DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20200214131 to Wu et al. in further view of U.S. PGPub. No. 20230262485 to Annavajjala et al.
As to Claim 5, Wu discloses a circuit structure for a radio unit, comprising (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, paragraph [0001]):
a plurality of printed circuit boards (PCBs) (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026], where multiple PCBs are used for RF communication),
wherein at least a PCB comprises an antenna module (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026], where the communication board includes the antennas),
at least a PCB comprises a power module, the data and/or signals transmitted between the PCBs through any form and any number of unidirectional or bidirectional digital interfaces and/or analog interfaces (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026, 0045], where the interconnection is used for communication between different layers of PCBs and powered by the power distribution and source board).
Wu disclose all of the subject matter as described above for multiple PCBs for power, antenna, and RF communication (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026]) except for digital signal processing module comprises not only digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), digital down converter (DDC), digital up converter (DUC), inverse fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), Cyclic Prefix Addition (CP Addition), Crest Factor Reduction(CFR), Digital Pre-Distortion (DPD), Cyclic Prefix Removal (CP Removal), and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), but also at least one or a combination of following modules: antenna calibration, Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) processing, Automatic Gain Control (AGC), OFDM phase compensation, and in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) signal c compression and decompression.
However, Annavajjala in the same field of endeavor teaches the digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), digital down converter (DDC), digital up converter (DUC), inverse fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), Cyclic Prefix Addition (CP Addition), crest factor reduction (CFR), digital pre-distortion (DPD), Cyclic Prefix Removal (CP Removal), and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), digital down conversion, digital up-conversion, physical random access channel (PRACH) filter, automatic gain control (AGC), sample compression and de-compression (implicitly for baseband signals after digital conversion), antenna port calibration (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, paragraph [0012, 0014, 0022, 0023, 0027, 0038, 0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use commonly known communication system components as taught by Annavajjala to modify the radio frequency signal system of Wu to enhance the communication of the system.
As to Claim 11, Wu disclose a circuit structure for a base station and a satellite system, comprising (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, paragraph [0001, 0029, 0046], where communication system support including 5G (implicitly including base station) and satellite device):
a plurality of printed circuit boards (PCBs) (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026], where multiple PCBs are used for RF communication),
wherein at least a PCB comprises an antenna module (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026], where the communication board includes the antennas),
at least a PCB comprises a power module, the data and/or signals transmitted between the PCBs through any form and any number of unidirectional or bidirectional digital interfaces and/or analog interfaces (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026, 0045], where the interconnection is used for communication between different layers of PCBs and powered by the power distribution and source board).
Wu disclose all of the subject matter as described above for multiple PCBs for power, antenna, and RF communication (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026]) except for digital signal processing module comprises not only digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), digital down converter (DDC), digital up converter (DUC), inverse fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), Cyclic Prefix Addition (CP Addition), Crest Factor Reduction(CFR), Digital Pre-Distortion (DPD), Cyclic Prefix Removal (CP Removal), and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), but also at least one or a combination of following modules: antenna calibration, Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) processing, Automatic Gain Control (AGC), OFDM phase compensation, and in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) signal c compression and decompression.
However, Annavajjala in the same field of endeavor teaches the digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), digital down converter (DDC), digital up converter (DUC), inverse fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), Cyclic Prefix Addition (CP Addition), crest factor reduction (CFR), digital pre-distortion (DPD), Cyclic Prefix Removal (CP Removal), and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), digital down conversion, digital up-conversion, physical random access channel (PRACH) filter, automatic gain control (AGC), sample compression and de-compression (implicitly for baseband signals after digital conversion), antenna port calibration (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, paragraph [0012, 0014, 0022, 0023, 0027, 0038, 0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use commonly known communication system components as taught by Annavajjala to modify the 5G radio frequency signal system of Wu to enhance the communication of the system.
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20200214131 to Wu et al. in further view of U.S. PGPub. No. 20210243617 to Cooper et al. and U.S. PGPub. No. 20230262485 to Annavajjala et al.
As to Claim 1, Wu disclose a circuit structure for a radio unit, comprising (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, paragraph [0001]):
a plurality of printed circuit boards (PCBs) (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026], where multiple PCBs are used for RF communication),
wherein at least a PCB comprises an antenna module (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026], where the communication board includes the antennas),
at least a PCB comprises the data and/or signals transmitted between the PCBs through any form and any number of unidirectional or bidirectional digital interfaces and/or analog interfaces (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026], where the interconnection is used for communication between different layers of PCBs).
Wu disclose all of the subject matter as described above (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026]) except for fronthaul interface module.
However, Cooper in the same field of endeavor teaches various configuration of communication devices including custom embedded printed circuit board having distributed unit supporting multiple fronthaul connection (Fig. 2-7, Fig. 15, Fig. 19, paragraph [0005, 0037, 0042, 0082, 0110, 0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support fronthaul connection for various configuration of communication devices as taught by Cooper to modify the circuit structure of Wu to provide the enhanced network deployment for various communication systems (Cooper - paragraph [0003, 0004]).
Wu disclose all of the subject matter as described above for multiple PCBs for power, antenna, and RF communication (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026]) except for digital signal processing module comprises not only digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), digital down converter (DDC), digital up converter (DUC), inverse fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), Cyclic Prefix Addition (CP Addition), Crest Factor Reduction(CFR), Digital Pre-Distortion (DPD), Cyclic Prefix Removal (CP Removal), and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), but also at least one or a combination of following modules: antenna calibration, Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) processing, Automatic Gain Control (AGC), OFDM phase compensation, and in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) signal c compression and decompression.
However, Annavajjala in the same field of endeavor teaches the digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), digital down converter (DDC), digital up converter (DUC), inverse fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), Cyclic Prefix Addition (CP Addition), crest factor reduction (CFR), digital pre-distortion (DPD), Cyclic Prefix Removal (CP Removal), and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), digital down conversion, digital up-conversion, physical random access channel (PRACH) filter, automatic gain control (AGC), sample compression and de-compression (implicitly for baseband signals after digital conversion), antenna port calibration (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, paragraph [0012, 0014, 0022, 0023, 0027, 0038, 0039]). Also Cooper in the same field of endeavor teaches IFFT, CP addition, digital to analog converter, analog to digital converter, FFT, equalization (filtering), applying amplitude and phase offsets (Fig. 7, Fig. 10, paragraph [0058, 0076, 0082, 0083, 0096-0100])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use commonly known communication system components as taught by Annavajjala to modify the 5G radio frequency signal system of Wu and Cooper to enhance the communication of the system.
As to Claim 7, Wu disclose a circuit structure for a radio unit, comprising (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, paragraph [0001]):
a plurality of printed circuit boards (PCBs) (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026], where multiple PCBs are used for RF communication),
wherein at least a PCB comprises an antenna module (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026], where the communication board includes the antennas),
at least a PCB comprises the data and/or signals transmitted between the PCBs through any form and any number of unidirectional or bidirectional digital interfaces and/or analog interfaces (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026], where the interconnection is used for communication between different layers of PCBs).
Wu disclose all of the subject matter as described above for various devices including satellite and 5G network implicitly including base station (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026, 0029, 0046]) except for baseband digital circuit module.
However, Cooper in the same field of endeavor teaches various configuration of communication devices including custom embedded printed circuit board having distributed unit supporting baseband functions (Fig. 2-7, Fig. 15, Fig. 19, paragraph [0005, 0042, 0083, 0110]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support baseband functions for various configuration of communication devices as taught by Cooper to modify the circuit structure of Wu to provide the enhanced network deployment for various communication systems (Cooper - paragraph [0003, 0004]).
Wu disclose all of the subject matter as described above for multiple PCBs for power, antenna, and RF communication (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026]) except for digital signal processing module comprises not only digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), digital down converter (DDC), digital up converter (DUC), inverse fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), Cyclic Prefix Addition (CP Addition), Crest Factor Reduction(CFR), Digital Pre-Distortion (DPD), Cyclic Prefix Removal (CP Removal), and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), but also at least one or a combination of following modules: antenna calibration, Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) processing, Automatic Gain Control (AGC), OFDM phase compensation, and in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) signal c compression and decompression.
However, Annavajjala in the same field of endeavor teaches the digital to analog converter (DAC), analog to digital converter (ADC), digital down converter (DDC), digital up converter (DUC), inverse fast Fourier Transform (IFFT), Cyclic Prefix Addition (CP Addition), crest factor reduction (CFR), digital pre-distortion (DPD), Cyclic Prefix Removal (CP Removal), and Fast Fourier Transform (FFT), digital down conversion, digital up-conversion, physical random access channel (PRACH) filter, automatic gain control (AGC), sample compression and de-compression (implicitly for baseband signals after digital conversion), antenna port calibration (Fig. 3, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, paragraph [0012, 0014, 0022, 0023, 0027, 0038, 0039]). Also Cooper in the same field of endeavor teaches IFFT, CP addition, digital to analog converter, analog to digital converter, FFT, equalization (filtering), applying amplitude and phase offsets (Fig. 7, Fig. 10, paragraph [0058, 0076, 0082, 0083, 0096-0100])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use commonly known communication system components as taught by Annavajjala to modify the 5G radio frequency signal system of Wu and Cooper to enhance the communication of the system.
As to Claim 2, Wu in view of Cooper and Annavajjala further discloses the circuit structure, wherein the PCB comprising the antenna module further comprises a radio frequency front-end module (Wu – Fig. 1B (130)) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0008], where radio unit perform radio frequency functions),
the PCB comprising the fronthaul interface module further comprises a radio frequency (RF) module, a communicating digital signal processing module, and beamforming module (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0013], where various functions include digital processing, beamforming, RF functions),
wherein the RF front-end module comprise one or more transmit and receive switch(es), power amplifier(s), and low-noise amplifier(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0073, 0075, 0112], where component including selecting various antennas (implicitly supporting switching) and amplification components (implicitly including power amplification and low noise)) (Annavajjala - Fig. 3, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, paragraph [0012, 0014, 0022, 0023, 0027, 0038, 0039])).
The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claim 1.
As to Claim 3, Wu in view of Cooper and Annavajjala further discloses the circuit structure, wherein the PCB comprising the antenna module further comprises a radio frequency front-end module and RF module (Wu – Fig. 1B (130)) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0008, 0085], where radio unit perform radio frequency functions in front end),
the PCB comprising the fronthaul interface module further comprises a radio frequency (RF) module, a communicating digital signal processing module, and beamforming module (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0013], where various functions include digital processing, beamforming, RF functions),
wherein the RF front-end module comprise one or more transmit and receive switch(es), power amplifier(s), and low-noise amplifier(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0073, 0075, 0112], where component including selecting various antennas (implicitly supporting switching) and amplification components (implicitly including power amplification and low noise));
the RF module comprises one or more upconvert(s), downconverter(s), filter(s), and amplifiers(s) and/or attenuators(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0076, 0085, 0112], where functions including conversions (implicitly including up and down conversion for RF) and amplifications (implicitly including amplification and attenuation)) (Annavajjala - Fig. 3, Fig. 7, Fig. 9, paragraph [0012, 0014, 0022, 0023, 0027, 0038, 0039])).
The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claim 1.
As to Claim 4, Wu further discloses the circuit structure further comprising at lease a PCB, wherein the PCB comprise a power module (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026, 0045], where the interconnection is used for communication between different layers of PCBs and powered by the power distribution and source board).
As to Claim 6, Wu disclose all of the subject matter as described above claim 5 (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026]) except for RF front-end module, RF module, a communication digital signal processing module, and a beamforming module, wherein the RF front-end module comprises one or more transmit and receive switches, power amplifiers, low noise amplifiers, RF module comprises one or more upconverts, downconverters, filters, amplifiers, and/or attenuates, and the communication digital signal processing module comprises lease one or more combination of following: IFFT, CP addition, CFR, DPD, DUC, DAC, ADC,DDC, CP removal, FFT, PRACH filter processing, AGC, IQ data compression and decompression, antenna calibration and OFDM phase compensation.
However, Cooper in the same field of endeavor teaches various configuration of communication devices including custom embedded printed circuit board having distributed unit supporting multiple fronthaul connection (Fig. 2-7, Fig. 15, Fig. 19, paragraph [0005, 0037, 0042, 0082, 0110, 0118]), and
a radio frequency front-end module and RF module (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0008, 0085], where radio unit perform radio frequency functions in front end),
the PCB comprising the fronthaul interface module further comprises a radio frequency (RF) module, a communicating digital signal processing module, and beamforming module (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0013], where various functions include digital processing, beamforming, RF functions),
wherein the RF front-end module comprise one or more transmit and receive switch(es), power amplifier(s), and low-noise amplifier(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0073, 0075, 0112], where component including selecting various antennas (implicitly supporting switching) and amplification components (implicitly including power amplification and low noise));
the RF module comprises one or more upconvert(s), downconverter(s), filter(s), and amplifiers(s) and/or attenuators(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0076, 0085, 0112], where functions including conversions (implicitly including up and down conversion for RF) and amplifications (implicitly including amplification and attenuation)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support various configuration of communication devices and various functions as taught by Cooper to modify the circuit structure of Wu to provide the enhanced network deployment for various communication systems (Cooper - paragraph [0003, 0004]).
As to Claim 8, Wu in view of Cooper and Annavajjala further discloses the circuit structure, wherein the PCB comprising the antenna module further comprises a radio frequency front-end module (Wu – Fig. 1B (130)) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0008], where radio unit perform radio frequency functions),
the PCB comprising the baseband digital circuit module further comprises a radio frequency (RF) module, and beamforming module (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0013], where various functions include beamforming, RF functions),
wherein the RF front-end module comprise one or more transmit and receive switch(es), power amplifier(s), and low-noise amplifier(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0073, 0075, 0112], where component including selecting various antennas (implicitly supporting switching) and amplification components (implicitly including power amplification and low noise));
the RF module comprises one or more upconvert(s), downconverter(s), filter(s), and amplifiers(s) and/or attenuators(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0076, 0085, 0112], where functions including conversions (implicitly including up and down conversion for RF) and amplifications (implicitly including amplification and attenuation)).
The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claim 1.
As to Claim 9, Wu in view of Cooper and Annavajjala further discloses the circuit structure, wherein the PCB comprising the antenna module further comprises a radio frequency front-end module and RF module (Wu – Fig. 1B (130)) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0008, 0085], where radio unit perform radio frequency functions in front end),
the PCB comprising the baseband digital circuit module further comprises a radio frequency (RF) module, and beamforming module (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0013], where various functions include beamforming, RF functions),
wherein the RF front-end module comprise one or more transmit and receive switch(es), power amplifier(s), and low-noise amplifier(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0073, 0075, 0112], where component including selecting various antennas (implicitly supporting switching) and amplification components (implicitly including power amplification and low noise));
the RF module comprises one or more upconvert(s), downconverter(s), filter(s), and amplifiers(s) and/or attenuators(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0076, 0085, 0112], where functions including conversions (implicitly including up and down conversion for RF) and amplifications (implicitly including amplification and attenuation)).
The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claim 1.
As to Claim 10, Wu further discloses the circuit structure further comprising at lease a PCB, wherein the PCB comprise a power module (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0026, 0045], where the interconnection is used for communication between different layers of PCBs and powered by the power distribution and source board).
As to Claim 12, Wu disclose all of the subject matter as described above claim 11 (Fig. 1B, Fig. 9, paragraph [0006, 0026]) except for RF front-end module, RF module, a beamforming module, a baseband digital circuit module, wherein the RF front-end module comprises one or more transmit and receive switches, power amplifiers, low noise amplifiers, and the RF module comprises one or more upconverts, downconverters, filters, amplifiers, and/or attenuators.
However, Cooper in the same field of endeavor teaches various configuration of communication devices including custom embedded printed circuit board having distributed unit supporting multiple fronthaul connection (Fig. 2-7, Fig. 15, Fig. 19, paragraph [0005, 0037, 0042, 0082, 0110, 0118]), and
a radio frequency front-end module and RF module (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0008, 0085], where radio unit perform radio frequency functions in front end),
the PCB comprising the antenna module further comprises a radio frequency (RF) module, a communicating digital signal processing module, and beamforming module (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0013], where various functions include digital processing, beamforming, RF functions),
wherein the RF front-end module comprise one or more transmit and receive switch(es), power amplifier(s), and low-noise amplifier(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0073, 0075, 0112], where component including selecting various antennas (implicitly supporting switching) and amplification components (implicitly including power amplification and low noise));
the RF module comprises one or more upconvert(s), downconverter(s), filter(s), and amplifiers(s) and/or attenuators(s) (Cooper – Fig. 2-7, paragraph [0011, 0076, 0085, 0112], where functions including conversions (implicitly including up and down conversion for RF) and amplifications (implicitly including amplification and attenuation)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support various configuration of communication devices and various functions as taught by Cooper to modify the circuit structure of Wu to provide the enhanced network deployment for various communication systems (Cooper - paragraph [0003, 0004]).
Contact Information
/SUNG S AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2631 (571)-270-3706
sung.ahn@uspto.gov