DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 2, and 4-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, 12, 15, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behzadi et al. (US 2022/0035510 A1) and further in view of Locker et al. (US 2009/0040048 A1) and Miller et al. (US 2020/0213812 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Behzadi discloses a method, comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (Fig. 2: device with touch screen display):
while displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface associated with a trackable object that is associated with the electronic device, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to associate the trackable object with a time-bounded event (Figs. 8K-8M and Paragraphs 0268-0272: user selects selectable option 839 to initiate sharing a remote locator object with a user for a selectable time period (e.g. until the end of the day));
and in response to receiving the first input, initiating a process to share information corresponding to a location of the trackable object, wherein the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared for a respective duration associated with the time-bounded event (Figs. 8K-8M and Paragraphs 0268-0272: in response to the user selecting the selectable option, interfaces are provided for selecting a user and time period (e.g. end of the day) and starting the sharing of the remote locator object with the user for the designated time period).
While Behzadi teaches in response to receiving the first input, initiating a process to share information corresponding to a location of the trackable object ,wherein the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared for a respective duration associated with the time-bounded event, they fail to show with a travel organization associated with time-bounded event, the travel organization includes multiple individuals who have access to the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object while the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared with the travel organization, as recited in the claims. Locker teaches a trackable object similar to that of Behzadi. In addition, Locker further teaches
an airline accessing the location of a user’s trackable device, where the airline includes multiple individuals who have access to the information corresponding to the location of the trackable device (Paragraph 0022, Paragraph 0054 lines 1-4, Paragraph 0059, Paragraph 0061 lines 8-13, and Paragraph 0063 lines 8-11: airline receives location information of a user’s trackable device, where airline security personnel and baggage personnel can access the location information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Behzadi and Locker before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the in response to receiving the first input, initiating a process to share information corresponding to a location of the trackable object ,wherein the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared for a respective duration associated with the time-bounded event by Behzadi to include an airline accessing the location of a user’s trackable device, where the airline includes multiple individuals who have access to the information corresponding to the location of the trackable device of Locker, in order to obtain in response to receiving the first input, initiating a process to share information corresponding to a location of the trackable object with a travel organization associated with the time-bounded event, wherein: the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared with the travel organization for a respective duration associated with the time-bounded event; and the travel organization includes multiple individuals who have access to the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object while the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared with the travel organization. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as assisting airlines in maintaining security, properly routing luggage, and improving overall airline customer service, efficiency, and security would have been obtained, as suggested by Locker (Paragraph 0015 lines 6-10 and Paragraph 0063 lines 20-21).
While the combination of Behzadi and Locker teach a time-bounded event and the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared with the travel organization for a respective duration associated with the time-bounded event, they fail to show the time-bounded travel event and the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is not accessible to the travel organization after the end of the time-bounded travel event, as recited in the claims. Miller teaches sharing location information similar to that of Behzadi and Locker. In addition, Miller further teaches
associating a trackable object with time-bounded travel event and information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is not accessible to a shared entity after the end of the time-bounded travel event (Paragraph 0011 lines 3-6, Paragraph 0012, Paragraph 0017 lines 15-22, Paragraph 0041, Paragraph 0043 lines 1-4, and Paragraph 0045: duration that permits an entity access to location data, where the duration is set based on relevant data of a journey such as ETA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Behzadi, Locker, and Miller before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the time-bounded event and the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared with the travel organization for a respective duration associated with the time-bounded event taught by Behzadi and Locker to include the associating a trackable object with time-bounded travel event and information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is not accessible to a shared entity after the end of the time-bounded travel event of Miller, in order to obtain receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to associate the trackable object with a time- bounded travel event; and in response to receiving the first input, initiating a process to share information corresponding to a location of the trackable object with a travel organization associated with the time-bounded travel event, wherein: the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared with the travel organization for a respective duration associated with the time-bounded travel event; the travel organization includes multiple individuals who have access to the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object while the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is shared with the travel organization; and the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object is not accessible to the travel organization after the end of the time-bounded travel event. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as improving network performance by limiting service to when it is most likely wanted by users and providing a faster and easier user experience, as suggested by Miller (Paragraph 0019).
In regard to claim 2, Miller further discloses selection of a first selectable option as a first input for associating a trackable object with the time-bounded travel event (Paragraph 0048 lines 8-15). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein: the user interface associated with the trackable object includes a first selectable option that is selectable for requesting associating the trackable object with the time-bounded travel event; and the first input includes selection of the first selectable option. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as improving network performance by limiting service to when it is most likely wanted by users and providing a faster and easier user experience, as suggested by Miller (Paragraph 0019).
In regard to claim 4, Behzadi discloses wherein the user interface associated with the trackable object is a management user interface for the trackable object, wherein the management user interface is a user interface of an item locating application (Fig. 8K, Paragraph 0212, and Paragraph 0261: interface 830 is similar to interface 660 where interface 660 is a user interface of an application for tracking and finding items).
In regard to claim 5, Behzadi discloses wherein the item locating application provides for management of a plurality of trackable objects including the trackable object (Fig. 6N, Fig. 8k, Paragraph 0216, and Paragraph 0217: list of items that are being tracked and that can be selected for managing).
In regard to claim 6, Behzadi discloses wherein initiating the process to share information corresponding to the location of the trackable object includes: displaying, via the display generation component, information corresponding to one or more respective future time-bounded events, including a time-bounded event (Fig. 8N and Paragraph 0272: list of multiple shared users associated with time-bounded share events for a trackable object). Accordingly, the combining further teaches wherein initiating the process to share information corresponding to the location of the trackable object with the travel organization associated with the time-bounded travel event includes: displaying, via the display generation component, information corresponding to one or more respective future time-bounded events, including the time-bounded travel event.
In regard to claim 7, Behzadi discloses after sharing the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object, displaying, via the display generation component, an indication that the trackable object is associated with a time-bounded event in the management user interface (Fig. 8N and Paragraph 0272: 837-2 includes indication that remote locator is shared and the duration of the sharing). Accordingly, the combination further teaches after sharing the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object with the travel organization associated with the time-bounded travel event, displaying, via the display generation component, an indication that the trackable object is associated with the time-bounded travel event in the management user interface.
In regard to claim 8, Behzadi discloses wherein the user interface associated with the trackable object is a management user interface for a time-bounded event (Fig. 8M, Paragraph 0271, and Paragraph 0272: user interface provides selection for the time period (e.g. until the end of the day)). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the user interface associated with the trackable object is a management user interface for the time-bounded travel event.
In regard to claim 9, Behzadi discloses wherein the management user interface for the time- bounded event is a user interface of an application associated with a shared entity (Fig. 6R and Paragraphs 0219-0220: the to be shared user can initiate sharing through an interface associated with the to be shared user). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein the management user interface for the time-bounded travel event is a user interface of an application associated with the travel organization.
In regard to claim 12, Behzadi discloses wherein a beginning of the respective duration associated with a time-bounded event is determined based on a beginning of the time-bounded event (Paragraphs 0271-0272: the specified time period begins when the sharing is initiated and therefore beginning the duration). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein a beginning of the respective duration associated with the time-bounded travel event is determined based on a beginning of the time-bounded travel event.
In regard to claim 15, Miller further discloses wherein an end of the respective duration associated with the time-bounded travel event is determined based on an anticipated end of the time-bounded travel event (Paragraph 0041 and Paragraph 0043 lines 1-4: ETA of journey). It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as improving network performance by limiting service to when it is most likely wanted by users and providing a faster and easier user experience, as suggested by Miller (Paragraph 0019).
In regard to claim 19, Behzadi discloses wherein initiating the process to share information corresponding to the location of the trackable object w includes initiating a process to grant permission to an entity to access one or more features of the trackable object for enabling locating the trackable object based on signals transmitted by the trackable object (Paragraph 0202 and Paragraph 0269: remote locator object transmits location data to an electronic device. The sharing enables tracking location of the remote locator object. Therefore, the sharing enables (e.g. grants permission) a specified user to receive the location data that reported by the remote locator object). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein initiating the process to share information corresponding to the location of the trackable object with the travel organization associated with the time-bounded travel event includes initiating a process to grant permission to the travel organization to access one or more features of the trackable object for enabling locating the trackable object based on signals transmitted by the trackable object.
In regard to claim 20, device claim 20 corresponds generally to method claim 1 and recites similar features in device form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claim 21, medium claim 21 corresponds generally to method claim 1 and recites similar features in medium form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
4. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behzadi et al. (US 2022/0035510 A1), Locker et al. (US 2009/0040048 A1), Miller et al. (US 2020/0213812 A1), and further in view of Fox et al. (US 2022/0051182 A1).
In regard to claim 17, while Behzadi, Locker, and Miller teaches the first input, share information corresponding to a location of the trackable object with a travel organization associated with the time-bounded travel event, and Behzadi further teaches a current location of the trackable object (Paragraph 0202: the trackable object transmits location data), they fail to show the a current location of the trackable object is updated at the electronic device at a first frequency and the current location of the trackable object is updated at the electronic device at a second frequency, greater than the first frequency, as recited in the claims. Fox teaches a trackable object similar to that of Behzadi. In addition, Fox further teaches
updating location of a tracking device at a first frequency and then updating the location of the tracking device at a second frequency higher than the first frequency (Paragraph 0019: passive mode reports at first frequency and active mode reports at send frequency greater than the first frequency)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Behzadi, Locker, Miller, and Fox before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first input, share information corresponding to a location of the trackable object with a travel organization associated with the time-bounded travel event, and a current location of the trackable object taught by Behzadi, Locker, and Miller to include the updating location of a tracking device at a first frequency and then updating the location of the tracking device at a second frequency higher than the first frequency of Fox, in order to obtain before receiving the first input, a current location of the trackable object is updated at the electronic device at a first frequency; and while sharing the information corresponding to the location of the trackable object with the travel organization associated with the time-bounded travel event, the current location of the trackable object is updated at the electronic device at a second frequency, greater than the first frequency. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as avoiding draining the battery of the tracking device very quickly, as suggested by Fox (Paragraph 0012 lines 1-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 10, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “wherein the management user interface for the time-bounded travel event is a user interface of a virtual wallet application configured to store digital passes, including a digital pass associated with the time-bounded travel event”, in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claim 11, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “wherein the first input includes input directed to a system alert of the electronic device that is displayed via the display generation component”, in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claim 13, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “wherein a beginning of the respective duration associated with the time-bounded travel event is determined based on a current location of the electronic device”, in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claim 14, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “wherein a beginning of the respective duration associated with the time-bounded travel event is determined based on detection that the location of the trackable object is more than a threshold distance from a current location of the electronic device”, in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claim 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “wherein an end of the respective duration associated with the time-bounded travel event is determined based on detection that the location of the trackable object is within a threshold distance of a current location of the electronic device”, in combination with the other elements recited.
In regard to claim 18, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone or in combination, the recited “wherein the information is determined based on: a current location of the trackable object; and tracking updates for the trackable object provided by the travel organization”, in combination with the other elements recited.
Response to Arguments
6. The arguments filed 1/30/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the claim amendments and new grounds of rejections presented in this office action.
The argued claims 1, 20, and 21 have been amended to change their scope to present subject matter not previously presented. The claims were previously rejected over 35 U.S.C. 102 using a single reference Behzadi et al. (US 2022/0035510 A1). Claims 1, 20 and 21 are now rejected over a combination of Behzadi et al. (US 2022/0035510 A1), Locker et al. (US 2009/0040048 A1), and Miller et al. (US 2020/0213812 A1). Therefore, the arguments which do not address this combination of references are considered moot.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179