DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on February 13, 2024; April 3, 2025 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) lens gap adjustment member…to adjust a gap… in claims 1, 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Stark (US 751,116).
As to claim 1, Stark teaches a lens module (Stark Figs. 1-7) comprising
a lens barrel (Stark Fig. 1 - B; Fig. 3 - B) including a plurality of lenses arranged in a first direction (Stark Fig. 1 - C, D; page 1:lines 60-65);
a zoom ring accommodating the lens barrel (Stark Fig. 1 - E; Fig. 3 - E);
a lens gap adjustment member (Stark Fig. 6 - I, J, L) coupled to the lens barrel and the zoom ring to adjust a gap between the plurality of lenses (Stark page 1:lines 85-98);
wherein the lens barrel and the zoom ring form a sliding groove (Stark Fi. 6 - groove and space between barrel (B) and ring (E); see below) extending in a first direction to guide a movement of the lens gap adjustment member (Stark Fig. 6);
wherein the sliding groove includes a serrated portion (Stark Fig. 6 - J) to which the lens gap adjustment member slidably engages in the first direction (Stark Fig. 6 - I, J).
As to claim 9, Stark teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Stark further teaches first and second ball members disposed between the lens barrel and the zoom ring to guide a movement of the zoom ring in the first direction (Stark Fig. 1 - F; page 1:lines78-82).
As to claim 10, Stark teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Stark further teaches the lens gap adjustment member and the first and second ball members are disposed at angular intervals in a circumferential direction of the zoom ring and the lens barrel (Stark Fig. 2 - L, F).
Claims 1-4, 11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Mahn (US 3,122,079).
As to claim 1, Mahn teaches a lens module (Mahn Figs. 2, 2a) comprising
a lens barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 1’, 2, 3) including a plurality of lenses arranged in a first direction (Mahn Fig. 2 - 4’; 4a’);
a zoom ring accommodating the lens barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 5’; Fig. 2a - 5’);
a lens gap adjustment member (Mahn Fig. 2 - 10, 7’, 6a’, 11) coupled to the lens barrel and the zoom ring to adjust a gap between the plurality of lenses (Mahn Fig. 2 - 10, 7’; col. 2:lines 55-61);
wherein the lens barrel and the zoom ring form a sliding groove (Mahn Fig. 2 - 8a’, 8’; col. 3:8-10) extending in a first direction to guide a movement of the lens gap adjustment member (Mahn Fig. 2 - 8a’, 8’);
wherein the sliding groove includes a serrated portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 12; col. 3:16-19) to which the lens gap adjustment member slidably engages in the first direction (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11,12; col. 3:16-19).
As to claim 2, Mahn teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Mahn further teaches the lens gap adjustment member includes a sliding portion movable in the first direction within the sliding groove (Mahn Fig. 2 - 10, 7’) and a bridge portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11) having a side disposed on the sliding portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11, 10) and another side disposed on the lens barrel to support movement of the sliding portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11, 12).
As to claim 3, Mahn teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Mahn further teaches the sliding portion includes a fixing protrusion coupled to the serrated portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11; col. 3:15-20), the sliding portion is slidable in the first direction when the serrated portion and the fixing protrusion are misaligned (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11, 12; col. 3:15-20), and fixed when the fixing protrusion is engaged with the serrated portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 12; col. 3:16-19).
As to claim 4, Mahn teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Mahn further teaches the lens barrel includes a fixed barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 1’, 2’) including at least one lens (Mahn Fig. 2 - 4a’) and a movable barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 3’), including at least one lens (Mahn Fig. 2 - 4’) configured to move relative to the fixed barrel in the first direction (Mahn Fig. 2 - 4’), and wherein as the movable barrel moves, a gap between the at least one lens of the fixed barrel and the at least one of the movable barrel changes (Mahn Fig. 2 - 4’, 4a’).
As to claim 11, Mahn teaches a lens module (Mahn Figs. 2, 2a), comprising
a lens barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 1’, 2, 3) including a plurality of lenses arranged in a first direction (Mahn Fig. 2 - 4’; 4a’);
a zoom ring accommodating the lens barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 5’; Fig. 2a - 5’);
a lens gap adjustment member (Mahn Fig. 2 - 10, 7’, 6a’, 11) coupled to the lens barrel and the zoom ring (Mahn Fig. 2 - 10, 7’; col. 2:lines 55-61), configured to be movable in the first direction (Mahn Fig. 2a - 10, 7’);
wherein the lens barrel includes a movable barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 3’, Fig. 2a - 3’; col. 2:59-62), including a first lens group (Mahn Fig. 2 - 4’), and a fixed barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 1’, 2’), including a second lens group (Mahn Fig. 2 - 4a’);
the zoom ring and the movable barrel are configured to move, in a direction parallel to the first direction (Mahn Fig. 2 - 5’, 3’; Fig. 2a - 5’, 3’), together with the lens gap adjustment member (Mahn Fig. 2; col. 2:56-63; col. 3:9-15).
As to claim 14, Mahn teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Mahn further teaches the fixed barrel and the zoom ring form a sliding groove extending in the first direction to guide a movement of the lens gap adjustment member (Mahn FIg. 2 - 8a’, 8’).
As to claim 15, Mahn teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 14, and Mahn further teaches the lens gap adjustment member includes a sliding portion movable in the first direction within the sliding groove (Mahn Fig. 2 - 10, 7’) and a bridge portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11) having a side disposed on the sliding portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11, 10) and another side disposed on the lens barrel to support movement of the sliding portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11, 12).
As to claim 16, Mahn teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 14, and Mahn further teaches the sliding groove includes a serrated portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 12; col. 3:15-20) to which the lens gap adjustment member slidably engages in the first direction (Mahn Fig. 2 - 10) and the sliding portion includes a fixing protrusion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11; col. 3:15-20) coupled to the serrated portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11, 12; col. 3:15-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahn as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Wick et al. (US 3,747,498 - Wick).
As to claim 5, Mahn teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and Mahn further teaches the bridge portion (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11) has a portion extending downwardly from the sliding portion and disposed in an accommodating groove formed in the fixed barrel (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11, 12, 1’), but doesn’t specify a first portion a extending upwardly from the sliding portion and disposed in the movable barrel.
In the same field of endeavor Wick teaches a lens module with an adjustment member with a sliding portion (Wick Fig. 3 - 105d) and a bridge portion (Wick Fig. 3 - 105b, 105a, 104, 105c, 105e), the bridge portion includes a first bridge portion extending upwardly from the sliding portion and disposed in a movable barrel (Wick Fig. 3 - 105c, 105e, 102a; col. 6:33-38; col. 6:52-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide such bridge portion since, as taught by Wick, such elements allow for adjusting the axial position of movable lens/lens barrels (Wick Fig. 3; col. 6:33-61).
As to claim 6, Mahn in view of Wick teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Wick further teaches an end of the first bridge portion has plural bent portions (Wick Fig. 3 - 104, 105a, 105c, 105e).
As to claim 7, Mahn in view of Wick teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Wick further teaches the movable barrel (Wick Fig. 3 - 102) includes a seating groove (Wick Fig. 3 - 102a) in an outer circumferential surface (Wick Fig. 3 - 102a, 102) into which an end of the first bridge portion is inserted (Wick Fig. 3 - 105e, 102a), and the movable barrel is moved in the first direction by the first bridge portion (Wick Fig. 3; col. 6:52-58).
As to claim 8, Mahn in view of Wick teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 5, and Mahn/Wick further teaches the second bridge portion is configured to maintain contact with at least an inner wall portion of the accommodating groove when disposed in the accommodating groove (Mahn Fig. 2 - 11, 12; Wick Fig. 3 - 104, 101a; col. 6:25-30).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahn as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Stark (cited above).
As to claim 12, Mahn teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, but doesn’t specify first and second ball members disposed between the fixed barrel and the zoom ring, including a plurality of ball members disposed in a first direction.
In the same field of endeavor Stark teaches first and second ball members disposed between the fixed barrel and the zoom ring, including a plurality of ball members disposed in a first direction (Stark Fig. 1 - F; page 1:lines78-82).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide ball bearings since, as taught by Stark, such ball bearing are well known in the art for the purpose of allowing relative movement between the barrel/rings (Stark Fig. 1 - F; page 1:lines78-82).
As to claim 13, Mahn in view of Stark teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12, and Stark further teaches the lens gap adjustment member and the first and second ball members are disposed at angular intervals in a circumferential direction of the zoom ring and the lens barrel (Stark Fig. 1 - F, I, L).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Satoh (US 5,784,207); Bornhorst (US 4,709,311); Iwata et al. (US 4,585,313); Hoos (US 3,981,564); Govignon (US 4,023,189); Erbe et al. (US 3,088,370); Bednarz (US 2,784,644) are cited as additional examples of lens module with slidable barrels.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 February 5, 2026