DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-11 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The receipt of Oath/Declaration is acknowledged.
Drawings
6. The receipt of Drawings is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
9. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a calculation section” in claim 1.
“a list display section” in claim 1.
“a setting reception section” in claim 4.
“an operation reception section” in claim 7.
“a transmission section” in claim 10.
(a) Claim 1: “a calculation section” corresponds to “Calculation Section U1”. ‘The printer 2 shown in FIG. 1 includes a control section 10 and a printing section U6. The control section 10 includes a CPU 11 as a processor, a ROM 12 as a semiconductor memory, a RAM 13 as a semiconductor memory, a storage device 14, an input device 15, a display device 16, an I/F 17, an I/F 18, and a drive control section 19. These elements (11 to 19) are connected to a bus and can input and output information to and from each other. The printing section U6 includes a feed unit 20, a transport unit 30, a printing unit 40, a winding unit 60, and a detecting device group 70. Here, CPU is an abbreviation of Central Processing Section, ROM is an abbreviation of Read Only Memory, RAM is an abbreviation of Random Access Memory, and I/F is an abbreviation of interface….The control section 10 is an example of the calculation section U1, which corresponds to the calculation function FU1. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, of Control Section 10 with embedded CPU11 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0056]).
(b) Claim 1: “a list display section” corresponds to “List Display Section U2”. ‘The printer 2 shown in FIG. 1 includes a control section 10 and a printing section U6. The control section 10 includes a CPU 11 as a processor, a ROM 12 as a semiconductor memory, a RAM 13 as a semiconductor memory, a storage device 14, an input device 15, a display device 16, an I/F 17, an I/F 18, and a drive control section 19. These elements (11 to 19) are connected to a bus and can input and output information to and from each other. The printing section U6 includes a feed unit 20, a transport unit 30, a printing unit 40, a winding unit 60, and a detecting device group 70. Here, CPU is an abbreviation of Central Processing Section, ROM is an abbreviation of Read Only Memory, RAM is an abbreviation of Random Access Memory, and I/F is an abbreviation of interface….The display device 16 is an example of a display section. The control section 10 including the display device 16 is an example of the list display section U2, which corresponds to the list display function FU2. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, List Display Section U2 of Control Section 10 with embedded CPU 11 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0056]).
(c) Claim 4: “a setting reception section” corresponds to “Setting Reception Section U3”. ‘The printer 2 shown in FIG. 1 includes a control section 10 and a printing section U6. The control section 10 includes a CPU 11 as a processor, a ROM 12 as a semiconductor memory, a RAM 13 as a semiconductor memory, a storage device 14, an input device 15, a display device 16, an I/F 17, an I/F 18, and a drive control section 19. These elements (11 to 19) are connected to a bus and can input and output information to and from each other. The printing section U6 includes a feed unit 20, a transport unit 30, a printing unit 40, a winding unit 60, and a detecting device group 70. Here, CPU is an abbreviation of Central Processing Section, ROM is an abbreviation of Read Only Memory, RAM is an abbreviation of Random Access Memory, and I/F is an abbreviation of interface….The control section 10 including the input device 15 is an example of the setting reception section U3, which corresponds to the setting reception function FU3. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, Setting Reception Section U3 of Control Section 10 with embedded CPU 11 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0056]).
(d) Claim 7: “an operation reception section” corresponds to “Operation Reception section U4”. ‘The printer 2 shown in FIG. 1 includes a control section 10 and a printing section U6. The control section 10 includes a CPU 11 as a processor, a ROM 12 as a semiconductor memory, a RAM 13 as a semiconductor memory, a storage device 14, an input device 15, a display device 16, an I/F 17, an I/F 18, and a drive control section 19. These elements (11 to 19) are connected to a bus and can input and output information to and from each other. The printing section U6 includes a feed unit 20, a transport unit 30, a printing unit 40, a winding unit 60, and a detecting device group 70. Here, CPU is an abbreviation of Central Processing Section, ROM is an abbreviation of Read Only Memory, RAM is an abbreviation of Random Access Memory, and I/F is an abbreviation of interface….the operation reception section U4, which corresponds to the operation reception function FU4. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, Operation reception section U4 of Control Section 10 with embedded CPU 11 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0056]).
(e) Claim 10: “a transmission section” corresponds to “Transmission section U5”. ‘The printer 2 shown in FIG. 1 includes a control section 10 and a printing section U6. The control section 10 includes a CPU 11 as a processor, a ROM 12 as a semiconductor memory, a RAM 13 as a semiconductor memory, a storage device 14, an input device 15, a display device 16, an I/F 17, an I/F 18, and a drive control section 19. These elements (11 to 19) are connected to a bus and can input and output information to and from each other. The printing section U6 includes a feed unit 20, a transport unit 30, a printing unit 40, a winding unit 60, and a detecting device group 70. Here, CPU is an abbreviation of Central Processing Section, ROM is an abbreviation of Read Only Memory, RAM is an abbreviation of Random Access Memory, and I/F is an abbreviation of interface…The control section 10 including the I/F 17, which is connected to the post-processing apparatus PP0, is an example of the transmission section U5, which corresponds to the transmission function FU5. (See Applicant’s Drawing, Fig. 1, Transmission section U5 of Control Section 10 with embedded CPU 11 and Applicant’s Specification, Para. [0056]).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 5-6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 5:
None of the prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record disclose(s) or suggest(s) the teaching(s) of the printing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a roller for transporting, in a transport direction, a medium that is longer in the transport direction than in a width direction, which intersects the transport direction, wherein
the printable range is included on a surface of the medium and is longer in the transport direction than in the width direction,
the calculation section calculates a width direction maximum number, which is the maximum number of the image arrangeable in the printable range in the width direction when the size of the image is changed according to each of the plurality of conversion scales, and
the list display section displays, in the list, the width direction maximum number corresponding to each of the plurality of conversion scales.
Regarding Claim 6:
None of the prior art(s) searched, cited and/or of record disclose(s) or suggest(s) the teaching(s) of the printing device according to claim 1, wherein
the calculation section calculates, when the size of the image is changed in accordance with each of the plurality of conversion scales, a first direction maximum number, which is a maximum number of the image arrangeable in the printable range in a first direction, which is along the printable range, and a second direction maximum number, which is a maximum number of the image arrangeable in the printable range in a second direction intersecting the first direction, which is along the printable range and
the list display section displays, in the list, the first direction maximum number and the second direction maximum number corresponding to each of the plurality of conversion scales.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otake (US PG. Pub. 2015/0172512 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Otake teaches a printing device (See Otake, Fig. 1, Sect. [0028], Image Processing System) configured to perform printing by arranging a plurality of an image in a predetermined printable range, the printing device (See Otake, Sect. [0068], FIG. 14 showing a process flow for setting the acceptable printable ranges of the reduced density and the size decrease ratio and printing unit 170 prints and outputs an adjustment sheet, in step S141), comprising:
a calculation section (See Otake, Fig. 10, Toner saving process balance setting screen 630) configured to calculate a maximum number of the image arrangeable in the printable range (See Otake, Sect. [0054]-[0059] lines 1-3, When the ratio of the weights of the density reduction process and the size decrease process set on the toner saving process balance setting screen 630 is a:b (a+b=1), the reduced density and size decrease ratio of each object are calculated as follows with the maximum values of the reduced density and the size decrease ratio may both be 100%, and values exceeding 100% may be replaced with 100%.:
- For objects whose attribute is character, reduced density (%)=Dtxt+(100-Dtxt).times.a size decrease ratio (%)=Stxt+(100-Stxt).times.b.
- For objects whose attribute is graphics, reduced density (%)=Dgph+(100-Dgph).times.a size decrease ratio (%)=Sgph+(100-Sgph).times.b.
- For objects whose attribute is image, reduced density (%)=Dimg+(100-Dimg).times.a size decrease ratio (%)=Simg+(100-Simg).times.b
- For objects whose attributes are other values, reduced density (%)=Detc+(100-Detc).times.a size decrease ratio (%)=Setc+(100-Setc).times.b.) when the size of the image is changed in accordance with each of a plurality of conversion scales for changing the size of the image (See Otake, Fig. 15, Sect. [0069], FIG. 15 shows an example adjustment sheet which is output. "IMAGE A" region which is a representative of the attribute which is image, and an "IMAGE B" region which is a representative of the attribute which is graphics, are provided. In each of the "IMAGE A" region and the "IMAGE B" region, a reference image before the color material usage reduction process, and images obtained by performing the density reduction process and the size decrease process on the reference image, are arranged. In each of the "IMAGE A" region and the "IMAGE B" region, arranged are the reference image, an image 1 obtained by decreasing the size of the reference image by one level, an image 2 obtained by decreasing the size of the reference image by two levels, an image 3 obtained by reducing the density of the reference image by one level, an image 4 obtained by decreasing the size of the image 3 by one level, . . . , and an image 8 obtained by decreasing the size and density of the reference image by two levels.) and
a list display section configured to display, as a list (See Otake, Figs. 11A and 11B on the Setting Screen 630), the plurality of conversion scales and the maximum number corresponding to each of the plurality of conversion scales (See Otake, Sect. [0053] FIGS. 11A and 11B displays a coefficient range within which settings for the density reduction process and the size decrease process are displayed. FIG. 11A displays a predetermined limit value of the reduced density and a predetermined limit value of the size decrease ratio for each object attribute. When the attribute is character, the limit is set to Dtxt % with respect to the original density, and the limit is set to Stxt % with respect to the original size. Similarly, for the attribute which is graphics, the limit values are represented by Dgph and Sgph. For the attribute which is image, the limit values are represented by Dimg and Simg. For the other attributes, the limit values are represented by Detc and Setc. FIG. 11B displays numerical values which are specifically used as these limit values.).
Referring to Claim 2, Otake teaches the printing device according to claim 1 (See Otake, Fig. 1, Sect. [0028], Image Processing System), wherein
when, among plural levels of conversion scales including the plurality of conversion scales (See Otake, Fig. 10, Sect. [0052], FIG. 10 shows eleven setting points on a setting bar 631 and a process coefficient is determined based on a setting point where a pointer 632 is placed on the toner saving process balance setting screen 630 for allowing the user to specify a priority level indicating which of the density reduction process and the size decrease process is given priority over the other, for the color material usage reduction process of each object. The screen 630 is displayed on the operation unit 150, and a set value is stored, and referred to in the color material usage reduction process.), there are two or more conversion scales having the same maximum number (See Otake, Sect. [0059] lines 1-3, The maximum values of the reduced density and the size decrease ratio may both be 100%, and values exceeding 100% may be replaced with 100%.), the list display section displays, in the list, one selected from the two or more conversion scales (See Otake, Ratio Bar Settings 641 and 642, Sect. [0059], In Fig. 12, FIG. 12 two bar settings are controlled by the user for density reduction settings and size decrease processing which are shown on the toner saving process balance setting screen 640 for allowing the user to operate the settings on the operation unit 150. Ratios set on a setting bar 641 are applied to objects whose attribute is character. Ratios set on a setting bar 642 are applied to objects whose attribute is other than character. The two setting bars are provided for each of the object attributes, when the ratio of the weights of the density reduction process and the size decrease process which is set in the setting bar 641 is a1:b1 (a1+b1=1), and the ratio of the weights of the density reduction process and the size decrease process which is set in the setting bar 642 is a2:b2 (a2+b2=1)).
Referring to Claim 3, Otake teaches the printing device according to claim 2 (See Otake, Fig. 1, Sect. [0028], Image Processing System), wherein
when, among the plural levels of conversion scales, there are two or more conversion scales at which the maximum number is the same (See Otake, Sect. [0059] lines 1-9, the maximum values of the reduced density and the size decrease ratio may both be 100%, and values exceeding 100% may be replaced with 100%. The numbers a and b are used as weights for dividing the rate of addition to the minimum reduced density and the minimum size decrease ratio. Although, in the foregoing, the ratio of the weights of the density reduction process and the size decrease process is a:b irrespective of the object attribute, different ratios may be set for different object attributes (i.e., object types).), the list display section displays, in the list, the conversion scale of the two or more conversion scales that is closest to a conversion scale of one (See Otake, Sect. [0059] lines 16-23, the two setting bars are provided for the sake of simplicity of operation, a setting bar may be provided for each of the object attributes. When the ratio of the weights of the density reduction process and the size decrease process which is set in the setting bar 641 is a1:b1 (a1+b1=1), and the ratio of the weights of the density reduction process and the size decrease process which is set in the setting bar 642 is a2:b2 (a2+b2=1)).
Referring to Claim 4, Otake teaches the printing device of claim 1 (See Otake, Fig. 1, Sect. [0028], Image Processing System), further comprising:
a setting reception section (See Otake, Fig. 16, Operation Screen 660) that receives setting of a threshold indicating a lower limit of the plurality of conversion scales for changing size of the image (See Otake, Fig. 16, Sect. [0070] lines 1-8 and [0071], Operation screen 660 in Fig. 16 allows the user to input the result of selection of an acceptable image and controls the system control unit 120 to receive the limit of the reduced densities for the size decrease ratios of the image), wherein
the list display section displays a recommendation of a conversion scale that (See Otake, Sect. [0053] lines 1-3, FIGS. 11A and 11B displays coefficient range within which settings for the density reduction process and the size decrease process can be specified.), among the plurality of conversion scales equal to or larger than the threshold value, is the largest number and is closest to a conversion scale of one (See Otake, Sect. [0046] lines 23-38, If the attribute is image or graphics, the object analysis unit 163 determines whether or not the number of gradation levels of the object to be processed is greater than or equal to a reference in step S707, and determines whether or not an average density value of the object to be processed is smaller than or equal to a reference in step S708. If the number of gradation levels is greater than or equal to the reference or the average density value is smaller than or equal to the reference, the object conversion unit 164 decreases the size of the object to be processed using a predetermined scale factor in step S710. This is because the object to be processed is presumed to be an image for which color and density are more important than size. If none of the gradation and density meets the above conditions, the object conversion unit 164 performs the density reduction process to achieve a reduced density for images in step S709.).
Referring to Claim 8, Otake teaches the printing device of claim 1 (See Otake, Fig. 1, Sect. [0028], Image Processing System), wherein the images to be disposed in the printable range in the maximum number are the same size (See Otake, Fig. 5C, Sect. [0042] lines 2-9, Color density reduction with same size of original image.).
Referring to Claim 11, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable herein. Thus, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11 is explicitly/inherently taught as evidenced by (See Otake, Sect. [0075], the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a `non-transitory computer-readable storage medium`) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s), and by a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or controlling the one or more circuits to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s). The computer may comprise one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions. The computer executable instructions may be provided to the computer, for example, from a network or the storage medium. The storage medium may include, for example, one or more of a hard disk, a random-access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a storage of distributed computing systems, an optical disk (such as a compact disc (CD), digital versatile disc (DVD), or Blu-ray Disc (BD).TM.), a flash memory device, a memory card, and the like.) and various memories stored therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
21. Claims 7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake (US PG. Pub. 2015/0172512 A1) in view of Yamagata (US PG. Pub. 2020/0104659 A1).
Referring to Claim 7, Otake teaches the printing device of claim 1 (See Otake, Fig. 1, Sect. [0028], Image Processing System), further comprising:
an operation reception section (See Otake, Fig. 6, System Control Unit 120) that receives an operation of selecting (See Otake, Sect. [0039] lines 1-7, the Advanced Setting Screen 610 in Fig. 6 is a color material usage reduction mode (toner saving mode) selection screen which allows for user to specify a portion of different processing techniques determined for different object attributes.), with respect to the display of the list (See Otake, Fig. 6, Reduce the density of pictures, decrease the size of pictures, reduce the density globally), one from at least one of either the plurality of conversion scales included in the list or the maximum numbers corresponding to the plurality of conversion scales (See Otake, Fig. 17, Sect. [0409] The color material usage reduction mode set by the user interface of FIG. 6 displays a list of image and picture scaling and reduction settings, stored as setting information, such as a flag, corresponding to the selected option. The color material usage reduction process which uses the setting information will be described with reference to a flowchart of FIG. 17. The flow of FIG. 17 is performed by the image processing apparatus 100 using PDL data which forms a single print job.) and
print, in the printable range and in the maximum number corresponding to the operation (See Otake, Sect. [0039] lines 7-13, The user interface 610 is displayed by pressing down an advanced setting button for printing based on radio buttons 611 to 614 setting for image size change and color reduction processing.), the image in a size changed according to a conversion scale corresponding to the operation among the plurality of conversion scales (See Otake, Sect. [0039] lines 13-28, The user selects radio buttons 611 to 614 for image conversion and image settings specifically for the density of picture, image and graphics color reduction material usage, reduced image size by decreasing size of picture, image or graphics and density reduction. By providing operation means on interface 610, the user can change color material usage reduction techniques so that a size of an image object is decreased as shown in FIG. 4.).
Otake fails to explicitly teach
a print head configured to print
However, Yamagata teaches
a print head configured to print (See Yamagata, Fig. 2A, Print Head 3, Sect. [0037], The printing apparatus transmits a drive force generated by a carriage motor M1 to a carriage 2 mounting a print head 3 that performs printing by ejecting ink by an ink jet method via a transmission mechanism 4 and causes the carriage 2 to reciprocate in an arrow CR direction.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a print head configured to print. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the difference between a target line width and a width of a line printed by a printing apparatus by correcting the line width in accordance with color information corresponding to the color of the line in a case where an image is printed by the printing apparatus based on image print data including the line (See Sect. [0006] of the Yamamgata reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Otake and Yamagata to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Referring to Claim 9, the combination of Otake in view of Yamagata teaches the printing device according to claim 1 (See Otake, Fig. 1, Sect. [0028], Image Processing System).
Otake fails to teach further comprising:
a print head configured to print the maximum number of the image in the printable range with a gap between images, wherein
the calculation section calculates the maximum number of the image, including the gap, arrangeable in the printable range when the size of the image is changed according to each of the conversion scales and
the gap is constant even if the size of the image is changed.
However, Yamagata teaches
further comprising:
a print head configured to print the maximum number of the image in the printable range with a gap between images (See Yamagata, Sect. [0051], The print head 115 has nozzle columns 115C, 115M, 115Y, and 115K ejecting the four color inks respectively. As shown in FIG. 3, each piece of image processing in the printing system is performed by one of the information processing apparatus 101 and the printing apparatus 108, each functioning as an image processing apparatus.), wherein
the calculation section calculates the maximum number of the image, including the gap (See Yamagata, Sect. [0107] lines 39-44, In a case where all the line width detection images included in the chart have the gap between the two adjacent lines on the image data, by acquiring information indicating the image in which one or more gaps cannot be recognized visually, it is known that the output line width becomes greater than the input line width), arrangeable in the printable range when the size of the image is changed according to each of the conversion scales (See Yamagata, Fig. 15A-b, Sect. [0106], the line width determination chart shown in FIG. 15A has a column of (1), a column of (2), a column of (3), and a column of (4). In the line width detection image in the column of (1), the width of the gap between the adjacent one-pixel lines (arrangement distance) corresponds to one pixel. Similarly, in the image in the column of (2), the width of the gap between the adjacent one-pixel lines corresponds to two pixels, in the image in the column of (3), the width of the gap corresponds to three pixels, and in the image in the column of (4), the width of the gap corresponds to four pixels. In a case where the dot diameter at the time of printing is large or blurring occurs, the gaps are filled and the adjacent lines contact and adhere to each other as in FIG. 15B. By causing a user to select all the line width detection images in which the adjacent lines adhere to each other and receiving the information thereon, it is possible to detect the line width characteristic of the printing apparatus 108.) and
the gap is constant even if the size of the image is changed (See Yamagata, Sect. [0104] lines 8-11, Each line width detection image within the line width determination chart is an image in the form of a stripe including one-pixel lines in units of 1,200 [dpi] and gaps between two adjacent lines.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate further comprising: a print head configured to print the maximum number of the image in the printable range with a gap between images, wherein the calculation section calculates the maximum number of the image, including the gap, arrangeable in the printable range when the size of the image is changed according to each of the conversion scales and the gap is constant even if the size of the image is changed. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the difference between a target line width and a width of a line printed by a printing apparatus by correcting the line width in accordance with color information corresponding to the color of the line in a case where an image is printed by the printing apparatus based on image print data including the line (See Sect. [0006] of the Yamamgata reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Otake and Yamagata to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Referring to Claim 10, the combination of Otake in view of Yamagata teaches the printing device of claim 1 (See Otake, Fig. 1, Sect. [0028], Image Processing System).
Otake fails to explicitly teach
further comprising:
a transmission section that is connected to a post- processing apparatus configured to perform post-processing on a plurality of printed matter of the image arranged in the printable range and that is configured to transmit, to the post-processing apparatus, imposition information indicating arrangement of the images in the printable range.
However Yamagata teaches
further comprising:
a transmission section (See Yamagata, Fig. 1, Embodied with CPU 102 of Information Processing Apparatus 101) that is connected to a post-processing apparatus (See Yamagata, Fig. 1, Embedded in Printing Apparatus 108) configured to perform post-processing on a plurality of printed matter of the image arranged in the printable range and that is configured to transmit (See Yamagata, Sect. [0031] 10-14, the CPU 102 generates image data (image information) that the printing apparatus 108 can print in accordance with the received command or the programs stored in the HDD 104 and transmits the generated image data to the printing apparatus 108 for post processing and printing.), to the post-processing apparatus, imposition information indicating arrangement of the images in the printable range (See Yamagata, Sect. [0063], In the post processing J05, processing to convert the 3-channel (R, G, B) data represented by eight bits obtained by the preprocessing J04 into data (here, 4-channel (C, M, Y, K) data represented by eight bits) corresponding to combinations of ink colors that reproduce the colors represented by the data is performed. This conversion processing is called color separation processing. In the post (color separation) processing J05, a conversion table (for example, three-dimensional LUT) in which the RGB data and the CMYK data are associated with each other in a one-to-one manner is used. The CPU 111 converts the RGB data into the CMYK data by referring to the conversion table.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate further comprising: a transmission section that is connected to a post- processing apparatus configured to perform post-processing on a plurality of printed matter of the image arranged in the printable range and that is configured to transmit, to the post-processing apparatus, imposition information indicating arrangement of the images in the printable range. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the difference between a target line width and a width of a line printed by a printing apparatus by correcting the line width in accordance with color information corresponding to the color of the line in a case where an image is printed by the printing apparatus based on image print data including the line (See Sect. [0006] of the Yamamgata reference). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Otake and Yamagata to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Cited Art
22. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Saito et al. (US PG. PUB. No. 2020/0050409 A1) discloses an object of the present invention is to properly transmit feeding instructions to a feeding apparatus. A feeding instruction apparatus according to the present invention includes a transmission unit configured to transmit multiple feeding instructions in a case where the print job is received, the feeding instructions each being an instruction to feed a certain number of print media, the certain number being two or more but less than the total number of print media to be used for printing based on the one received print job. A timing when a predetermined feeding instruction included in the multiple feeding instructions is transmitted is controlled based on a time period required for the predetermined image processing to be performed on the image data corresponding to images to be printed on print media to be fed based on the predetermined feeding instruction.
Conclusion
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/DARRYL V DOTTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683