DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The current office action is made responsive to claims filed 02/13/2024.
Claims 1-23 are pending. A complete action on the merits appears below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caplan (US 20150148738 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Caplan teaches a system (Fig. 1; system 10) for ablating target tissue of an airway of a patient during a treatment ([0091]), the system comprising:
an ablation assembly (Fig. 1; ablation device 100), the ablation assembly being configured to be positioned within the airway, the ablation assembly including an active energy emitter ([0100]) configured to contact an airway wall of the airway, and wherein the active energy emitter is configured to deliver energy to the target tissue of the airway to ablate the target tissue, the target tissue being spaced radially outward from the energy emitter ([0025]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; controller 310) configured to control energy delivery from an energy source to the energy emitter, wherein the controller is configured to modify one of power and current of the system to achieve a predetermined output value during at least a portion of a treatment time ([0145]).
Regarding claim 12, the method steps are the same as described as the steps the system is configured to perform and therefore taught in the same way as seen in claims 1 and 23.
Regarding claim 23, Caplan teaches a system (Fig. 1; system 10) for ablating target tissue of an airway of a patient during a treatment ([0091]), the system comprising:
an ablation assembly (Fig. 1; ablation device 100) configured to be positioned within the airway, the ablation assembly including a first electrode configured to contact an airway wall of the airway ([0100]);
a second electrode configured to be positioned outside of the airway ([0126]);
wherein the first electrode is configured to deliver energy to the target tissue of the airway to ablate the target tissue, the target tissue being spaced radially outward from the energy emitter ([0025]), and
wherein the system is configured to measure impedance during the first electrode and second electrode to approximate an airway wall resistance ([0036]); and
a controller (Fig. 1; controller 310) configured to control energy delivery from an energy source to the first electrode, wherein the controller is configured to modify current of the system based on the airway wall resistance to maintain a constant power during at least a portion of a treatment time ([0145]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplan (US 20150148738 A1) in view of Gilbert (US 20110028963 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Caplan teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Caplan fails to teach the system wherein the power is dynamically varied during at least a portion of the treatment time to achieve a predetermined current output.
Gilbert teaches an electrosurgical system comprising a generator with a variable power level which is adapted based on a tissue impedance signal (Abstract). This power level being varied to achieve the current output so as to treat the tissue without damage ([0006]).
Gilbert further teaches the system wherein the power is dynamically varied (Fig. 3; the power delivery curve shows a relationship between output power and measured tissue impedance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gilbert into the device of Caplan, as Gilbert teaches the necessity of controlling the output from the electrosurgical generator in order to achieve a desired surgical effect without causing unwanted collateral damage to adjacent tissue.
Regarding claim 3, Gilbert further teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the power is varied within a maximum power level (Fig. 5; higher power region 161).
Regarding claim 6, Gilbert further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to dynamically vary the power of the energy source to achieve a current target for a first portion of the treatment time, and upon expiration of the treatment time, the controller is configured to dynamically vary the current of the energy source to achieve a power target for a second portion of the treatment time (Fig. 3; the target power curve includes an initial constant current portion 110, and an intermediate constant power portion 112).
Regarding claims 13-14 and 17, the method steps are the same as described as the steps the system is configured to perform and therefore taught in the same way as seen in claims 2-3 and 6.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplan (US 20150148738 A1) in view of Hareyama (US 6511476 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Caplan as modified teaches the system of claim 6.
However, Caplan as modified fails to teach the system wherein a sample of a lowest impedance value during the first portion of the treatment time is measured, and wherein the system is configured to indicate a warning or stop delivering energy if an impedance measured during the second portion of the treatment time exceeds a sum of the lower impedance value from the first portion of time and a predetermined impedance value.
Hareyama teaches an electrosurgical apparatus for supplying HF power to an instrument to dissect tissue (Abstract).
Hareyama further teaches that wherein a sample of a lowest impedance value during the first portion of the treatment time is measured, and wherein the system is configured to indicate a warning or stop delivering energy if an impedance measured during the second portion of the treatment time exceeds a sum of the lower impedance value from the first portion of time and a predetermined impedance value (Col. 5, Lines 35-55 & Fig. 3 shows the relevant relationship between the impedance condition and the output value when the condition is met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Hareyama into the device of Caplan/Gilbert as Hareyama shows the known relevant relationship between the impedance condition and the output value, specifically with relation to the impedance condition being met.
Regarding claim 18, the method steps are the same as described as the steps the system is configured to perform and therefore taught in the same way as seen in claim 7.
Claims 8-9, 11, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplan (US 20150148738 A1) in view of Francischelli (US 20030171745 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Caplan as modified teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Caplan as modified fails to teach the system wherein the controller is configured to hold one of power or current constant for a first portion of the treatment time, wherein during a second portion of the treatment time, the controller is configured to calculate a percent impedance slope by:
%
i
m
p
e
d
a
n
c
e
s
l
o
p
e
=
Z
o
-
Z
a
c
u
a
t
l
t
o
-
t
a
c
t
u
a
l
*
100
%
in which ZO is an impedance at a beginning of the treatment time, and Zactual is an impedance at a time t during the treatment time, and tO – tactual is the time elapsed from the beginning of the treatment time, and wherein the controller is configured to vary the power or current to maintain the % impedance slope within a predetermined range.
Francischelli teaches a system and method for creating lesions and assessing their completeness (Abstract).
Francischelli further teaches the system wherein the controller is configured to hold one of power or current constant for a first portion of the treatment time, wherein during a second portion of the treatment time, the controller is configured to calculate a percent impedance slope by: % 𝑖𝑚𝑝𝑒𝑑𝑎𝑛𝑐𝑒 𝑠𝑙𝑜𝑝𝑒 = (𝑍𝑜−𝑍𝑎𝑐𝑢𝑎𝑡𝑙 𝑡𝑜−𝑡𝑎𝑐𝑡𝑢𝑎𝑙 ) ∗100% in which Zo is an impedance at a beginning of the treatment time, and Actual is an impedance at a time t during the treatment time, and to - tactual is the time elapsed from the beginning of the treatment time, and wherein the controller is configured to vary the power or current to maintain the % impedance slope within a predetermined range ([0051] discusses initial selected power level as being either maintained or increased to a second power level in response to changes in the detected impedance occurring during the ablation).
Regarding claim 9, Francischelli further teaches the system of claim 8, wherein impedance is measured during the first portion of the treatment time, and wherein the system is configured to indicate a warning or stop delivering energy if a predetermined impedance threshold is met or exceeded during the first portion of the treatment time ([0051] discusses the rapid dZ/dt as triggering the power to be turned off).
Regarding claim 11, Francischelli further teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the system is configured to indicate a warning or stop delivering energy if a predetermined % impedance slope value is met or exceeded during the second portion of the treatment time ([0051] discusses the rapid dZ/dt as triggering the power to be turned off).
Regarding claims 19-20 and 22, the method steps are the same as described as the steps the system is configured to perform and therefore taught in the same way as seen in claims 8-9 and 11.
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplan (US 20150148738 A1) in view of Francischelli (US 20030171745 A1) further in view of Hareyama (US 6511476 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Caplan as modified teaches the system of claim 9.
However, Caplan as modified fails to teach the system wherein a sample of a lowest impedance value during the first portion of the treatment time is measured, and wherein the system is configured to indicate a warning or stop delivering energy if an impedance measured during the second portion of the treatment time exceeds a sum of the lower impedance value from the first portion of time and a predetermined impedance value.
Hareyama teaches an electrosurgical apparatus for supplying HF power to an instrument to dissect tissue (Abstract).
Hareyama further teaches that wherein a sample of a lowest impedance value during the first portion of the treatment time is measured, and wherein the system is configured to indicate a warning or stop delivering energy if an impedance measured during the second portion of the treatment time exceeds a sum of the lower impedance value from the first portion of time and a predetermined impedance value (Col. 5, Lines 35-55 & Fig. 3 shows the relevant relationship between the impedance condition and the output value when the condition is met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Hareyama into the device of Caplan/Gilbert as Hareyama shows the known relevant relationship between the impedance condition and the output value, specifically with relation to the impedance condition being met.
Regarding claim 21, the method steps are the same as described as the steps the system is configured to perform and therefore taught in the same way as seen in claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the use of a controller which regulates current based on impedance measurements, or changes in impedance measurement, is known in the art, as is taught by Cadouri (US 20150112321 A1). However, Cadouri does not teach this current as being specifically held constant if a predetermined percent impedance drop target is reached before a current target is reached. Further the use of applied power being controlled to achieve a rate of change in impedance during a treatment time, is known in the art, as is taught by Gaspredes (US 20160310203 A1). However, Gaspredes does not teach varying power to achieve a current target if the predetermined impedance drop target is not met during the treatment time.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11896294 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US 11896294 B2 anticipate the claims of the application. Accordingly, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the patent claims. Here, the more specific patent claims encompass the broader application claims. Following the rationale in In re Goodman cited in the preceding paragraph, where applicant has once been granted a patent containing a claim for the specific narrow invention, applicant may not obtain a second patent with a claim for the generic or broader invention without first submitting an appropriate terminal disclaimer.
Conclusion
/LINDA C DVORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/L.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3794