DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 13, 2024 and January 27, 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on February 13, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-10, 13-17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schultz (United States Patent Application Publication 2017/0371160, hereinafter referred to as “Schultz”). Schultz anticipates claims:
1. A display (see figures 1-4) comprising:
a waveguide (20) configured to propagate light via total internal reflection (see paragraph 0035);
a first surface relief grating (the surface relief grating formed at the input aperture 22 is interpreted as the first surface relief grating, see paragraph 0049) configured to couple the light into the waveguide (see figures 3-4 and paragraph 0035), the first surface relief grating having an input vector (shown as A1, see figures 3A-C);
a projector (30) configured to output the light at an angle (projection axis A3 is interpreted as the angle) non-parallel with respect to the input vector (see figure 3B);
a prism (44) optically coupled between the projector and the waveguide, wherein the prism is configured to redirect the light from the projector to the first surface relief grating in a direction parallel to the input vector (see figure 3B); and
a second surface relief grating (the surface relief grating formed at the output aperture 24 is interpreted as the second surface relief grating, see paragraph 0049) configured to couple the light out of the waveguide (see figures 1-4).
2. The display of claim 1, wherein the prism comprises an achromatic prism (see figure 3B, paragraph 0012 and 0041).
5. The display of claim 1, wherein the waveguide comprises a lateral surface (see figures 2A-2B, the surface in plane P is interpreted as the lateral surface), the angle and the input vector are each non-parallel with respect to a normal axis (N1 or N2) of the lateral
surface, the light is incident on the first surface relief grating at an additional angle with respect
to a first side of the normal axis, and the second surface relief grating is configured to output the
light at the additional angle with respect to a second side of the normal axis (see figures 2A-2C).
6. The display of claim 1, wherein the prism comprises an optical wedge having a first surface that transmits the light into the prism, a second surface, a third surface, and a fourth surface that transmits the light out of the prism, the second surface reflects the light towards the third surface, and the third surface reflects the light towards the fourth surface (see figure 3B).
7. The display of claim 6, wherein one or more of the first, second, third, and fourth surfaces is curved (see paragraph 0040 teaches curvature).
8. The display of claim 1, the waveguide comprising: a first media layer (the layer 22 is interpreted as the first media layer, see figures 1-2), wherein the first surface relief grating is in the first media layer; and a second media layer (the layer 24 is interpreted as the second media layer, see figures 1-2) that is different from the first media layer, wherein the second surface relief grating is in the second media layer.
9. The display of claim 1, the waveguide comprising: a media layer (the layers 22 and 24 are together interpreted as the media layer), wherein the first and second surface relief gratings are in the media layer (see figures 1-2).
10. A display (see figures 1-4) comprising:
a waveguide (20) configured to propagate light via total internal reflection (see paragraph 0035);
a first surface relief grating (the surface relief grating formed at the input aperture 22 is interpreted as the first surface relief grating, see paragraph 0049) configured to couple the light into the waveguide (see figures 3-4 and paragraph 0035), the first surface relief grating being characterized by an input vector (shown as A1, see figures 3A-C);
a display panel (projector 30 is interpreted as the display panel) configured to produce the light based on image data,
wherein the light has a field of view; and
optics (the lens, see below, and the prism 44 are together interpreted as the optics) coupled between the display panel and the waveguide, the optics comprising:
a lens (the lens system of the projector 30 is interpreted as the lens, see paragraph 0046) configured to transmit the light towards the first surface relief grating and having an optical axis (A3) that is offset at a non-zero angle with respect to a center of the field of view of the light, wherein the optical axis is oriented at a non-zero angle with respect to the input vector, and wherein the optics are configured to output the light in a direction parallel to the input vector (see figures 3A-C).
13. The display of claim 10, wherein the waveguide comprises a lateral surface and wherein the optical axis is oriented parallel to a normal axis of the lateral surface (see figure 2A).
14. The display of claim 10, wherein the waveguide has a lateral surface, the light is incident on the first surface relief grating at an angle with respect to a first side of a normal axis of the lateral surface, and the second surface relief grating is configured to output the light at the angle with respect to a second side of the normal axis (see figures 2A-2C).
15. The display of claim 10, wherein the display panel comprises a digital micromirror device (DMD) display panel (see paragraph 0038).
16. The display of claim 10, the waveguide comprising: a first media layer (the layer 22 is interpreted as the first media layer, see figures 1-2), wherein the first surface relief grating is in the first media layer; and a second media layer (the layer 24 is interpreted as the second media layer, see figures 1-2) that is different from the first media layer, wherein the second surface relief grating is in the second media layer.
17. The display of claim 10, the waveguide comprising: a media layer (the layers 22 and 24 are together interpreted as the media layer), wherein the first and second surface relief gratings are in the media layer (see figures 1-2).
19. A display (see figures 1-4) comprising:
a waveguide (20) configured to propagate light via total internal reflection (see paragraph 0035);
an input coupler having a diffractive grating (the surface relief grating formed at the input aperture 22 is interpreted as the input coupler having a diffractive grating, see paragraph 0049) configured to couple the light into the waveguide (see figures 1-4);
illumination optics (the lens, see below, and the prism 44 are together interpreted as the illumination optics) configured to emit illumination;
a reflective display panel (projector 30 is interpreted as the reflective display panel) configured to produce the light by modulating the illumination (it creates an image meeting this limitation); and a lens (the lens system of the projector 30 is interpreted as the lens, see paragraph 0046) configured to transmit the light to the input coupler and having an optical axis that is offset at a non-zero angle with respect to a center of a field of view of the light (the center interpreted as the vector shown as output beam 28, see figure 1), wherein the lens is configured to output the light in a direction parallel to an input vector of the diffractive grating (see figure 2A).
20. The display of claim 19, wherein the waveguide has a lateral surface and wherein the optical axis is oriented parallel to a normal axis of the lateral surface (see figure 2A).
21. The display of claim 19, wherein the waveguide has a lateral surface and wherein the optical axis is oriented at a non-parallel angle with respect to a normal axis of the lateral surface (see figures 2B and 2C and 3A-3C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz, as previously applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Bates et al. (United Stated Patent Application Publication 2020/0150405, hereinafter referred to as “Bates”).
With respect to claims 3, 11 and 12, Schultz discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as previously stated. Schultz is silent to the limitations:
wherein the prism comprises a first optical wedge and a second optical wedge on the first optical wedge, the first and second optical wedges being configured to transmit the light, the first optical wedge comprises a first material, and the second optical wedge comprises a second material that is different from the first material;
the optics further comprising: an additional lens configured to transmit the light and having an optical axis aligned with the optical axis of the lens;
wherein the lens has a first surface that transmits the light, a second surface opposite the first surface that transmits the light, and a planar surface couples the first surface to the second surface, the planar surface being located on a side of the optical axis opposite to the center of the field of view of the light.
Bates discloses a projection lens system that includes various lenses and prisms (see figures 1-3) that can be used in a head-mounted display (see paragraph 0014) and are utilized to control light from a display (108) to a human eye (114, see figures 1-3) and include both parallel and offset, or non-parallel, optical axes (see figures 2 and 3).
Bates’ system includes:
an achromatic prism that comprises a first optical wedge (first prism element 246 is interpreted as a first optical wedge, shown as a wedge shape in figure 3) and a second optical wedge (second prism element 248 is interpreted as a second optical wedge, shown as a wedge shape in figure 3) on the first optical wedge (see figure 3), the first and second optical wedges being configured to transmit the light (see figure 3), the first optical wedge comprises a first material, and the second optical wedge comprises a second material that is different from the first material (see paragraph 0030);
optics further comprising: an additional lens configured to transmit the light and having an optical axis aligned with the optical axis of the lens (see figure 3, there is a whole system of lenses provided);
the system includes a lens that has a first surface that transmits the light, a second surface opposite the first surface that transmits the light, and a planar surface couples the first surface to the second surface, the planar surface being located on a side of the optical axis opposite to the center of the field of view of the light (see figure 3, third lens element 232 is a lens of the system and has the required shape).
These lenses and prisms cooperate together to create a system that Bates’ discloses can guide light from a display to a human eye in a head-mounted device. Therefor, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Schultz device, utilizing the concepts and structures disclosed in Bates, such that the resulting combination includes all of the limitations discussed immediately above, based on their suitability to guide and direct image optical signal light, for the benefit of effectively delivering light where desired in a head-mounted display.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz, as applied to claims 1 and 10 as previously stated.
With respect to claims 4 and 18, Schultz discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as previously stated. Schultz is silent to the limitations:
wherein the angle and the input vector are separated by 5-25 degrees;
wherein the non-zero angle is between 5 degrees and 30 degrees.
However, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, motivated by a desire to create a head-mounted display system of a desirable compact design, including the angles of input and output light, would have found it obvious to select the ranges for these angles, vectors and directions wherein the angle and the input vector are separated by 5-25 degrees; wherein the non-zero angle is between 5 degrees and 30 degrees; since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/John Bedtelyon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874