DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/13/2024 and 08/09/2024 are in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, have been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHA et al Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0224890 A1) hereinafter referred as CHA.
For claim 1, CHA discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a first base station, a request message for at least one multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) gap (paragraph [0129], lines 1-16) and (paragraph [0143], lines 1-3); receiving, from the first base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap (paragraph [0143], lines 3-7), the configuration including information associated with a MUSIM gap priority (paragraph [0154], lines 1-9 discloses the preference as the priority of the MUSIM); and performing, a MUSIM gap configuration procedure based on the MUSIM gap priority (paragraph [0155], lines 1-2)-(paragraph [0163], lines 1-2) (disclosing the upon receiving the UE information procedure the user shall configure the MUSIM procedure leaving the RRC_CONNECTED based on the preference (priority)), wherein the information associated with the MUSIM gap priority is transmitted from the first base station to a second base station (paragraph [0129], lines 1-16 disclose the configured MUSIM device can signal the network a preference to be kept in RRC_CONNECTED state in the network A while temporarily switching to the network B).
For claim 2, CHA discloses the method, wherein in case that the at least one MUSIM gap collides with another gap, at least one of a paging reception, a system information block (SIB) reception, a cell identification, or a measurement is not performed (paragraphs [0142]-[0144], lines 1-6) .
For claim 3, CHA discloses the method, wherein the other gap is at least one of a measurement gap or a MUSIM gap other than the at least one MUSIM gap (paragraph [0196]-[0203], lines 1-6).
For claim 5, CHA discloses a method performed by a first base station in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a request message for at least one multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) gap (paragraph [0129], lines 1-16) and (paragraph [0143], lines 1-3); and transmitting, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap (paragraph [0143], lines 3-7), the configuration including information associated with a MUSIM gap priority (paragraph [0154], lines 1-9 discloses the preference as the priority of the MUSIM), wherein a MUSIM gap configuration procedure based on the MUSIM gap priority is performed (paragraph [0155], lines 1-2)-(paragraph [0163], lines 1-2) (disclosing the upon receiving the UE information procedure the user shall configure the MUSIM procedure leaving the RRC_CONNECTED based on the preference (priority)), and wherein the information associated with the MUSIM gap priority is transmitted to a second base station (paragraph [0129], lines 1-16 disclose the configured MUSIM device can signal the network a preference to be kept in RRC_CONNECTED state in the network A while temporarily switching to the network B).
For claim 6, CHA discloses a method, wherein in case that the at least one MUSIM gap collides with another gap, at least one of a paging reception, a system information block (SIB) reception, a cell identification, or a measurement is not performed (paragraphs [0142]-[0144], lines 1-6).
For claim 7, CHA discloses a method, wherein the other gap is at least one of a measurement gap or a MUSIM gap other than the at least one MUSIM gap (paragraph [0196]-[0203], lines 1-6).
For claim 9, CHA discloses a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver, and a controller coupled with the transceiver configured to: transmit, to a first base station, a request message for at least one multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) gap(paragraph [0129], lines 1-16) and (paragraph [0143], lines 1-3), receive, from the first base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap (paragraph [0143], lines 3-7), the configuration including information associated with a MUSIM gap priority (paragraph [0154], lines 1-9 discloses the preference as the priority of the MUSIM), and perform, a MUSIM gap configuration procedure based on the MUSIM gap priority (paragraph [0155], lines 1-2)-(paragraph [0163], lines 1-2) (disclosing the upon receiving the UE information procedure the user shall configure the MUSIM procedure leaving the RRC_CONNECTED based on the preference (priority)), wherein the information associated with the MUSIM gap priority is transmitted from the first base station to a second base station (paragraph [0129], lines 1-16 disclose the configured MUSIM device can signal the network a preference to be kept in RRC_CONNECTED state in the network A while temporarily switching to the network B).
For claim 10, CHA discloses the user equipment (UE), wherein in case that the at least one MUSIM gap collides with another gap, at least one of a paging reception, a system information block (SIB) reception, a cell identification, or a measurement is not performed (paragraphs [0142]-[0144], lines 1-6).
For claim 11, CHA discloses the user equipment (UE), wherein the other gap is at least one of a measurement gap or a MUSIM gap other than the at least one MUSIM gap (paragraph [0196]-[0203], lines 1-6).
For claim 13, CHA discloses a first base station in a communication system, the first base station comprising: a transceiver, and a controller coupled with the transceiver configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), a request message for at least one multi universal subscriber identity module (MUSIM) gap(paragraph [0129], lines 1-16) and (paragraph [0143], lines 1-3), and transmit, to the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) message including a configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap (paragraph [0143], lines 3-7), the configuration including information associated with a MUSIM gap priority (paragraph [0154], lines 1-9 discloses the preference as the priority of the MUSIM), wherein a MUSIM gap configuration procedure based on the MUSIM gap priority is performed (paragraph [0155], lines 1-2)-(paragraph [0163], lines 1-2) (disclosing the upon receiving the UE information procedure the user shall configure the MUSIM procedure leaving the RRC_CONNECTED based on the preference (priority)), and wherein the information associated with the MUSIM gap priority is transmitted to a second base station (paragraph [0129], lines 1-16 disclose the configured MUSIM device can signal the network a preference to be kept in RRC_CONNECTED state in the network A while temporarily switching to the network B).
For claim 14, CHA discloses the first base station, wherein in case that the at least one MUSIM gap collides with another gap, at least one of a paging reception, a system information block (SIB) reception, a cell identification, or a measurement is not performed (paragraphs [0142]-[0144], lines 1-6), and wherein the other gap is at least one of a measurement gap or a MUSIM gap other than the at least one MUSIM gap (paragraph [0196]-[0203], lines 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over CHA et al Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0224890 A1) hereinafter referred as CHA, in view of Lee et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2023/0048297 A1) hereinafter referred as Lee.
For claim 4, CHA discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length as recited in claim 4.
Lee from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length (Paragraph [0007], lines 6-20) and (Paragraph [0193], lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length as taught by Lee into the configuration request in wireless communications of CHA.
The configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Lee into the configuration request in wireless communications of CHA. As disclosed in Lee, the motivation for the combination would be to use the system frame number (SFN) that provides a common time reference for all nodes within the network, ensuring synchronization between different base stations and helping coordinate the transmission and reception of signals and ensuring a smooth transition of ongoing communication when a mobile device performs a handover from one base station to another becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 8, CHA discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length as recited in claim 8.
Lee from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length (Paragraph [0007], lines 6-20) and (Paragraph [0193], lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length as taught by Lee into the configuration request in wireless communications of CHA.
The configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Lee into the configuration request in wireless communications of CHA. As disclosed in Lee, the motivation for the combination would be to use the system frame number (SFN) that provides a common time reference for all nodes within the network, ensuring synchronization between different base stations and helping coordinate the transmission and reception of signals and ensuring a smooth transition of ongoing communication when a mobile device performs a handover from one base station to another becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 12, CHA discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length as recited in claim 12.
Lee from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length (Paragraph [0007], lines 6-20) and (Paragraph [0193], lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length as taught by Lee into the configuration request in wireless communications of CHA.
The configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Lee into the configuration request in wireless communications of CHA. As disclosed in Lee, the motivation for the combination would be to use the system frame number (SFN) that provides a common time reference for all nodes within the network, ensuring synchronization between different base stations and helping coordinate the transmission and reception of signals and ensuring a smooth transition of ongoing communication when a mobile device performs a handover from one base station to another becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 15, CHA discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length as recited in claim 15.
Lee from the same or analogous art teaches the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length (Paragraph [0007], lines 6-20) and (Paragraph [0193], lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length as taught by Lee into the configuration request in wireless communications of CHA.
The configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length can be modify/implemented by combining the configuration of the at least one MUSIM gap further includes at least one of a starting system frame number (SFN), a starting subframe, an offset, a gap repetition period, or a gap length with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Lee into the configuration request in wireless communications of CHA. As disclosed in Lee, the motivation for the combination would be to use the system frame number (SFN) that provides a common time reference for all nodes within the network, ensuring synchronization between different base stations and helping coordinate the transmission and reception of signals and ensuring a smooth transition of ongoing communication when a mobile device performs a handover from one base station to another becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is shown in the following table:
US-20250106939-A1
Wu; Lianhai
US-20250056344-A1
Park; Kenneth James
US-20240357443-A1
Park; Kenneth James
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642