DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I shown in claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 08/26/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2024 and 05/08/2025 were filed after the filing date of the claimed application on 02/14/2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a polarizer and a polarization rotating element disposed between the optical beam splitter and the spatial filtering element in the optical path of the combined feedback input beam” as disclosed in claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zimer et al. (hereinafter Zimer) (US 20160336714 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zimer discloses in Fig. 6,
An external cavity laser apparatus [Fig. 6] (Paras. [0046,0048,0058]) comprising:
a plurality of beam emitters [111] (Para. [0048]) configured to emit a plurality of emitted beams [151] (Para. [0048]), each emitted beam having a respective wavelength (Para. [0049]);
an angular dispersive optic [514] (Para. [0049]) disposed in an optical path of the plurality of emitted beams [151] (Para. [0050]) and configured to combine the plurality of emitted beams into a combined input beam [153] (Para. [0049]);
an optical beam splitter [115] (Para. [0050]) disposed in an optical path of the combined input beam [153] (Para. [0050]) and having a first reflectance for a first polarization state and a first transmittance for the first polarization state (Para. [0037]), the first transmittance being unequal to the first reflectance (Paras. [0037,0050,0063]), the optical beam splitter [115] configured to:
reflect a primary portion of the combined input beam as a combined output beam [158] (Para. [0058]); and
transmit a secondary portion of the combined input beam as a combined feedback input beam [174] (Para. [0059]);
a spatial filtering element [611] disposed in an optical path of the combined feedback input beam [174] (Para. [0060]); and
a first high reflectance (HR) mirror [615] (Para. [0060]) disposed in the optical path of the combined feedback input beam [174] downstream from the spatial filtering element [611] (Pata. [0060]), the first HR mirror [615] configured to reflect the combined feedback input beam transmitted through the spatial filtering element [611] once back through the spatial filtering element [611] again to form a combined feedback beam [177] (Para. [0060]);
wherein a primary portion of the combined feedback beam [177] is reflected by the optical beam splitter [115] (Paras. [0050,0051,0054]), and a secondary portion of the combined feedback beam [177] is transmitted by the optical beam splitter [115] toward the angular dispersive optic [514] (Para. [0062]); and
wherein the secondary portion of the combined feedback beam is directed by the angular dispersive optic [514] back to the plurality of beam emitters [111] to stabilize the wavelengths of the plurality of emitted beams [151] (Para. [0038] and see claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 6,
further comprising a second HR mirror [121] (Para. [0051]) disposed in an optical path of the primary portion of the combined feedback beam reflected by the optical beam splitter [115] (Paras. [0051,0054,0062]), the second HR mirror [121] configured to reflect the primary portion of the combined feedback beam back toward the optical beam splitter [115] (Paras. [0051,0054,0062]).
Regarding claim 9, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 6,
wherein the angular dispersive optic [514] is a polarization insensitive grating (Para. [0055], see claim 4).
Regarding claim 10, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above and further discloses in Fig. 6,
further comprising a first position-to-angle transform optic [112] (Para. [0030]) disposed in the optical path of the plurality of emitted beams [151] upstream from the angular dispersive optic [514] (Para. [0030]), the first position-to-angle transform optic [112] configured to impart upon each of the plurality of emitted beams an angle of incidence with respect to the angular dispersive optic (Paras. [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 10 above and further discloses in Fig. 6,
wherein the angular dispersive optic [514] has a wavelength-dependent angular dispersion function (Para. [0049]), so that the angular dispersive optic [514] combines the plurality of emitted beams [151] into the combined input beam [153] by imparting a wavelength-dependent angular spectrum determined by the wavelength-dependent angular dispersion function on the plurality of emitted beams [151] (Para. [0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 11 above and further discloses in Fig. 6,
wherein the spatial filtering element [611] comprises:
a second position-to-angle transform optic [612] (Para. [0060]);
a third position-to-angle transform optic [614] (Para. [0060]); and
an aperture [613] (Para. [0060]) disposed between the second position-to-angle transform optic [612] and the third position-to-angle transform optic [614] (Para. [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimer in view of Richman et al. (hereinafter Richman) (US 20060132766 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 2 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the second HR mirror has a reflectance that is greater than 98%.
Richman discloses,
a mirror with a reflectivity greater than 99.99% (Para. [0020])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the high reflectance disclosed in Richman as the reflectivity of the HR mirror of Zimer for the purpose of having low loss from the mirror. (Richman Para. [0020])
Regarding claim 8, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the first HR mirror has a reflectance that is greater than 98%.
Richman discloses,
a mirror with a reflectivity greater than 99.99% (Para. [0020])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the high reflectance disclosed in Richman as the reflectivity of the HR mirror of Zimer for the purpose of having low loss from the mirror. (Richman Para. [0020])
Claims 4,6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimer in view of Li et al. (hereinafter Li) (CN 115473121 A).
Examiner notes an attached machine translation will be used for the claim mapping of Li for the remainder of the instant application. See PTO-892 form
Regarding claim 4, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the first reflectance is greater than the first transmittance.
Li discloses in Fig. 1,
A splitter [4] with a first reflectance of a polarization state greater than a first transmittance (Li Para. [14])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reflectivity and transmittance values as disclosed in Li in the device of Zimer for the purpose of allowing a desired amount of the polarization direction of light. (Li Paras. [12,24])
Regarding claim 6, Zimer in view of Li discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 4 above and further discloses in Li,
wherein the first reflectance is greater than 80 %, and the first transmittance is less than 20% (Li Para. [14]).
Regarding claim 7, Zimer in view of Li discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 6 above and further discloses in Li,
wherein the first reflectance is greater than 90 %, and the first transmittance is less than 10% (Li Para. [14]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimer in view of Li as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Ferdinand et al. (hereinafter Ferdinand) (GB 2582378 A).
Regarding claim 5, Zimer in view of Li discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 4 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the optical beam splitter has a second reflectance for a second polarization state orthogonal to the first polarization state, the second reflectance being greater than 98%.
Ferdinand discloses,
a reflectance of a second polarization state orthogonal to a first polarization state, the second reflectance being greater than 98% (Ferdinand Page 12, line 38 – page 13, line 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reflectance value of the second polarization state as disclosed in Ferdinand in the modified device of Zimer for the purpose of high reflectance of the desired polarization direction (Ferdinand Page 12, line 38 – page 13, line 1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimer in view of Benda et al. (hereinafter Benda) (US 5185753 A).
Regarding claim 13, Zimer discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
further comprising a polarizer and a polarization rotating element disposed between the optical beam splitter and the spatial filtering element in the optical path of the combined feedback input beam.
Benda discloses in Fig. 1,
a polarizer [215] (Col. 3, lines 24 and 25) and a polarization rotating element [210] (Col. 3, lines 35-38) disposed between an optical beam splitter [222] (Col. 5, lines 41,42) and a gain element [150] in an optical path of a feedback beam (Col. 5, lines 33-38). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the polarizer and polarization rotating element as disclosed in Benda in the device of Zimer for the purpose of controlling the polarization to a desired direction in the device. (Benda Col. 3, lines 19-23)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner notes (US 12072618 B2) which discloses polarization dependent mirrors with differing reflectance and transmittance values. Further, (US 20170222401 A1) which discloses a similar structure of a plurality of emitted beams converted into a singular beam which imparts on a beam splitter and reflective structure. See PTO-892 form.
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828