DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14, 22 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2015/0090725) in view of Flammang (US 5,506,062) and Byung-Ok (KR 2004-42812).
The examiner has provided a machine translation of KR 2004-42812 with the Office Action mailed 08/22/2025. The citation of prior art in the rejection refers to the provided machine translation.
In reference to claims 1, Cheng teaches a cookware article ([0004]) (corresponding to a cookware article). The article comprises a horizontal bottom having an interior bottom surface and an exterior bottom surface on the side opposing the interior bottom surface ([0010]) (corresponding to a base material; a first surface of the base material; a second surface of the base material, the second surface being opposite to the first surface).
A metal mesh is embedded in an exterior bottom surface ([0010]). The mesh includes portions of grid material between mesh openings ([0032]) (corresponding to a second mesh comprising a plurality of second network segments embedded into a second surface of the base material; the plurality of second network segments define a plurality of second interior regions between adjacent second network segments). The mesh is stainless steel and is partially exposed on the exterior bottom surface ([0012]; claim 1) (corresponding to the plurality of second network segments extend outward of the second surface of the base material).
The cookware is formed of aluminum or alloys thereof ([0024]) (corresponding to a base material comprising a metal or metal alloy).
Cheng does not explicitly teach a first mesh embedded into the interior bottom surface of the article, as presently claimed.
Flammang teaches a cooking vessel constituting an article (col. 1, lines 15-16). The article includes a plate produced from a relatively soft first metal, such as aluminum, and a metallic element in the form of a perforated sheet or a grid produced from a second metal or alloy harder than that of the plate, the metallic element being at least partially embedded in the plate (col. 1, lines 52-59; col. 2, lines 20-21). The grid is stainless steel and has a wire diameter lying between several tenths of a mm and one mm (col. 4, lines 5-8). The grid includes any kind of meshes, square, rectangular or hexagonal (col. 4, lines 11-12) (corresponding to a first mesh comprising a plurality of first network segments; the plurality of first network segments comprises a metal; the plurality of first network segments define a plurality of interior regions between adjacent first network segments).
The grid is only partially embedded in the metal of the bottom of the plate, so that it projects from the inner surface of the cooking vessel (col. 6, lines 63-65; FIG. 19) (corresponding to a plurality of first network segments embedded into the first surface of the base material; the plurality of first network segments extends outward of the base material). The grid is driven into the plate over a depth which corresponds substantially to half the diameter of the wire of the grid (col. 3, lines 54-56).
Flammang further teaches the technical advantage of the grid embedded into the inner surface provides a harder inner surface and enables the contact surface of the food with the surface of the vessel to be limited which limits even further attachment of the food to this surface (col. 7, lines 6-22).
In light of the motivation of Flammang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to have the cookware article of Cheng include the grid partially embedded in the interior bottom surface, in order to provide a harder inner surface and limit further attachment of food to the interior bottom surface of the cookware article.
Cheng in view of Flammang teaches the partially embedded grid has a diameter of several tenths of a mm and one mm and is embedded to a depth which corresponds substantially to half the diameter of the wire of the grid (Flammang, col. 4, lines 5-8; col. 3, lines 54-56). While the metal mesh embedded on the exterior surface and substantially all of the metal mesh is fully embedded in the exterior surface (Cheng, FIGS. 5A-5B; [0010]; [0012]; claim 1). Thus, it is clear the metal mesh includes portions in which the mesh portions are embedded deeper into the bottom than the grid (corresponding to the plurality of second network segments are embedded deeper in the base material than the plurality of first network segments).
Cheng in view of Flammang does not explicitly teach the gird extends beyond an organic nonstick material and penetrates through the organic nonstick material, as presently claimed. However, Cheng and Flammang teach organic nonstick coating on the bottom interior surface (Cheng, [0028]; Flammang, col. 6, line 66 – col. 7, line 1) (corresponding to an organic nonstick material coating at least a first surface of the base material).
Byung-Ok teaches a cooking vessel that prevents food from sticking to or carbonizing at the bottom surface of the cooking vessel during the cooking process (page 1). The cooking vessel includes an aluminum floor plate, a stainless steel buffer member and a Teflon film layer on an exposed portion of the floor plate (page 3, line 20- page 4, line 20; page 8, lines 20-21). The upper surface of the buffer member formed of stainless steel does not emit toxicity, so a film is unnecessary, and since film formation is impossible due to the nature of the hard film, a hard film layer is formed only on the exposed portions of the floor plate formed of aluminum (page 9, lines 3-9).
In light of the disclosure of Byung-Oka, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the polytetrafluoroethylene (i.e., Teflon) coating of Cheng in view of Flammang form only on the base plate and not on the upper surface of the grid, in order to reduce the amount of polytetrafluoroethylene coating needed, ensure no damage to a coating on the grid structure occurs during use (even in very small zones) and given that the stainless steel grid does not emit toxicity such a coating is unnecessary, and thereby arriving at the presently claimed invention.
In reference to claim 3, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Given that Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the polytetrafluoroethylene coating is only on the base plate between the grid (Byung-Ok, Fig. 2b), it is clear the coating comprises a plurality of discrete surfaces interspersed between the grid elements (corresponding to an outer organic nonstick coating surface of the organic nonstick material comprises a plurality of discrete surfaces interspersed between the plurality of first network segments).
In reference to claim 4, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above. The grid is made of interconnected grid elements (Flammang, FIG. 15) (corresponding to the plurality of first network segments are interconnected and laterally surround the plurality of interior regions).
In reference to claim 5, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. The vessel is formed from aluminum or alloys of aluminum (Cheng, [0010]) (corresponding to the metal or metal alloy of the base material comprises aluminum). The grid is stainless steel (Flammang, col. 2, lines 48-49; col. 3, lines 66-67) (corresponding to the metal or metal alloy of the plurality of first network segments comprises stainless steel).
In reference to claim 6, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. The cookware article is a pot or pan (Cheng, [0004]) (corresponding to the cookware article is one of a pot, a pan).
In reference to claims 7 and 8, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. The grid has meshes that are square, rectangular or hexagonal (Flammang, col. 4, lines 11-12) (corresponding to the adjacent first network segments define one of parallelogram, hexagonal, or rhomboidal interior regions; the adjacent first network segments define hexagonal interior regions).
In reference to claims 9-11 and 13-14, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. The grid is composed of wires having a wire diameter lying between several tenths of a mm and one mm (Flammang, col. 4, lines 5-8) (corresponding to the plurality of first network segments have a width of between about 0.3 mm and about 0.5mm; the plurality of first network segments have a thickness between about 0.5 mm to about 1 mm normal to a surface of the cookware article). The distance between two neighboring wires of the grid should preferably not exceed several mm (Flammang, col. 7, lines 22-24) (corresponding to the plurality of interior regions have a surface dimension between about 0.8 mm and about 2 mm).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In reference to claim 12, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above. Cheng further teaches the vessel pre-from has a bottom thickness of about 3 mm ([0026]) (corresponding to the base material is between 3 mm and 4 mm thick).
In reference to claim 22, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Cheng teaches the metal mesh is stainless steel ([0012]).
Flammang teaches including a magnetic stainless steel in the bottom exterior surface of a cooking vessel allows the cooking vessel to be heated inductively (col. 6, lines 25-41; col. 2, lines 45-49).
In light of the motivation of Flammang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently clamed invention to have the stainless steel of the metal mesh be a magnetic stainless steel, in order to allow the cooking vessel be heated inductively, and thereby arriving at the presently claimed invention.
In reference to claim 28, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok further teaches the vessel is aluminum or an alloy thereof and the grid is stainless steel (Cheng, [0010]; Flammang, col. 2, lines 48-49; col. 3, lines 66-67). The grid is harder than the vessel (Flammang, col. 3, lines 36-43, 61-62; col. 4, line 5) (corresponding to the metal or metal alloy of the plurality of first network segments is harder than the metal or metal alloy of the base material).
In reference to claims 29 and 30, Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Cheng teaches the metal mesh may have holes of any shape, for example square or hexagonal (FIG. 1, [0029]). Flammang teaches the grid includes any kind of meshes, square, rectangular or hexagonal (col. 4, lines 11-12).
Given that Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok teaches the metal mesh having openings of any shape, for example hexagonal or square, and the grid is a mesh including square, rectangular or hexagonal openings, it therefore would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use any combination of openings for the metal mesh and grid, including the same shaped opening (i.e., both square or both hexagonal) or different shaped openings (i.e., square and hexagonal; square and rectangular, etc.) which is both disclosed by Cheng in view of Flammang and Byung-Ok and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to have the openings in the meal mesh and grid be either the same shape of a different shape, since it has been held that the configuration was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration claimed was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Response to Arguments
In response to amended claim 22, the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of record are withdrawn.
Upon further consideration, the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections over Byung-Ok in view of Cheng are withdrawn from record. However, a new set of rejection using both Byung-Ok and Cheng is set forth above.
Applicant primarily argues:
“First, Applicant respectfully submits that the Final Office Action's reliance on the proportions/dimensions of the figures of Byung-Ok and Chng is improper. Per the M.P.E.P.,‘when the reference does not disclose that the drawings are to scale and is silent as to dimensions, arguments based on measurement of the drawing features are of little value. See Hockerson-Halberstadt, Inc. v. Avia Group Int'l, 222 F.3d 951, 956, 55 USPQ2d 1487, 1491 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (The disclosure gave no indication that the drawings were drawn to scale. ‘[I]t is well established that patent drawings do not define the precise proportions of the elements and may not be relied on to show particular sizes if the specification is completely silent on the issue.’). M.P.E.P. 2125(II) (emphasis added). Here, neither Byung-Ok nor Cheng appear to disclose that the ‘drawings are to scale’. As such, the Final Office Action's use of the 'proportions' of the elements in the figures 'may not be relied on' in the rejection.”
Remarks, p. 6
The examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
Cheng and Flammang are not silent to dimension. Cheng teaches the stainless steel mesh has a thickness of about 0.5 to 1 mm and the aluminum bottom has a thickness of about 3 mm ([0026]; [0031]). Flammang teaches a partially embedded grid has a diameter of several tenths of a mm and one mm and is embedded to a depth which corresponds substantially to half the diameter of the wire of the grid (col. 4, lines 5-8; col. 3, lines 54-56). Therefore, it is clear the grid of Cheng in view of Flammang is embedded to half of several tenths of a mm to half one mm in the interior bottom surface.
Cheng further teaches the metal mesh is embedded in the exterior bottom surface, wherein the exterior bottom surface consists essentially of an exposed portion of the metal mesh and the portion of the exterior bottom that extends through spaces within the metal mesh (claim 1). FIGS. 5A-5B, provided below, shows the metal mesh partially exposed on the exterior of the bottom surface and fully embeded in the exterior of the bottom surface. Therefore, the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art (i.e., embedding the metal mesh such that the majority of the metal mesh is embedded in the exterior bottom surface). When the metal mesh is 1 mm and the grid is 1 mm in thickness, which are values taught in each of the references, it is clear the metal mesh is embedded deeper than the maximum amount the grid can be embedded into the vessel.
It is the examiner’s position, absent evidence to the contrary, Cheng in view of Flammang meet the limitation of the metal mesh (i.e., second mesh comprising a plurality of second network segments) is embedded deeper into the bottom than the grid (i.e., first mesh
comprising a plurality of first network segments.
Applicant further argues:
“Second, even if the proportions in the figures of Byung-Ok and Cheng were appropriate to rely on (which Applicant disputes above), the proposed combination of Byung-Ok and Cheng would still fail to disclose ‘wherein the plurality of second network segments are embedded deeper in the base material than the plurality of first network segments’, as is recited in Independent Claim 1. Byung-Ok does not appear to disclose (e.g., provide a measurement for) how deep its relied-upon buffer member is embedded in the interior bottom surface. Additionally, Byung-Ok also does not appear to disclose a size of the relied-upon buffer member of Figure 2b of Byung-Ok. As a result, the comparison in the Final Office Action of the figures of Byung-Ok to the figures of Cheng cannot possibly disclose this limitation of Independent Claim 1. It is entirely possible that the metal mesh of the buffer member of Figure 2b of Byung-Ok is 4 mm thick. In such a case, that buffer member would be embedded in the interior bottom surface of Byung-Ok by approximately 2 mm (based on the drawing in Figure 2b showing approximately half of the thickness being embedded). In contrast to this, Cheng discloses that its meshes are about 0.5 mm to 1 mm thick. Cheng at Para. [0031]. In such a case, the mesh of Cheng could not possibly be embedded deeper than 2 mm, as they are not even 2 mm thick.”
Remarks, p. 6-7
The examiner respectfully traverses as follows:
It is noted upon further search and consideration, Byung-Ok is no longer used as the primary reference. Rather, Byung-Ok is used as a teaching reference to teach having a Teflon coating only on the surface of the floor plate (i.e., interior bottom surface).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments with respect to Byung-Ok not teaching the depth of the buffer member have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Byung-Ok for teaching the depth of the buffer member in the vessel.
Therefore, Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/MARY I OMORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784