Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto et al. (US 20190036088), hereinafter Wakimoto, in view of Kim, June-Sop et al. (US 20130062344), hereinafter Kim, and in further view of Kishi et al. (US 20170263901), hereinafter Kishi.
Regarding claim 1, Wakimoto teaches:
An insulation holder that is an insulating box-shaped body to house an electrode body of an electricity storage device, the insulation holder comprising (Abstract):
a bottom face having a rectangular shape in a plan view ([0026], Fig. 4);
the bottom face including a pair of first edges extending substantially in parallel with each other in a width direction ([0026], [0047], Fig. 4, 6, 11, 12);
a pair of second edges extending substantially in parallel with each other in a depth direction ([0026], [0047], Fig. 4, 6, 11, 12);
a pair of first side faces each extending upward in a height direction from an associated one of the first edges ([0026], [0047], Fig. 4, 6, 11, 12);
a pair of second side faces each extending upward in the height direction from an associated one of the second edges ([0026], [0047], Fig. 4, 6, 11, 12);
four third edges each extending in the height direction along a boundary between an associated one of the first side faces and an associated one of the second side faces ([0026], [0047], Fig. 4, 6, 11, 12);
four corners each of which is an intersection of an associated one of the first edges, an associated one of the second edges, and an associated one of the third edges, wherein each of the four corners is included in an associated one of four areas defined in the insulation holder, ([0026], [0047], [0063], [0070], Fig. 4, 6, 11, 12);
at least one of the four areas being provided with a thin portion thinner than any other portion of the insulation holder.
Wakimoto fails to teach a groove which is adjacent to at least one of the four corners and a thin portion.
Kim teaches a groove which is adjacent to at least one of the four corners ([0024], Fig. 8).
Kishi teaches thin portions ([0023], thin-wall portion 22a, thin-wall portion 24a).
Wakimoto, Kim, and Kishi are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of protective structures for housing and insulating an enclosed article, including box-shaped structures formed from insulating or packaging material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the insulating box-shaped body of Wakimoto to include a groove in an outer surface adjacent to at least one corner as taught by Kim, to facilitate controlled deformation of the box shaped structure at the corner and reduce stress, wrinkling, and/or cracking of the material during formation or bending of the structure. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulation holder of Wakimoto, as modified by Kim, to include the thin portion taught by Kishi in at least one of the four corner areas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to position the thin portion in a corner area to provide localized flexibility at the junction of the side faces, where the structure changes direction, while maintaining the thickness of the portion of the insulation holder. The motivation to make this modification would be to facilitate localized deformation of the insulation holder at a selected area, thereby accommodating mechanical stress and reducing the likelihood of damage to the holder, while maintaining the structural integrity of the remaining portions.
The reason for combining the teachings of Wakimoto and Kim is that Kim expressly recognizes the benefit of providing a groove in the outer surface of a box-shaped structure adjacent to a corner to accommodate deformation of the material at the corner. Applying this known groove structure to the insulting holder of Wakimoto would have been a predictable use of a known techniques to improve a similar box-shaped structure in the same general field, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Wakimoto, Kim, and Kishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Wakimoto fails to teach the thin portion provided in the bottom face, an associated one of the first side faces, and an associated one of the second side faces.
Kishi teaches providing a groove-like thin portion in an insulation holder to facilitate localized deformation ([0023], thin-wall portion 22a, thin-wall portion 24a).
Wakimoto, Kim, and Kishi are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of protective structures for housing and insulating an enclosed article, including box-shaped structures formed from insulating or packaging material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the insulating box-shaped body of Wakimoto to modify the shape of Kishi’s thin portion to have a circular profile at the corner areas of Wakamoto’s box-shaped insulation holder. Such a modification would have been a matter of a design choice involving the selection of a known geometric shape for the thin portion, while retaining its intended function of facilitating localized deformation. The use of a rounded profile would have yielded the predictable result of allowing the corner areas to deform when needed.
Regarding claim 3, Wakimoto, Kim, and Kishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Wakimoto fails to teach a thin portion thickness at the groove is between 10 μm and 100 μm. Kim teaches a groove ([0024], Fig. 8).
Wakimoto and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of protective structures for housing and insulating an enclosed article, including box-shaped structures formed from insulating or packaging material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the insulating box-shaped body of Wakimoto to include a groove in an outer surface adjacent to at least one corner, and not on any of the corners directly, as taught by Kim, to facilitate controlled deformation of the box shaped structure at the corner and reduce stress, wrinkling, and/or cracking of the material during formation or bending of the structure.
With respect to the limitation that the residual wall thickness at the groove is between 10 μm and 100 μm, selecting an appropriate thin portion thickness would have been a matter of routine optimization of a known groove structure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the thin portion thickness determines the flexibility and strength of the grooved portion and therefore would have selected a suitable thickness based on the desired degree of deformation and the properties of the insulating material. Accordingly, the claimed thin portion thickness represents an optimization of a result-effective variable and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the claimed range produces unexpected results.
Regarding claim 4, Wakimoto, Kim, and Kishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Wakimoto fails to teach a shortest distance between the at least one of the four areas and an outer edge of the thin portion is between 1 mm and 3 mm. Kim teaches a groove ([0024], Fig. 8).
Wakimoto and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of protective structures for housing and insulating an enclosed article, including box-shaped structures formed from insulating or packaging material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the insulating box-shaped body of Wakimoto to include a groove in an outer surface adjacent to at least one corner, and not on any of the corners directly, as taught by Kim, to facilitate controlled deformation of the box shaped structure at the corner and reduce stress, wrinkling, and/or cracking of the material during formation or bending of the structure.
With respect to the limitation that a shortest distance between the four areas and an outer edge of the thin portion is between 1-3 mm. selecting the particular spacing of the four areas from the thin portion would have been a matter of routine optimization based on the desired amount of deformation and the material properties of the insulating holder. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that positioning the four areas at an appropriate distance from the thin portion would provide predictable control over the deformation of the material.
Regarding claim 5, Wakimoto, Kim, and Kishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Kim fails to teach the thin portion is provided with a groove such that a region of the thin portion where the groove is provided is thinner than any other region of the thin portion.
Kim teaches a groove which is adjacent to at least one of the four corners ([0024], Fig. 8).
Kishi teaches providing a groove-like thin portion in an insulation holder to facilitate localized deformation ([0023], thin-wall portion 22a, thin-wall portion 24a).
Wakimoto, Kim, and Kishi are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of protective structures for housing and insulating an enclosed article, including box-shaped structures formed from insulating or packaging material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the insulating box-shaped body of Wakimoto to modify the shape of Kishi’s thin portion to have a circular profile at the corner areas of Wakamoto’s box-shaped insulation holder. Such a modification would have been a matter of a design choice involving the selection of a known geometric shape for the thin portion, while retaining its intended function of facilitating localized deformation. The use of a rounded profile would have yielded the predictable result of allowing the corner areas to deform when needed. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Kishi’s thin portion/groove of the insulation holder of Wakimoto, as modified by Kim, to promote localized bending and inward deformation of the corner areas when the insulation holder encounters interference. This modification would have helped reduce breakage of the insulation holder while maintaining the insulating function of the remaining structure.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto, in view of Kim, in further view of Kawate (JP 6815716).
Regarding claim 6, Wakimoto, Kim, and Kishi teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above.
Wakimoto further teaches:
An electricity storage device comprising (Abstract):
an electrode body (Abstract);
a case housing the electrode body (Abstract);
a case body that is a box-shaped body including an upper opening (Abstract);
a sealing plate closing the upper opening ([0026], Fig. 2, sealing plate 80, opening 61);
the upper opening has a rectangular shape in a plan view ([0026], Fig. 2, sealing plate 80, opening 61),
an insulation holder located between the electrode body and the case ([0003], [0008], [0051]),
the insulation holder (Abstract).
Wakimoto fails to teach the upper opening including curved portions in four corners of the upper opening.
Kawate teaches the upper opening including curved portions in four corners of the upper opening ([0058-0060], 32f, 33f).
Wakimoto and Kim are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of protective structures for housing and insulating an enclosed article, including box-shaped structures formed from insulating or packaging material.
Wakimoto and Kawate are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the electric storage device of Wakimoto to include the curved corner portions of the upper openings as taught by Kawate to facilitate positioning and insertion of the electrode body and associated components within the case and to reduce stress concentrations at the corners of the case openings. Further, it would have been obvious and readily accomplished to incorporate the insulation holder described in claim 1 into the electric storage device of Kawate, thereby providing the claimed insulation holder between the electrode body and the case.
Conclusion
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776