DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 8/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/21/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the computer-generated images are of insufficient clarity and quality to adequately illustrate the invention. Specifically, Figs. 7, 9-12, and 16-23 are unclear and lack sufficient definition. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 2, there is no antecedent basis for “the implantable medical device” on line 2. It is unclear if the applicant is referring to the “first tube” or another medical device. For the purposes of this action, the examiner is assuming applicant is referencing another device.
In regard to claim 2, the phrase “a combination thereof” is indefinite because it is unclear what the combination is. Is the applicant referencing a combination of the options or a combination of the structures recited or a combination of other structures? For the purposes of this action, the examiner is assuming the first option but encourages the applicant to delete the phrase “combination thereof” because the claims are recited with open language and therefore already include the possibility of including each structure.
In regard to claim 4, the phrase “a first side thereof” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what structure has the first side. The applicant is encouraged to amend the limitation to “a first side of the release portion”.
In regard to claim 5, there is no antecedent basis for “the implantable medical device” on line 3.
In regard to claim 5, the phrase “a combination thereof” is indefinite because it is unclear what the combination is.
In regard to claim 6, there is no antecedent basis for “the implantable medical device” on line 3.
In regard to claim 8, the term “optionally” renders the claim indefinite because of the conditional nature of the term. The examiner encourages the applicant to delete the term (“a transparent and reversibly-openable window”).
In regard to claim 9, the phrase “a combination thereof” is indefinite because it is unclear what the combination is.
In regard to claim 12, the phrase “a combination thereof” is indefinite because it is unclear what the combination is.
In regard to claim 12, it is unclear if the “at least one sensor” is the same sensor(s) recited in claim 11. Proper antecedent basis should be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adair (US 4,250,882) in view of Adahan (US 2009/0020402).
In regard to claim 1, Adair discloses a skin environment management system (see Fig. 1) for controlling environmental conditions on a portion of skin of a subject (see at least the Abstract) comprising: a dressing (D) comprising a skin interface (20), a dressing base (26) attached to the skin interface (20), and a cover (28) reversibly-openable and connected to the dressing base to together define a volume (see Fig. 2), the cover sealable to the skin interface, the dressing configured to be positioned over the portion of the skin (see Figs. 1 and 2; see col. 3, lines 4-20), the dressing defining an environment in the volume surrounding the portion of the skin (see Fig. 2); a suction source (see col. 4, lines 7-11) in fluid communication with the environment by a first tube (48), the suction source configured to apply a reduced pressure vacuum to the environment.
Adair does not expressly disclose that the suction source is a pump and the system further comprises a controller configured to dynamically control operation of the pump as is recited in claim 1.
In a similar art, Adahan discloses a suction head (10) in fluid communication with a pump head (14) and pump (50) for providing a sub-ambient working pressure to a target area, enabling drainage thereof to a waste container (31). A control system (300) for dynamically controlling the pump is also provided (see par. [0072] and [0100]-[0109]). The control system and pump allows for monitoring of the vacuum system of the invention for leaks and/or blockages therein in a non-invasive manner in terms of the pump unit 14 or any of the fluid paths upstream or downstream thereof and further provides the option of controlling the operation of the drive unit 40 of the vacuum system to compensate for the leakage and/or blockage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction source of the Adair with the controller and dynamically controlled pump of Adahan in order to provide a suction source that can automatically monitor the suction level of the vacuum and dynamically adjust to compensate for any undesired changes.
In regard to claim 2, Adair discloses wherein the skin interface (20) includes a through hole (22) through which at least a portion of the implantable medical device is configured to pass, a bandage portion (portion of 20 inside 26; see Fig. 5) configured to be in direct contact with the skin, a release portion (outer portion of 20 with adhesive) configured to seal to a subject's skin, or a combination thereof.
In regard to claim 3, Adair discloses wherein the bandage portion (alternative interpretation is 40 is the bandage portion) is present and free of an adhesive (40 does not include adhesive).
In regard to claim 4, Adair discloses wherein the release portion is present and includes an adhesive on a first side thereof (see col. 3, lines 4-11).
In regard to claim 5, Adair discloses wherein the dressing base includes a plurality of flanges (portions of 26 engaging 38) configured to be placed upon the subject's skin, a saddle or securement feature (see portion of 30 where tube 48 enters; see Fig. 4) configured to support and retain the implantable medical device and the first tube, or a combination thereof.
In regard to claim 6, Adair discloses wherein the saddle or securement feature defines at least one dressing port (see portion of 30 where tube 48 enters which is a) to; see Fig. 4) to which the first tube connects or a valley that is configured to receive and support the implantable medical device and reduce strain thereon.
In regard to claim 8, Adair discloses wherein the cover (28) includes a flange (internal flange of 38) sealable to the skin interface, a wall (upwardly extending portion of 38) extending from the flange, and a transparent, and optionally reversibly-openable window (middle portion of 28 which is transparent).
In regard to claim 9, Adair discloses wherein the wall includes a saddle receiving portion or securement feature that is configured to engage with the dressing base, foam on the wall within the volume, or a combination thereof (see Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 10, Adair discloses further comprising a fluid collection canister (see col. 4, lines 7-8) in fluid communication with the volume by the first tube.
In regard to claim 11, Adahan teaches discloses further comprising at least one of a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor (see at least par. [0039]), a temperature sensor, a physiologic sensor, and an air quality sensor integrated into the dressing or the controller to provide physiologic parameters that correlate to any of a degree of healing, functional integrity of the skin environment management system, and an infection state within the environment. The pressure sensor contributes to the dynamic control of suction to the wound.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adair and Adahan and further in view of Watson (US 2016/0206856).
In regard to claim 7, the combination fails to teach wherein the at least one dressing port includes a groove configured to receive and retain a pin provided on a first end of the first tube.
In a similar art, Watson discloses a system for securing a tube (210) to a base (240) comprising a groove and a corresponding pin (see par. [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with the securing means of Watson in order to provide a known means for providing a predictable result of attaching two objects.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adair and Adahan and further in view of Weston (US 2004/0073151).
The combination teaches a portion (62) that houses a plurality of wires that electrically connect the controller to at least one sensor (99) positioned within the volume, or a combination thereof but fails to teach further comprising a second tube connecting the volume to the controller and the second tube is an active vent.
In a similar art, Weston discloses a second tube (54) connecting the volume via a fluid collection device (71) to the controller (52) and the second tube is an active vent (see par. [0049]). The configuration of Weston allows the vacuum source to be vented without dispersing pathogens to the atmosphere.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with the second tube of Weston in order to provide a means for safely venting the suction source.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See 892
THEODORE J. STIGELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/THEODORE J STIGELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783