DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 15, and 19 have been amended. Claims 2-14, 16-18, and 20 have been canceled. Claims 21-37 have been added. Claims 1, 15, 19, and 21-37 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) rejections are not persuasive.
With respect to “enclosed”, Merriam-Webster defines the word as: “closed in or fenced off”. The examiner believes, given the common definition, ADACHI still reads on the language of the claim. The examiner understands the distinction between the art and the application, but the language as currently presented is still broad. The examiner recommends focusing on the shutter mechanism in conjunction with the angled pipe-like passages given the new reference of LIN (JPH11226866A), as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 15, 19, 21, 22, 24, 26-31, 33, 34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ADACHI (US 20180229345 A1).
Referring to claim 1: ADACHI discloses a retainer ring module (shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
a retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) on a lower surface of a polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9), wherein the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) is configured to surround a substrate (W Fig. 2B) on an upper surface of a polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9) to which slurry (slurry delivered from 30 Figs. 1 and 6A) is provided; and
at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) disposed at the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B), wherein the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is configured to introduce the slurry outside (shown in Fig. 6A) the retainer ring into a space (shown in Fig. 6B; [0050]) between the substrate (W Fig. 2B) and the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9),
wherein the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) comprises: an inlet (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) disposed at an outer side surface (OS2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) to introduce the slurry, and
an outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) disposed at another surface (surface of R1 of 21 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring to discharge the slurry, and wherein the entirety of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is enclosed (when P2 of R2 is aligned and covers OP1, the entirety of the at least one slurry passage is enclosed by P2 and upper surface of 21 shown in Fig. 2A; “enclosed” as defined by Merriam-Webster is 1: “closed in or fenced off”) by the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 15: ADACHI discloses a retainer ring module (shown in Fig. 1) comprising: a retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) on a lower surface of a polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9), wherein the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) is configured to surround a substrate (W Fig. 2B) on an upper surface of a polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9) to which slurry (slurry delivered from 30 Figs. 1 and 6A) is provided; and
at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) disposed at the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B), wherein the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is configured to introduce the slurry outside (shown in Fig. 6A) the retainer ring into a space (shown in Fig. 6B; [0050]) between the substrate (W Fig. 2B) and the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9), wherein the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) comprises:
an inlet (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) disposed at an outer side surface (OS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) to introduce the slurry; and
an outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) disposed at another surface (surface of R1 of 21 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring to discharge the slurry, and wherein the outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is disposed only at a lower surface (lower surface shown in Figs. 3A and 3B) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 19: ADACHI discloses a retainer ring module (shown in Fig. 1) comprising:
a retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) on a lower surface of a polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9), wherein the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) is configured to surround a substrate (W Fig. 2B) on an upper surface of a polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9) to which slurry (slurry delivered from 30 Figs. 1 and 6A) is provided; and
at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) disposed at the retainer ring, wherein the at least one slurry passage is configured to introduce the slurry outside the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) into a space (shown in Fig. 6B; [0050]) between the substrate (W Fig. 2B) and the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9); wherein the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) comprises:
an inlet (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) disposed at an outer side surface (OS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) to introduce the slurry; and
an outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) disposed at another surface (surface of R1 of 21 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring to discharge the slurry, and wherein at least a portion of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is enclosed (when P2 of R2 is aligned and covers OP1, the entirety of the at least one slurry passage is enclosed by P2 and upper surface of 21 shown in Fig. 2A; “enclosed” as defined by Merriam-Webster is 1: “closed in or fenced off”) by the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 21: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 1, wherein the outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is disposed at a lower surface (lower surface shown in Figs. 3A and 3B) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 22: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 1, wherein a portion of a lower surface (LS-1 Fig. 2-A inserted below) of the retainer ring below the outer side surface (OS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring is lower than a portion of the lower surface (LS-3 Fig. 2-A inserted below) of the retainer ring below an inner side surface (ISS Fig. 2-A inserted below) of the retainer ring.
Referring to claim 24: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 1, wherein the at least one slurry passage extends in a downward slant direction (“the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined” [0039]) toward a central portion (“the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) of the retainer ring.
Referring to claim 26: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 1, wherein the inlet (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) and the outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) have an arc shape or a circular shape (arc and circular shape of pluralities of T1 and T2 shown in Figs. 4A and 4B).
Referring to claim 27: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 1, comprising a shutter (P1/P2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) configured to control an opening ratio (shown in Figs. 6A-6C) of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C).
Referring to claim 28: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 15, wherein the entirety of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is enclosed (when P2 of R2 is aligned and covers OP1, the entirety of the at least one slurry passage is enclosed by P2 and upper surface of 21 shown in Fig. 2A; “enclosed” as defined by Merriam-Webster is 1: “closed in or fenced off”) by the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 29: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 28, comprising a shutter (P1/P2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) configured to control an opening ratio (shown in Figs. 6A-6C) of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C).
Referring to claim 30: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 29, wherein a portion of a lower surface (LS-2 Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the retainer ring below an inner side surface (ISS Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) is spaced apart from the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9).
Referring to claim 31: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 15, wherein a portion of a lower surface (LS-1 Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the retainer ring below the outer side surface (OSS Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring is lower than a portion of the lower surface (LS-3 Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the retainer ring below an inner side surface (ISS Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 33: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 15, wherein the inlet (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) and the outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) have an arc shape or a circular shape (arc and circular shape of pluralities of T1 and T2 shown in Figs. 4A and 4B).
Referring to claim 34: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 19, wherein a portion of a lower surface (LS-2 Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the retainer ring below an inner side surface (ISS Fig. 2-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) is spaced apart from the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9).
Referring to claim 37: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 34, comprising a shutter (P1/P2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) configured to control an opening ratio (shown in Figs. 6A-6C) of the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 25, 32, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ADACHI (US 20180229345 A1) and LIN (JPH11226866A).
Referring to claim 23: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 22, but is silent on wherein the portion of the lower surface of the retainer ring below the inner side surface of the retainer ring is spaced apart from the polishing pad.
LIN in an analogous ring module (Figs. 8A-8C; “The formation of the slurry passages 82 can provide a flow of slurry to the retaining ring and a flow of slurry distributed to the surface of the wafer being polished.” [0024]) teaches wherein the portion of the lower surface (LP Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the retainer ring (80 Fig. 8A) below the inner side surface (inner surface of 82 IP Fig. 3-A inserted below) of the retainer ring (80 Fig. 8A) is spaced apart from the polishing pad (10 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slurry passages of ADACHI with the configuration as taught by LIN for the purpose of having the slurry passages deliver slurry when the exterior slurry level has reached a certain height.
Referring to claim 25: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 1, but is silent on wherein a lowermost portion of the inlet of the at least one slurry passage is positioned higher than a lower surface of the retainer ring.
LIN in an analogous ring module (Figs. 8A-8C; “The formation of the slurry passages 82 can provide a flow of slurry to the retaining ring and a flow of slurry distributed to the surface of the wafer being polished.” [0024]) teaches wherein a lowermost portion (LP Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the inlet of the at least one slurry passage (82) is positioned higher than a lower surface (lower surface of 80 shown in Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (80 Fig. 8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slurry passages of ADACHI with the configuration as taught by LIN for the purpose of having the slurry passages deliver slurry when the exterior slurry level has reached a certain height.
Referring to claim 32: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 15, but is silent on wherein a lowermost portion of the inlet of the at least one slurry passage is positioned higher than a lower surface of the retainer ring.
LIN in an analogous ring module (Figs. 8A-8C; “The formation of the slurry passages 82 can provide a flow of slurry to the retaining ring and a flow of slurry distributed to the surface of the wafer being polished.” [0024]) teaches wherein a lowermost portion (LP Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the inlet of the at least one slurry passage (82) is positioned higher than a lower surface (lower surface of 80 shown in Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (80 Fig. 8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slurry passages of ADACHI with the configuration as taught by LIN for the purpose of having the slurry passages deliver slurry when the exterior slurry level has reached a certain height.
Referring to claim 35: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 34, but is silent on wherein the outlet of the at least one slurry passage is disposed only at the lower surface of the retainer ring.
LIN in an analogous ring module (Figs. 8A-8C; “The formation of the slurry passages 82 can provide a flow of slurry to the retaining ring and a flow of slurry distributed to the surface of the wafer being polished.” [0024]) teaches wherein the outlet (outlet of 82 facing interior) of the at least one slurry passage (82) is disposed only at the lower surface (LP Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (80 Fig. 8A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slurry passages of ADACHI with the configuration as taught by LIN for the purpose of having the slurry passages deliver slurry when the exterior slurry level has reached a certain height.
Referring to claim 36: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 35, but is silent on wherein a portion of the lower surface of the retainer ring below the outer side surface of the retainer ring is lower than the portion of the lower surface of the retainer ring below the inner side surface of the retainer ring.
LIN in an analogous ring module (Figs. 8A-8C; “The formation of the slurry passages 82 can provide a flow of slurry to the retaining ring and a flow of slurry distributed to the surface of the wafer being polished.” [0024]) teaches wherein a portion of the lower surface (lower surface of 80 shown in Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (80 Fig. 8A) below the outer side surface (OSS Fig, 3-A inserted above) of the retainer ring is lower than the portion of the lower surface (LP Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (80 Fig. 8A) below the inner side surface (inner surface of 82 IP Fig. 3-A inserted above) of the retainer ring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slurry passages of ADACHI with the configuration as taught by LIN for the purpose of having the slurry passages deliver slurry when the exterior slurry level has reached a certain height.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723