DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 7, the claim(s) recites “identifying at least two of the two or more elements within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light based on the optical absorption spectrum” which amounts to an abstract idea (mental process).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because:
- The claims fail to outline an improvement to the technical field.
- The claims fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment.
- The claims fail to apply the judicial exception with a particular machine.
- The claims fail to effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element or a combination of elements, integrates judicial exception into a practical application.
For this part of the 101 analysis, the following additional limitations are considered:
“emitting light from a photonic integrated circuit (PIC)-scale dual frequency comb (DFC) at a plurality of different wavelengths via a body-worn device directed at one or more bodily structures of an animal; detecting acoustic waves from thermo-elastic changes in two or more elements within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light via three or more sensors in the body-worn device, the two or more elements comprising at least oxygenated blood and non-oxygenated blood; generating an optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from each of the three or more sensors;”
“generating a three-dimensional (3-D) image of one or more blood vessels based on the optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from the oxygenated blood and the non-oxygenated blood from each of the three or more sensors.”
The additional elements are insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they seem to merely generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Moreover, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they pertain merely to insignificant extrasolution data gathering activities and generic postsolution activity.
Furthermore, sensors are general field of use and _ are generic computer elements used to perform generic computer functions and don’t add significantly more and are well-understood, routine, and previously known to the industry.
None of these limitations, considered as an ordered combination provide eligibility because the claim taken as a whole, does not amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea of identifying the results of an optical absorption spectrum by detected acoustic waves resulting from thermoelastic changes in elements within the body and does not purport to improve the functioning of the signal processing, or to improve any other technology or technical field. Use of a generic signal processing does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Dependent claims 8-12 also do not add significantly more to the exception as they merely add details to the mental steps, add details to the extrasolution data gathering steps, add general field of use components to facilitate the extrasolution data gathering, and add mental steps.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim(s) recites “(ii) identifying at least two of the two or more elements within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light based on the optical absorption spectrum” which amounts to an abstract idea (mental process).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because:
- The claims fail to outline an improvement to the technical field.
- The claims fail to apply the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment.
- The claims fail to apply the judicial exception with a particular machine.
- The claims fail to effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element or a combination of elements, integrates judicial exception into a practical application.
For this part of the 101 analysis, the following additional limitations are considered:
“(i) a plurality of emission points for emitting light from the PIC-scale DFC at a plurality of different wavelengths
(ii) at least three sensors for each of the plurality of emission points, and
(iii) a plurality of optical fiber cables carrying light from the PIC-scale DFC to each of the plurality of emission points,
wherein each of the plurality of emission points are adapted to direct the emitted light at one or more bodily structures of an animal, wherein the at least three sensors for each of the plurality of emission points are adapted to detect acoustic waves from thermo-elastic changes in two or more elements within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light from a corresponding emission point, wherein the two or more elements comprise at least oxygenated blood and non-oxygenated blood; and
at least one processing element for (i) generating an optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from each of at least three sensors for one or more of the plurality of emission points,
…
“(iii) generating a three-dimensional (3-D) image of one or more blood vessels based on the optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from the oxygenated blood and the non-oxygenated blood from each of the three or more sensors for one or more of the plurality of emission points. “
The additional elements are insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they seem to merely generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Moreover, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they pertain merely to insignificant extrasolution data gathering activities and generic postsolution activity.
Furthermore, sensors are general field of use and processing elements are generic computer elements used to perform generic computer functions and don’t add significantly more and are well-understood, routine, and previously known to the industry.
None of these limitations, considered as an ordered combination provide eligibility because the claim taken as a whole, does not amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea of identifying the results of an optical absorption spectrum by detected acoustic waves resulting from thermoelastic changes in elements within the body and does not purport to improve the functioning of the signal processing, or to improve any other technology or technical field. Use of a generic signal processing does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Dependent claims 14-20 also do not add significantly more to the exception as they merely add details to the mental steps, add details to the extrasolution data gathering steps, add general field of use components to facilitate the extrasolution data gathering, and add mental steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 13, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (“A photoacoustic patch for three-dimensional imaging of hemoglobin and core temperature”) (“Gao”) in view of Kawaguchi et al (US 2015/0038813) (“Kawaguchi”) and further in view of Shnaiderman et al (US 2021/0055473) (“Shnaiderman”) and further in view of Lamberti et al (US 2024/0201138) (“Lamberti”).
Regarding Claim 7, while Gao teaches a method for non-invasive medical imaging, the method comprising:
emitting light from a photoacoustic imaging at a single wavelength via a body-worn device directed at one or more bodily structures of an animal (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, Col. 1, “Figure 1a schematically illustrates the design and working principle of the soft photoacoustic patch. The patch includes a VCSEL array as the light source and a piezoelectric transducer array for photo acoustic wave detection. The laser beams are diffused in deep tis sues. Hemoglobin molecules will undergo thermoelastic expansion after absorbing optical energy and collapse when the energy is absent. Therefore, when illuminated by the pulsed laser from the VCSEL array, hemoglobin will vibrate and emit acoustic waves. The piezoelectric transducers will receive the acoustic waves for gen erating the spatial distribution of the wave emitters. Therefore, photoacoustic imaging takes advantages of the unique absorption characteristics of biomolecules and highly penetrating acoustic waves to achieve high spatial resolution mapping of biomolecules in deep tissues.” emitting light from a photoacoustic imaging via a body-worn patch device directed at one or more bodily structures of a human animal, Col. 2, the patch emitting light at a single wavelength especially absorbed by hemoglobin);
detecting acoustic waves from thermo-elastic changes in one elements within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light via three or more sensors in the body-worn device (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, Col. 1, piezoelectric transducers detect thermoelastic expansion/changes in hemoglobin within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light, where 240 piezoelectric transducers in the patch are used to monitor acoustic waves),
generating an optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from each of the three or more sensors (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, generating an optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves due to hemoglobin being excited by the laser light, the acoustic wave is measured at each piezoelectric transducer);
identifying at least one element within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light based on the optical absorption spectrum (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, p5, Ex-vivo 3D hemoglobin mapping and core temperature measurement, Col. 1, identifies hemoglobin); and
generating a three-dimensional (3-D) image of one or more blood vessels based on the optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from the hemoglobin from each of the three or more sensors (p5, Ex-vivo 3D hemoglobin mapping and core temperature measurement, Col. 1, identifies hemoglobin with a 2D photoacoustic image and generates a 3D map of hemoglobin),
Gao further teaches that emitting light at multiple wavelengths is preferable to either monitor multiple biomolecules or effect multiple absorption characteristics of a single biomolecule (p8, Discussion);
Gao fails to explicitly teach emitting light from a photoacoustic imaging at a plurality of wavelengths via the body-worn device
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the consideration of monitoring multiple wavelengths as taught by Gao to the photoacoustic patch of Fig. 1a of Gao to take advantage of the stated benefits (i.e. enables monitoring multiple biomolecules or effecting multiple absorption characteristics of a single biomolecule).
Yet Gao fails to teach detecting acoustic waves from thermo-elastic changes in two or more elements within the one or more bodily structures, the two or more elements comprising at least oxygenated blood and non-oxygenated blood;
identifying at least two of the two or more elements within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light based on the optical absorption spectrum;
generating a three-dimensional (3-D) image of one or more blood vessels based on the optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from the oxygenated blood and the non-oxygenated blood from each of the three or more sensors.
However Kawaguchi teaches a photoacoustic monitoring device (Abstract) and teaches that photoacoustic monitoring can be applied at multiple wavelengths to be absorbed by oxygenated hemoglobin and deoxygenated hemoglobin ([0033]-[0037]) to identify blood distribution in the skin and enable a diagnosis of the patient ([0039]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to specifically set the multiple wavelengths of Gao to measure for oxygenated hemoglobin and deoxygenated hemoglobin as taught by Kawaguchi as it is a natural extension of the monitoring of hemoglobin already occurring in Gao and adds utility to Gao by enabling a blood distribution analysis for diagnosis purposes.
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach the photoacoustic imaging is photonic integrated circuit (PIC)-scale dual frequency comb (DFC).
However Shnaiderman teaches that a photoacoustic system’s sensing structure can incorporate a waveguide, the waveguide being an integrated photonic circuit (Abstract, [0069]-[0072], [0134]) where this system may be particularly suited to blood monitoring ([0149]) and Lamberti teaches a photoacoustic imaging method (Abstract, [0008]) utilizing dual-frequency comb to set the optical resonance element in a plurality of sensors ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to narrow the broad photoacoustic imaging of Gao with more particular modalities and characteristics as taught by Shnaiderman and Lamberti to ensure consistency in structure across applications of the invention while also providing beneficial teachings such as adding waveguide may make the system more suitable for medical monitoring and the many sensors of the patch may be each paired with a particular resonance element to optimally make use of the large amount of contained piezoelectric transducers.
Regarding Claim 8, Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the method of claim 7, wherein the three or more sensors comprise one or more transducers (See Claim 7 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 9, Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the method of claim 7, and Kawaguchi teaches displaying the results of the photoacoustic analysis (See Claim 7 Rejection), their combined efforts fail to explicitly teach the method further comprising displaying the generated 3-D image.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to display the analysis result of Gao that specifically reflects the generated 3-D image as Kawaguchi teaches the image display section may output the results. This would ensure that a user could make best diagnostic use of distribution of oxygenation in the measured vasculature.
Regarding Claim 13, while Gao teaches a method for non-invasive medical imaging (Abstract), the method comprising:
A photoacoustic imaging (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch);
A body-worn structure comprising (i) a plurality of emission points for emitting light from a photoacoustic imaging at a single wavelength (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, Col. 1, “Figure 1a schematically illustrates the design and working principle of the soft photoacoustic patch. The patch includes a VCSEL array as the light source and a piezoelectric transducer array for photo acoustic wave detection. The laser beams are diffused in deep tis sues. Hemoglobin molecules will undergo thermoelastic expansion after absorbing optical energy and collapse when the energy is absent. Therefore, when illuminated by the pulsed laser from the VCSEL array, hemoglobin will vibrate and emit acoustic waves. The piezoelectric transducers will receive the acoustic waves for gen erating the spatial distribution of the wave emitters. Therefore, photoacoustic imaging takes advantages of the unique absorption characteristics of biomolecules and highly penetrating acoustic waves to achieve high spatial resolution mapping of biomolecules in deep tissues.” emitting light from a photoacoustic imaging via a body-worn patch device directed at one or more bodily structures of a human animal, Col. 2, the patch emitting light at a single wavelength especially absorbed by hemoglobin), ii) at least three sensors for each of the plurality of emission points (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, Col. 1, 24 laser light sources to 240 piezoelectric transducers) and (iii) a plurality of optical fiber cables carrying light from the photoacoustic coupling to each of the plurality of emission points (Examiner notes that optical fibers must carry light in this manner by necessity), wherein each of the plurality of emission points are adapted to direct the emitted light at one or more bodily structures of an animal, wherein the at least three sensors for each of the plurality of emission points are adapted to detect acoustic waves from thermo-elastic changes in one element within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light from a corresponding emission point (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, Col. 1, piezoelectric transducers detect thermoelastic expansion/changes in hemoglobin within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light, where 240 piezoelectric transducers in the patch are used to monitor acoustic waves),
at least one processing element (p10, System setup and data collection) for (i) generating an optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from each of at least three sensors for one or more of the plurality of emission points (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, generating an optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves due to hemoglobin being excited by the laser light, the acoustic wave is measured at each piezoelectric transducer), (ii) identifying at least the one elements within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light based on the optical absorption spectrum (Fig. 1a, p2, Design, fabrication, and working principle of the soft photo-acoustic patch, p5, Ex-vivo 3D hemoglobin mapping and core temperature measurement, Col. 1, identifies hemoglobin), and (iii) generating a three-dimensional (3-D) image of one or more blood vessels based on the optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from hemoglobin from each of the three or more sensors for one or more of the plurality of emission points (p5, Ex-vivo 3D hemoglobin mapping and core temperature measurement, Col. 1, identifies hemoglobin with a 2D photoacoustic image and generates a 3D map of hemoglobin),
Gao further teaches that emitting light at multiple wavelengths is preferable to either monitor multiple biomolecules or effect multiple absorption characteristics of a single biomolecule (p8, Discussion);
Gao fails to explicitly teach emitting light from a photoacoustic imaging at a plurality of wavelengths via the body-worn device
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the consideration of monitoring multiple wavelengths as taught by Gao to the photoacoustic patch of Fig. 1a of Gao to take advantage of the stated benefits (i.e. enables monitoring multiple biomolecules or effecting multiple absorption characteristics of a single biomolecule).
Yet Gao fails to teach detecting acoustic waves from thermo-elastic changes in two or more elements within the one or more bodily structures, the two or more elements comprising at least oxygenated blood and non-oxygenated blood;
identifying at least two of the two or more elements within the one or more bodily structures exposed to the emitted light based on the optical absorption spectrum;
generating a three-dimensional (3-D) image of one or more blood vessels based on the optical absorption spectrum from the detected acoustic waves from the oxygenated blood and the non-oxygenated blood from each of the three or more sensors.
However Kawaguchi teaches a photoacoustic monitoring device (Abstract) and teaches that photoacoustic monitoring can be applied at multiple wavelengths to be absorbed by oxygenated hemoglobin and deoxygenated hemoglobin ([0033]-[0037]) to identify blood distribution in the skin and enable a diagnosis of the patient ([0039]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to specifically set the multiple wavelengths of Gao to measure for oxygenated hemoglobin and deoxygenated hemoglobin as taught by Kawaguchi as it is a natural extension of the monitoring of hemoglobin already occurring in Gao and adds utility to Gao by enabling a blood distribution analysis for diagnosis purposes.
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach the photoacoustic imaging is photonic integrated circuit (PIC)-scale dual frequency comb (DFC).
However Shnaiderman teaches that a photoacoustic system’s sensing structure can incorporate a waveguide, the waveguide being an integrated photonic circuit (Abstract, [0069]-[0072], [0134]) where this system may be particularly suited to blood monitoring ([0149]) and Lamberti teaches a photoacoustic imaging method (Abstract, [0008]) utilizing dual-frequency comb to set the optical resonance element in a plurality of sensors ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to narrow the broad photoacoustic imaging of Gao with more particular modalities and characteristics as taught by Shnaiderman and Lamberti to ensure consistency in structure across applications of the invention while also providing beneficial teachings such as adding waveguide may make the system more suitable for medical monitoring and the many sensors of the patch may be each paired with a particular resonance element to optimally make use of the large amount of contained piezoelectric transducers.
Regarding Claim 15, while Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the device of claim 13, wherein the PIC-scale DFC resides in the body-worn structure (See Claim 13 Rejection, photoacoustic elements reside in patch, thus the specific photoacoustic components of PIC-scale DFC will as well).
Regarding Claim 19, Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the device of claim 13, wherein the at least three sensors comprise at least three transducers (See Claim 13 Rejection).
Claim(s) 10, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Kawaguchi and further in view of Shnaiderman and further in view of Lamberti and further in view of Panchawagh et al (US 2025/0090028) (“Panchawagh”).
Regarding Claim 10, while Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the method of claim 7, their combined efforts fail to teach the method further comprising providing the generated 3-D image to an artificial intelligence algorithm.
However Panchawagh teaches a photoacoustic monitoring system (Abstract) and teaches the photoacoustic monitoring results can be applied to an artificial intelligence to predict physiological characteristics of a blood vessel ([0042]-[0045], [0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the 3-D map of Gao to an artificial intelligence of Panchawagh as a way to train and then utilize a physiological parameter predictor, for streamlined patient monitoring in the future.
Regarding Claim 16, while Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the device of claim 13, their combined efforts fail to teach the device further comprising a housing separate from the body-worn structure and a display element within the housing for displaying the generated 3-D image.
However Panchawagh teaches a photoacoustic monitoring system (Abstract) and teaches the photoacoustic monitoring system can be in communication with an external device with a display ([0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to allow the housing separate from the body-worn structure of Gao and a display element within the housing as taught Panchawagh to be in communication as this allows a remote healthcare provider the ability to review a displayed generated 3-D image.
Regarding Claim 17, Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, Lamberti, and Panchawagh teach the device of claim 16, wherein the PIC-scale DFC resides in the housing (See Claim 16 Rejection, photoacoustic elements reside in patch, thus the specific photoacoustic components of PIC-scale DFC will as well)..
Regarding Claim 18, Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, Lamberti, and Panchawagh teach the device of claim 17, further comprising a plurality of optical fiber cables for carrying light from the PIC-scale DFC in the housing to the plurality of emission points in the body-worn structure (See Claims 13 and 17 Rejections).
Regarding Claim 20, while Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the device of claim 13, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the at least one processing element provides the generated 3-D image to an artificial intelligence algorithm.
However Panchawagh teaches a photoacoustic monitoring system (Abstract) and teaches the photoacoustic monitoring results can be applied to an artificial intelligence to predict physiological characteristics of a blood vessel ([0042]-[0045], [0132]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the 3-D map of Gao to an artificial intelligence of Panchawagh as a way to train and then utilize a physiological parameter predictor, for streamlined patient monitoring in the future.
Claim(s) 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Kawaguchi and further in view of Shnaiderman and further in view of Lamberti and further in view of Van Soest et al (US 2018/0035891) (“Van Soest”) as noted in Applicant IDS dated 04/29/2025.
Regarding Claim 11, while Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the method of claim 7, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the one or more blood vessels comprise one or more coronary arteries.
However Van Soest teaches a photoacoustic monitoring system (Abstract) and teaches the photoacoustic monitoring results can be applied to coronary arteries to identify plaque ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the patch monitoring of Gao to evaluate coronary arteries as taught by Van Soest to increase Gao’s patch utility by enabling it to find plaque.
Regarding Claim 14, while Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the device of claim 13, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the one or more blood vessels comprise one or more coronary arteries.
However Van Soest teaches a photoacoustic monitoring system (Abstract) and teaches the photoacoustic monitoring results can be applied to coronary arteries to identify plaque ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the patch monitoring of Gao to evaluate coronary arteries as taught by Van Soest to increase Gao’s patch utility by enabling it to find plaque.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Kawaguchi and further in view of Shnaiderman and further in view of Lamberti and further in view of Toma et al (US 2014/0081142) (“Toma”).
Regarding Claim 12, while Gao, Kawaguchi, Shnaiderman, and Lamberti teach the method of claim 7, their combined efforts fail to teach wherein the one or more blood vessels comprise an aorta.
However Toma teaches a photoacoustic monitoring system (Abstract) and teaches the photoacoustic monitoring can be applied to model different blood vessels such as an aorta ([0136]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the patch monitoring of Gao to evaluate an aorta as taught by Toma as a non-invasive way to obtain characterization data of the aorta.
Conclusion
/JAIRO H. PORTILLO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791