #404 on Fig 4), wherein the catalyst layer overlies a portion of the electrically conductive layer along the aperture (see e.g. #404 and #409 on Fig 4; [0096]).
Claim 20: Wong discloses is a CO2 electrolyzer (see e.g. [0135], wherein the electrically insulative portion comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (see e.g. [0091]), and wherein the electrically conductive layer comprises a metal selected from the group consisting of: a same metal as the catalyst layer (see e.g. [0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Wang et al (US 20220372643 A1).
Claim 21: Wong does not specify the type of PVD done and therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to find a suitable type of PVD for the product. Wong discloses that the electrically insulative portion comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (see e.g. [0091]) and the electrically conductive layer can be copper (see e.g. [0091]), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a) I). Wang teaches that sputtering is a suitable means of applying copper to PTFE (see e.g. [0163]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Wong to use sputtering as the PVD process.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is (571)272-9961. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Luan Van can be reached at 571-272-8521. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER W KEELING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795