DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites: “an inlet formed” and “an outlet formed”.
Claim 10 recites: “a plurality of inlets are arranged” and “a plurality of outlets are arranged”.
Claims 11 and 12 recite: “each inlet of the plurality of inlets” and “each outlet of the plurality of outlets”.
As claimed, it is unclear if all the recited inlets are referring to the same feature or entirely different features. As best understood and for examination purposes, claim 9 has been construed as “an inlet of a plurality of inlets”, to clarify the inlet of claim 9 is a singular feature belonging to a plurality. The recited outlets have been construed in a similar manner.
Claim 19 recites: “wherein the retainer ring comprises:….. an outer side surface connecting an outer end…. an inlet formed at an outer side surface of the retainer ring”. As claimed, it is unclear if both the recited “outer side surface” are referring to the same or different feature. For examination purposes, both recited “outer side surface” have been construed as the same.
Claim 19 recites: “wherein the retainer ring comprises: a lower surface in contact with the upper surface of the polishing pad…. an outlet formed at a lower surface of the retainer ring”. As claimed, it is unclear if both the recited “lower surface” are referring to the same or different feature. For examination purposes, both recited “lower surface” have been construed as the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ADACHI (US 20180229345 A1).
Referring to claim 1: ADACHI discloses a retainer ring module (shown in Fig. 1) comprising: a retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) on a lower surface of a polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9), wherein the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) is configured to surround a substrate (W Fig. 2B) on an upper surface of a polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9) to which slurry (slurry delivered from 30 Figs. 1 and 6A) is provided; and at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) formed at the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B), in a downward slant direction (“the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined” [0039]) toward a central portion (“the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) of the retainer ring, wherein the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is configured to introduce the slurry outside (shown in Fig. 6A) the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) into a space (shown in Fig. 6B; [0050]) between the substrate (W Fig. 2B) and the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9).
Referring to claim 2: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 1, wherein the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) comprises:
a lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) in contact with the upper surface of the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9);
an upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted below) in contact with the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9);
an inner side surface (inner side surface of T1 and T2; “the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) connecting an inner end (inner end of US Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) and an inner end (IS2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring; and
an outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted below) connecting an outer end (outer end of US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the retainer ring and an outer end (OS2 Fig. 1-A inserted below) of the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring.
Referring to claim 3: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 2, wherein at least one surface of the inner side surface and the outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) is a vertical plane (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above).
Referring to claim 4: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 3, wherein the lower surface (lower surface of R2 of 22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring has a width larger (WR2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) than a width (WC Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 5: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 3, wherein the lower surface (lower surface of R1 of 21 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring has a width (WR1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) less than a width (WC Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 6: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 2, wherein the inner side surface (inner side surface of T1 and T2; “the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) is a slanted surface (“inclined” [0039]).
Referring to claim 7: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 6, wherein the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring has a width (WR1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) substantially the same as a width (inner width of US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 8: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 7, wherein the inner end (inner end of US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) has a radius different from a radius of the inner end (IS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring.
Referring to claim 9: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 2, wherein the at least one slurry passage comprises: an inlet (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) formed at the outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B), wherein the inlet is configured to introduce the slurry; and an outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) formed at the lower surface (lower surface of R1 of 21 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring, wherein the outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) is configured to discharge the slurry.
Referring to claim 10: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 9, wherein a plurality of inlets (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) are arranged in a circumferential line (circumferential line of 21/22 shown in Figs. 2A, 4A, and 4B) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B), and a plurality of outlets (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) are arranged in the circumferential line (circumferential line of 21/22 shown in Figs. 2A, 4A, and 4B) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) corresponding to the plurality of inlets (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B).
Referring to claim 11: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 10, wherein each inlet of the plurality of inlets (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) and each outlet the plurality of outlets (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) have an arc shape or a circular shape (arc and circular shape of pluralities of T1 and T2 shown in Figs. 4A and 4B).
Referring to claim 12: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 10, wherein each inlet of the plurality of inlets (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) has an arc shape (arc shape of pluralities of T2 shown in Figs. 4A and 4B) and each outlet of the plurality of outlets (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) has a circular shape (circular shape of pluralities of T1 shown in Figs. 4A and 4B).
Referring to claim 13: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 1, comprising a shutter (P1/P2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) configured to open and close (shown in Figs. 4A and 4B) the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C).
Referring to claim 14: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 13, wherein the shutter (P1/P2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) is at an outer side surface (OS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 15: ADACHI discloses a retainer ring module (shown in Fig. 1) comprising: a retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) on a lower surface of a polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9), wherein the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) is configured to surround a substrate (W Fig. 2B) on an upper surface of a polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9) to which slurry (slurry delivered from 30 Figs. 1 and 6A) is provided; at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) formed at the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) in a downward slant direction (“the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined” [0039]) toward a central portion (“the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) of the retainer ring, wherein the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is configured to introduce the slurry outside (shown in Fig. 6A) the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) into a space (shown in Fig. 6B; [0050]) between the substrate (W Fig. 2B) and the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9); and a shutter (P1/P2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) configured to open and close (shown in Figs. 4A and 4B) the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C), wherein the at least one slurry passage comprises: an inlet (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) formed at an outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) to introduce the slurry; and an outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) formed at a lower surface (lower surface of R1 of 21 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring to discharge the slurry.
Referring to claim 16: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 15, wherein the retainer ring comprises: a lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) in contact with the upper surface of the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9);
an upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted below) in contact with the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9);
an inner side surface (inner side surface of T1 and T2; “the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) connecting an inner end (inner end of US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) and an inner end (IS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B); and
an outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) connecting an outer end (outer end of US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) and an outer end (OS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 17: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 16, wherein at least one surface of the inner side surface and the outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) is a vertical plane (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above), and the lower surface (lower surface of R2 of 22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring has a width larger (WR2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) than a width (WC Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 18: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 16, wherein the inner side surface (inner side surface of T1 and T2; “the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) is a slanted surface (“inclined” [0039]), and the lower surface (lower surface of R1 of 21 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring has a width (WR1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) substantially the same as a width (inner width of US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B).
Referring to claim 19: ADACHI discloses a retainer ring module (shown in Fig. 1) comprising: a retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) on a lower surface of a polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9), wherein the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) is configured to surround a substrate (W Fig. 2B) on an upper surface of a polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9) to which slurry (slurry delivered from 30 Figs. 1 and 6A) is provided;
at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) formed at the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) in a downward slant (“the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined” [0039]) direction toward a central portion (“the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) of the retainer ring, wherein the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C) is configured to introduce the slurry outside (shown in Fig. 6A) the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) into a space (shown in Fig. 6B; [0050]) between the substrate (W Fig. 2B) and the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9);
and a shutter (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9) configured to open and close (shown in Figs. 4A and 4B) the at least one slurry passage (OP1/OP2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 6A, 6B, and 6C), wherein the retainer ring comprises:
a lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) in contact with the upper surface of the polishing pad (10 Figs. 1, 2B, 6A, 6B, and 9);
an upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted below) in contact with the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the polishing head (20 Figs. 1, 2A, 2B, and 9);
an inner side surface (inner side surface of T1 and T2; “the first and second trenches T1 and T2 may be inclined and extended in some degree from the radially inward or outward direction of the first and second retainer rings R1 and R2” [0039]) connecting an inner end (inner end of US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) and
an inner end (IS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B); and
an outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) connecting an outer end (outer end of US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the upper surface (US Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) and an outer end (OS2 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B), and wherein the at least one slurry passage comprises:
an inlet (T2 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) formed at an outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the retainer ring (21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) to introduce the slurry; and an outlet (T1 Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B) formed at a lower surface (lower surface of R1/R2 of 21/22 Figs. 2A and 2B) of the retainer ring to discharge the slurry.
Referring to claim 20: ADACHI discloses the retainer ring module of claim 19, wherein at least one surface of the inner side surface and the outer side surface (OS1 Fig. 1-A inserted above) is a vertical plane (shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723