DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–14 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0186570 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4–6, and 7–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukushima et al. (WO 2020/045633 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2021/0218056 A1; hereinafter Fukushima).
Regarding claim 1, Fukushima discloses a solid electrolyte material comprising:
Li, T, X and A (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131])
wherein T is at least one element selected from the group consisting of P, As, Si, Ge, Al, Sb, W, and B (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]);
X is at least one element selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, I and N (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]); and
A is one or more of S or Se (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]);
wherein the solid electrolyte material has peaks at 14.9° ± 0.50°, 20.4° ± 0.50°, and 25.4° ± 0.50° in X-ray diffraction measurement with Cu-Kα(1,2) = 1.5418 Å (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]), and
wherein the peak at 25.4°±0.50° has the second highest intensity in a range from 5° to 27° in the X-ray diffraction measurement (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]).
Regarding claim 4, Fukushima discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a solid electrolyte material:
at least one of glass ceramic phases, crystalline phases and mixed phases (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]).
Regarding claim 5, Fukushima discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a solid electrolyte material:
wherein mixed phases comprise crystalline phases containing peaks at 20.2°±0.50° and 23.6° ± 0.50°, and/or 21.0° ± 0.50° and 28.0° ± 0.50°, and/or 17.5° ± 0.50° and 18.2° ± 0.50°, and/or peaks at 17.8° ± 0.50° and 21.8° ± 0.50° in X-ray diffraction measurement with Cu-Kα(1,2) = 1.5418 Å (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]).
Regarding claim 6, Fukushima discloses all claim limitations set forth above and further discloses a solid electrolyte material:
wherein a ratio of peak intensity at 20.4° ± 0.50° to a peak at 21.0° ± 0.50° is 1 or more (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]).
Regarding claim 7, Fukushima discloses a lithium solid-state battery (10) comprising a positive electrode current collector (7), a positive electrode layer (6, [0161]); a negative electrode layer (5, [0161]); and a solid electrolyte layer (3) disposed between the positive electrode layer (6) and the negative electrode layer (5, FIG. 1), wherein at least one of the positive electrode layer (6), the negative electrode layer (5), and the solid electrolyte layer (3, [0161]) comprises a solid electrolyte material comprising
Li, T, X and A (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131])
wherein T is at least one element selected from the group consisting of P, As, Si, Ge, Al, Sb, W, and B (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]);
X is at least one element selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, I and N (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]); and
A is one or more of S or Se (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]);
wherein the solid electrolyte material has peaks at 14.9° ± 0.50°, 20.4° ± 0.50°, and 25.4° ± 0.50° in X-ray diffraction measurement with Cu-Kα(1,2) = 1.5418 Å (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]), and
wherein the peak at 25.4°±0.50° has the second highest intensity in a range from 5° to 27° in the X-ray diffraction measurement (FIG. 2, TABLE 1, [0131]).
Regarding claim 8, Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid-state electrochemical cell:
wherein the positive electrode current collector (7) comprises aluminum, nickel, titanium, stainless steel, or carbon (FIG. 1, [0161]).
Regarding claim 9, Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid-state electrochemical cell:
wherein the positive electrode layer (6) comprises metal oxides, metal phosphates, metal sulfides, sulfur, lithium sulfide (FIG. 1, [0161]).
Regarding claim 10, Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid-state electrochemical cell:
wherein the positive electrode layer (6) further comprises a carbon containing material selected from the group consisting of carbon black, graphite, carbon nanotubes, carbon fiber and graphene (see conductive agent, [0097]).
Regarding claim 11, Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid-state electrochemical cell:
wherein the positive electrode layer (6) further comprises a binder comprising polyvinyl chloride, polyaniline, poly(methyl methacrylate), nitrile butadiene rubber, styrene-butadiene rubber, PVDF, or polystyrene (see binder, [0097]).
Regarding claim 12, Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid-state electrochemical cell:
wherein the negative electrode layer (5) comprises lithium metal, lithium alloys, silicon (Si), tin (Sn), graphitic carbon, or hard carbon (FIG. 1, [0161]).
Regarding claim 13, Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid-state electrochemical cell:
wherein the negative electrode layer (5) further comprises a carbon containing material selected from the group consisting of carbon black, graphite, carbon nanotubes, carbon fiber and graphene (see conductive agent, [0089]).
Regarding claim 14, Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a solid-state electrochemical cell:
wherein the negative electrode layer (5) further comprises a binder comprising polyvinyl chloride, polyaniline, poly(methyl methacrylate), nitrile butadiene rubber, styrene-butadiene rubber, PVDF, or polystyrene (see binder, [0090]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Fukushima does not disclose, teach, or suggest the following distinguishing feature:
A solid electrolyte material having a formula Li1-a-b-c-dPaTbAcXd wherein 0 ≤ a ≤ 0.150, 0 ≤ b < 0.176, 0.364 ≤ c ≤ 0.603, and 0.019 ≤ d ≤ 0.080.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4–6, and 7–14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725