DETAILED ACTION
1. This action in response to Application No. 18/440,720 originally filed on 07/01/2024. The Request for Continued Examination presented on 09/14/2026 which claims 1, 11 and 20 are currently amended and claims 4, 15 and 17 were previously canceled. Claims 1 - 3, 5 - 14,16 and 18 - 20 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
4. This is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 14 September
2026, wherein: Claims 1, 11 and 20 have been amended. Claims 4, 15 and 17 have been cancelled. Claims 1 - 3, 5 - 14,16 and 18 - 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments filed on September 14, 2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 1 - 3, 5 - 14,16 and 18 - 20 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1 - 3, 5 - 8, 10 - 14, 16, 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knott “US 2018/0301001” in view of Mitamura “US 6,528,203” and further in view of Radivojevic “US 2010/0259472”.
Re-claim 1, Knott teaches a wearable, (fig. 11A; 1103) comprising:
a plurality of haptic energy generators (par. [0263] The haptic device 1102 includes a harness 1103, upon which are attached a two dimensional array of cutaneous actuators 1104 which, as described above, contact the skin of the user's forearm 1101 and are able to exert a vibrations upon the user's forearm) operable to output a haptic energy toward skin of a limb of a wearer; (par. [0267] the cutaneous actuators 1104 provide a force sensation (e.g., pressure), the cutaneous actuators 1104 are arranged such that the force sensation generated by the cutaneous actuators 1104 is directed towards the user's skin.)
an electrical network that spans between the plurality of haptic energy generators operable to transmit power between the plurality of haptic energy generators; (pars. [0267] - [0268])
an elastic sleeve (par. [0264]) The harness 1103 may be made of any combination of elastic or inelastic fabric, such as rayon, nylon, foams, rubbers, polymers, cotton, etc.) including
a structure (see annotated fig. 11A below 1105 Rubber Tip) capable of maintaining a spacing between the plurality of haptic energy generators to position the plurality of haptic energy generators on or adjacent to the skin, (fig. 11A and par. [0265])
a control system operable to cause the plurality of haptic energy generators to output the haptic energy responsive to data source in communication with the control system for providing a treatment to the wearer. (fig. 11B and par. [0267] The haptic output generated by each of the cutaneous actuators 1104 may include a force or pressure or other output that may be sensed by the user's skin, such as electrical stimulus, temperature stimulus (e.g., heat), negative pressure (e.g., suction), vibrational output, shear movement stimulus, and so on. and par. [0268] The cutaneous actuators 1104 receive actuator signals 1111 from a signal generator or other device, and in response to the receipt of the actuator signals 1111, generates a haptic output.)
Knott does not explicitly teach a battery housing electrically connected to the electrical network, the battery housing being arranged to removably secure a rechargeable battery;
However, Mitamura teaches a battery housing electrically connected to the electrical network, the battery housing being arranged to removably secure a rechargeable battery; (Abstract, A strap for a wrist-wearable electronic device facilitates battery charging and the supply of electrical power to external devices. A housing for a battery is removably mounted to the center of a resin strap, and one or more batteries are lined up next to each other within the housing. The batteries and housing are curved to conform to the curvature of a user's wrist. A charging terminal for charging the batteries is provided and one or more output terminals for supplying electrical power to external devices are provided at four corners of the housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Knott with the teaching of Mitamura to provide battery changing can also be simplified by providing the battery housing and the strap separately. (col. 8; lines 36 - 38)
Knott and Mitamura do not explicitly teach the structure including one or more cords that house the electrical network, the one or more cords being formed of an elastic material configured to elastically elongate as the structure is mechanically expanded to receive the limb of the wearer and to elastically contract around the limb to provide a close fit with the limb; and
However, Radivojevic teaches the structure including one or more cords that house the electrical network, the one or more cords being formed of an elastic material configured to elastically elongate as the structure is mechanically expanded to receive the limb of the wearer and to elastically contract around the limb to provide a close fit with the limb; (par. [0059] The sleeve 3 is arranged to conform to the user's skin and to undergo resilient deformation according to stretching and relaxation of the user's skin. In this particular example, the sleeve 3 is formed of a soft, conformable material, such as natural rubber, silicone, another elastomer or elastomer-like material that encapsulates the electrical components of the input device 1. In some embodiments of the invention, the sleeve 3 may be formed of a sensing composite rubber or elastomer doped with electrically conducting particles, piezoelectric particles or similar particles. par. [0091] the sleeve 28 has dimensions permitting it to fit around a user's wrist. In addition, in this particular example, the input device 25 is equipped with a larger number of detection modules 30. pars. [0076], [0102] FIGS. 12a, 13a, 14a and 15a depict the input device 37 is moved left, right, up and down respectively, causing stretching and/or flexing of the detection modules 30 and pars. [0103] - [0104]) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Knott and Mitamura with the teaching of Radivojevic to provide an elastic material capable of undergoing stretching and contraction to a degree sufficient for detecting deformation of the underlying user's skin. (par. [0005])
Re-claim 2, Knott teaches wherein the structure (fig. 11A; 1105 Rubber Tip) defines a plurality of recessed portions in which a respective one of the plurality of haptic energy generators (par. [0263] The haptic device 1102 includes a harness 1103, upon which are attached a two dimensional array of cutaneous actuators 1104 which, as described above, contact the skin of the user's forearm 1101 and are able to exert a vibrations upon the user's forearm. Each cutaneous actuator 1104 may also include a rubber tip 1105) is housed (fig. 16G; 1632). (fig. 16G and par. [0498] The area 1644 in FIG. 16G may also be used to contain a spacing member 1606 (as illustrated and described above with respect to FIG. 16A) that is located within the housing 1632)
Re-claim 3, Knott teaches wherein the structure (fig. 11A; 1105 Rubber Tip) is expandable to receive the limb of the wearer and contractable about the limb of the wearer to exert a compressive force about the limb of the wearer. (par. [0264])
Re-claim 5, Knott teaches wherein the elastic sleeve (fig. 11A; 1103) forms an arm band (fig. 11A; 1103). (par. [0264] The harness 1103 may wrap around the receiving user's forearm 1202 when fitted on the receiving user's forearm 1202. The harness 1103 may be made of any combination of elastic or inelastic fabric, such as rayon, nylon, foams, rubbers, polymers, cotton, etc. The harness 1103 may further include rigid members, made of plastic, metal, or other rigid materials in order to provide structural support for the harness 1103, to protect sensitive components embedded in the harness 1103, or to cause the harness 1103 to be affixed at a certain position on the user's forearm 1101.)
Re-claim 6, Knott teaches wherein the arm band is configured to be worn around a forearm of a user. (FIG. 11A and par. [0264] the harness 1103 is worn in any other position)
Re-claim 7, Knott teaches wherein the plurality of haptic energy generators comprise a vibration generator. (par. [0457] a wearable haptic communication device including cutaneous actuators and padding layers to dampen haptic vibrations generated by the cutaneous actuators. The haptic communication device includes cutaneous actuators to generate haptic vibrations corresponding to actuator signals received by the cutaneous actuators.)
Re-claim 8, Knott teaches wherein the plurality of haptic energy generators further comprise a thermal generator. (par. [0457] a wearable haptic communication device including cutaneous actuators and padding layers to dampen haptic vibrations generated by the cutaneous actuators. The haptic communication device includes cutaneous actuators to generate haptic vibrations corresponding to actuator signals received by the cutaneous actuators.)
Re-claim 10, Knott teaches wherein the plurality of haptic energy generators (fig. 11A; 1102) includes at least three haptic energy generators, the at least three haptic energy generators (par. [0263] The haptic device 1102 includes a harness 1103, upon which are attached a two dimensional array of cutaneous actuators 1104 which, as described above, contact the skin of the user's forearm 1101 and are able to exert a vibrations upon the user's forearm)
Knott, Mitamura and Radivojevic do not explicitly teach the three haptic energy generators being arranged in a substantially triangular shape.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious “absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration …..significant,” changes in shape of elements taught by the prior art are considered to be obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Re-claim 11, Knott teaches a wearable, (fig. 11A; 1103) comprising:
a plurality of haptic energy generators (par. [0263] The haptic device 1102 includes a harness 1103, upon which are attached a two dimensional array of cutaneous actuators 1104 which, as described above, contact the skin of the user's forearm 1101 and are able to exert a vibrations upon the user's forearm) operable to output a vibration toward skin of a limb of a wearer; (par. [0267] the cutaneous actuators 1104 provide a force sensation (e.g., pressure), the cutaneous actuators 1104 are arranged such that the force sensation generated by the cutaneous actuators 1104 is directed towards the user's skin.)
an electrical network that spans between the plurality of haptic energy generators operable to transmit power between the plurality of haptic energy generators; (pars. [0267] - [0268])
an elastic sleeve (par. [0264]) The harness 1103 may be made of any combination of elastic or inelastic fabric, such as rayon, nylon, foams, rubbers, polymers, cotton, etc.) … the elastic sleeve being wearable around the limb of the wearer to position and maintain a spacing of the plurality of haptic energy generators and the electrical network on or adjacent to the skin; (fig. 11A and pars. [0264] - [0265]) and
a structure (see annotated fig. 11A above 1105 Rubber Tip)
a control system operable to cause the plurality of haptic energy generators to output the vibration responsive to data source in communication with the control system for providing a treatment to the wearer. (fig. 11B and par. [0267] The haptic output generated by each of the cutaneous actuators 1104 may include a force or pressure or other output that may be sensed by the user's skin, such as electrical stimulus, temperature stimulus (e.g., heat), negative pressure (e.g., suction), vibrational output, shear movement stimulus, and so on. and par. [0268] The cutaneous actuators 1104 receive actuator signals 1111 from a signal generator or other device, and in response to the receipt of the actuator signals 1111, generates a haptic output.)
Knott does not explicitly teach a battery housing electrically connected to the electrical network, the battery housing being arranged to removably secure a battery;
However, Mitamura teaches a battery housing electrically connected to the electrical network, the battery housing being arranged to removably secure a battery; (Abstract, A strap for a wrist-wearable electronic device facilitates battery charging and the supply of electrical power to external devices. A housing for a battery is removably mounted to the center of a resin strap, and one or more batteries are lined up next to each other within the housing. The batteries and housing are curved to conform to the curvature of a user's wrist. A charging terminal for charging the batteries is provided and one or more output terminals for supplying electrical power to external devices are provided at four corners of the housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Knott with the teaching of Mitamura to provide battery changing can also be simplified by providing the battery housing and the strap separately. (col. 8; lines 36 - 38)
Knott and Mitamura do not explicitly teach the structure including one or more cords that house the electrical network, the one or more cords being formed of an elastic material that elongates when expanded; and
However, Radivojevic teaches a structure including one or more cords that house the electrical network, the one or more cords being formed of an elastic material configured to elastically elongate as the structure is mechanically expanded to receive the limb of the wearer and to elastically contract around the limb to provide a close fit with the limb; (par. [0059] The sleeve 3 is arranged to conform to the user's skin and to undergo resilient deformation according to stretching and relaxation of the user's skin. In this particular example, the sleeve 3 is formed of a soft, conformable material, such as natural rubber, silicone, another elastomer or elastomer-like material that encapsulates the electrical components of the input device 1. In some embodiments of the invention, the sleeve 3 may be formed of a sensing composite rubber or elastomer doped with electrically conducting particles, piezoelectric particles or similar particles. par. [0091] the sleeve 28 has dimensions permitting it to fit around a user's wrist. In addition, in this particular example, the input device 25 is equipped with a larger number of detection modules 30. pars. [0076], [0102] FIGS. 12a, 13a, 14a and 15a depict the input device 37 is moved left, right, up and down respectively, causing stretching and/or flexing of the detection modules 30 and pars. [0103] - [0104]) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Knott and Mitamura with the teaching of Radivojevic to provide an elastic material capable of undergoing stretching and contraction to a degree sufficient for detecting deformation of the underlying user's skin. (par. [0005])
Re-claim 12, Knott teaches wherein the structure fig. 11A above 1105 Rubber Tip) has a plurality of recesses, each recess housing (fig. 16G; 1632) a respective one of the plurality of haptic energy generators (par. [0263] The haptic device 1102 includes a harness 1103, upon which are attached a two dimensional array of cutaneous actuators 1104 which, as described above, contact the skin of the user's forearm 1101 and are able to exert a vibrations upon the user's forearm). (fig. 16G and pars. [0460] and [0488] - [0489])
Re-claim 13, Knott teaches wherein the structure (fig. 11A; 1105) defines a skin facing surface and each of the plurality of recesses is recessed towards the skin facing surface. (fig. 11A and par. [0263])
Re-claim 14, Knott teaches wherein the electrical network wires comprises of conductive filaments. (par. [0468])
Re-claim 16, Knott teaches wherein the elastic sleeve (fig. 11A; 1103) is configured to be worn on an arm or a leg of the wearer. (par. [0298])
Re-claim 18, Knot and Mitamura in view of Radivojevic teaches all the limitations of claim 17, Mitamura teaches wherein the battery is a rechargeable battery. (Abstract, A strap for a wrist-wearable electronic device facilitates battery charging and the supply of electrical power to external devices. A housing for a battery is removably mounted to the center of a resin strap, and one or more batteries are lined up next to each other within the housing. The batteries and housing are curved to conform to the curvature of a user's wrist. A charging terminal for charging the batteries is provided and one or more output terminals for supplying electrical power to external devices are provided at four corners of the housing.)
Re-claim 19, Knott and Mitamura in view of Radivojevic teaches all the limitations of claim 11, Radivojevic teaches wherein the one or more cords (pars. [0064] - [0065])
Knott and Mitamura in view of Radivojevic do not explicitly teach cords interconnect a series of nodes.
However, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that cords interconnect a series of nodes electrically coupled in order to electrically matched.
Re-claim 20, Knott teaches a wearable, (fig. 11A; 1103) comprising:
at least three haptic energy generators (par. [0263] The haptic device 1102 includes a harness 1103, upon which are attached a two dimensional array of cutaneous actuators 1104 which, as described above, contact the skin of the user's forearm 1101 and are able to exert a vibrations upon the user's forearm) operable to output a vibration toward skin of a limb of a wearer; (par. [0267] the cutaneous actuators 1104 provide a force sensation (e.g., pressure), the cutaneous actuators 1104 are arranged such that the force sensation generated by the cutaneous actuators 1104 is directed towards the user's skin.)
an electrical network that spans between the at least three haptic energy generators operable to transmit power between the at least three haptic energy generators; (par. [0267])
the elastic sleeve (fig. 11A; 1103 and par. [0264] The harness 1103 may be made of any combination of elastic or inelastic fabric, such as rayon, nylon, foams, rubbers, polymers, cotton, etc.) … the elastic sleeve being wearable around the limb of the wearer to position and maintain a spacing of the at least three haptic energy generators and the electrical network on or adjacent to the skin; (fig. 11A and pars. [0264] - [0265]) and
a control system operable to cause the at least three haptic energy generators to output the vibration responsive to data source in communication with the control system for providing a treatment to the wearer, (fig. 11B and par. [0267] The haptic output generated by each of the cutaneous actuators 1104 may include a force or pressure or other output that may be sensed by the user's skin, such as electrical stimulus, temperature stimulus (e.g., heat), negative pressure (e.g., suction), vibrational output, shear movement stimulus, and so on. and par. [0268] The cutaneous actuators 1104 receive actuator signals 1111 from a signal generator or other device, and in response to the receipt of the actuator signals 1111, generates a haptic output.)
wherein the at least three haptic energy generators (fig. 11A; 1104 and par. [0208] The actuator signals for the two or more cutaneous actuators are shaped and generated so that the two or more cutaneous actuators)
Knott does not explicitly teach a battery housing electrically connected to the electrical network and arranged to removably secure a rechargeable battery,
However, Mitamura teaches a battery housing electrically connected to the electrical network and arranged to removably secure a rechargeable battery, (Abstract, A strap for a wrist-wearable electronic device facilitates battery charging and the supply of electrical power to external devices. A housing for a battery is removably mounted to the center of a resin strap, and one or more batteries are lined up next to each other within the housing. The batteries and housing are curved to conform to the curvature of a user's wrist. A charging terminal for charging the batteries is provided and one or more output terminals for supplying electrical power to external devices are provided at four corners of the housing.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Knott with the teaching of Mitamura to provide battery changing can also be simplified by providing the battery housing and the strap separately. (col. 8; lines 36 - 38)
Knott and Mitamura do not explicitly teach the three haptic energy generators are arranged a substantially triangular shape.
However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious “absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration … significant,” changes in shape of elements taught by the prior art are considered to be obvious. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Knott and Mitamura do not explicitly teach a structure including one or more cords that house the electrical network, the one or more cords being formed of an elastic material that elongates when expanded; and
However, Radivojevic teaches a structure including one or more cords that house the electrical network, the one or more cords being formed of an elastic material configured to elastically elongate as the structure is mechanically expanded to receive the limb of the wearer and to elastically contract around the limb to provide a close fit with the limb; (par. [0059] The sleeve 3 is arranged to conform to the user's skin and to undergo resilient deformation according to stretching and relaxation of the user's skin. In this particular example, the sleeve 3 is formed of a soft, conformable material, such as natural rubber, silicone, another elastomer or elastomer-like material that encapsulates the electrical components of the input device 1. In some embodiments of the invention, the sleeve 3 may be formed of a sensing composite rubber or elastomer doped with electrically conducting particles, piezoelectric particles or similar particles. par. [0091] the sleeve 28 has dimensions permitting it to fit around a user's wrist. In addition, in this particular example, the input device 25 is equipped with a larger number of detection modules 30. pars. [0076], [0102] FIGS. 12a, 13a, 14a and 15a depict the input device 37 is moved left, right, up and down respectively, causing stretching and/or flexing of the detection modules 30 and pars. [0103] - [0104]) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of Knott and Mitamura with the teaching of Radivojevic to provide an elastic material capable of undergoing stretching and contraction to a degree sufficient for detecting deformation of the underlying user's skin. (par. [0005])
10. Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knott “US 2018/0301001” and Mitamura “US 6,528,203” in view of Radivojevic “US 2010/0259472” and further in view of Yu “US 2021/0100512”.
Re-claim 9, Knott and Mitamura in view of Radivojevic teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but do not explicitly teach a physiological sensor that is operable to output physiological data associated with the limb of the wearer when positioned against the skin,
wherein the control system is operable to cause the plurality of haptic energy generators to output the haptic energy responsive to the physiological data from the physiological sensor.
However, Yu teaches a physiological sensor (figs. 7A-7B physiological signal sensors 110A and 110B) that is operable to output physiological data associated with the limb of the wearer when positioned against the skin, (pars. [0019] - [0020])
wherein the control system is operable to cause the plurality of haptic energy generators to output the haptic energy responsive to the physiological data from the physiological sensor. (pars. [0026], [0028], [0031] and [0054])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to further modify the invention of the combination with the teaching of Yu to output a corrected physiological signal of each sensing portion to the host. (par. [0006])
Contact Information
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 9/30/26