Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jones et al (XP093275103), hereinafter Jones (of record, cited by ISA).
With respect to claim 1, Jones teaches
A method for performing a quantum computation via a quantum algorithm
implemented on quantum computing system, QCS, that includes a set of
qubits (Abstract: "...We propose methods which substantially improve the
performance of a particular form of simulation, ab initio quantum chemistry,
on fault-tolerant quantum computers [...] Quantum teleportation plays a
key role in these improvements and is used extensively as a computing
resource [...] A specific example we analyze is the ground-state energy
calculation for lithium hydride..."), the method comprising:
executing, at a first time and on the QCS, a precompute algorithm that is a
first portion of the quantum algorithm, wherein executing the precompute
algorithm generates a precompute output that includes first quantum
information encoded in a first subset of the set of qubits (2. Fault-tolerant
phase rotations: "...programmable ancilla rotations (PARs), which compute
ancillas in advance using one of the above methods to achieve very low
circuit depth in the algorithm...", 2.3. Programmable ancilla rotation: "...pre-
computes ancillas before they are needed...", Fig. 4);
receiving, at a second time that is subsequent to the first time and at the
QCS, a runtime input for the quantum algorithm (2.3. Programmable
ancilla rotation: ...pre-computes ancillas before they are needed [---] The
cascading series of probabilistic rotations continues until the desired
rotation is produced or the programmed ancillas are exhausted. Fig. 4);
executing, at a third time that is subsequent to the second time and on the
QCS, a runtime algorithm that is a second portion of the quantum
algorithm based on the first quantum information encoded in the first
subset of qubits and the runtime input, wherein executing the runtime
algorithm generates a runtime output that includes second quantum
information encoded in a second subset of the set of qubits (2.3.
Programmable ancilla rotation: ...pre-computes ancillas before they are
needed [...] The cascading series of probabilistic rotations continues until
the desired rotation is produced or the programmed ancillas are
exhausted Fig. 4); and
providing an output of the quantum algorithm, wherein the output of the
quantum algorithm is based on the second quantum information encoded
in the second subset of qubits (2.3. Programmable ancilla rotation: pre-
computes ancillas before they are needed [...] The cascading series of
probabilistic rotations continues until the desired rotation is produced or
the programmed ancillas are exhausted. Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 2, Jones further teaches
at a fourth time that is prior to the
first time, receiving, at the QCS, a precompute input that includes first classical
information; and executing the precompute algorithm based on the first classical
information included in the precompute input, wherein an input to the quantum
algorithm includes each of the precompute input and the runtime input (2.3.
Programmable ancilla rotation, Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 3, Jones further teaches
the first classical information also at least partially
characterizes a quantum circuit associated with the quantum algorithm (2.3.
Programmable ancilla rotation, Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 4, Jones further teaches
the runtime input also includes second classical information
and a combination of the first classical information and the second classical
information fully characterizes the quantum circuit associated with the quantum
algorithm (2.3. Programmable ancilla rotation, Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 5, Jones further teaches
executing the runtime algorithm is also further based on each
of the second classical information (2.3. Programmable ancilla rotation, Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 6, Jones further teaches
the runtime input also includes third quantum information and
executing the runtime algorithm is further based on the third quantum
information (2.3. Programmable ancilla rotation, Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 8, Jones further teaches
the first classical information also encodes a unitary operator,
the first quantum information also encodes a first quantum state, and the
second quantum information also encodes a second quantum state that is a
result of the unitary operator operating on the first quantum state (2.3.
Programmable ancilla rotation, Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 10, Jones further teaches
the quantum algorithm is also a gate teleportation algorithm
and the precompute output includes encodings of Clifford unitary operators (2.3.
Programmable ancilla rotation, Fig. 4).
Claims 11-16, 18, and 20 correspond to claims 1-6, 8, and 10, and are analyzed accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Leipold et al (US 2020/0105994), hereinafter Leipold.
With respect to claim 7, Jones teaches the method of claim 2, however fails to teach wherein the first classical information encodes a classical description of a Hamiltonian associated with the quantum algorithm and the second quantum information includes a ground state of the Hamiltonian. Leipold teaches wherein the first classical information encodes a classical description of a Hamiltonian associated with the quantum algorithm and the second quantum information includes a ground state of the Hamiltonian ([0616]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of Jones which teaches a quantum algorithm computation method with the teaching of Leipold to find the minima of a given function over a given set of candidate solutions using the well known method of Hamiltonian as described representing the solution that is pursued (Leipold, [0616]).
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 7, and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Low et al (US 2020/0349457), hereinafter Low.
With respect to claim 9, Jones teaches the method of claim 1. Jones fails to teach wherein the quantum algorithm is a density matrix exponentiation algorithm that includes a reflection about a quantum state. Low teaches wherein the quantum algorithm is a density matrix exponentiation algorithm that includes a reflection about a quantum state ([0050], [0075], [0084]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system of Jones which teaches a quantum algorithm computation method with the teaching of Low of exponentiation of the density matrix to simulate time evolution as described by Low in [0075]).
Claim 19 corresponds to claim 9, and is analyzed accordingly.
Conclusion
/MARK D FEATHERSTONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2111