DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7, line recite “The multi-sensory tactile system of claim 1, whereon” should be - The multi-sensory tactile system of claim 1, wherein -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-7, 11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over submitted prior arts Cochran et al. (US Patent 7,703,848) in view of Horton (US Patent 2,932,821).
As to claim 1, Cochran teaches a multi-sensory tactile system for soothing a child (abstract; col. 1, line 57 through col. 2, line 2) comprising:
one or more transducers configured to generate vibration output and to mechanically interface with a child support structure (Fig. 2, acoustic output transducer 340, col. 3, lines 22-28 and 47-54; support structure 344);
one or more speakers configured to generate sound audio output (col. 3, lines 24-28 – control unit provides a drive signal such as an amplified audio signal to an acoustic driver or acoustic output transducer such as a loudspeaker … that generates both sound and vibration);
one or more processors coupled to the child support structure and configured to execute computer executable instructions to (Fig. 4, control unit 330 includes a CPU implemented by microprocessor, digital signal processor…MAX5406 audio processor):
cause the one or more transducer (acoustic output transducer 340) to generate a first vibration output corresponding to one or more of a first intensity (col. 6, lines 24-25 - the amount of vibration generated may be increased if the lower frequency components of the drive signal are amplified), a first speed, or a first pattern;
cause one or more speakers (col. 3, lines 23-31) to generate a first audio output corresponding to one or more of a first volume or a first duration (col. 6, lines 40-61);
determine to adjust the first vibration output and the first audio output (col. 7, line 60 through col. 8, line 4);
determine a second vibration output corresponding to one or more of a second intensity, second speed, or a second pattern (col. 7, lines 19-29; col. 7, line 60 through col. 8, line 4);
determine a second audio output corresponding to one or more of a second volume or a second duration (col. 6, lines 40-59); and
cause the one or more transducer to generate the second vibration output (col. 7, lines 19-29; col. 7, line 60 through col. 8, line 4).
Cochran does not explicitly discuss the one or more speaker to generate the second audio output corresponding to one or more of a second duration.
Horton teaches producing an audible buzzing sound or hum accompanied by the transmission of mild vibration created by the buzzing unit of the device (col. 1, lines 42-44); determine a second audio output corresponding to one or more of a second volume or a second duration; and cause the one or more speaker to generate the second audio output (Fig. 3, col. 2, lines 33-47 – the control disc 26 provides with a center button 28 for turning the same between its off position and a selected timed operating position, the control shown being operable for periods up to 30 minutes. To operate the buzzer the control 26 turned from its off position to line up the desired time interval with the indicating arrow 29 and the buzzer sounds for the indicated interval and is automatically stopped upon the expiration of the time set).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Horton into the teachings of Cochran for the purpose of having the one or more speaker to generate the second audio output for turning between off position and a selected timed operating position.
As to claim 2, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 1 further comprising an input device configured to generate input data wherein the input data is coupled to the child support structure (Fig. 2, control unit 330 includes other signal receiving device for receiving a command signal; col. 5, line 10 through col. 6, line 7; col. 6, lines 10-20 and 59-61).
As to claim 3, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 2, wherein the input device is a screen configured to be engaged by a user (Fig. 4, control unit 330 includes user interface 330b and display 330c; col. 5, line 42 through col. 6, line 7).
As to claim 4, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 2, wherein the determination to adjust the first vibration output and the first audio output is based on the input data (col. 7, lines 4-6; col. 7, line 60 through col. 8, line 4).
As to claim 5, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 1 further comprising a sensor configured to generate a response output indicative of the child’s response to one or more of audio output or vibration output (col. 7, lines 16-18 – the vehicle sound and vibration simulator 10 is not limited by the form of the control sensor; col. 2, lines 51-56 – a vehicle sound and vibration simulator 10 for use with infant carrier designed to receive any infant carrier and simulate the sounds and vibration generated by a moving vehicle for the purposes of providing a soothing, comforting, calming, pacifying, and quieting environment for a crying, upset, or otherwise fussing infant; hence the sensor/vibration simulator 10 simulates the sounds and vibration for a crying, upset, or otherwise fussing infant).
As to claim 6, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 5, wherein the determination to adjust the first vibration output and the first audio output is automatically determined based on the response output (col. 7, lines 4-6; col. 7, line 60 through col. 8, line 4).
As to claim 7, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 1, wherein the first audio output corresponds to a first volume (col. 6, lines 40-61), the first vibration output corresponds to a first vibration intensity (col. 6, lines 24-25 - the amount of vibration generated may be increased if the lower frequency components of the drive signal are amplified), and the second vibration output corresponds to a second vibration intensity (col. 7, lines 19-29; col. 7, line 60 through col. 8, line 4), and the second volume and the second vibration intensity are larger than the first volume and the first vibration intensity, respectively (col. 6, lines 40-46 - The predetermined period of time during which the volume is gradually increased may be about 5 to about 15 seconds, and preferably about 10 seconds to avoid startling or otherwise upsetting the infant; col. 7, lines 60-67 - The amount of vibration may be monitored and adjusted to provide a predetermined level of vibration. It may be desirable to vibrate the housing 200 and infant carrier 60 assembly at or near its resonance frequency to maximize the amount of vibration delivered to the infant carrier. The vibration and sounds generated by the sound and vibration simulator 10 soothe, comfort, calm, pacify, and/or quiet the infant). Horton teaches producing an audible buzzing sound or hum accompanied by the transmission of mild vibration created by the buzzing unit of the device (col. 1, lines 42-44); determine a second audio output corresponding to one or more of a second volume or a second duration; and cause the one or more speaker to generate the second audio output (Fig. 3, col. 2, lines 33-47 – the control disc 26 provides with a center button 28 for turning the same between its off position and a selected timed operating position, the control shown being operable for periods up to 30 minutes. To operate the buzzer the control 26 turned from its off position to line up the desired time interval with the indicating arrow 29 and the buzzer sounds for the indicated interval and is automatically stopped upon the expiration of the time set).
As to claim 11, Horton teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 1 further comprising a children’s product (36) is child bassinet (bassinet 36; Fig. 5; col. 2, lines 53-55) having a mattress and a mattress platform (Fig. 5, mattress 34; col. 2, lines 53-55), wherein at least one of the one or more speakers or the one or more transducers is coupled to the mattress platform (col. 2, lines 53-64 – the device placed on the a surface such as the mattress34, the control 26 is turned from its off position to the desired time interval and placed flat on the surface of the mattress adjacent the infant; the buzzing sound emitted by buzzer 20 of transducer 10 accompanied by the mild vibration transmitted from the casing to the mattress 34 has been found to have a remarkable soothing effect on crying infants).
As to claims 13 and 19, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claims 1 and 15, wherein the second vibration output is synced temporally with the second audio/vibration output (claim 1; col. 3, lines 22-31; col. 6, lines 22-30, col. 7, lines 19-29 – generating both sound and vibration from the same drive signal, hence the vibration is synced with the audio temporally).
As to claims 14 and 18, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claims 1 and 15 further comprising a housing, wherein the one or more transducers, the one or more speakers, and the one or more processors are each disposed in the housing (Fig. 2, housing 200 includes acoustic system 300 which includes control unit 330 and Fig. 4, control unit 330 includes transducer 340, audio amplifier 330, CPU 330a; col. 3, lines 22-31).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1. Furthermore, Cochran teaches a multi-sensory tactile system for soothing a child in a car seat coupled with one or more transducers, speakers, processors (col. 3, lines 38-45 - infant vehicle seat; Figs. 1-4 and related text).
As to claim 16, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 15, wherein one or more of the first audio output or second audio output is indicative of car audio (col. 6, lines 10-19 -the audio signal may include a recording of the sounds generated by an actual vehicle, such as a Corvette. These sounds may be recorded by a microphone placed in or the near the vehicle while its engine is running. For example, engine sounds may be recorded by placing a microphone in the exhaust pipe of a vehicle. The recorded sounds may be modified to remove or attenuate some frequencies and boost others; col. 1, lines 9-15 and lines 19-23 - devices for soothing, comforting, calming, pacifying, and/or quieting a crying, upset, or otherwise fussing infant and more particularly, to devices that simulate the sound and vibration of a moving vehicle for the purposes of soothing, comforting, calming, pacifying, and/or quieting an infant and A common and effective solution is to secure the infant in its infant vehicle seat and take the infant for a ride in a vehicle. The security of the infant vehicle seat, together with the vibration and sounds of the engine and road, soothe, comfort, calm, pacify, and/or quiet the infant; col. 2, lines 38-41 and 51-56 – infant vehicle seat which an infant is placed for transporting the infant in a vehicle such as a car or the like and a vehicle sound and vibration simulator 10 for use with the infant carrier 60 (see FIG. 3). The invention is designed to receive any infant carrier and simulate the sounds and vibrations generated by a moving vehicle for the purposes of providing a soothing, comforting, calming, pacifying, and/or quieting environment for the infant; (col. 5, lines 20-29) with control unit 330 may include a user interface 330b to permit the user to choose various modes of operation and various sounds. For example, the user could select the particular drive signal, volume of the drive signal, duration of the drive signal, and the like. As one non-limiting example of possible user selection choices, the user interface includes a set of buttons. Each button may correspond to a particular vehicle sound. For example, one button may correspond to a compact car, another to a luxury car, a third to a truck, and so on; and col. 6, lines 40-61).
As to claim 17, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 15, wherein one or more of the first vibration output or second vibration output is indicative of car vibrations (abstract - a vehicle simulator for simulating the sounds and vibrations generated by a moving vehicle; col. 1, lines 9-15 and lines 19-23 - devices for soothing, comforting, calming, pacifying, and/or quieting a crying, upset, or otherwise fussing infant and more particularly, to devices that simulate the sound and vibration of a moving vehicle for the purposes of soothing, comforting, calming, pacifying, and/or quieting an infant and A common and effective solution is to secure the infant in its infant vehicle seat and take the infant for a ride in a vehicle. The security of the infant vehicle seat, together with the vibration and sounds of the engine and road, soothe, comfort, calm, pacify, and/or quiet the infant; col. 2, lines 51-56 - a vehicle sound and vibration simulator 10 for use with the infant carrier 60 (see FIG. 3). The invention is designed to receive any infant carrier and simulate the sounds and vibrations generated by a moving vehicle for the purposes of providing a soothing, comforting, calming, pacifying, and/or quieting environment for the infant).
As to claim 20, Cochran teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 15, further comprising an input device, wherein the input device coupled to the car seat and configured to receive input data from a user (a vehicle sound and vibration simulator 10 of Fig. 2 for use with the infant carrier 60 of Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, control unit 330 includes user interface 330b and display 330c; col. 5, line 66 through col. 6, line 7).
4. Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over submitted prior arts Cochran and Horton in view of Smudde (2016/0303344).
As to claim 8, Cochran and Horton do not explicitly discuss the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 1, further comprising a playard having a surface configured to support a child.
Smudde teaches one or more direct current (DC) motors with offset or out-of-balance weights is used to provide vibration to the children’s soothing device. The vibrating motor or motors are often attached to the seat of the swing or internal to the playard frame or play surface or other soothing device in manner so that the child can feel the vibrations ([0022]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Smudde into the teachings of Cochran and Horton for the purpose of having the vibrating monitor attached to the playard frame or play surface so that the child can feel the vibrations.
As to claim 9, Cochran, Horton, and Smudde do not explicitly discuss the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 8, wherein the one more transducers are coupled to the surface. However, Cochran teaches the acoustic system 300 includes the control unit 330. The control unit 330 provides a drive signal, such as an amplified audio signal, to an acoustic driver or acoustic output transducer 340 such as a loudspeaker, piezoelectric device, or the like that generates both sound and vibration (col. 3, lines 24-28). Smudde teaches a children's soothing device, such as a motorized swing, a motorized glider, a motorized rocker, a motorized bouncer, a playard, a crib, a car seat, a stroller, an infant carrier, or a bassinet, can include one or more speaker (abstract) and the music is played through one or more audio devices (e.g., speakers) that are part of or attached to the children's soothing device such as a playard frame or play surface ([0025]). It would have been obvious to have transducer(s) coupled to the surface to generate both sound and vibration in order to help soothe the child.
As to claim 10, Smudde teaches the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 8, wherein the one more speakers are coupled to the surface (abstract - A children's soothing device, such as a motorized swing, a motorized glider, a motorized rocker, a motorized bouncer, a playard, a crib, a car seat, a stroller, an infant carrier, or a bassinet, can include one or more speaker; [0025] - the music is played through one or more audio devices (e.g., speakers) that are part of or attached to the children's soothing device such as a playard frame or play surface).
5. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over submitted prior arts Cochran and Horton in view of Soriano (2015/0015036).
As to claim 12, Cochran and Horton do not explicitly discuss the multi-sensory tactile system of claim 1, further comprising a child support container having a frame and a cover, wherein the at least one of the one or more speakers of the one or more transducers is coupled to the child support container between the frame and the cover.
Soriano teaches a children’s product (10) is a rocker comprises: a frame (Fig. 1, first and second frame portions 20 and 30; [0029]) and a cover (Fig. 1, 80; [0029, 0034]). Soriano does not explicitly discuss at least one of the one or more speakers of the one or more transducers is coupled to the child support container between the frame and the cover. However, Soriano teaches the foot panel 70 comprises additional feature or accessories 77 including but not limited to a vibration unit, speakers, music player, etc. and the foot panel 70 is constructed from a plastic or other rigid material and is shaped to follow the curved contour of the frame portion 20 such that the legs of an infant seated within the seat with cover 80 are comfortably positioned thereon, i.e., a portion of the seat 80 covering the panel 70 ([0033]); while the claim recites at least one of the one or more speakers of the one or more transducers is coupled to the child support container between the frame and the cover. The latter one is the preferred one in this instant application. It is purely design choice.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Soriano into the teachings of Cochran and Horton for the purpose of having soothing device in manner so that the child can feel the vibrations.
Conclusion
/QUYNH H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693