Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Torii et al WO 2019/168150 (English translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Torii et al discloses a work machine 1 comprising: an engine 10 having an output shaft 10A projecting to one side in a lateral direction of a machine body 2; a hydraulic pump 11 disposed on the other side in the lateral direction of the engine (see FIG. 1); an exhaust treatment device 18 disposed above the engine and treating exhaust gas discharged from the engine (see FIG. 1); and an alternator 38 driven by rotational power of the output shaft, wherein the alternator is disposed at a position behind the engine and below the exhaust treatment device. See FIG. 1, 2, and 28 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 2, Torii et al discloses a compressor 37 driven by the rotational power of the output shaft and disposed below the alternator. See FIG. 1, 2, and 28 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 3, Torii et al discloses wherein at least a part of the compressor is positioned behind the alternator in the machine body. See FIG. 1, 2, and 28 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 4, Torii et al discloses wherein the engine is installed in an engine room ER disposed in a rear portion of the machine body, the work machine further includes a shielding portion 30 that covers the engine room from a rear side and has an opening portion that exposes the engine room to an outside, and a cover body that covers the opening portion in an openable/closable manner, the alternator is disposed at a position at which at least a portion of the alternator overlaps an opening range of the opening portion in a rear view of the machine body, and the compressor is disposed at a position at which at least a portion of the compressor overlaps the shielding portion in a rear view of the machine body. See FIG. 27 and 28 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 5, Torii et al discloses wherein the exhaust treatment device includes a cylindrical filter case (DPF muffler 18A) into which exhaust gas discharged from the engine is introduced, and the filter case is disposed in a direction in which a longitudinal direction of the filter case is a front-rear direction of the machine body. See FIG. 20 and 28 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 6, Torii et al discloses wherein the alternator is disposed in a state in which one end side of the alternator is supported in a rotatable manner on the engine, and the other end side of the alternator is fixed to and supported by a support bracket (120, 184) extending from a support member supporting the exhaust treatment device with respect to the engine toward rear of the machine body in a position changeable manner to allow rotation of the alternator. See FIG. 1, 2, and 28 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 7, Torii et al discloses a fan 12 disposed on one side of the engine in the lateral direction; and a protection member 13 detachable from the shielding portion and shielding a part of the opening portion, wherein the protection member is disposed such that at least a part of the protection member overlaps a space between the engine and the fan in the rear view of the machine body. See FIG. 1, 2, and 28 and corresponding text.
Regarding claim 8, Torii et al discloses wherein the shielding portion includes a shielding main body portion forming a lower portion of the shielding portion and projecting portions extending upward from both left and right ends of the shielding main body portion and forming the opening portion together with the shielding main body portion, and the protection member is disposed for one of the left and right projecting portions. See FIG. 1, 2, and 28 and corresponding text.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747