DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 10, 2026, has been entered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 12 and 20. Claims 1-20 remain pending, have been examined and currently stand rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/10/2026 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12 and 20 are objected to for the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the application” as in “distributing the personalized digital asset with a usage right restriction and right of modification or adaptation, […], to the application among the heterogenous set of applications […].” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As best understood, “the application among the heterogenous set of applications” should be amended to recite “an application among the heterogenous set of applications.”
Independent claims 12 and 20 have the same antecedent basis issue, accordingly, claims 12 and 20 are also objected to for the same reasons and rationale explained above.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 2023/0136394 A1) (hereinafter “Saito”) in view of Matsui et al. (US 2026/0192197 A1) (hereinafter “Matsui”).
Regarding Claims 1, 12 and 20: Saito discloses:
Claim 1: A method for providing a personalized digital asset as a service by a trusted circuitry to a heterogenous set of independent applications (See at least Saito [0007]):
Claim 12: A system for providing a personalized digital asset as a service by a trusted circuitry to a heterogenous set of independent applications, the system comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and a processor configured to execute the computer instructions to (See at least Saito [0006]; [0205] where system = “computer system”, memory for storing computer instructions = “storage device such as a flexible disc, a magneto-optical disc, a read-only memory (ROM), a portable medium such as a compact disc-ROM (CD-ROM), and a hard disk embedded in the computer system”; processor is implicit in the computer system since it reads and executes the program.):
Claim 20: A non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing computer instructions, the computer instructions, when executed by a circuitry for providing a personalized digital asset as a service by a trusted circuitry to a heterogenous set of independent applications (See at least Saito [0009]; [0205].), are configured to:
receiving the personalized digital asset generated in a common format (See at least Saito [0078]; [0158]; [0162]; [0167-0169]. Saito discloses receiving (e.g., via a provisioning process) the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) generated in a common format (e.g., an avatar format).);
storing the personalized digital asset off a blockchain system (See at least Saito [0006] “an avatar registration unit configured to register an available avatar by having a storage unit to store the avatar available in a network service provided to an end user on a network”; [0156] “An avatar management system of the present embodiment includes a data catalog of avatars stored and registered in an avatar information storage unit 231”. Saito discloses storing the personalized digital asset (i.e., the avatar) off a blockchain system (e.g., in a storage unit)); and
distributing the personalized digital asset with a usage right restriction and right of modification or adaptation to the application among the heterogenous set of independent applications when the personalized digital asset is requested by the application and is electronically authorized by an owner of the personalized digital asset, the usage right restriction being provisioned under at least one digital right management scheme (See at least Saito [0067]; [0077]; [0160-0161]; [0164-0165]; [0168-0169]; [0186]; Fig. 6. Saito discloses distributing (e.g., by transmitting) the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) with a usage right restriction (i.e., information/conditions pertaining to the avatar, e.g., authorized user information, avatar sharing information, etc.) and right (i.e., use designation(s)) of modification or adaptation to the application (i.e., to a service provision system, e.g., a metaverse) among the heterogenous set of independent applications (i.e., among the plurality of service provision systems, e.g., metaverses) when the personalized digital asset is requested by the application and is electronically authorized by an owner (i.e., when designated by the authorized user) of the personalized digital asset (i.e., of the avatar), the usage right restriction being provisioned under at least one digital right management scheme (e.g., by associating a metafile, comprising the information/conditions/designations, with the avatar).).
Saito discloses that the avatar material provisioning system can generate and provide a body material (e.g., clothing) that becomes part of the avatar. Saito [0032]. Saito indicates that the avatar management system may convert articles such as clothing and accessories purchased by a user into effect and items that can be used by the avatar in one or more metaverses. Saito [0199-0203]. Saito also discloses where various rules/conditions associated with an avatar/digital asset are enforced. For example, Saito discloses rules/conditions that limit where the avatar/digital asset may be used (e.g., the avatar may only be used in certain metaverses), rules/conditions identifying who may use the avatar/digital asset, rules/conditions that limit the number of terminals that can use the avatar/digital asset, and rules/conditions that limit the fraudulent use of the avatar/digital asset. Saito [0077]; [0160-0161]; [0164-0165]; [0186]; [0191-0193]; Fig. 6. However, Saito does not explicitly disclose: wherein the modification or adaptation comprises at least one of a size modification, a color modification, a geometry modification, or a combination with clothing items or accessories; or prohibiting the application from maintaining a copy of modified or adapted personalized digital assets after usage thereof via the at least one digital right management scheme.
Matsui, on the other hand, teaches:
distributing the personalized digital asset with a right of modification or adaptation, wherein the modification or adaptation comprises at least one of a size modification, a color modification, a geometry modification, or a combination with clothing items or accessories (See at least Matsui [0010]; [0059]; [0064]; [0067]; [0075]; [0082]. Matsui teaches distributing the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) with a right of modification or adaptation (i.e., a policy indicating whether or not modification of appearance is permitted), wherein the modification or adaptation comprises at least one of a size modification (e.g., eight heats tall, or two heads tall), a color modification (i.e., color data), a geometry modification (i.e., geometry data), or a combination with clothing items or accessories (i.e., possessed item data, e.g., a sword, a shield).); and
prohibiting the application from maintaining a copy of modified or adapted personalized digital assets after usage thereof via the at least one digital right management scheme (See at least Matsui [0011]; [0075-0076]; [0090] Fig. 8. Matsui teaches prohibiting the application (i.e., the destination virtual space, e.g., the second virtual space) from maintaining a copy of modified or adapted personalized digital assets (i.e., a copy of a converted avatar) after usage thereof (i.e., after usage, e.g., after conversion) via the at least one digital right management scheme (i.e., via policy information).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matsui into Saito’s method of enforcing various rules/conditions associated with an avatar/digital asset. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to allow an avatar to be arranged according to the world view in each virtual space (Matsui [0006]; [0097]).
Regarding Claims 2 and 13: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 1 and system of claim 12. Saito further discloses wherein the personalized digital asset comprises a 3D avatar created by the owner (See at least Saito [0029]; [0047]. Saito further discloses wherein the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) comprises a 3D avatar (i.e., 3D real avatar) created by the owner (i.e., actual person/user).).
Regarding Claims 3 and 14: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 12. Saito further discloses wherein the usage right restriction is configured to prohibit a duplication of the distributed personalized digital asset or a redistribution of the personalized digital asset to other applications (See at least Saito [0077]; [0160-0161]; [0164-0165]; [0186]; [0191-0193]; Fig. 6. Saito discloses wherein the usage right restriction (i.e., the information/conditions pertaining to the avatar, e.g., authorized user information, avatar sharing information, etc.) is configured to prohibit a duplication of the distributed personalized digital asset or a redistribution of the personalized digital asset to other applications (e.g., by designating which metaverses the avatar can be used in, and/or by defining who is authorized to use the avatar, and/or by limiting the number of terminals that can use the avatar, etc.).).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 12. Saito further discloses wherein the usage right restriction is configured to enforce a usage time expiration condition of the distributed personalized digital asset (See at least Saito [0080] “The avatar sharing information in FIG. 6 includes sharer information and sharing conditions. The sharer information is information of a sharer who is permitted to share the corresponding avatar with the authorized user. The sharer information may be, for example, a sharer's user account. The sharing conditions are conditions under which the sharer can share the corresponding avatar. The sharing conditions may include, for example, an expiration date, information indicating a service provision system 310 that is designated such that the sharer can use the avatar, and the like.”.).
Regarding Claims 6 and 17: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 1 and the system of 12. Saito further discloses:
receiving an augmenting digital asset that is combinable with the personalized digital asset, the augmenting digital asset being provided by the application for augmenting the personal digital asset (See at least Saito [0199-203]. Saito receiving an augmenting digital asset (i.e., a shared attribute, e.g., effects/items acquired by avatars such as clothing) that is combinable with the personalized digital asset (i.e., with the avatar), the augmenting digital asset being provided by the application (i.e., the metaverse) for augmenting the personal digital asset.); and
storing the augmenting digital asset off the blockchain system (See at least Saito [0072]; [0201] “The data generated in this way is passed to the avatar management device 200 and stored as a shared attribute in the shared attribute information”; Fig. 5 “Shared Attribute Information”).
Regarding Claims 7 and 18: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 6 and the system of claim 17. Saito further discloses providing the augmenting digital asset for combination with the personalized digital asset for usage in another application among the heterogenous set of independent applications (See at least Saito [0202-203]. Saito discloses providing the augmenting digital asset (i.e., shared attribute) for combination with the personalized digital asset (i.e., with the avatar) for usage in another application (i.e., another metaverse) among the heterogenous set of independent applications (i.e., among the plurality of metaverses/service provision systems).).
Regarding Claim 11: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 1. Saito further discloses wherein:
the heterogeneous set of independent applications comprise at least two distinct virtual world applications (See at least Saito [0164-0165]; [0167-0169]; [0199-0203]. Saito discloses the heterogeneous set of independent applications (i.e., the plurality of service provision systems, e.g., metaverses) comprise at least two distinct virtual world applications (e.g., metaverses, e.g., metaverse A, metaverse B, etc.).); and
the personalized digital asset is provisioned by the trusted circuitry for use in both of the at least two distinct virtual world applications (See at least Saito [0111]; [0164-0165]; [0167-0169]; [0199-0203]. Saito discloses the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) is provisioned by the trusted circuitry for use in both of the at least two distinct virtual world applications (e.g., in both metaverses, e.g., metaverse A and metaverse B).).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito in view of Matsui, as applied above, and further in view of Andon et al. (US 2020/0184041 A1) (hereinafter “Andon”).
Regarding Claims 4 and 15: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 3 and the system of claim 14. Saito discloses distributing (e.g., by transmitting) the personal digital asset (i.e., avatar). Saito [0067]; [0077]; [0160-0161]; [0164-0165]; [0168-0169]; [0186]. Saito further indicates that an authenticity certificate assigned to the avatar by the authentication information assignment unit may be a non-fungible token (NFT) managed by a blockchain. Saito [0100]. However, Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein distributing the personal digital asset is performed in the blockchain system.
Andon, on the other hand, teaches wherein distributing the personal digital asset is performed in the blockchain system (See at least Andon [0019]; [0053]; [0068] “The digital marketplace 64 may represent a plurality of virtual objects 80 in such a manner that permits the organized trade or sale/purchase of the virtual objects between parties. Upon the closing of a sale, the digital marketplace 64 may update the blockchain 60 with the new ownership information and facilitate the transfer of new of existing keys to the new asset holder”; Fig. 4 step 113. Andon teaches wherein distributing (e.g., by transferring) the personal digital asset (i.e., asset/digital asset, e.g., CryptoKicks) is performed in the blockchain system (i.e., blockchain/blockchain ledger).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Andon into Saito’s method of distributing/transferring the avatar and using the blockchain to assigning certificates pertaining to the avatar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to rely on the trust established in and by blockchain technology to enable a company to control the creation, distribution, expression, and use of digital objects that represent their brand (Andon [0007]).
Claims 8-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito in view of Matsui, as applied above, and further in view of “Use cases and MPEG technologies for Metaverse-related experiences”; Output Document; ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 2, MPEG Technical requirements, Convenorship: SFS (Finland); ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29/WG 2 N265, Online - January 2023; January 20, 2023: 24 pages. (hereinafter “ISO”), which was cited as Reference A1 on the February 16, 2024, IDS.
Regarding Claim 8: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 1. Saito discloses that the avatar material provisioning system can generate and provide a body material (e.g., clothing) that becomes part of the avatar. Saito [0032]. Saito further discloses that the avatar management system may convert articles such as clothing and accessories purchased by a user into effect and items that can be used by the avatar in one or more metaverses. Saito [0199-0203]. However, Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the application is an online retail store comprising a virtual dressing room and 3D digitization of a plurality of items being sold. ISO, on the other hand, teaches wherein the application is an online retail store comprising a virtual dressing room and 3D digitization of a plurality of items being sold (See at least ISO pp. 6-7 “Use Case 1: Virtual dress room […] An online retail application for a clothing store accepts the user’s avatar into a virtual dressing room in which the user can try on different styles of clothing in different virtual environments (night club, restaurant, sporting activity) and in different light and shading conditions. The virtual dressing room allows the user to visualize the clothing on his/her person and in different environments thereby providing information relevant to the user’s decision on whether or not to purchase the clothing.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of ISO into Saito’s method of generating, providing and using clothing on an avatar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to allow the user to visualize the clothing on his/her person and in different environments thereby providing information relevant to the user’s decision on whether or not to purchase the clothing (ISO p. 6).
Regarding Claim 9: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the method of claim 1. Saito further discloses wherein the method further comprising: distributing the personalized digital asset to a second application among the heterogenous set of independent applications when the personalized digital asset is requested by the second application and is electronically authorized by the owner of the personalized digital asset, the second application being a virtual world application (See at least Saito [0111]; [0164-0165]; [0168-0169]; [0199-203]; Fig. 9 S300. Saito discloses distributing the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) to a second application (i.e., another metaverse/service provision system) among the heterogenous set of independent applications (i.e., among the plurality of metaverses/service provision systems) when the personalized digital asset is requested by the second application (i.e., requested by the service provision system) and is electronically authorized by the owner of the personalized digital asset (i.e., when designated by the authorized user), the second application being a virtual world application (e.g., a metaverse).).
Saito discloses that the avatar material provisioning system can generate and provide a body material (e.g., clothing) that becomes part of the avatar. Saito [0032]. Saito further discloses that the avatar management system may convert articles such as clothing and accessories purchased by a user into effect and items that can be used by the avatar in one or more metaverses. Saito [0199-0203]. However, Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the application is an online retail store.
ISO, on the other hand, teaches wherein the application is an online retail store (See at least ISO pp. 6-7 “Use Case 1: Virtual dress room […] An online retail application for a clothing store accepts the user’s avatar into a virtual dressing room in which the user can try on different styles of clothing in different virtual environments (night club, restaurant, sporting activity) and in different light and shading conditions. The virtual dressing room allows the user to visualize the clothing on his/her person and in different environments thereby providing information relevant to the user’s decision on whether or not to purchase the clothing.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of ISO into Saito’s method of generating, providing and using clothing on an avatar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to allow the user to visualize the clothing on his/her person and in different environments thereby providing information relevant to the user’s decision on whether or not to purchase the clothing (ISO p. 6).
Regarding Claim 10: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses method of claim 1. Saito further discloses wherein:
the heterogeneous set of independent applications comprise at least one virtual world application (See at least Saito [0164-0165]; [0167-0169]; [0199-0203]. Saito discloses the heterogeneous set of independent applications (i.e., the plurality of service provision systems, e.g., metaverses) comprise at least one virtual world application (e.g., at least one metaverse).); and
the personalized digital asset is provisioned by the trusted circuitry to the at least one virtual world application (See at least Saito [0111]; [0164-0165]; [0167-0169]; [0199-0203]. Saito discloses the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) is provisioned by the trusted circuitry to the at least one virtual world application (i.e., to one or more metaverses).).
Saito does not explicitly disclose: the heterogeneous set of independent applications comprise at least one real-world application; or the personalized digital asset is provisioned to the at least one real-world application.
ISO, on the other hand, teaches:
the heterogeneous set of independent applications comprise at least one real-world application (See at least ISO pp. 2-3 “1. Use cases summary […] Virtual dressing room […] An online retail application for a clothing store accepts the user's avatar into a virtual dressing room in which the user can try on different styles of clothing in different virtual environments […] Virtual museums A user and friends want to visit a real museum through metaverse. The museum has a virtual building identical to its physical one where each room has the 3-D captured objects of the actual artifacts of the corresponding room. The user's avatar, with friends, walk in a room, see an artifact (e.g. an Egyptian statue) and walk around it. […] AR two-party call Two people call each other in an immersive application using AR. Instead of a video call, where the other person is represented on the device flat screen in 2D, this AR use case renders people in 3D through e.g., the user glasses, see-through HMD or holographic displays. They can be represented by a live 3D capture or by a pre-captured model or avatar that is animated and transmitted live […] Immersive Live Performances A group of friends virtually joins an immersive, volumetric Karaoke session by selecting a Metaverse virtual lounge.”); and
the personalized digital asset is provisioned to the at least one real-world application (See at least ISO pp. 2-3 “1. Use cases summary”. Where the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) is provisioned to the at least one real-world application (e.g., a dressing room, virtual museum, AR two-party call, Immersive Live Performance, etc.).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of ISO into Saito’s method of provisioning an avatar to one or more service provision systems (e.g., metaverses). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to create photo realistic visualizations in different environments (ISO p. 6).
Regarding Claim 19: The combination of Saito and Matsui discloses the system of claim 13. Saito further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer instructions to: distributing the personalized digital asset to a second application among the heterogenous set of independent applications when the personalized digital asset is requested by the second application and is electronically authorized by the owner of the personalized digital asset, the second application being a virtual world application (See at least Saito [0111]; [0164-0165]; [0168-0169]; [0199-203]; Fig. 9 S300. Saito discloses distributing the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) to a second application (i.e., another metaverse/service provision system) among the heterogenous set of independent applications (i.e., among the plurality of metaverses/service provision systems) when the personalized digital asset is requested by the second application (i.e., requested by the service provision system) and is electronically authorized by the owner of the personalized digital asset (i.e., when designated by the authorized user), the second application being a virtual world application (e.g., a metaverse).).
Saito discloses that the avatar material provisioning system can generate and provide a body material (e.g., clothing) that becomes part of the avatar. Saito [0032]. Saito further discloses that the avatar management system may convert articles such as clothing and accessories purchased by a user into effect and items that can be used by the avatar in one or more metaverses. Saito [0199-0203]. However, Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the application is an online retail store.
ISO, on the other hand, teaches wherein the application is an online retail store (See at least ISO pp. 6-7 “Use Case 1: Virtual dress room […] An online retail application for a clothing store accepts the user’s avatar into a virtual dressing room in which the user can try on different styles of clothing in different virtual environments (night club, restaurant, sporting activity) and in different light and shading conditions. The virtual dressing room allows the user to visualize the clothing on his/her person and in different environments thereby providing information relevant to the user’s decision on whether or not to purchase the clothing.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of ISO into Saito’s method of generating, providing and using clothing on an avatar. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to allow the user to visualize the clothing on his/her person and in different environments thereby providing information relevant to the user’s decision on whether or not to purchase the clothing (ISO p. 6).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant argues that neither Saito nor Massand, alone or in combination, discloses or suggests where the right to modification or adaptation comprises "at least one of a size modification, a color modification, a geometry modification, or a combination with clothing items or accessories." Amendment, pp. 7-8. Examiner agrees. Examiner contends that Saito discloses distributing (e.g., by transmitting) the personalized digital asset (i.e., avatar) with a usage right restriction (i.e., information/conditions pertaining to the avatar, e.g., authorized user information, avatar sharing information, etc.) and right (i.e., use designation(s)) of modification or adaptation to the application (i.e., to a service provision system, e.g., a metaverse) among the heterogenous set of independent applications (i.e., among the plurality of service provision systems, e.g., metaverses) when the personalized digital asset is requested by the application and is electronically authorized by an owner (i.e., when designated by the authorized user) of the personalized digital asset (i.e., of the avatar), the usage right restriction being provisioned under at least one digital right management scheme (e.g., by associating a metafile, comprising the information/conditions/designations, with the avatar). Saito [0067]; [0077]; [0160-0161]; [0164-0165]; [0168-0169]; [0186]; Fig. 6. However, Examiner acknowledges that Saito does not explicitly disclose wherein the modification or adaptation comprises at least one of a size modification, a color modification, a geometry modification, or a combination with clothing items or accessories. Examiner has added a new reference, Matsui, to the prior art rejection to teach this particular feature.
Applicant argues that Massand does not teach "prohibiting maintaining a copy of modified or adapted personalized digital assets after usage by the application via the at least one digital right management scheme." Amendment, pp. 8-9. In particular, Applicant alleges that the prohibiting of maintaining a copy in Massand is a “general cleanup mechanism” not a digital right management scheme. Id. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Massand explicitly discloses the use of access rights that dictate the how the collaboration platform and the content within the platform can be used. For example, Massand indicates workspace views may be customized and dictated by user access rights, such that documents, folders, content, and browser menu options will or will not be available in accordance with user access rights, such as blocking save as or print options (i.e., which are features that prohibit maintaining a copy) if specific rights have not been granted. Massand [0040]; also see [0033]; [0061]; [0076]; [0097]. Massand further indicates that a user can configure owner/reviewer rights to the workspace, select documents, folders, content etc. that are to be included in the workspace, and set authorizations and access rights for some or all of the documents, folders, and content associated with the workspace. Massand [0040]. Examiner contends that these access rights are the functional equivalent of the recited “at least one digital right management scheme.”
Applicant argues that Massand does not prohibit “the application” (i.e., an independent application) from maintaining a copy of modified or adapted personalized digital assets. Amendment, pp. 9-10. This argument is unpersuasive. Massand explicitly teaches that modified documents (i.e., modified digital assets) used in the collaboration platform are deleted and not available following a communication session. Massand [0061]; [0076]. Since the modified document is deleted, it would not be available to any application, including an independent application.
Applicants’ remarks suggest that Massand’s access rights include blocking the save and print options. Based on this assumption, Applicant draws the conclusion that blocking save and print options are not a DRM scheme. Amendment, p. 10. Examiner agrees that blocking save and print options is not a DRM scheme, rather these are mechanisms how the DRM scheme is enforced. Massand indicates workspace views may be customized and dictated by user access rights, such that documents, folders, content, and browser menu options will or will not be available in accordance with user access rights, such as blocking save as or print options (i.e., which are features that prohibit maintaining a copy) if specific rights have not been granted. Massand [0040]; also see [0033]; [0061]; [0076]; [0097]. Massand further indicates that a user can configure owner/reviewer rights to the workspace, select documents, folders, content etc. that are to be included in the workspace, and set authorizations and access rights for some or all of the documents, folders, and content associated with the workspace. Massand [0040]. Examiner contends that these access rights, not the manner the access rights are enforced (e.g., by blocking a save option), are the functional equivalent of the recited “at least one digital right management scheme.”
Examiner notes that Massand is no longer being used in the prior art rejection. Examiner has added a new reference, Matsui, to the prior art rejection to better teach the “prohibiting” step and other features found in the amendment claims. Examiner contends that the combination of Saito and Matsui renders the independent claims obvious.
For the above reasons, and for those set forth in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection seen above, all claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Relevant Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is cited in the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). The additional cited art further establishes the state of the art prior to the effective filling date of Applicant’s claimed invention.
To et al. (US 2024/0257485 A1) discloses a virtual garment fitting method that uses a database comprising scale-standardized wearer avatar models of bodies of wearers and clothing overlay models of sized clothing articles. To Abstract; [0001]; [0009].
Nathan et al. (US 2008/0120558 A1) discloses a system and method for managing a persistent virtual avatar, and more particularly a persistent virtual avatar that has the ability to migrate between virtual environments, and have cross-membrane capacity. Nathan [0001].
Massand (US 2013/0246901 A1) discloses prohibiting (i.e., preventing) maintaining a copy (i.e., maintaining and/or obtaining a copy) of modified or adapted personalized digital assets (i.e., of modified content, e.g., documents) after usage by the application (i.e., after usage in/by the collaboration platform) via the at least one digital right management scheme (i.e., based on the access rights for the content). Massand [0061]; [0076]; [0097]; Fig. 5.
Bondville (US 2023/0231892 A1) discloses where restrictions are placed on other copies of avatars to help give uniqueness to the avatar. For example, if an avatar is purchased with a green jacket, a customer may pay money to prevent a seller from selling other copies of the avatar with a green jacket. Bondville [0094-0095]. Bondville also discloses where an avatar may be restricted to certain rooms in the Multiverse. Bondville [0096]. Bondville also discloses where a designer/seller prevents a user/buyer from altering a shirt on an avatar to say, or not say, certain slogans. Bondville [[97]. The shirt may also be restricted from being worn at certain events. Bondville [0098]. Additionally, restrictions may be placed on the avatar carrying virtual objects made by others. Bondville [0099].
Jung et al. (US 2008/0133392 A1) discloses the use of transferable rights for an avatar or element. Jung [0306]. One of the many transferable rights disclosed by Jung includes a right to make one or more identical or modified copies of a virtual aspect or attribute or element. Jung [0316]; [0326].
Conclusion
/J.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698