DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Refer to the limitations “wherein, in response to a first condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration; and wherein, in response to a second condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator” in lines 10-14 of claims 1 and 14. In view of the vague and board first and second conditions and of the term “RAT configuration” and also with respect to its relation to a “mobile network operator”, i.e. when a change in RAT configuration entails and whether it’s related or unrelated to a change in mobile network operator in view of the vague first and second conditions, the switch from one SIM profile to another implies both a switch in RAT configuration and in mobile network operators. It is anyhow not clear whether the first and second conditions are mutually exclusive or whether they can be triggered simultaneously, in which case both the switch in RAT configuration and the switch in mobile network operator, would occur at the time.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 5 recites “The system of claim 1, wherein the smart meter system is further configured to measure and record…..” which should be –the system of claim 1, wherein the smart meter device(s) or equipment(s) is further configured to measure and record……”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2015/0094968) in view of Lalwaney (US 2017/0289788).
Regarding claim 1, Jia teaches a smart meter system comprising:
a utility meter configured to measure real-time distribution of a resource and generate metrology data indicating a quantity of the resource consumed (Paragraph 0183…… sink iNode 2110 or smart meter 1112 records a quantity of energy consumed and potentially also records other related attributes (such as power quality at time of consumption) depending on the sophistication of sensing equipment available. Sink iNode 2110 or smart meter 1112 data may vary substantially due to the wide range of hardware solutions provided by utilities to measure consumption, but generally utilities and others at least measure a total energy (in units such as kilowatt-hours) passing through a measured point prior to consumption), but does not specifically teach a wireless communication device configured to establish a connection with one or more mobile networks based on one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs) or SIM with multiple mobile operator profile, the wireless communication device comprising a transceiver capable of sending and receiving information via the one or more mobile networks and further comprising one or more radio access technology (RAT) configuration; wherein, in response to a first condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration; and wherein, in response to a second condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator.
However, in related art, Lalwaney teaches a wireless communication device configured to establish a connection with one or more mobile networks based on one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs) or SIM with multiple mobile operator profile (Paragraphs [0046-0047, 0050, 0065, 0089, 0093, especially 0046]……. The wireless device 200 may include at least one eSIM 202a, which may be a eUICC configured with SIM profile(s) 204a. In various examples, the eSIM 202a may represent a plurality of UICCs provisioned with SIM profiles in the device….Paragraph [0047]…. The SIM profile(s) 204a may further store home identifiers (e.g., a System Identification Number (SID)/Network Identification Number (NID) pair, a Home PLMN (HPLMN) code, etc.) to indicate the SIM network operator provider…..[0050]…….. the shared baseband-RF resource chain may include, for each eSIM 204a and, optionally, removable SIM 204b, separate baseband-modem processor 216 functionality (e.g., BB1 and BB2). The RF resource 218 may be coupled to at least one antenna 220, and may perform transmit/receive functions for the wireless services associated with each SIM profile 204a of the wireless device 200…..[0065]…. the AS 304 may include functions and protocols that support communication between each SIM (e.g., first SIM profile 204a, removable SIM 204b) and entities of their respective access networks (e.g., an MSC in a GSM network, an eNodeB in an LTE network, etc.)), the wireless communication device comprising a transceiver capable of sending and receiving information via the one or more mobile networks (Paragraph [0050]……… The RF resource 218 may be coupled to at least one antenna 220, and may perform transmit/receive functions for the wireless services associated with each SIM profile 204a of the wireless device 200. The RF resource 218 may implement separate transmit and receive functionalities, or may include a transceiver that combines transmitter and receiver functions…..[0119]….. The wireless device 500 may have one or more radio signal transceivers 508 (e.g., Peanut®, Bluetooth®, Zigbee®, Wi-Fi, RF radio) and antennae 510, for sending and receiving, coupled to each other and/or to the processor 502. The transceivers 508 and antennae 510 may be used with the above-mentioned circuitry to implement the various wireless transmission protocol stacks and interfaces. The wireless device 500 may include a cellular network wireless modem chip 516 that enables communication via a cellular network and is coupled to the processor) and further comprising one or more radio access technology (RAT) configuration (Paragraphs [0046-0047, 0053-0061, and 0065-0066]…….especially paragraph [0053]….. a wireless communication device may be customized by various configuration settings, which may include region-specific (e.g., area-specific and/or country-specific) configurations, service provider-specific configurations, and/or other suitable configurations, or combinations thereof…….[0060]…… The country-specific configuration settings may be combined with the service-provider configuration settings, and presented together as a configuration package that customizes the wireless communication device……[0065]….. Referring to FIGS. 1-3A, wireless communication device 200 may have a layered software architecture 300 to communicate over access networks associated with SIMs…..[0066]…. the wireless communication device 200 may be a multi-SIM wireless communication device, with the AS 304 including multiple protocol stacks 306, each of which is associated with a different SIM. For example, in a dual-SIM device, the AS 304 may include two protocol stacks 306, which may be respectively associated with a first eSIM and either a second eSIM or first removable SIM. In some examples, the wireless communication device 200 may be a single-SIM device, and the AS 304 may include a single protocol stack 306 (not shown). Although described below with reference to GSM-type communication layers, protocol stack(s) 306 may support any of variety of standards and protocols for wireless communications. In this case, different SIM profiles are linked to different RAT configuration and protocol stacks, which implicitly change when the device changes from one SIM to other, and thus from one connection to the other);
wherein, in response to a first condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc); and
wherein, in response to a second condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc. In view of the vague and board first and second conditions and of the term “RAT configuration” and also with respect to its relation to a “mobile network operator”, i.e. when a change in RAT configuration entails and whether it’s related or unrelated to a change in mobile network operator in view of the vague first and second conditions, the switch from one SIM profile to another implies both a switch in RAT configuration and in mobile network operators. It is anyhow not clear whether the first and second conditions are mutually exclusive or whether they can be triggered simultaneously, in which case both the switch in RAT configuration and the switch in mobile network operator, would occur at the time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lalwaney’s teaching about a wireless communication device configured to establish a connection with one or more mobile networks based on one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs) or SIM with multiple mobile operator profile, the wireless communication device comprising a transceiver capable of sending and receiving information via the one or more mobile networks and further comprising one or more radio access technology (RAT) configuration; wherein, in response to a first condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration; and wherein, in response to a second condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator with Jia’s invention in order to continuously perform data/voice communications between a base station and a terminal in a radio communication system.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the switching from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator corresponds with switching from a first SIM to a second SIM ([0065]….. Referring to FIGS. 1-3A, wireless communication device 200 may have a layered software architecture 300 to communicate over access networks associated with SIMs…..[0066]…. the wireless communication device 200 may be a multi-SIM wireless communication device, with the AS 304 including multiple protocol stacks 306, each of which is associated with a different SIM. For example, in a dual-SIM device, the AS 304 may include two protocol stacks 306, which may be respectively associated with a first eSIM and either a second eSIM or first removable SIM. In some examples, the wireless communication device 200 may be a single-SIM device, and the AS 304 may include a single protocol stack 306 (not shown). Although described below with reference to GSM-type communication layers, protocol stack(s) 306 may support any of variety of standards and protocols for wireless communications. In this case, different SIM profiles are linked to different RAT configuration and protocol stacks, which implicitly change when the device changes from one SIM to other, and thus from one connection to the other).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 2, wherein when the communication device has switched to the second SIM, the communication device is configured to change the one or more RAT configuration based on the second SIM (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 3, wherein, in response to a third condition, the communication device switches from a second SIM to a third SIM (Paragraph 0032……… When SIM software is hard-coded to the physical SIM card media (e.g., UICC), subscribers purchase new SIM cards to change SIM operations. In an effort to reduce the inconvenience of swapping cards, some cards are preloaded with two SIMs (e.g., dual-SIM devices), enabling switching between operators. Such solutions have the user obtain a new SIM card to add any additional SIMs or replace SIMs…….Paragraph [0066]….. the wireless communication device 200 may be a multi-SIM wireless communication device, with the AS 304 including multiple protocol stacks 306, each of which is associated with a different SIM……. Although described below with reference to GSM-type communication layers, protocol stack(s) 306 may support any of variety of standards (can have multiple SIMs, i.e, switching from first or second SIM to third SIM for communicating with third network or third protocol stack) and protocols for wireless communications).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the resource is one or more of natural gas, electricity, heat, or water and the metrology data is a measure of the quantity of the resource consumed at a first location over a first time interval (Paragraph [0183]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the one or more RAT configuration is configured according to the one or more SIMs used in establishing the connection (Paragraphs [0046-0047, 0053-0061, and 0065-0066]…….especially paragraph [0053]….. a wireless communication device may be customized by various configuration settings, which may include region-specific (e.g., area-specific and/or country-specific) configurations, service provider-specific configurations, and/or other suitable configurations, or combinations thereof…….[0060]…… The country-specific configuration settings may be combined with the service-provider configuration settings, and presented together as a configuration package that customizes the wireless communication device……[0065]….. Referring to FIGS. 1-3A, wireless communication device 200 may have a layered software architecture 300 to communicate over access networks associated with SIMs…..[0066]…. the wireless communication device 200 may be a multi-SIM wireless communication device, with the AS 304 including multiple protocol stacks 306, each of which is associated with a different SIM. For example, in a dual-SIM device, the AS 304 may include two protocol stacks 306, which may be respectively associated with a first eSIM and either a second eSIM or first removable SIM. In some examples, the wireless communication device 200 may be a single-SIM device, and the AS 304 may include a single protocol stack 306 (not shown). Although described below with reference to GSM-type communication layers, protocol stack(s) 306 may support any of variety of standards and protocols for wireless communications. In this case, different SIM profiles are linked to different RAT configuration and protocol stacks, which implicitly change when the device changes from one SIM to other, and thus from one connection to the other).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the smart meter system further comprises a battery (Paragraph 0119) and wherein the wireless communication device is configured to use a power saving profile corresponding to the one or more SIMs or the one or more RAT configuration (Paragraphs [0036, 0046, and 0078], especially Paragraph 0036…… an RF resource of a wireless communication device that is configured with a first eSIM and at least one of a second eSIM or first removable SIM, may be configured to be shared between a plurality of SIMs. The RF resource may be employed by default to perform communications on a network enabled by a first SIM, such as a network capable of high-speed data communications (e.g., WCDMA, HSDPA, LTE, etc.). As such, a modem stack associated with a second SIM of the device may often be in idle mode with respect to a second network. Depending on the radio access technology of the second network, such idle mode states may involve implementing a power saving mode that includes a cycle of sleep and awake states).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 1, wherein power saving profile conforms to one or more of an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) and power saving mode (PSM) standards (Paragraph 0036…… modem stack associated with a second SIM of the device may often be in idle mode with respect to a second network. Depending on the radio access technology of the second network, such idle mode states may involve implementing a power saving mode that includes a cycle of sleep and awake states. For example, if the second network is a GSM network, while in the idle mode the modem stack associated with the second SIM may implement discontinuous reception (DRX)).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all teach all the claimed elements in claim 1. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 1, wherein when the wireless communication device switches in response to the first condition or the second condition, the wireless communication device is configured to perform a reset and to establish a connection based on the second RAT configuration or second mobile network operator, respectively (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc).
Regarding claim 19, Jia teaches a method operating a smart meter, the method comprising: measuring, using a utility meter and sensor of the smart meter, a distribution of a resource; generating, using a processor, metrology data indicating a quantity of the resource consumed (Paragraph 0183…… sink iNode 2110 or smart meter 1112 records a quantity of energy consumed and potentially also records other related attributes (such as power quality at time of consumption) depending on the sophistication of sensing equipment available. Sink iNode 2110 or smart meter 1112 data may vary substantially due to the wide range of hardware solutions provided by utilities to measure consumption, but generally utilities and others at least measure a total energy (in units such as kilowatt-hours) passing through a measured point prior to consumption), but does not specifically teach establishing, using a wireless communication device, a connection with a first mobile network based on a first subscriber identity module (SIM) and a first RAT configuration; determining, using a processor and storage of the wireless communication device, if the connection with the first mobile network has become unreliable, wherein the connection is determined to be unreliable if a first threshold is satisfied; and switching, in response to the first threshold being satisfied, from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration corresponding to the first SIM.
However, in related art, Lalwaney teaches establishing, using a wireless communication device, a connection with a first mobile network based on a first subscriber identity module (SIM) (Paragraphs [0046-0047, 0050, 0065, 0089, 0093, especially 0046]……. The wireless device 200 may include at least one eSIM 202a, which may be a eUICC configured with SIM profile(s) 204a. In various examples, the eSIM 202a may represent a plurality of UICCs provisioned with SIM profiles in the device….Paragraph [0047]…. The SIM profile(s) 204a may further store home identifiers (e.g., a System Identification Number (SID)/Network Identification Number (NID) pair, a Home PLMN (HPLMN) code, etc.) to indicate the SIM network operator provider…..[0050]…….. the shared baseband-RF resource chain may include, for each eSIM 204a and, optionally, removable SIM 204b, separate baseband-modem processor 216 functionality (e.g., BB1 and BB2). The RF resource 218 may be coupled to at least one antenna 220, and may perform transmit/receive functions for the wireless services associated with each SIM profile 204a of the wireless device 200…..[0065]…. the AS 304 may include functions and protocols that support communication between each SIM (e.g., first SIM profile 204a, removable SIM 204b) and entities of their respective access networks (e.g., an MSC in a GSM network, an eNodeB in an LTE network, etc.)) and a first RAT configuration (Paragraphs [0046-0047, 0053-0061, and 0065-0066]…….especially paragraph [0053]….. a wireless communication device may be customized by various configuration settings, which may include region-specific (e.g., area-specific and/or country-specific) configurations, service provider-specific configurations, and/or other suitable configurations, or combinations thereof…….[0060]…… The country-specific configuration settings may be combined with the service-provider configuration settings, and presented together as a configuration package that customizes the wireless communication device……[0065]….. Referring to FIGS. 1-3A, wireless communication device 200 may have a layered software architecture 300 to communicate over access networks associated with SIMs…..[0066]…. the wireless communication device 200 may be a multi-SIM wireless communication device, with the AS 304 including multiple protocol stacks 306, each of which is associated with a different SIM. For example, in a dual-SIM device, the AS 304 may include two protocol stacks 306, which may be respectively associated with a first eSIM and either a second eSIM or first removable SIM. In some examples, the wireless communication device 200 may be a single-SIM device, and the AS 304 may include a single protocol stack 306 (not shown). Although described below with reference to GSM-type communication layers, protocol stack(s) 306 may support any of variety of standards and protocols for wireless communications. In this case, different SIM profiles are linked to different RAT configuration and protocol stacks, which implicitly change when the device changes from one SIM to other, and thus from one connection to the other);
determining, using a processor and storage of the wireless communication device, if the connection with the first mobile network has become unreliable, wherein the connection is determined to be unreliable if a first threshold is satisfied; and switching, in response to the first threshold being satisfied, from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration corresponding to the first SIM (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network (when the connection with the first mobile network has become unreliable) different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lalwaney’s teaching about establishing, using a wireless communication device, a connection with a first mobile network based on a first subscriber identity module (SIM) and a first RAT configuration; determining, using a processor and storage of the wireless communication device, if the connection with the first mobile network has become unreliable, wherein the connection is determined to be unreliable if a first threshold is satisfied; and switching, in response to the first threshold being satisfied, from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration corresponding to the first SIM with Jia’s invention in order to continuously perform data/voice communications between a base station and a terminal in a radio communication system.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney teach all the claimed elements in claim 19. In addition, Lalwaney teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising: determining, using the processor and storage, if the connection with the first mobile network using the first RAT configuration has become unreliable, wherein the connection is determined to be unreliable if the first threshold is satisfied (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network (when the connection with the first mobile network has become unreliable) different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc);
determining, using the processor and storage, if the number of configuration profiles attempted equals the total number of RAT configuration and all RAT configuration have been used; and switching, in response to the determination that the total number of RAT configuration have been used, from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc. In view of the vague and board first and second conditions and of the term “RAT configuration” and also with respect to its relation to a “mobile network operator”, i.e. when a change in RAT configuration entails and whether it’s related or unrelated to a change in mobile network operator in view of the vague first and second conditions, the switch from one SIM profile to another implies both a switch in RAT configuration and in mobile network operators. It is anyhow not clear whether the first and second conditions are mutually exclusive or whether they can be triggered simultaneously, in which case both the switch in RAT configuration and the switch in mobile network operator, would occur at the time).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2015/0094968) in view of Lalwaney (US 2017/0289788) in view of Cooley (US Patent #8,880,092), and further in view of Hong (US 2023/0123352).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney fail to teach the system of claim 1, wherein the smart meter system is further configured to measure and record a connection quality indicator, and wherein the first condition is met when the connection quality indicator satisfies a first threshold and one or more unused RAT configuration exist.
However, in related art, Cooley teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the smart meter system is further configured to measure and record a connection quality indicator (Col 5, lines 5-60, especially, lines 20-31…. the smart meters 301 is leveraged to have smart meters 301 measure and record wireless signal strengths 303…… a scanning module 305 of the smart meter agent 109 on each smart meter 301 participating in the location determining system 101 periodically scans its surrounding environment and detects wireless signals generated by nearby fixed position wireless devices 307 (e.g., WiFi devices, wireless access points, etc.). When a wireless signal is detected, a signal strength measuring module 309 of the smart meter agent 109 measures the signal strength 303). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Cooley’s teaching about wherein the smart meter system is further configured to measure and record a connection quality indicator with Jia’s and Lalwaney’s invention in order to establish a wireless network connection with the base station.
The combination of Jia, Lalwaney, and Cooley fail to teach wherein the first condition is met when the connection quality indicator satisfies a first threshold and one or more unused RAT configuration exist.
However, in related art, Hong teaches wherein the first condition is met when the connection quality indicator satisfies a first threshold and one or more unused RAT configuration exist (Paragraph [0038]…….. the first network is a 5G network and the second network is a 4G network. In the embodiment, when the signal strength of the 5G network drops to a threshold satisfying the measurement condition, a measurement on the second network can be performed by using one of the second SIMs in advance. Thus, it is beneficial for the user equipment to switch to the second network in time, thereby reducing the time delay caused by the user equipment switching the network). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Hong’s teaching about wherein the smart meter system is further configured to measure and record a connection quality indicator with Jia’s, Lalwaney’s, and Cooley’s invention in order to switch to the second network in time, thereby reducing the time delay caused by the user equipment switching the network (See Hong, paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jia, Lalwaney, and Cooley teach all the claimed elements in claim 5. Further Lalwaney teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the second condition is met when the connection quality indicator satisfies a first threshold and no unused RAT configuration exist (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc. Therefore, it becomes clear that the smart meter, when it determines that the connection with the first mobile network operator becomes unreliable (if a first threshold is satisfied), first attempts to switch RAT configurations (i.g. protocol stacks/protocols) and if all RAT configurations have been used (no unused RAT configuration exist), only then attempt to switch from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operation).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2015/0094968) in view of Lalwaney (US 2017/0289788) in view of Cooley (US Patent #8,880,092) in view of Hong (US 2023/0123352), and further in view of Bechta et al. (US 2019/0115985).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Jia, Lalwaney, Cooley, and Hong fail to teach the system of claim 5, wherein the first threshold is one or more of a call success rate, average reference signal received quality (RSRQ), the registration/attach time, and an elapsed time period of last successful call.
However, in related art, Bechta teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the first threshold is one or more of a call success rate, average reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (Paragraphs [0002 and 0133], especially Paragraph [0133]……teaches If plural signals with high RSRQ level are evaluated, the threshold may be based on an average of these RSRQ levels or based on one of these RSRQ levels such as a maximum or a minimum thereof), the registration/attach time, and an elapsed time period of last successful call. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Bechta’s teaching about wherein the first threshold is one or more of an average reference signal received quality (RSRQ) with Jia’s, Lalwaney’s, Cooley’s, and Hong’s invention in order to conserve battery power.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2015/0094968) in view of Lalwaney (US 2017/0289788), and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2025/0039905).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jia and Lalwaney fail to teach the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more RAT configuration correspond to a communication standard confirming to one or more of Cat-M, NB-IoT, LTE-M, LPWAN, 5G-MMTC, 5G-RedCap, eRedCap, and feRedCap.
However, in related art, Huang teaches teach the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more RAT configuration correspond to a communication standard confirming to one or more of Cat-M, NB-IoT, LTE-M, LPWAN, 5G-MMTC, 5G-RedCap, eRedCap, and feRedCap (Paragraph 0095). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Huang’s teaching about wherein the one or more RAT configuration correspond to a communication standard confirming to one or more of Cat-M, NB-IoT, LTE-M, LPWAN, 5G-MMTC, 5G-RedCap, eRedCap, and feRedCap with Jia’s and Lalwaney’s invention in order to a selected access network from networks available list.
Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2015/0094968) in view of Lalwaney (US 2017/0289788), and further in view of Cebe et al. (US 2020/0366667).
Regarding claim 14, Jia teaches an advanced metering system, comprising: a plurality of smart meter systems, each smart meter system comprising: a utility meter configured to measure real-time distribution of a resource and generate metrology data indicating a quantity of the resource consumed (Paragraph 0183…… sink iNode 2110 or smart meter 1112 records a quantity of energy consumed and potentially also records other related attributes (such as power quality at time of consumption) depending on the sophistication of sensing equipment available. Sink iNode 2110 or smart meter 1112 data may vary substantially due to the wide range of hardware solutions provided by utilities to measure consumption, but generally utilities and others at least measure a total energy (in units such as kilowatt-hours) passing through a measured point prior to consumption), but does not specifically teach a wireless communication device configured to establish a connection with one or more mobile networks based on one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs) or SIM with multiple mobile operator profile, the wireless communication device comprising a transceiver capable of sending and receiving information via the one or more mobile networks and further comprising one or more RAT configuration; wherein, in response to a first condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration; and wherein, in response to a second condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator; and a head-end system (HES) configured to communicate with the plurality of smart meters via the one or more mobile networks.
However, in related art, Lalwaney teaches a wireless communication device configured to establish a connection with one or more mobile networks based on one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs) or SIM with multiple mobile operator profile (Paragraphs [0046-0047, 0050, 0065, 0089, 0093, especially 0046]……. The wireless device 200 may include at least one eSIM 202a, which may be a eUICC configured with SIM profile(s) 204a. In various examples, the eSIM 202a may represent a plurality of UICCs provisioned with SIM profiles in the device….Paragraph [0047]…. The SIM profile(s) 204a may further store home identifiers (e.g., a System Identification Number (SID)/Network Identification Number (NID) pair, a Home PLMN (HPLMN) code, etc.) to indicate the SIM network operator provider…..[0050]…….. the shared baseband-RF resource chain may include, for each eSIM 204a and, optionally, removable SIM 204b, separate baseband-modem processor 216 functionality (e.g., BB1 and BB2). The RF resource 218 may be coupled to at least one antenna 220, and may perform transmit/receive functions for the wireless services associated with each SIM profile 204a of the wireless device 200…..[0065]…. the AS 304 may include functions and protocols that support communication between each SIM (e.g., first SIM profile 204a, removable SIM 204b) and entities of their respective access networks (e.g., an MSC in a GSM network, an eNodeB in an LTE network, etc.)),
the wireless communication device comprising a transceiver capable of sending and receiving information via the one or more mobile networks (Paragraph [0050]……… The RF resource 218 may be coupled to at least one antenna 220, and may perform transmit/receive functions for the wireless services associated with each SIM profile 204a of the wireless device 200. The RF resource 218 may implement separate transmit and receive functionalities, or may include a transceiver that combines transmitter and receiver functions…..[0119]….. The wireless device 500 may have one or more radio signal transceivers 508 (e.g., Peanut®, Bluetooth®, Zigbee®, Wi-Fi, RF radio) and antennae 510, for sending and receiving, coupled to each other and/or to the processor 502. The transceivers 508 and antennae 510 may be used with the above-mentioned circuitry to implement the various wireless transmission protocol stacks and interfaces. The wireless device 500 may include a cellular network wireless modem chip 516 that enables communication via a cellular network and is coupled to the processor) and further comprising one or more RAT configuration (Paragraphs [0046-0047, 0053-0061, and 0065-0066]…….especially paragraph [0053]….. a wireless communication device may be customized by various configuration settings, which may include region-specific (e.g., area-specific and/or country-specific) configurations, service provider-specific configurations, and/or other suitable configurations, or combinations thereof…….[0060]…… The country-specific configuration settings may be combined with the service-provider configuration settings, and presented together as a configuration package that customizes the wireless communication device……[0065]….. Referring to FIGS. 1-3A, wireless communication device 200 may have a layered software architecture 300 to communicate over access networks associated with SIMs…..[0066]…. the wireless communication device 200 may be a multi-SIM wireless communication device, with the AS 304 including multiple protocol stacks 306, each of which is associated with a different SIM. For example, in a dual-SIM device, the AS 304 may include two protocol stacks 306, which may be respectively associated with a first eSIM and either a second eSIM or first removable SIM. In some examples, the wireless communication device 200 may be a single-SIM device, and the AS 304 may include a single protocol stack 306 (not shown). Although described below with reference to GSM-type communication layers, protocol stack(s) 306 may support any of variety of standards and protocols for wireless communications. In this case, different SIM profiles are linked to different RAT configuration and protocol stacks, which implicitly change when the device changes from one SIM to other, and thus from one connection to the other);
wherein, in response to a first condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc); and
wherein, in response to a second condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator (Paragraphs [0005-0006, 0091-0109], especially paragraph [0093] teaches …….. In block 404, the wireless communication device processor may detect a condition for use of a new SIM profile to communicate on a modem stack (Radio Access Technology (RAT)) associated with a eSIM. For example, a new SIM profile may be used to replace the provisioning profile (first RAT configuration to second RAT configuration) , to communicate in a network different from that of the enabled operational SIM profile, etc. In view of the vague and board first and second conditions and of the term “RAT configuration” and also with respect to its relation to a “mobile network operator”, i.e. when a change in RAT configuration entails and whether it’s related or unrelated to a change in mobile network operator in view of the vague first and second conditions, the switch from one SIM profile to another implies both a switch in RAT configuration and in mobile network operators. It is anyhow not clear whether the first and second conditions are mutually exclusive or whether they can be triggered simultaneously, in which case both the switch in RAT configuration and the switch in mobile network operator, would occur at the time). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lalwaney’s teaching about a wireless communication device configured to establish a connection with one or more mobile networks based on one or more subscriber identity modules (SIMs) or SIM with multiple mobile operator profile, the wireless communication device comprising a transceiver capable of sending and receiving information via the one or more mobile networks and further comprising one or more RAT configuration; wherein, in response to a first condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first RAT configuration to a second RAT configuration; and wherein, in response to a second condition being met, the wireless communication device switches from a first mobile network operator to a second mobile network operator with Jia’s invention in order to continuously perform data/voice communications between a base station and a terminal in a radio communication system.
The combination of Jia and Lalwaney fail to teach a head-end system (HES) configured to communicate with the plurality of smart meters via the one or more mobile networks.
However, in related art, Cebe teaches a head-end system (HES) configured to communicate with the plurality of smart meters via the one or more mobile networks (Paragraphs [0007, 0043]; claims 1 and 20, especially paragraph [0007] teaches a system for revocation management for an AMI network can comprise: a plurality of smart meters; a head-end system (HES) configured to collect power data from the plurality of smart meters; a gateway in operable communication with the plurality of smart meters and the head-end system). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Cebe’s teaching about a head-end system (HES) configured to communicate with the plurality of smart meters via the one or more mobile networks with Jia’s and Lalwaney’s invention in order to acquire information related to a quantity of the gas or electricity consumed from the smart meters.
Claims 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2015/0094968) in view of Lalwaney (US 2017/0289788) in view of Cebe et al. (US 2020/0366667), and further in view of Hansen et al. (US 2022/0247560).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Jia, Lalwaney, and Cebe fail to teach the system of claim 14, wherein the HES is further configured to transmit one or more command signals to one or more of the plurality of smart meters.
However, in related art, Hansen teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the HES is further configured to transmit one or more command signals to one or more of the plurality of smart meters (See abstract; Paragraphs 0025, 0028, 0044, and 0069, especially paragraph [0010]….. deriving at the server side a new key derivation key based on a disaster recovery key, stored at the server side, and a key-generation information;—deriving at the server side an activation key from the new key derivation key;—transmitting from the head-end system to the utility meter a command data message comprising: a request for replacing the existing key derivation key with the new key derivation key). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Hansen’s teaching about wherein the HES is further configured to transmit one or more command signals to one or more of the plurality of smart meters with Jia’s, Lalwaney’s, and Cebe’s invention for replacing the existing key derivation key with the new key derivation key, the key-generation information and a activation key or an authentication code calculated based on the activation key (See Hansen, abstract).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Jia, Lalwaney, Cebe, and Hansen teach all the claimed elements in claim 15. In addition, Hansen teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more command signals corresponds causes the communication device of one or more smart meters to switch from the first RAT configuration to the second RAT configuration (Paragraph [0044]…… data messages may also be transmitted in the opposite direction from the head-end system to the utility meter. Such data transmission may be used for transmission of any kind of data from the head-end system, HES, to the utility meter. An example of data to be transmitted from the head-end system to the utility meter is a command arranged to: control the operation of the utility meter, to change configuration parameters of the utility meter).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Jia, Lalwaney, Cebe, and Hansen teach all the claimed elements in claim 15. In addition, Hansen teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the plurality of smart meters are configured to transmit the information to the HES via the connection (Paragraph [0043]….. In the following description when data is said to be transmitted from the utility meter and received in the Head-end system, HES……… The meter communication infrastructure is understood to be a two way communication infrastructure. When communication direction e.g. from utility meter to head-end system, HES, is indicated it is only to be understood as an example, the direction of communication may as well be the opposite).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (US 2015/0094968) in view of Lalwaney (US 2017/0289788) in view of Cebe et al. (US 2020/0366667) in view of Hansen et al. (US 2022/0247560), and further in view of Deshmukh (US Patent #11,790,349).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Jia, Lalwaney, Cebe, and Hansen fail to teach the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more command signals corresponds causes the communication device of one or more smart meters to switch from the first SIM to the second SIM or one mobile operator profile to another mobile operator profile.
However, in related art, Deshmukh teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the one or more command signals corresponds causes the communication device of one or more smart meters to switch from the first SIM to the second SIM or one mobile operator profile to another mobile operator profile (Claim 17…… sending, by a headend system, provisioning data to a meter via at least a mesh network, wherein the provisioning data is configured to include: a command that causes the meter to switch from a mode that continuously maintains a connection of the meter to a resource distribution network to a mode for accepting payment-based tokens; a secret key; and token acceptance parameters; and wherein the meter is installed at a geographical location and configured to: operate in either: a mode that continuously maintains the connection of the meter to the resource distribution network at the geographical location). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Deshmukh’s teaching about wherein the one or more command signals corresponds causes the communication device of one or more smart meters to switch from the first SIM to the second SIM or one mobile operator profile to another mobile operator profile with Jia’s, Lalwaney’s, Cebe’s, and Hansen’s invention in order to maintain connection with the networks and continuously receive data without interference.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132