DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bae (US 2024/0163759 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Bae discloses an apparatus (Fig.8(donor CU)) for wireless communication at a CP of a CU (See Fig.8(donor-CU); [0133]; performing control signaling for handover process)) associated with a plurality of wireless devices (See [0133]; multiple terminals connected to the wireless network)) associated with a multi-modal service (See [0140]; gNB/terminal may transmit and receive configuration and data), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig.2(220)) and at least one processor (Fig.2(210)) coupled to the at least one memory (See [0045]; the processor 210 may be connected to at least one of the memory 220, the transceiver 230, the input interface device 240, the output interface device 250 and the storage device 260 via a dedicated interface) and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory (See [0046]; The processor 210 may execute a program stored in
at least one of the memory 220 and the storage device 260), the at least one processor (Fig.2(210)), individually or in any combination (See [0044]; may combine at least one processor),
is configured to:
output, for a target distributed unit (DU) (Fig.8(target IAB-DU2)) associated with a handover procedure for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0133]; a handover request message for multiple terminals to the donor-CU2 (S810)), a first common request relating to a context of the plurality of wireless devices (See [0135]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context setup request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S830));
and
obtain, from the target DU (Fig.8(IAB target DU2)) and based on the first common request (See [0135]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context
setup request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S830)), a first common response relating to the context of the plurality of wireless devices (See [0137]; The IAB-DU2 may transmit a multi-UE context setup response message for multiple terminals to the donorDU2 (S850))).
Regarding Claim 2,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Bae further teaches
wherein the at least one processor (Fig.2(210)), individually or in any combination (See [0044]; may combine at least one processor), is further configured to:
output, for a source DU (Fig.8(Source IAB DU1)) associated with the handover procedure for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0133]; procedure for handover of plurality of terminal), a second common request to modify the context of the plurality of wireless devices (See [0139]; The donor-CU1 may transmit a multi-UE context
modification request message for multiple terminals to the
IAB-DUI (S870)) based on the first common response (See [0137]; The IAB-DU2 may transmit a multi-UE context setup response message for multiple terminals to the donorDU2 (S850)).; and
obtain, from the source DU (Fig.8 IAB-DU1 Source)) and based on the second common request (See [0139]; The donor-CU1 may transmit a multi-UE context
modification request message for multiple terminals to the
IAB-DU1 (S870)), a second common response relating to the context of the plurality of wireless devices (See [0141]; The IAB-DU1 may transmit a multi-UE context
modification response message for multiple terminals to the
donor-CU1 (S890).).
Regarding Claim 3,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 and Bae further teaches
wherein the second common request (See [0139]; The donor-CU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification request message for multiple terminals to the IAB-DUI (S870)) comprises
a plurality of radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration messages for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0139] The donor-CU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification request message for multiple terminals to the IAB-DUI (S870). The multi-UE context change request message for multiple terminals may include multi-RRC reconfiguration information),
wherein the plurality of RRC reconfiguration messages comprises an RRC reconfiguration message for each of the plurality of wireless devices (See Table 1; [0139];[0143]; The multi-UE context change request message for multiple terminals may include multi-RRC reconfiguration information. The multi-UE context modification request message may be a message that transmits existing UE context change request messages in a list form).
Regarding Claim 4,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Bae further teaches
wherein the first common request relating to the context of the plurality of wireless devices (See [0135]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context
setup request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S830));
comprises
one or more of
a multi-modal service identifier (ID) associated with the multi-modal service,
an ID of each of the plurality of wireless devices (See Table 1; [0142-0143]; the multi-UE context setup request message, the IEs may include a message type, UE context to be setup List, and UE context to be setup Item), and
an indication of characteristics of flows associated with the plurality of wireless devices.
(The term “One or More” is used for limitation choice selection in claim analysis).
Regarding Claim 8,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 and Bae further teaches
wherein the at least one processor (Fig.2(210)), individually or in any combination (See [0044]; may combine at least one processor), is further configured to:
obtain a common handover procedure request for the plurality of wireless devices (SeeFig.8(S810); [0133]; The donor-CU2 may receive the handover request message for multiple terminals transmitted by the donor-CU1) and
output, based on the common handover procedure request (SeeFig.8(S810); [0133]; The donor-CU2 may receive the handover request message for multiple terminals transmitted by the donor-CU1), a common handover procedure request acknowledgment for the plurality of wireless devices (See Fig.8(S860); [0138]; The donor-CU1 may receive the handover request acknowledgement message for multiple terminals transmitted by the donor-CU2).
Regarding Claim 11,
Bae discloses an apparatus (Fig.8(IAB node)) of wireless communication at a source distributed unit (DU) (Fig.8(IAB-DU1)) serving a plurality of wireless devices (See [0133]; multiple terminals connected to the wireless network)) associated with a multi-modal service (See [0140]; gNB/terminal may transmit and receive configuration and data), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig.2(220)) and at least one processor (Fig.2(210)) coupled to the at least one memory (See [0045]; the processor 210 may be connected to at least one of the memory 220, the transceiver 230, the input interface device 240, the output interface device 250 and the storage device 260 via a dedicated interface) and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory (See [0046]; The processor 210 may execute a program stored in
at least one of the memory 220 and the storage device 260), the at least one processor (Fig.2(210)), individually or in any combination (See [0044]; may combine at least one processor),
obtain, for a handover procedure for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0133]; The donor-CU1 may transmit a handover request message for multiple terminals to the donor-CU2 (S810)) from the source DU (Fig.8(Source donor-gNB1(DU1)) to a target DU (Fig.8(IAB-DU2)(Target)), a common context modification request relating to modifying a context of the plurality of wireless devices (See [0139]; The donor-CU1 through DU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification request message for multiple terminals to the IAB-DUI (S870)); and
output, based on the common context modification request (See [0139]; The donor-CU1 through DU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification request message for multiple terminals to the IAB-DUI (S870)), a first common data delivery status indication for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0141]; The IAB-DU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification response message in a list form for multiple terminals to the donor-CU1 (S890) through donor-DU1).
Regarding Claim 12,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 and Bae further teaches
wherein the common context modification request comprises a plurality of individual radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration messages for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0139] The donor-CU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification request message for multiple terminals to the IAB-DUI (S870). The multi-UE context change request message for multiple terminals may include multi-RRC reconfiguration information),
wherein the plurality of individual RRC reconfiguration messages comprises an individual RRC reconfiguration message for each of the plurality of wireless devices (See Table 1; [0139];[0143]; The multi-UE context change request message for multiple terminals may include multi-RRC reconfiguration information. The multi-UE context modification request message may be a message that transmits existing UE context change request messages in a list form).
.
Regarding Claim 13,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 12 and Bae further teaches
wherein the at least one processor (Fig.2(210)), individually or in any combination (See [0044]; may combine at least one processor), is further configured to:
outputting, for each wireless device of the plurality of wireless devices (Fig.8(T1, T2)), one of the plurality of individual RRC reconfiguration messages corresponding to the wireless device (See Table 2; [0144-0145]; the multi-UE context setup response message may define, for each IE, presence, range, information element type and reference, and semantic description) .
Regarding Claim 14,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 and Bae further teaches
wherein the first common request relating to the context of the plurality of wireless devices (See [0135]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context
setup request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S830));
comprises
one or more of
a multi-modal service identifier (ID) associated with the multi-modal service,
an ID of each of the plurality of wireless devices (See Table 1; [0142-0143]; the multi-UE context setup request message, the IEs may include a message type, UE context to be setup List, and UE context to be setup Item), and
an indication of characteristics of flows associated with the plurality of wireless devices.
(The term “One or More” is used for limitation choice selection in claim analysis).
Regarding Claim 15,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 14 and Bae further teaches
wherein the at least one processor (Fig.2(210)), individually or in any combination (See [0044]; may combine at least one processor), is further configured to:
outputting, based on the common context modification request (See [0139]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context setup modification request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S870)),
a common context modification response for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0141]; The IAB-DU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification response message in a list form for multiple terminals to the donor-CU1 (S890) through donor-DU1),
wherein the common context modification response comprises one or more of the multi-modal service ID,
the ID of each of the plurality of wireless devices (See Table 2; [0144-0145]; the multi-UE context setup response message, the IEs may include a message type, UE context to be setup List, and UE context to be setup Item),,
the indication of characteristics of flows associated with the plurality of wireless devices,
and an additional indication that the common context modification response is related to the common context modification request.
(The term “One or More” is used for limitation choice selection in claim analysis).
Regarding Claim 16,
Bae discloses an apparatus of wireless communication at a target distributed unit (DU) (Fig.8(IAB-DU2)) serving a plurality of wireless devices (See [0133]; multiple terminals connected to the wireless network)) associated with a multi-modal service (See [0140]; gNB/terminal may transmit and receive configuration and data), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig.2(220)) and at least one processor (Fig.2(210)) coupled to the at least one memory (See [0045]; the processor 210 may be connected to at least one of the memory 220, the transceiver 230, the input interface device 240, the output interface device 250 and the storage device 260 via a dedicated interface) and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory (See [0046]; The processor 210 may execute a program stored in
at least one of the memory 220 and the storage device 260), the at least one processor (Fig.2(210)), individually or in any combination (See [0044]; may combine at least one processor),
is configured to:
obtain, for a handover procedure for the plurality of wireless devices from a source DU to a target DU (See [0133]; performing control signaling for handover process)), a common context setup request relating to modifying a context of the plurality of wireless devices (See [0139]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context setup modification request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S870));; and
output, based on the common context setup request (See [0139]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context setup modification request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S870)), a common context setup response for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0141]; The IAB-DU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification response message in a list form for multiple terminals to the donor-CU1 (S890) through donor-DU1).
Regarding Claim 17,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 16 and Bae further teaches
wherein the at least one processor (Fig.2(210)), individually or in any combination (See [0044]; may combine at least one processor), is further configured to:
output, based on the common context setup request (See [0139]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context setup modification request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S870)), a first common data delivery status indication for the plurality of wireless devices (See [0141]; The IAB-DU1 may transmit a multi-UE context modification response message in a list form for multiple terminals to the donor-CU1 (S890) through donor-DU1).
Regarding Claim 19,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 16 and Bae further teaches
wherein the common context setup request (See [0139]; The donor-CU2 may transmit the multi-UE context setup modification request message for multiple terminals to the IABDU2 (S870)),
comprises one or more of
a multi-modal service identifier (ID) associated with the multi-modal service,
an ID of each of the plurality of wireless devices (See Table 1; [0142-0143]; the multi-UE context setup request message, the IEs may include a message type, UE context to be setup List, and UE context to be setup Item), and
an indication of characteristics of flows associated with the plurality of wireless devices.
(The term “One or More” is used for limitation choice selection in claim analysis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 2024/0163759 A1) in view of Pan (US 2014/0073330 A1).
Regarding Claim 6,
Bae teaches all the features with respect to claim 1
But Bae fails to explicitly recite
obtain a measurement report triggering the handover procedure for the plurality of wireless devices,
wherein outputting the first common request is based on the measurement report.
However in an analogous art,
Pan teaches about a group of handover trigger by receiving measurement report from one source of base station (See Claim 33, [0029]; [0045]).
Bae and Pan are analogous art because they all pertain to wireless communication technology. Bae teaches about a wireless network system with integrated access backhaul technology that switch service from one source network to a target network. Pan teaches about a group of handover trigger by receiving measurement report from one source of base station serving multiple UEs. Bae could use Pan features to trigger handover according to report measurement received by a source base station. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the claim application to combine Bae and Pan as to obtain a wireless communication technology.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 9, 10, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in statutory independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Note: Ying (US 2023/0362745 A1)
Methods, apparatus, and systems for determining whether a handover between network nodes should occur, and methods for performing handover. The disclosure relates to mechanisms to for performing mobility in an IAB network by exchanging information, such as mobility configuration information and mobility assistance information, among others.
The above prior art is another reference that describe also some methodology about how the integrated Access backhaul (IAB) operate in a New Radio (5G) Network.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646